User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 22
  2. Negative: 4 out of 22
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Finn
    Jul 10, 2006
    9
    Its a really good game. Excellent opening song, with some beautiful cutscene graphics. The ingame graphics are the best, but they're still pretty good and it doesn't really matter because of the innovative combat system. It isn't difficult at all to master it, though some people might have a little trouble. If you're bored, go out and get it. You might just find you Its a really good game. Excellent opening song, with some beautiful cutscene graphics. The ingame graphics are the best, but they're still pretty good and it doesn't really matter because of the innovative combat system. It isn't difficult at all to master it, though some people might have a little trouble. If you're bored, go out and get it. You might just find you got a really great game to add to your favorites. Expand
  2. StephenT.
    Nov 3, 2005
    9
    The graphics look nice, the battle system is quite interesting,and the story is great. My only complaint as of right now is that the main character looks like a woman. As for the battle system you just have to play it to tell if you like it or not. You can press triangle to pause the game and switch attack styles. You can move around during battle like star ocean but when you attack you The graphics look nice, the battle system is quite interesting,and the story is great. My only complaint as of right now is that the main character looks like a woman. As for the battle system you just have to play it to tell if you like it or not. You can press triangle to pause the game and switch attack styles. You can move around during battle like star ocean but when you attack you have to do some thing similar to shadow hearts. It's a descent game to check out if you are looking for something new and interesting in a game. Expand
  3. RaymondD.
    Dec 4, 2005
    9
    The storyline is great as is the graphics. The sound effects and voices need to be more in tune with the actions within the game. I have to say I do complain about seeing the main character looking like a woman, shorter hair and tougher eyes should do it. Other than that it's a great game to use up your time. Battling can take a little getting used to but the battle effects are awesome.
  4. BrunoP.
    May 20, 2006
    10
    I'ts the best game in the world is really amazing!!! more than 50 hours to play.
  5. RickM.
    Jan 28, 2006
    9
    Superb, System combat well done.
  6. LordMetzen
    Sep 7, 2006
    9
    It's true that the opening song is a bit strange at first, but after a while it's like your favorite anime series,so I see no problem there, 'cos the ingame music fits perfectly every time. About the characters, it's incredible that most reviewers of big magazines and websites don't understand that they are part of the world you are being drawn into(like Snake and It's true that the opening song is a bit strange at first, but after a while it's like your favorite anime series,so I see no problem there, 'cos the ingame music fits perfectly every time. About the characters, it's incredible that most reviewers of big magazines and websites don't understand that they are part of the world you are being drawn into(like Snake and his thong in MGS2, AND you were forced to see his ass in the Tanker mission), the creator of the characters was Hyung Tae Kim, and the quality of them is beyond perfection, more lively than your common Final Fantasy Characters (BTW, after FFIX they lost something...). The main character looks like a girl at first....but when you see the way he draws women...you'll know when you see... About the combat system....GREAT addition....at last we see a change, You get the feeling that your'e actually doing something in the game and not just selecting stuff to watch an animation of the selection. Lots of things that the reviewers missed....the Trinity Drive, to power up your attack, you can see the enemies in the battlefield, etc, etc. BTW if you get the game, do yourself a favor and buy the Deluxe Box Set...you get a poster, AND most importantly the Artbook and Strategy Guide that will get you trough from the basics to the end of the game....that is....if you cannot do it by yourself. Well and for the reviewers....for god sakes.....if you cannot play because of the combat system.....you shouldn't play at all....remember the mission in GTA San Andreas when you must dance on the beach....or make your car bounce?....same thing here with the combat system....so maybe the reviewers found these missions too dificult and couldn't finish GTA SA........lol.... Expand
  7. AlexT.
    Nov 16, 2005
    10
    BEST GAME EVER. great game with an amazing opening song
  8. JeffS.
    Nov 18, 2005
    9
    The opening CG cut scene is very beautifully done. On the good side of this game is the inevative battle system. It's a bit complex at first but once you get the hang of it battles become extremely easy. And if you find a certain style isn't working that well against an enemy, don't fear, you can press triangle and switch the style of that specific character to give you an The opening CG cut scene is very beautifully done. On the good side of this game is the inevative battle system. It's a bit complex at first but once you get the hang of it battles become extremely easy. And if you find a certain style isn't working that well against an enemy, don't fear, you can press triangle and switch the style of that specific character to give you an edge on the battle. Gameplay backgrounds and character models are also very well done. The only problem that I really have is the poor voice acting. But that aside it makes a great stepping stool for Final Fantasy XII, whenever that will be released. Expand
  9. Yojimbo
    Dec 16, 2005
    9
    This game is was quite dificult to play in the begining but soon it became more interesting when Reith came into the story line.Its interesting because you can`t tell what is going to happen next and its characters all have different reasons why they hate the yason.I would say that this is a good game to play but the onli problem is that you can`t tell wether that the character you are This game is was quite dificult to play in the begining but soon it became more interesting when Reith came into the story line.Its interesting because you can`t tell what is going to happen next and its characters all have different reasons why they hate the yason.I would say that this is a good game to play but the onli problem is that you can`t tell wether that the character you are playing is a girl or a boy and when the chi went out monsters still can attack with the empty chi that is why i give 9 out of 10 as its grafics are so awesome while its so inteesting to find out what happens next Collapse
  10. ScottV.
    Dec 19, 2005
    8
    After seeing such a broad range of reviews for this game, I decided to play it safe and give it a rental. I was pleasantly surprised. I don't see how so many people are finding the combat system overly complex and difficult; it seems to be in line with the Final Fantasy and Shadow Hearts games it resembles in many ways. (There are a few unintuitive parts that create an initial After seeing such a broad range of reviews for this game, I decided to play it safe and give it a rental. I was pleasantly surprised. I don't see how so many people are finding the combat system overly complex and difficult; it seems to be in line with the Final Fantasy and Shadow Hearts games it resembles in many ways. (There are a few unintuitive parts that create an initial learning curve however, such as deciding to call Holy magic "Celestial" but abbreviating it "H" and similarly Air is "Wind" and "A".) I am not particularly good at "twitch" games but got the rhythm of the trinity system down after the first battle or two and now missing is a very rare occurrance. However if you can't get it down, this game is not going to be any fun at all for you. Also, I think the criticism of how Calintz looks is also a bit out of context--remember that even though he was a manly action hero of his day, George Washington wore a wig and a lot of lace. Calintz' look might be a bit feminine in our world but next to the women in game there's never really any doubt of his gender. Overall there is nothing that makes this game really stand out other than a slightly more mature plot than the genre norm (Calintz is much more grown up than your typical RPG protagonist) and a brilliant visual style, but it's certainly a fine way to pass away some hours if you are a console RPG fan. Expand
  11. Dec 24, 2012
    9
    MC tears of blood is something different, something so underrated, something awesome and beautiful.

    You play as Calintz he looks like a girl but hes a guy. You will find out or tell just by hearing his voice, and believe me I'm an Anime fan / Otaku. There's alot of anime that have guys that look like girls, btw he is one of the captains of a group called the Tears of Blood. That's where
    MC tears of blood is something different, something so underrated, something awesome and beautiful.

    You play as Calintz he looks like a girl but hes a guy. You will find out or tell just by hearing his voice, and believe me I'm an Anime fan / Otaku. There's alot of anime that have guys that look like girls, btw he is one of the captains of a group called the Tears of Blood. That's where the game got its name.

    The battle system, now this is one of the things i like about the game. It's challenging and very fun and different; you press the buttons show on the screen and try to hit it and not miss like o-o-x or x-o-o or o-o-o. What's also cool is the music: a relaxing flute melody and all of a sudden tension rising chorus playing, but the "only" thing i dont like is the voice acting. Like in battle when Calintz defeats his enemy he says "it was over before it started" i was like what ? Does that even make sense ?.

    This is worth playing and a change of pace from other RPGS.

    Good things about MC:
    Not video every other minute (or in this case, every hour. See: Xenosaga I, II and III.)
    Challenging gameplay (you must increase your combo skills to win the final battles and BEAT the game)
    Beautiful music, graphics and characters
    Story is above average but a bit clicheish.
    Not hours to learn the battle system or have 'max equip' on your characters.

    Bad:
    Battle load times
    Lack of a really interesting story
    Calintz looks very effeminate

    Scored it 9 to offset all the horribad reviews by ridiculous gamers (I've played over 200 Rpgs and have very high standards, MC: ToB deserves atleast a 7.)
    Expand

Awards & Rankings

#84 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
#34 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 34
  2. Negative: 5 out of 34
  1. Tears of Blood manages to hook fans of the genre with its gorgeous style and great story. It’s not as epic as the Final Fantasy games but it is still well worth playing.
  2. 70
    A game that won't appeal to everyone; Calintz's girly ways alone may turn off a lot of people. However, if you're looking for an RPG with a great battle system, you'll definitely be a fan of Magna Carta: Tears of Blood.
  3. 85
    The music and sound effects are brilliant.