Madden NFL 06 PlayStation 2

Madden NFL 06 Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 120 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: With enhancements to the passing game, defensive improvements, and expanded online options, Madden NFL 06 takes you onto the field and into the locker room like never before. The new "QB Vision Control" lets you scan the field, look off defenders, and make perfect throws withing yourWith enhancements to the passing game, defensive improvements, and expanded online options, Madden NFL 06 takes you onto the field and into the locker room like never before. The new "QB Vision Control" lets you scan the field, look off defenders, and make perfect throws withing your quarterbacks unique field of vision. "QB Precision Placement" allows you to put the ball exactly where you want it. Lead the receiver to an open area, throw it behind him so he can come back to it or throw a jump ball and let him go get it. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. 100
    Kudos to EA Sports for not being afraid to juice the complexity factor of an already complex game. Rookies will have to pay their dues, but veterans get treated to a brand-new challenge. [Sept 2005, p.82]
  2. 95
    Once again, EA and Madden manage to do the impossible: They made us fall head-over-cleats in love with this frigging game all over again.
  3. This is definitely a great football game, even though it could reach a hall-of-fame level of excellence with better presentation values (particularly in the announcing booth and by possibly using the ESPN license it confiscated from 2K Sports and replicating the ESPN studio analysis that was part of ESPN 2K5).
  4. More innovation than in the last few years, gameplay is as solid as ever.
  5. 90
    Although it's true that the QB Vision system changes the game dramatically, it's not always for the better, especially when you're still trying to learn how to use it properly. If you can get over the steep learning curve (and trust me, it's a doozy), you'll probably learn to love it, as it makes the game feel much more realistic.
  6. There are hundreds of hours of gaming wrapped up into 2006, and even more if you get a group of friends who know how to play.
  7. Play Magazine
    75
    Why risk changing an already perfect passing sytem? I guess when you're the only game in town, you can do what you want. [Oct 2005]

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 69
  2. Negative: 11 out of 69
  1. RonnieM.
    Aug 9, 2005
    10
    Great game...
  2. Donkay
    Aug 11, 2005
    10
    So Complex & So Addicting. For all you complainers that the QB Vision is too hard to learn, etc. you need to go back to playing Atari. So Complex & So Addicting. For all you complainers that the QB Vision is too hard to learn, etc. you need to go back to playing Atari. Superstar mode is the best new feature and really lets you grow with your player. Best sports game this year by far. I've only slept 5 hours in the first 2 days since I've got this game! Expand
  3. RobbyEllis
    Jun 25, 2006
    10
    Anyone who likes football will love this game. If you don't know how to play it, that's your problem!
  4. MArcL.
    Aug 9, 2005
    9
    Outstanding update...although you might need a PHD in Maddenomics to fully grasp everything in the game now...
  5. CK
    Sep 1, 2005
    7
    The major problems still return, such as the complete and udder inability to block guys on punts. For those complaining that the cone is The major problems still return, such as the complete and udder inability to block guys on punts. For those complaining that the cone is "dumb" because you have to turn the QB's head, HELLO, do you watch real games, the QB doesn't just do no look passes. (I could imagine it now, Jason Kidd at QB, D-fenses screwed because he can throw a pass without looking.) Yes, being a game, the game can and does still still cheat. However, it is not nearly as blatant as in years past. I also agree that the game is nearly the same that they have produced the last three years. EA really needs to start cutting out the complete fluff that they keep adding, Create-A-Fan, Superstar mode. (I have no idea how people like Superstar. It is completely unrealistic. I don't think players just ask to be traded multiple times and the teams are just happy to oblige. It seems like it was added as an afterthought.) What EA really needs to focus on is the basics of the game. For example, a D-lineman directly over the tackle on a run play should be picked up by the tackle, the tackle should not let him D-lineman tackle the runner while he runs to block the linebacker. I also agree that the cone is completely annoying if the player has low awareness, but don't forget, there is a reason that Chad Hutchinson just got cut and it had nothing to do with his awareness. Try playing the Bears in the game with Hutchinson as your starter. You want to hate the game forever. I dare you. I also agree that they need to fix the defense. Even on All-Pro difficulty, I was picking 6 or 7 times a game. While this is really cool and fun, can you remember that last time that a real team had more than 3 picks? All in all, they NEED to update and revamp the features that people use most, like Franchise and the actual gameplay. Please EA, we beg of you, don't become the exclusive owner of junk. Expand
  6. JohnM.
    Aug 9, 2005
    6
    Average game on it own merits, but terribly repetetive when you consider they've released near identical games in 2003 and 2004.
  7. RickSantos
    Jul 28, 2005
    0
    Different year same old Madden yo. Not worth the money this year. The graphics are still bad, and its the same game as last year with theDifferent year same old Madden yo. Not worth the money this year. The graphics are still bad, and its the same game as last year with the unoriginal and uninspired superstar mode. Do yourself a favor and wait and save for Madden on the 360 for all the game engine improvements. Collapse

See all 69 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#9 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005