Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 39
  2. Negative: 2 out of 39
  1. Luckily, the smooth controls guarantee that all you'll have to worry about is dribbling paint and bumbling cops.
  2. Getting Up is like a breath of fresh air, never before seen in the games industry and implemented to a degree that should make it a must in any gamer's collection.
  3. Getting up will take a few days to complete but once your job is done it's time to move on. While I highly recommend playing this game, I also highly recommend renting it as you're not likely to want to paint over old territory.
  4. The end result is an interesting and often-exciting adventure that should be appealing to most action-game fans, but will probably hold extra appeal if you're at all interested in graffiti and the culture surrounding it.
  5. 86
    Other than some growing pains on some of the side missions, this is a superb game that everyone should at least give a try.
  6. 80
    Graffiti connoisseurs will love the real-life taggers that make cameos, as well as the actual art that Trane puts up. The game also features a fantastic soundtrack, as well as one of the most impressive collections of celebrity voices in recent memory.
  7. There's just something weird and catchy about Getting Up. It feels so different. It's more relaxed and laid back than most wannabe 'gangsta' games. [PSW]
  8. It's unlike anything else you've played in recent memory.
  9. Getting Up has brushes with greatness: the ability to paint, draw, or sticker nearly anywhere you like is fantastic, and the environments, music, and general attention to detail provide just the right ambiance. [Apr 2006, p.67]
  10. 80
    The game is more than the sum of its parts, offering a surprising amount of flexibility in how you accomplish your objectives, even if those objectives don’t change much from level to level, in a series of memorable environments.
  11. Few games dare to be bold or innovative these days, yet Ecko's baby scores on both fronts. [Feb 2006, p.104]
  12. Gamewise? Think candy - I liked the game in small doses.
  13. Overall this is a really solid game that has the potential to be so much more. Unfortunately the repetitive missions and ho-hum gameplay hold it back.
  14. Offers some unique elements, and a fun rewarding experience even with some control issues. If you like the hip hop scene, or are interested in graffiti, you will enjoy this game.
  15. The metaphors and subtext that lay underneath every step you take resonated volumes with me personally.
  16. The actual painting isn't that interesting — you just hold down a trigger and push a button while moving Trane around — but it is fun to see some of the fancier artworks.
  17. A mediocre action-adventure with an excellent sense of style. If you love hip-hop and spray-paint, you should be playing this game, otherwise, this game is best left on the shelf.
  18. As it stands, Getting Up is a game I like more for its potential than its execution, and that's a shame [Apr 2006, p.114]
  19. 70
    The janky camera makes combat tough during crucial moments and makes things increasingly difficult when you're racing against the clock to lay down an aerosol tag. It makes you wonder if the game would have been better off in first-person view, but on the other hand, you would lose the immersion of being Trane.
  20. 70
    I appreciate what this game is trying to do. Unfortunately, it can’t quite get the fundamental controls to work well enough. If fighting is in the game, it has to function as well as everything else. The same goes for platforming.
  21. It's a surprisingly entertaining, well-designed game that stays interesting from start to finish, and if nothing else it'll give you a whole new perspective on those rat bastards who keep tagging your house.
  22. Getting Up is a solid game, but not spectacular in any way outside of the tagging interface. It also does a lot of things well, but features a disturbing amount of product placement that takes you right out of the adventure while also needing some fine-tuning with its controls and camera.
  23. I had an enjoyable time when all was said and done, but the length and general quality of the experience left me wanting more--perhaps the polish only a sequel can deliver.
  24. While all of Getting Up's diverse elements are to varying degrees lacking, the game ultimately comes together as a moderately entertaining experience.
  25. 65
    Game play is like "Jet Grind Radio," minus the roller skates. Worse still, the game's camera wheels around like Flava Flav after quaffing too much Dom P.
  26. Aside from the aerosol adept and the just plain curious, Getting Up holds little appeal.
  27. While this is certainly a playable game, and sometimes even fun and challenging, it crucially fails to immerse players in the world of street art and culture. Instead, it simply appropriates the superficial aspects to make yet another passable action title.
  28. You can't fault the presentation and all important street vibe, but you can fault the feeble level design, fudged controls and lousy camera.
  29. Ultimately, Getting Up's most serious problem is that it's so damn serious. There's none of the anarchic joy found in "Jet Set Radio." [Apr 2006, p.83]
  30. It has its moments but it's a bit buggy and surprisingly flat in the paint department. [Apr 2006, p.63]
  31. Hopefully, if a sequel is made, we’ll get more Prince of Persia and less Grand Theft Auto, or at least an amalgamation of the two that isn't so mind-numbingly dull.
  32. Ever try tagging a moving subway train while dodging obstacles overhead and on the side, all while searching in vain for the designated spot? Not easy.
  33. It drapes itself in branding, of which Marc Ecko's rhinoceros is but a single offender; exactly what am I rebelling against here?
  34. There's so much failed potential here that it makes me sick. Sure, Ecko and The Collective may have a stiffy for 1984, but there's really nothing wrong with that. It's the forced stealth and the hideous combat that killed the game, not the atmosphere.
  35. 50
    Frequent glitches and game engine freak-outs contribute to an overall less-than-mediocre graffiti/fighting/platforming hybrid.
  36. A bargain-bin throwaway dressed up like a million bucks. [Apr 2006, p.93]
  37. If you like biting your controller and being frustrated at a game that freezes after you've failed to save it for 8 missions, it's for you.
  38. The possibility of this all coming together in a more flexible and engaging manner is still a welcome one. But, for a game based on a culture of reputation, craftsmanship and leaving a mark, Getting Up is one that’ll pass by largely unnoticed. [Mar 2006, p.86]
  39. Fails to spark any excitement, innovation, or fun at all.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 4 out of 13
  1. Jan 30, 2013
    7
    To be honest, I really was surprised by this game. I really do not care for the urban ghetto themed games, music and/or movies. Yet, this gameTo be honest, I really was surprised by this game. I really do not care for the urban ghetto themed games, music and/or movies. Yet, this game got me to sit up and notice a cultural genre I had since been avoiding. While I do get this is just an idealized vision of the reality, it still inspired me. The gameplay was simple but also something different that I hadn't seen in other games (aside from Jet Grind Radio.) Story is rather bland and uninteresting, yet still keeps you curious. Overall: A rather bland game that is made entertaining from its creative and almost original approach. Full Review »
  2. CheaChea
    Jul 14, 2008
    8
    Not the best graphics they can make for the game.. Need to try harder on that.. Felt as I am the one in the game so good.. needs to be moreNot the best graphics they can make for the game.. Need to try harder on that.. Felt as I am the one in the game so good.. needs to be more realistic.. Average dialogue.. Great story to understand going level to level and up and up.. There should be a free roam where you can tag your own tag name..Overall great game needs better graphics.. Full Review »
  3. MarkK.
    Oct 6, 2007
    7
    Some flaws but it gives a terrifying political world without spoiling gameplay. One of the most original games you'll ever play.