• Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Nov 18, 2003
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JeremyG.
    Aug 10, 2007
    10
    One of my very favorite PS2 games. There are several elements in this game that are better executed than I've seen in any other game: 1. Fighting controls are very good and feel like a 2D fighting game while still allowing you to effectively combat multiple enemies. 2. The flying mechanic is (to my knowledge) unique and really fun. 3. The very best intro/tutorial level I have ever One of my very favorite PS2 games. There are several elements in this game that are better executed than I've seen in any other game: 1. Fighting controls are very good and feel like a 2D fighting game while still allowing you to effectively combat multiple enemies. 2. The flying mechanic is (to my knowledge) unique and really fun. 3. The very best intro/tutorial level I have ever seen. When I taught game design, this intro level was the one that I showed to my students. It never breaks the action, always feels tense and like something is happening, and explains several modes of transportation in a way that the player is able to remember. Expand
  2. Mae
    Jan 18, 2004
    3
    The ideas behind this game are cute, but Kya has to be one of the weakest and most pathetic heroines I have seen in a game in a long time. Her weapons don't even phase her enemies and if you even sneeze wrong she drops dead. The best things about this game is the wind travel and the boarding.
  3. WilliamS.
    Feb 21, 2004
    8
    Yo this is a sweet game ive been playin i dont know how many hours straight and im at the part where ya gotta shoot the spikes on the wolfen flying thingy so the arms dont blow up the mushroom thingys. My brain is Kyafied.
  4. Tara
    Jan 4, 2004
    10
    I love it I just got done playing it 4 hours in a row , i just decided to take a rest but im about to go play more!
  5. Bryan
    Jul 25, 2005
    9
    Sure, the camera stinks at times, and the music is a little weak, but the true value of this game lies in its charm, it's unique style, and the fun you'll have playing it. This game puts you in a whole new world, and you're constantly reminded of it, and want to explore it more. The graphics are amazing, and if you think they're poor compared to modern games, just take Sure, the camera stinks at times, and the music is a little weak, but the true value of this game lies in its charm, it's unique style, and the fun you'll have playing it. This game puts you in a whole new world, and you're constantly reminded of it, and want to explore it more. The graphics are amazing, and if you think they're poor compared to modern games, just take a moment to consider the AMAZING draw distances. Not to mention this game is huge in terms of all the places you go, Pick this game up, it's worth it. Expand
  6. RonH.
    Nov 22, 2003
    8
    I give this game a high "8" I dont know how anyone can score this game poorly. I have been playing 10 hours straight. I got it with some reservation due to GamePro's low mark, but I have been having a blast with it and I'm more than happy with the return for my money. It is kind of a cross between Crash Bandicoot & Spyro with a lot of sliding down chutes full of obstacles at a I give this game a high "8" I dont know how anyone can score this game poorly. I have been playing 10 hours straight. I got it with some reservation due to GamePro's low mark, but I have been having a blast with it and I'm more than happy with the return for my money. It is kind of a cross between Crash Bandicoot & Spyro with a lot of sliding down chutes full of obstacles at a high rate of speed. Another feature that seems new to me is the free-falling and riding wind part of the game, which there is a lot of and is a great innovation. There are also some parts that are puzzles, like hit the rope with your boomerang that is holding the rock that will fall on a switch and open a door. The graphics are a little blocky but I think this was intentional. The characters movements are super smooth as is the sky & clouds. It is hard, but not too hard. A very solid game and a lot of fun. Expand
  7. RonH.
    Nov 22, 2003
    8
    I give this game a high "8" I dont know how anyone can score this game poorly. I have been playing 10 hours straight. I got it with some reservation due to GamePro's low mark, but I have been having a blast with it and I'm more than happy with the return for my money. It is kind of a cross between Crash Bandicoot & Spyro with a lot of sliding down chutes full of obstacles at a I give this game a high "8" I dont know how anyone can score this game poorly. I have been playing 10 hours straight. I got it with some reservation due to GamePro's low mark, but I have been having a blast with it and I'm more than happy with the return for my money. It is kind of a cross between Crash Bandicoot & Spyro with a lot of sliding down chutes full of obstacles at a high rate of speed. Another feature that seems new to me is the free-falling and riding wind part of the game, which there is a lot of and is a great innovation. There are also some parts that are puzzles, like hit the rope with your boomerang that is holding the rock that will fall on a switch and open a door. The graphics are a little blocky but I think this was intentional. The characters movements are super smooth as is the sky & clouds. It is hard, but not too hard. A very solid game and a lot of fun. Expand
  8. JohnF.
    Dec 18, 2003
    9
    At last something new in the platform crowded genre.
  9. BaudetS.
    Dec 8, 2003
    10
    This game is great and deserves a better ranking! BUY IT!
  10. matrix1004
    Dec 13, 2007
    8
    Even 4 year after it's release I can say that I loved this game. As soon as I started it sucked me into it's world with the simple story. I liked the Wolfen villains, the (slowly learned) fighting style, the well designed levels, the air/wind gliding play control, and I even didn't mind the stealth (something I usually don't care for). It was a fun & enjoyable trip Even 4 year after it's release I can say that I loved this game. As soon as I started it sucked me into it's world with the simple story. I liked the Wolfen villains, the (slowly learned) fighting style, the well designed levels, the air/wind gliding play control, and I even didn't mind the stealth (something I usually don't care for). It was a fun & enjoyable trip into the world of Kya. Expand
  11. May 25, 2013
    6
    When I saw videos for it I thought it would mostly be an action platformer w/ hoverboarding levels. What you end up doing is navigating complex floating islands, jumping, hitting switches, collecting and button mashing. It even has stealth elements. While fun, I think its just too much for someone that wanted a pure action game. It could have been Mario Galaxy basically, but it doesn'tWhen I saw videos for it I thought it would mostly be an action platformer w/ hoverboarding levels. What you end up doing is navigating complex floating islands, jumping, hitting switches, collecting and button mashing. It even has stealth elements. While fun, I think its just too much for someone that wanted a pure action game. It could have been Mario Galaxy basically, but it doesn't have addictive pacing. Instead it sort of has quests, items, and blocked areas. With no warp menus I have to do too much walking. There are in-game tunnels, just not enough in my opinion. The production values are high, and has a lot of gameplay styles and good music. There is LOTS to see. Every corner of the game has something new, like triggers, new pathways... or many times its sometimes its just something that keeps electrocuting you. Eventually you get pretty far and die from an enemy. Sometimes you go back pretty far, sometimes not. Ineveitably there will be some backtracking for coins or items and just some places where you get lost. The money system and questing does hurt this game that could have been a good action platformer. Its surprising how great the graphics are on this one, and how much to explore, but its not something that I want to keep playing finish is all. For the market they were making this game for there is just too much going on. I really think this could have been a Mario Galaxy like game that would be a system seller, had they made it more addictive and easier to navigate. There is a lot fun going on in this game, but the slow parts hurt it too much. Expand
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. A brilliant title. The visuals are on par with "Rayman 3," the control almost as tight as "Mario," and the quests and puzzles both epic and innovative. [Holiday 2003, p.30]
  2. 40
    Unfortunately, Kya is a very difficult game to play as the controls are not particularly intuitive and the camera seems to delight in going haywire during delicate jumping situations.
  3. Ah... sub-"Jak & Daxter."