Kingdom Hearts PlayStation 2

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 542 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 542
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 21, 2011
    10
    Is Kingdom Hearts a flawed game? Yes it is. The combat is lacking and simple and the set camera is atrocious. But there's a quality to it that can't be explained. The worlds can only be described as magical, the characters are timeless and the story, although just typical Japanese crazyness, is beautiful to behold. Its a package that is much more than the sum of its parts and it gives me aIs Kingdom Hearts a flawed game? Yes it is. The combat is lacking and simple and the set camera is atrocious. But there's a quality to it that can't be explained. The worlds can only be described as magical, the characters are timeless and the story, although just typical Japanese crazyness, is beautiful to behold. Its a package that is much more than the sum of its parts and it gives me a feeling of wonder and serenity that nothing has given me before, let alone a video game. Expand
  2. Jun 24, 2012
    10
    Definately in my top 3 best PS2 games of all time and in probably my top 10 games of all time. This game has a great story, fun platforming mechanics, an interesting Disney/Final Fantasy mixed world, great music, and very well done graphics especially in cut scenes. If you have a PS2 this is definitely a game worth shelling out a few bucks for. Im kind of hoping they have an HD collectionDefinately in my top 3 best PS2 games of all time and in probably my top 10 games of all time. This game has a great story, fun platforming mechanics, an interesting Disney/Final Fantasy mixed world, great music, and very well done graphics especially in cut scenes. If you have a PS2 this is definitely a game worth shelling out a few bucks for. Im kind of hoping they have an HD collection come out for the PS3 sometime and maybe the porting of a couple of the DS and PSP games over to the PS3. Expand
  3. Aug 18, 2012
    10
    One of my favorite games of all time!! I think it's safe to say that this game will stand the test of time!! It's that amazing! A merging of Square and Disney seems unlikely, but once you've played it, you'll be engrossed in this spellbinding adventure. The story is whimsical and heartwarming, traveling to a different Disney world feels wonderful, and the combat, though it may be simple,One of my favorite games of all time!! I think it's safe to say that this game will stand the test of time!! It's that amazing! A merging of Square and Disney seems unlikely, but once you've played it, you'll be engrossed in this spellbinding adventure. The story is whimsical and heartwarming, traveling to a different Disney world feels wonderful, and the combat, though it may be simple, is very fun, though it would be much better with major readjustments to the camera. With that little flaw aside, this is a game that your PS2 cannot be without!! Expand
  4. Jun 3, 2013
    10
    Kingdom hearts is probably one of the best games ever made. The plot initially seems simple but, going forward with the game, it will become more interesting. The mode of the game is really interesting because you can fight with two other computer-controlled characters, the huge variety of department magical abilities (AP) that can be unlocked As you go along and they can improve inKingdom hearts is probably one of the best games ever made. The plot initially seems simple but, going forward with the game, it will become more interesting. The mode of the game is really interesting because you can fight with two other computer-controlled characters, the huge variety of department magical abilities (AP) that can be unlocked As you go along and they can improve in tactical field, the evocations that can be made along with other characters and equipment much pot (you can also equip the other two characters). Interesting that in this game I match put many Disney characters and the world of Final Fantasy. Expand
  5. Jun 27, 2013
    10
    A game so good in both story and gameplay, you have to play it for yourself. The best thing about the game is the story, combined with the huge ensemble of characters, and worlds you explore. The climax of the game is so eerie and exciting, its hard to say it isn't a near-perfect game. The game only gets better and better, and more mature themes are present later in the game. Everything inA game so good in both story and gameplay, you have to play it for yourself. The best thing about the game is the story, combined with the huge ensemble of characters, and worlds you explore. The climax of the game is so eerie and exciting, its hard to say it isn't a near-perfect game. The game only gets better and better, and more mature themes are present later in the game. Everything in the game has payoff, whether it be starting out with a wooden sword, to later calling fire and thunder to wipe out a group of enemies, or seeing the characters change and mature throughout the game. Probably the best PS2 game of all time. Expand
  6. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    This game is by far one of my all time favorite games around! It was the game that actually made me buy a PS2 in the first place. It has such an amazing storyline, fantastic characters, and takes you inside the world of Disney in a very interesting and unique way. I was crazy over this game for so long and still love it to this day. I would rate it so much higher if I was able to. ItThis game is by far one of my all time favorite games around! It was the game that actually made me buy a PS2 in the first place. It has such an amazing storyline, fantastic characters, and takes you inside the world of Disney in a very interesting and unique way. I was crazy over this game for so long and still love it to this day. I would rate it so much higher if I was able to. It deserves any praise it gets. Expand
  7. JakelC.
    Oct 8, 2002
    9
    This game is amazing! You do only have one attack during the beginning of the game but get more as you progress. It has good combat and some challenging things to find out how to do. Also a great storyline! A must see!
  8. CouSeR
    Dec 3, 2002
    9
    A game that links square and disney? Think it sounds kiddy? Think again, its unbelievable how square handled the disney cast. Anyone who likes final fantasy or disney must get this game!
  9. WhiteWarrior
    Jan 10, 2005
    10
    One of the most absorbing RGP's I have played in a long time. The inclusion of both Final Fantasy and Disney characters was pure genius, mainly because it allows for young and old, rookie and veteran gamers to enjoy while offering easy gameplay and challenge (not to mention a whole lot of goodies for those completionists out there). The storyline is superb and really makes this game One of the most absorbing RGP's I have played in a long time. The inclusion of both Final Fantasy and Disney characters was pure genius, mainly because it allows for young and old, rookie and veteran gamers to enjoy while offering easy gameplay and challenge (not to mention a whole lot of goodies for those completionists out there). The storyline is superb and really makes this game captivating. Not many games today hold your attention and keep you at the controller the way Kingdom Hearts does. Expand
  10. AlexA.
    Apr 3, 2005
    10
    I loved playing this game. also i recommened that anyone who hasnt played the game yet, they should begin to... because the 2nd game comes out in september!!!
  11. AnonymousMC
    Apr 15, 2009
    10
    epic a masterpeice in gaming and truly unique in every sense i love this game with a passion and if i should ever find another copy (other one was sold without my knoledge) i will buy even if its 100$ this game is the best rpg ever made it combines the family friendliness and stories of disney with the godliek awsoem of the final fantasy franchise (appluads)
  12. LizzieP.
    Dec 30, 2002
    10
    I'll admit, I was a little unsure at first about this game. I mean, some kid running around with Disney Characters fighting with a giant key? But after I played for a few...minutes, I loved it!
  13. Sho-langA.
    Dec 5, 2002
    10
    OkayI'm a sucker for this game! well you can't blame me!! the game play is rather a bit dull and interesting but seeing the opening theme song made it all change! I just love it! Utada Hikari is a genius!! Hearing the theme "Simple and Clean" made it all worth while, at least that's really the reason why I play it! O.o!!
  14. BrianK.
    Oct 31, 2002
    9
    This games rules baby! I have upmost respect for disney for collaborating with the greatest RPG gaming company of all time, the concept is slick the innovation is what makes the game, I love the levels its like reliving all my fav disney flicks, the voice acting is superb the graphics and animation are so good its like watching a disney movie sometimes! Only bad part is the camera, it sux This games rules baby! I have upmost respect for disney for collaborating with the greatest RPG gaming company of all time, the concept is slick the innovation is what makes the game, I love the levels its like reliving all my fav disney flicks, the voice acting is superb the graphics and animation are so good its like watching a disney movie sometimes! Only bad part is the camera, it sux and it makes jumpimg a pain in the ass, other than that I give it a 10, just darn good! Collapse
  15. SherryM.
    Mar 19, 2003
    9
    Loved the game, but didn't like having to keep going back to worlds I already locked.
  16. NickB.
    May 20, 2006
    9
    Being both a Disney and a Square fan, I really enjoyed this game. The worlds were vivid, the gameplay intuitive, and voiceovers authentic. Unfortunately, the game suffers somewhat from a slight lack of an all-encompassing storyline. I mean, the main story was good, but they could have put more effort into it.
  17. BryanP.
    Dec 15, 2002
    10
    I thought this game was awsome!!! A lot of sqaresoft's (the best game company ever) Final Fantasy characters came out more clear. The battling is awsome and the ending is sad but i like it that way. The only bad thing is that i had a some problems with the camera but besides that it was one of my favorite games ever. KINGDOM HEARTS ROCKS!!!!!!
  18. EduardoR.
    Apr 22, 2004
    10
    Excellent game, one of the best games I have played in my life, very engaging game play and really cool story line, on top of that it has awesome graphics. It filled up the empty space in the PS2 world for action-RPG like Zelda.
  19. AnonymousMC
    Dec 25, 2005
    10
    come on, thsi one of the most amazing master pieces of square soft not square-enix because since squaresoft joins enix his games are such boring only want money , fantasy go away, I wait kingdom hearts ii wil be good and enix dont contaminate and destroy such a great game
  20. HeatherG.
    Dec 26, 2002
    10
    I'm a die-hard Final Fantasy fan and a loyalist to Square, which--in my opinion--is the very best developer in existence. I'm *not* a Disney fan... but that doesn't matter. This game is so breathtakingly beautiful and fun to play that the first time I put it into my PS2, I was gobsmacked (actually, I still am). The fluidity of the characters' movement is incredible, I'm a die-hard Final Fantasy fan and a loyalist to Square, which--in my opinion--is the very best developer in existence. I'm *not* a Disney fan... but that doesn't matter. This game is so breathtakingly beautiful and fun to play that the first time I put it into my PS2, I was gobsmacked (actually, I still am). The fluidity of the characters' movement is incredible, the graphics are gorgeous, game-play is lots of fun and the voice acting is top-notch. Best of all, KH gives Final Fantasy fanatics a chance to catch up with longtime faves (Squall, Aeris, Cloud, Tidus, Wakka, Selphie, Yuffie, etc.), and to actually *hear* those characters speak brings the experience to an entirely new level. If you're an RPG gamer, and especially if you're a Square/Final Fantasy freak, Kingdom Hearts should be a must-have on your list. No gamer's library is complete without it. Expand
  21. Jun 12, 2011
    7
    It kinda grows tedious after a while, but to say that this isn't a decent game is a bit much. The very beginning of the game is extremely boring, but as you get further along it gets much better. Even if it didn't have the involvement of Disney characters but still followed its same basic story this would be a good game, but having DIsney characters and the Disney world makes this gameIt kinda grows tedious after a while, but to say that this isn't a decent game is a bit much. The very beginning of the game is extremely boring, but as you get further along it gets much better. Even if it didn't have the involvement of Disney characters but still followed its same basic story this would be a good game, but having DIsney characters and the Disney world makes this game pretty unique and a whole lot of fun. It's great to see some of your favorite movies and characters and have them as their own worlds that you can explore (it's not necessarily open world, but it's good enough). Expand
  22. Jul 21, 2011
    7
    At the least- a very uneven game. At the worst? A decent game accompanied by a terrible fan-base full of weird Disney-anime obsessed pasty white tweens that either like the game because it has flashy colors in it- or attempt to justify it as a "deep action rpg with meaningful dialog between a child with gravity defying hair and micky mouse." It has its merits and it also has its boringAt the least- a very uneven game. At the worst? A decent game accompanied by a terrible fan-base full of weird Disney-anime obsessed pasty white tweens that either like the game because it has flashy colors in it- or attempt to justify it as a "deep action rpg with meaningful dialog between a child with gravity defying hair and micky mouse." It has its merits and it also has its boring segments that shouldn't even be in the game. Goofy and Donald duck are an odd duo here and anybody will admit that the melding is a bit strange. The enormous amount of licensed Disney characters included- as well as the lack of original or even "sound-alike" voice actors tells me that this wasn't really a big deal to Disney. They probably knew they could market the crap out this game without even trying: "Final fantasy and disney characters? Kids will eat that **** up!" Thusly Kingdom Hearts was born. Then their was that retarded (but we all loved it) trailer on TV with that catchy 10 seconds of some Japanese song that had been dubbed for the commercial and everyone was suddenly entranced. Its kind of like Pokemon in a way.. even though we get older and stop playing it (most of the sane ones anyway) they keep making them for nostalgic factor. Thats why this game succeeded. No shame in hiding that truth. Expand
  23. Jan 3, 2011
    6
    Kingdom Hearts had some really good things going for it but in the end it just ended up being an ok game, graphics do show age, voice acting is hit or miss (mostly miss), although it does have an amazing soundtrack, the story is EXTREMELY poorly written and really difficult to follow and when it's not that it's garbage, you'll see famous Disney and Final Fantasy characters and not know (orKingdom Hearts had some really good things going for it but in the end it just ended up being an ok game, graphics do show age, voice acting is hit or miss (mostly miss), although it does have an amazing soundtrack, the story is EXTREMELY poorly written and really difficult to follow and when it's not that it's garbage, you'll see famous Disney and Final Fantasy characters and not know (or care) why they are there, gameplay is the games strong point it's controls are good, but you'll mostly just use them for button mashing, and it's hard to get to your spells and potions, it can be a real challenge at times which is a good thing, but the hardest enemy you will fight is the camera which will rarely work with you, all in all it's not the best game out there but if you are willing to overlook these flaws, and are a huge Disney or Final Fantasy fan, and you like the cheesy plots about darkness and love that you will only find in a Anime straight out of Japan, you will find a fun experience. Expand
  24. JoeM.
    Feb 9, 2003
    5
    The gameplay is enjoyable to a point, but... if you heard that nagging little voice in the back of your head saying to you, "Square... and DISNEY?", heed it. It is an unholy pairing which, in the end, drains from the game its possible greatness and drags it down to the level of insipid commercial stupidity. You are fighting side by side with the noble knight... GOOFY! And DONALD DUCK! The gameplay is enjoyable to a point, but... if you heard that nagging little voice in the back of your head saying to you, "Square... and DISNEY?", heed it. It is an unholy pairing which, in the end, drains from the game its possible greatness and drags it down to the level of insipid commercial stupidity. You are fighting side by side with the noble knight... GOOFY! And DONALD DUCK! These are such well-known commercial icons that any sense of otherworldliness or removal from the here and now is completely shattered. They may as well have made the shops into 7-11s and had the cast eat Reeces Pieces to restore health. Blech! The Disney world is not about imagination, it is an entity in and of itself. Hell, you can actually GO there! It's in Florida! I really can't conceive how this did not contaminate the game completely for any of the reviewers I have read. And this is without even getting into the uninspired music and the totally USELESS and INFANTILE Gummi ship sequences. This product cannot even hold the SHADOW of a candle to FFX but, due to its unfortunate success, Square is sure to make another. THAT one I will at least know better than to purchase. So much for trusting the critics. Or the general public, who willingly swallowed this turkey. Definately not recommended if you are over 12 years of age. Quite a disappointment. Expand
  25. PhilQ.
    Aug 27, 2007
    5
    I really wanted to like this game. I endured the bad---infuriating---camera and control response and button-mashing, but gave up at the Little Mermaid level. No way could I take any more when the already bad control/camera scheme was plunged underwater. I picked this up a year later for another try---the game art and cutscenes are just so inviting and I really wanted to like this game. I really wanted to like this game. I endured the bad---infuriating---camera and control response and button-mashing, but gave up at the Little Mermaid level. No way could I take any more when the already bad control/camera scheme was plunged underwater. I picked this up a year later for another try---the game art and cutscenes are just so inviting and I really wanted to like this game. But I gave up even sooner than before with renewed distaste for the gameplay. Too bad. It looks so good. I fully believe this is the most overrated game of all time. Expand
  26. AnonymousMC
    Dec 30, 2005
    0
    Here are the pros of Kingdom Hearts:
    - It has good graphics.
    - The Disney characters' voices are authentic. The cons of Kingdom Hearts: - "Gameplay" consists of mashing buttons in the general direction of enemies, which appear way too often. - Knowing what to do/where to go at any given time is impossible due to the poorly executed story sequences - Stages are LIFELESS and
    Here are the pros of Kingdom Hearts:
    - It has good graphics.
    - The Disney characters' voices are authentic.

    The cons of Kingdom Hearts:
    - "Gameplay" consists of mashing buttons in the general direction of enemies, which appear way too often.
    - Knowing what to do/where to go at any given time is impossible due to the poorly executed story sequences
    - Stages are LIFELESS and utterly mind-numbingly boring.
    - The inter-world trasportation mini-game adds nothing to the game and is unfathomably annoying.
    - There are so many mini-games in this game that are completely unrelated to one another and add very little if anything to the rest of the game.
    - Parts where the story is revealed are few and far between, and they certainly don't make all the work of getting through the various worlds worth it.

    I love Square, but I think this game is a clear indication that they are abusing the fame that they have earned in the past with games that are actually GOOD. It is a chore to play, with little reward. Don't get it.
    Expand
  27. kingdomhearts
    Aug 25, 2009
    6
    This game had a good concept and almost good controls, except for the horrible camera views, and the x-button mashing. If you try to turn one way to see something, you have to walk forwards or backwards, ending usually in you falling off wherever you are. If you try to make up the button mashing with magic, you run out of MP very fast, and the only way to recharge it is either more This game had a good concept and almost good controls, except for the horrible camera views, and the x-button mashing. If you try to turn one way to see something, you have to walk forwards or backwards, ending usually in you falling off wherever you are. If you try to make up the button mashing with magic, you run out of MP very fast, and the only way to recharge it is either more button-mashing or an elixir/ether which are both pains to use because you have to take the time to scroll down and select items, and select what you want to use. In a boss battle, this can be very ineffective. The game also encourages you to buy the guide, because in many places, it leaves you off with a random start. I like the fact, however, that you could decide between Atlantis and Halloweentown, as Atlantis was both incredibly hard, and had horrible controls. Also, if you wanted to repeat the game in a relatively fast time, there is no way to get past the hours and hours of cutscenes. Expand
  28. ZiggyS.
    Oct 28, 2002
    4
    It's a little dull, and the combat is mind numbing.
  29. Apr 4, 2011
    5
    Gameplay is incredible, but the plot is nothing more than a 10-year-old's crossover fanfiction. Would be 8-9, but none of the dialog or movies can be skipped.
  30. MasterofOrion
    Jan 3, 2003
    4
    The disney characters are cool, but I found the gameplay mucho boring. Whoever was in charge of developing the camera in KH should be fired over there at EASquare. The best thing I could say is that if you liked FFX a lot, you'll probably enjoy KH. That said, I believe FFX to be much better.
  31. [Anonymous]
    Feb 8, 2003
    4
    This game is bad. Anyone who says otherwise, definitely knows very little, if anything, about games. First of all, it tries to pass off as an Action/RPG but it's more of an Action/Adventure game with several Platform sequences than anything else. To add insult to injury, they're bad Platform sequences at that, and they don't even touch the brilliance of a Mario game by a This game is bad. Anyone who says otherwise, definitely knows very little, if anything, about games. First of all, it tries to pass off as an Action/RPG but it's more of an Action/Adventure game with several Platform sequences than anything else. To add insult to injury, they're bad Platform sequences at that, and they don't even touch the brilliance of a Mario game by a long mile. Then you have the camera... or should I say you do NOT have one because you're pretty much fighting blind half the time while walls and objects block your sight. Gameplay is definitely the worse as it's a button-masher experience all the way - every three steps enemies show up which you MUST defeat if you want to have access to simple commands like "OPEN". That's right, you may have that neat little chest right next to you, but if there is one single enemy nearby the game won't allow you to open it. There's more, the AI for your companions is customizable but that's not saying much - either they waste all their resources in a couple of fights or they save them so much it kills them leaving you alone to fight whatever enemies are left on the screen. If there is one thing relatively "good" about Kingdom Hearts is the sound - Music is fine and the Voices are top-notch, but no one buys a game for music alone. You have been warned. Expand
  32. NeaH.
    Oct 23, 2002
    10
    I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS GAME!!!! I don't think i could part with this one. It has great graphics, song, characters, story, etc. It has to be the best game that disney has ever made or i have ever seen! ^.^
  33. TarikT.
    Sep 30, 2002
    10
    Great game. Don't judge games by their looks, i'm loving this game, those of you who think this game is for p***ys you are wrong, in fact you guys are the sissys for not giving this game a chance its really fun go ahead gove it a rental if you are opened minded to video games and if your not a sissy.
  34. Floop
    Mar 7, 2003
    10
    This game changed my life!!!!! POP!!!
  35. MingC.
    Jun 9, 2003
    10
    Love Disney, love this...
  36. DonaldN.
    Mar 9, 2004
    10
    the most mushiest and best game squaresoft has made. sure the disney thing is so-so, but who doesn't like something crazy.......like a pineapple or a frog.
  37. JudeS.
    Jul 23, 2004
    10
    This is the best game ever made!!!! I love it soooo much!!! It the coolest!
  38. ThamWeiErn
    Mar 4, 2005
    10
    Best GAME Ever Made!!!
  39. BenD.
    Aug 3, 2006
    10
    perfect the most perfect game ever even though i don't have it or a ps2 for that matter.
  40. MateusC.
    Sep 9, 2006
    9
    Very enjoyable action-RPG with lot of fighting and smashing enemies in pure action battles. The Disney worlds are superb with their characters and their charisma; The main characters are very well attractive: Sora, Kairi, Rikku resembling the Chrono Trigger unique characters. The camera isn't that all bad things people say I'm secure to afirm is very well executed and focusing Very enjoyable action-RPG with lot of fighting and smashing enemies in pure action battles. The Disney worlds are superb with their characters and their charisma; The main characters are very well attractive: Sora, Kairi, Rikku resembling the Chrono Trigger unique characters. The camera isn't that all bad things people say I'm secure to afirm is very well executed and focusing in battle system and exploration. Expand
  41. MikeE
    Jan 10, 2009
    10
    I was very reluctant to play this game at first because Disney has this reputation of producing "fluff" material that are supposedly family oriented *cough* Bolt *cough*. However, I was more interested to hear at the time that Squaresoft (at the time) was involved with this project. Once I placed the disc into the system, picked up the controller, title sequence began, I was immediately I was very reluctant to play this game at first because Disney has this reputation of producing "fluff" material that are supposedly family oriented *cough* Bolt *cough*. However, I was more interested to hear at the time that Squaresoft (at the time) was involved with this project. Once I placed the disc into the system, picked up the controller, title sequence began, I was immediately hooked. This game surpassed my expectations. It has squaresoft quality and disney still gets the wholesome message out that is notable. I have read and heard several complaints about the game play. Now, I want you to go online, video game store, or even if you own it look at the case and I want you to read the rating. What does it say? E for everyone for ages 10 and up. Right there! You should already know the demographic for this game. If a game is rated E then you should take in consideration of what the game play might be like. It's going to be something easy and accessible for some youngian to pick and play. Stop being picky and enjoy the game, if that is possible. The cool thing about the game play it's based in real time instead of standing there waiting to attack. It is more refreshing to say the least. The only gripe I really have is the camera angles, which should of been with the right analog stick from the beginning but that was fixed in KH2 thankfully. The characters are completely endearing. Sora is that kid who just wants to hang out and be with his friends and could be considered the underdog in this adventure. Also, he has the innocence to him about having a crush on your closest female friend. It's very relatable. As you embark on your quest your main objective is to find your friends but encountering Donald and Goofy your main objective becomes protecting several disney worlds that have their own theme. Every time you go to a different world more interest is created with the atmosphere of that world and my favorite aspect of the game: the music. It's a wonderful soundtrack, I own all of them as we speak. *Multiple fingers point at him, voices in the background shouting "geek!"* Indeed, lol. Everything about this game seems to be perfect, well scratch that, it's really enjoyable. The game works well with all the elements that have been placed before it. It's a well thought out game and I am not ashamed of saying that I own it in my PS2 collection. If you're one of those folks who thinks that ending is on the verge of propaganda and all that non-sense. Get your heads out of your arses, seriously. It's made to be a positive experience and said a decent message out about friendship and how the light perserveres over darkness. Like I said, think about the rating and the demographic. Fun light hearted game filled with great spectacle values and a great story. Love it. Expand
  42. SamanthaM.
    Oct 14, 2002
    10
    I love the graphics and the story plot, the fact that it is a Disney game gives it a historic and remembral plot.
  43. Kenneth
    Oct 2, 2002
    10
    I think this game is great, It has all the original voices from all of Disney's movies as well as the return of some of the great Final Fantasy Games. The ability to lock on to an enemy and have the constant battle action is great. In my opinion the only problem I have is the camera, it keeps moving around and there is no way to set it so it will stay like that through out the game. I think this game is great, It has all the original voices from all of Disney's movies as well as the return of some of the great Final Fantasy Games. The ability to lock on to an enemy and have the constant battle action is great. In my opinion the only problem I have is the camera, it keeps moving around and there is no way to set it so it will stay like that through out the game. This is the RPG game of the Year. Expand
  44. AaronD.
    Dec 5, 2002
    9
    I was a little skeptic at first, I mean Square and Disney, but when I played it, my jaw dropped. Everything was perfect except for the following list: The platforming elements, no Square characters in your party EVER, not enough voice overs, and there is only two cinematics that are not done in real-time graphics. These brought the games score down a little, however, Kingdom Hearts is I was a little skeptic at first, I mean Square and Disney, but when I played it, my jaw dropped. Everything was perfect except for the following list: The platforming elements, no Square characters in your party EVER, not enough voice overs, and there is only two cinematics that are not done in real-time graphics. These brought the games score down a little, however, Kingdom Hearts is still one of my favorite games ever! Expand
  45. Kat
    Oct 9, 2002
    10
    It truly is one of the greatest games made for disney. I was expecting a kids game but it was way better than that. I plot makes you want to find out what happens next. I just had problems with the camera angles. You should try this game. You will love it.
  46. SpokkerJ.
    Sep 20, 2002
    9
    The fact that it came out so well is astonishing.
  47. JerryT.
    Jan 1, 2003
    10
    Wen i first saw this game i was like this looks like the fruitiest game in the world. then i played it and was like u have to be fruity not to like this game.
  48. MarkL.
    Dec 1, 2003
    9
    My favourite RPG for the playstation 2 the characters are brilliant and the soundtrack is absolutley spot on.
  49. JonathanD.
    Jan 6, 2003
    9
    Unquestionably the game of the year. KH may have some pretty wussy Disney characters running around, but overall, it feels like a Square product. Don't let the fact that Sephiroth and Donald Duck are in the same game turn you off; aside from a sometimes ridiculously hard difficulty and a temperamental camera, KH is an amazing game. Buy it immediately.
  50. ClayF.
    Mar 14, 2003
    10
    I like it! It takes a while to beat most of the bosses. It's a good stradegy game and it really gets you thinking.
  51. Jon
    Mar 16, 2003
    10
    Very fun game to play with lots of guessing and adventure. Probably the best game I have ever played, packed with emotion, wonder, and fantasy. If you havent played this game yet, you are missing out. The end of the game makes it all worth while. The only flaw in this game is the gummi ship in the beginning because you can't warp from world to world.
  52. MichaelR.
    Mar 2, 2003
    10
    Anyone who doesn't think this is a good game r dumb and know nothing about game this should be the best action/adventure game ever!
  53. TrixieJ.
    Mar 2, 2003
    10
    OH-My-GOD!! This is the best game I have ever played since I was 5! Great graphics, nice song choices, great voices, and did I mention great graphics? On a scale to 1-10, id give it a 1,000,000!
  54. JohnL.
    Mar 31, 2003
    10
    At first I thought this was going to be the lamest game ever but as a goy further in it I thought it was the BEST!
  55. MichaelH.
    May 27, 2003
    10
    This is the greatest game ever. It was long, fun, interesting. And over all it was a bad a_s game.
  56. BobC.
    Jun 1, 2003
    10
    It was one of the best games I have ever played. The songs were good and I grew to be attached to the characters. The only confusing thing is what happens in the end? I hope they make a sequel.
  57. XixianFlac
    Jul 25, 2003
    10
    First off this game was very very impressive. the graphics the music and gameplay were GREAT!! I play this game over and over again till theres no end. I also like the fact that there was some final fantasy characters in this game like Squall and them..also Cloud and Sephiroth were the best looking final fantasy characters in the game. And I dont like the fact that they gave Squall long First off this game was very very impressive. the graphics the music and gameplay were GREAT!! I play this game over and over again till theres no end. I also like the fact that there was some final fantasy characters in this game like Squall and them..also Cloud and Sephiroth were the best looking final fantasy characters in the game. And I dont like the fact that they gave Squall long hair, it just didnt look right. I wish they could have made Sephiroth and Cloud join the team cause they Rock....and they should have put Vincent in it from FF7! The only thing that i DONNOT like is that Goofy is on your team , he is a total f***in retart..and doesnt like to fight?...what kind of knight is he...that dont like using swords.!? But other than that the game is GREAT, and i loved it very very much!!.....I heard that they are going to make a sequel ..and you can tell because of the ending..and hopefully in the near future we will be expectng that!! ^_- Expand
  58. NikkiM.
    Aug 5, 2003
    10
    I have this game and I am impressed. I think whoever made this video game should get an award. This game is so creative and............there aren't any more words to describe it!
  59. NikkiS.
    Jan 19, 2004
    10
    OH GOSH! This game is the best of all eternity of games created! Anyone who should say different obviously hasn't played it! American Idol, NAH! Zelda, NO WAY! Rayman, BOO! Kingdom Hearts, YOU KNOW IT! Go out and buy this game while youy have a chance, it is amazing, the graphics, and the sound is outstanding! The best part is the graphics, again, because you feel like you are IN the OH GOSH! This game is the best of all eternity of games created! Anyone who should say different obviously hasn't played it! American Idol, NAH! Zelda, NO WAY! Rayman, BOO! Kingdom Hearts, YOU KNOW IT! Go out and buy this game while youy have a chance, it is amazing, the graphics, and the sound is outstanding! The best part is the graphics, again, because you feel like you are IN the game! WHOO HOO! This game deserves a 10, truly! Expand
  60. JamieW.
    Jan 2, 2004
    10
    On a 1-10 scale I must say it deserves a 15. This 5-star game has a fabulous story and extremely great graphics. I hate to say that I think it's series will be much more fun and exciting than the FF games, but no one will really admit it. The KH fighting system is WAY better than FF. I was so happy to find that Square didn't use the FF fighting strategy in KH. Who ever takes On a 1-10 scale I must say it deserves a 15. This 5-star game has a fabulous story and extremely great graphics. I hate to say that I think it's series will be much more fun and exciting than the FF games, but no one will really admit it. The KH fighting system is WAY better than FF. I was so happy to find that Square didn't use the FF fighting strategy in KH. Who ever takes turns in a fight anyway? With the two special ending trailors and special hiddin villains you can get in KH will keep you replaying the game over and over. My friend and I are on our fourth time playing the game. The FF series has been getting a bit old anyways; it's time to move on to new and better things. The story, characters and even then fighting system in KH will always keep me coming back for more. Expand
  61. CourtneyI.
    Jun 20, 2004
    2
    Ive got 1 word 4 em hard i got stuck as soon as i started not rrally 4 a 12 yr old gal like me.
  62. Saiyangirl
    Jun 23, 2004
    10
    I may not have gotten out of the town yet(i just cant beat that boss!) but i now a masterpiece when i see one!
  63. DragonKnightofFinalFantasy
    Jul 17, 2004
    10
    I love this game! It is very addicting. It is challenging but not too chalenging (unless you're fighting the optional boss Sephiroth (Final Fantasy VII)) the gameplay may sorta be simple and stupid but sometimes I had to think up a strategy like against Sephiroth and I beat him YAY!!! I loved those classic Disney worlds Wonderland, Neverland, Halloween Town and more! I admit though I love this game! It is very addicting. It is challenging but not too chalenging (unless you're fighting the optional boss Sephiroth (Final Fantasy VII)) the gameplay may sorta be simple and stupid but sometimes I had to think up a strategy like against Sephiroth and I beat him YAY!!! I loved those classic Disney worlds Wonderland, Neverland, Halloween Town and more! I admit though certain things annoyed me camera problems here and there, Lock-On system sucks hurts more than it helps and some people annoyed me the final boss (I won't say!) was not only a total wuss he used the word Darkness in EVERY SENTENCE and you're comrades will use the items you give them really fast like as soon as you give it to them. The graphics are absolutly awesome. There atre tons of weapons to get I still haven't gotten them all I need one more for Goofy but I already have his strongest weapon so I don't really care. Barely any replay value at all. It is one of my favorite games PS2 games ever maybe hey maybe even one of my favorite games ever!! Please buy this game. Expand
  64. BeccaA.
    Aug 20, 2004
    10
    Ok now I wouldn't say that this game is the most amazing game I've ever played, being that I am a hard core Final Fantasy fan, but when I saw Squall and the others I was floored. It was the biggest surprise to see them running around with Disney characters. The storyline is great and I love the fighting style. The soundtrack is just gorgeous. I want to play it again now that Ok now I wouldn't say that this game is the most amazing game I've ever played, being that I am a hard core Final Fantasy fan, but when I saw Squall and the others I was floored. It was the biggest surprise to see them running around with Disney characters. The storyline is great and I love the fighting style. The soundtrack is just gorgeous. I want to play it again now that I'm talking about it. When does the second one come out again? Expand
  65. Sammi
    Dec 1, 2005
    10
    That game was the best game I have ever played. It had a great story and played well. I can't wait for the sequel!
  66. BonbonA.
    Aug 3, 2005
    9
    A perfect game with style. Has a very interesting story. I can't wait until Kingdom Hearts 2!!!
  67. IsaacR.
    May 1, 2006
    10
    I cannot belive you people think the game is bad. i mean sure "some" people may find the camrea a little hard to deal with.(not me). but the story, characters, gameplay and uniquness makes it the best. This is the best game that you will ever play!
  68. RodneyH.
    Sep 9, 2006
    10
    This is the greatest game of all time I don't care what those other people say this is a great game.
  69. AnonymousMC
    Aug 18, 2008
    10
    This is one of the most amazing games of all time! I did not discover it until 2008, and I mourn all the years I could have been playing it. The storyline is captivating, and the characters seem so real one bonds with them! Very few games give me goosebumps when I beat it, every time, no matter if it is the 32nd.
  70. JoeyV
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    Look the others have said, this is one of the best games ever created. I loved the incredible story, enthralling quotes, and beautiful music, as the high points. But don't worry the gameplay is pretty good too. Of course when you think of Final Fantasy+Disney it = GTFO. But believe it or not, it works beautifully.
  71. EmilyP
    Jun 5, 2009
    10
    This is probably the most beautiful games I've ever played. When I first played it at a friend's house, I expected it to be some fun, easy-going game like Mario or Donkey Kong, But I bought it and found that it was much deeper than that. I found it to be dark, like Final Fantasy, but it held that sort of Disney magic that connot be paralelled. The quality of the graphics and This is probably the most beautiful games I've ever played. When I first played it at a friend's house, I expected it to be some fun, easy-going game like Mario or Donkey Kong, But I bought it and found that it was much deeper than that. I found it to be dark, like Final Fantasy, but it held that sort of Disney magic that connot be paralelled. The quality of the graphics and music were stunning, the characters wonderful, and the whole mood just so memorable that I can't compare it to any other game. It has a touching innocence about it that easily softens you up. You CANNOT think of this as your standard shooting-robots-level-three-high-score video game; it is more like a movie, something to be patient with. And the best part was, I think, that the ending resembled the old Final Fantasy sad yet touching ending, like FFX. I was certain that this game would end all sugar-coated and too happy, but I was surprised when it didn't. In fact, every time I hear "Never Land Sky", "Traverse Town", and "Dearly Beloved", it makes me close to crying! Anyone who loves either Disney OR Final Fantasy should seriously try this game. DO NOT PLAY KINGDOM HEARTS 2 FIRST. It will ruin the whole thing for you. Expand
  72. SteveL.
    Oct 11, 2002
    10
    Bad @$$!
  73. BenP.
    Oct 11, 2002
    10
    It's so cool! I've never seen a game like it. It has every thing I like in a game; cool graphics, the ability to gain levels, and interesting story line.
  74. MatthewT.
    Oct 13, 2002
    10
    I love this game and i already beat it and I'm trying to get ther 2nd ending the game was a blast sure there is always some parts in a game that you dont like but thats hard to find in this one even if Donald and Goofy are in your party.
  75. MarkH.
    Oct 22, 2002
    10
    SWEET!!!
  76. ChuckW.
    Oct 20, 2002
    9
    This game is damn near perfect! The animation and look of the Disney characters are as loyal to the original 2D hand-drawn characters as possible. The summon animation for Genie alone is the perfect sign that the Square guys knew exactly what they were doing. I sat my friends down and showed them the character models shown in Jiminy Cricket's journal, and they were all amazed, and This game is damn near perfect! The animation and look of the Disney characters are as loyal to the original 2D hand-drawn characters as possible. The summon animation for Genie alone is the perfect sign that the Square guys knew exactly what they were doing. I sat my friends down and showed them the character models shown in Jiminy Cricket's journal, and they were all amazed, and then seeing the Halloweentown level... they all now want to buy a Playstation2 JUST so they can play this game for themselves. And the fact that Square and Disney brought back most of the original voice actors (most notably, James Woods reprising Hades, from Hercules) is exciting enough, but then to bring in talent like Haley Joel Osment, David Boreanaz, and so on, you have the BEST voicework in a videogame ever. I'm about halfway through the game, and I can't wait to FINALLY see the end of a Square game (I could never beat any of the Final Fantasy games, unfortunately). I'm positive that I will make it to the end, as the action-packed, real-time battles are a lot easier to command than the turn-based battles of Square's RPG series. I've been waiting for this game for well over a year, and I am so glad to find it was worth the wait. Expand
  77. RanmaS.
    Oct 5, 2002
    1
    I am the dancing machine. I love this game. I bought the dance pad for this game and it made the game way better. It is groovy!!!
  78. Ryan
    Oct 6, 2002
    10
    This is a ten! no question. The graphics are great. the battle system is amazing. Barly any glitches. this is truly one of the greatest games ever made!
  79. JoshF.
    Oct 8, 2002
    10
    It is really cool.
  80. FilazaferX
    Sep 25, 2002
    9
    This is a very cool game. The reviewers make a big deal about the camera problems, but they aren't that bad at all. This is a game where watching the cutscenes is even more fun than playing the game and I have never thought that about any other game, ever. You just want to see what happens next. Very addicting.
  81. ZainA.
    Feb 10, 2003
    10
    It is so cool. I salute whichever nutjob that thought of this.I can't wait until they release Kingdom Hearts 2.
  82. JohannesB.
    Feb 18, 2003
    10
    I did first think this was a baby game. But when i did play this game i did play it very much! This game can be serious some time! The music and the graphic is good! Traverse town is so nice! I want to live in that town! Whataever this is one of the best game in the world and it is a good start for Disney and Squaresoft!!!
  83. JustinH.
    Mar 6, 2003
    10
    It's got cool characters, levels, bosses, and the graphics.
  84. JamesR.
    Apr 1, 2003
    10
    I cant describe how happy this game made me. I hope for another in the near future.
  85. DavidG.
    Jul 12, 2003
    10
    Graphics are fantastic, combats are original and fun.
  86. ArielS.
    Jul 19, 2003
    10
    Square and Disney? It's the clash of the best gaming company and classic Disney! The graphics are awesome, the storyline is great, and the creativity is definatly showing! Walk into the world of Square and Disney combined and you'll be amazed! It's great for people of all ages to play. This the the RPG 2002 you'll want to buy!
  87. DaveE.
    Aug 13, 2003
    10
    BRILLIANT is the only word to describe it.
  88. JessS.
    Sep 30, 2003
    10
    Kingdom Hearts was the best game EVER!!! I love everything about it; the graphics, the characters, the music, EVERYTHING! It is my favorite game and I play it over and over. Square and Disney were brilliant! I do hope the sequal gets out soon, and it better be as good as the first one! I was very impressed and I hope I am impressed with the second one!
  89. PhillipG.
    Oct 12, 2004
    10
    This game is fantastic, this is one of the best game for playstation 2 even though I played it at my friends house. I was wondering if ya'll can ask the squaresoft people if they can put Kingdom Hearts for gamecube and xbox just like they did for the mobil phone can you do that for me please.
  90. LilyP.
    Jun 24, 2004
    10
    AMAZING!!! This has got to be one of the best RPGs ever. KH has such unique graphics, talented voice actors, beautiful music, and a great battle system. KH is full of nostalgia from Disney movies to Final Fantasy games; both worlds are blended perfectly.
  91. Tenoko
    Oct 27, 2005
    10
    One of the best rpgs ever, honestly. Could have done without some of the Disney innocence which took away from the dark issues and story line, but i wonderful game none the less. Wonderful graphics, HOT guys, pretty girls,and all your favorite villians! ^_^v I can't wait for KH2.
  92. Shortfuse
    Jan 4, 2006
    10
    the game is fine the only two flaws in this game are the gummi ship thing and the not able to skip the cutscenes like when ever you already scene them before is also anoying but the rest of it is so awsome and it is better then some of the final fantasy games casue the game is good for all ages.
  93. BenF.
    Jul 9, 2006
    9
    Excellent. Could have been better like KH2. This is not an RPG game.
  94. DanaK.
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    A total awesome game, there is not another game out there that is near as good as this, it does have a couple downsides, but the activeness of the game, gives a spark, that leads to a beautiful fire!
  95. KyleG.
    Aug 29, 2007
    10
    When I first saw the commercial for this game i was like,"a disney game with all the cartoon characters? that's gonna suck!". Then I borrowed it from a friend and played through it...and I played through it again because i liked it so much, but then i had to return it to my friend. I ended up buying it just so i could beat it one more time. This game has the most charm i've ever When I first saw the commercial for this game i was like,"a disney game with all the cartoon characters? that's gonna suck!". Then I borrowed it from a friend and played through it...and I played through it again because i liked it so much, but then i had to return it to my friend. I ended up buying it just so i could beat it one more time. This game has the most charm i've ever seen in a game. The music combined with the wonderfully diverse worlds make it a memorable experience. I liked remembering the game more than playing through it. It's a very nostalgic game because you get to interact with all those disney characters you watched when you were a toddler. Either you love it or you hate it. Expand
  96. EricB
    Jun 12, 2009
    9
    I'm just gonna go with the flow here, and say this is one of my favorite games of all time. Sure, the camera is a bit awkward most of the time, but that's just a minor problem when comparing it to the epic, exciting and memorable adventure this game has in store. The worlds are colorful and unique, and the music is incredible, bringing back memories of the cherished disney I'm just gonna go with the flow here, and say this is one of my favorite games of all time. Sure, the camera is a bit awkward most of the time, but that's just a minor problem when comparing it to the epic, exciting and memorable adventure this game has in store. The worlds are colorful and unique, and the music is incredible, bringing back memories of the cherished disney films. The characters are very likable, minus a few of the minor Final Fantasy people (Cid). The difficulty can jump around a bit, with there being about 10 or so final bosses, and the last one being one of the easiest fights in the game in comparison. But I definitely enjoyed this game a lot, and recommend it to anyone looking for a great, long action/RPG. Expand
  97. GeorgeC.
    Nov 4, 2002
    10
    This game changed my whole perpective towards Disney characters... I didnt really liked Disney until now. This game rocks.
  98. JamesW.
    Nov 8, 2002
    9
    Yes there is an evil camera. yes the disney characters are kiddy and yes the story is cliche'. but its still one of the best told, well made games that i have played in a LONG time. the gameplay though repetitive, continued to challange even to the very end. Oh yea and the best boss battle in history is Sephiroth. I dont care what you think lance bass's voice fit perfectly.Yes there is an evil camera. yes the disney characters are kiddy and yes the story is cliche'. but its still one of the best told, well made games that i have played in a LONG time. the gameplay though repetitive, continued to challange even to the very end. Oh yea and the best boss battle in history is Sephiroth. I dont care what you think lance bass's voice fit perfectly. Arrogent but pretty at the same time. An excellent game. Expand
  99. DannyG.
    Nov 9, 2002
    10
    This game so kicks ass! It got me to start liking the Disney characters all over again. It has some problems with the camera, but overall, Kingdom Hearts is the best RPG game I ever played on the PS2!
  100. Nick
    Dec 13, 2002
    10
    This is the best game made this year! Everything rules! You have to get this game!!!!!!

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
#5 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Game Informer
    95
    The battles that unfold are as beautful as they are intense, and as difficult as they are easy to manhandle. [Oct 2002, p.76]
  2. Play Magazine
    80
    To say that Kingdom Hearts is magical is an understatement. As cinematic experiences go, it's exquisite. It's not the finest in terms of action, but overall, it's wonderful. [Oct 2002, p.74]
  3. Has a few flaws, but its unique character pairings and jaw-dropping graphics make this a remarkable RPG.