Knockout Kings 2002 Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Play as any of 21 current and historical greats, including Muhammad Ali, Joe Frazier, Sugar Ray Leonard, and Felix Trinidad. 10 different venues let you fight for the championship belt in a variety of settings. Create your own fighter, train hard to learn new skills, and climb the ranks toPlay as any of 21 current and historical greats, including Muhammad Ali, Joe Frazier, Sugar Ray Leonard, and Felix Trinidad. 10 different venues let you fight for the championship belt in a variety of settings. Create your own fighter, train hard to learn new skills, and climb the ranks to earn a shot at the title. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. Barring minor flaws in the face of greatness, Knockout Kings 2002 is the closest any boxing fan can get to perfection without the missing teeth and a serious reduction of IQ.
  2. The most intense and realistic boxing simulation ever created thanks to its deep and challenging game play, responsive controls, cutting-edge visuals, and something not enough boxing games have: emotion.
  3. The mix of realism, accessibility, and dazzling visuals makes this one of the best boxing games available on any console.
  4. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    80
    The boxing isn't as solid as the graphics. It's more fun than in years past, but the collision detection is way off. [Apr 2002, p.104]
  5. Game Informer
    78
    A decent punching game, but little else. The boxer creator was paltry at best, and training was non-existent. [Apr 2002, p.74]
  6. Sadly there is one fatal flaw that destroys any illusion of this being a simulation – the controls. The punches are easy enough to get used to but moving your character around the ring is a nightmare.
  7. 30
    Saying that Knockout Kings requires extreme wit is almost as heinous as claiming that George W. Bush is the most intelligent man on the planet, it just ain't gonna happen.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. WindsChange
    Apr 28, 2003
    10
    This game does not have the depth of prior releases of the KOK line, but it definately has some MAJOR replay value. The career mode is just This game does not have the depth of prior releases of the KOK line, but it definately has some MAJOR replay value. The career mode is just awful, and the lack of fight intros is a let down, but the only action that matters is the 3 minutes in the ring. Invite a couple of friends (and Ralph) and have your own fight club. You will not be sorry. This game is worth the price tag. Expand
  2. MustaphaTheGreat
    Mar 11, 2002
    10
    This game is so cool, this game is soooooooooo coooooool. Mohammad Ali really is the greatest of all time.
  3. Chud1988
    Jun 4, 2002
    10
    This is clearly the best boxing game for any platform. I am very impressed with the graphics as well as the simulation aspect of the game. This is clearly the best boxing game for any platform. I am very impressed with the graphics as well as the simulation aspect of the game. Good Job EA Sports. Expand
  4. GiorgioR.
    Sep 4, 2003
    8
    I love the game, great graphics and gameplay, but I cant understand why Knockout Kings does not include Mike Tyson, Geroge Foreman or even I love the game, great graphics and gameplay, but I cant understand why Knockout Kings does not include Mike Tyson, Geroge Foreman or even Ezzard Charles. Tyson was clearly, in his prime, one of the greatest ever, having all three belts by age 21, you cant beat that. As well as George Foreman, who made miraculous come back to win a title after 20 years of his first title. "1974" to "94". I mean these are two of the greats that will need to be included before I even think of buying the game. Even the other old great Ezzard Charles who held the title for 3 years before the Marciano put him out of misery, he was still a good boxer and worth putting in the game i think. It cant be that hard to add in a few more boxers to the game, why not, please let me know why??? Expand
  5. Ronnie
    Nov 7, 2002
    7
    Hi, my name is Ronnie. And I wanted to ask specific questions, regarding the boxing game (for playstation 2 or x-box), knockout kings 2002. I Hi, my name is Ronnie. And I wanted to ask specific questions, regarding the boxing game (for playstation 2 or x-box), knockout kings 2002. I loved the graphics and the realism placed in the video game. But my questions are, why isn't their more fighters? If you look at today's boxers, whether their retired, about to retire, or prolong their careers. You will see, they have anywhere from 37-40-45-49-52-55- or 60 fights, to there credit. I think alot of boxing fans feel this way, that there isn't enough fights for there created boxers, on the game. I would like to add, only as a suggestion, that their should be, twenty rookie fighters, beat them, be placed in the top 10, beat them have a run for the title, beat the champion, and defend your title 10 times, before retiring or make a quest to unify the title (three major belts), in all three weight classes (light, middle, and heavyweight). Also, making a variety of color gloves,trunks shoes, available on the playstation 2 version. The last question is, why isn't the boxers in the video game, wearing the same color gloves? My friends and I were just curious of these things. And we all seem to think, that this will really sell the game. Myself being a former amatuer boxer; the video game is fine, just not realistic enough. Collapse

See all 7 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings