User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 113 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 113

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 19, 2014
    10
    incredible ! best moh ever soundtrack 99999/10 story 9999/10 levels 999/10 grapchics 999/10 .. .
  2. Aug 26, 2014
    7
    A great fps title. One of the greatest WW2 games of all time as well. It has great level diversity. I had so much of my childhood spent up trying to beat this game and it never happened. Luckily i got better. I give it an 7 cuz i think a grenade indicator was to futuristic for this game as well as slightly longer loading. It has a great soundtrack though and amazing action packed missions.
  3. Aug 16, 2014
    9
    some of us will probably remeber the original medal of honor on the playstation, medal of honor frontline is very reminiscent of the original, the gameplay borrows heavily from the ps1 classic, with rather impressive level design, all these features combined with impressive (for the time) graphics makes this game highly reccomendable, the game is also rather charming as well, with somesome of us will probably remeber the original medal of honor on the playstation, medal of honor frontline is very reminiscent of the original, the gameplay borrows heavily from the ps1 classic, with rather impressive level design, all these features combined with impressive (for the time) graphics makes this game highly reccomendable, the game is also rather charming as well, with some humor, but that, you will have to look out for yourself, it does have some criticism though, there is no checkpoint system, if you die, its right back to the start for you, but this is only a minor complaint, the game is available for the playstation 2, xbox, and gamecube, with a remastered version available through the medal of honor 2010 special edition, with updated graphics and gameplay, overall i would highly recommend that you buy this game if you have the 6th gen systems, i have all 3 versions and they are all the same with a few minor details, a triumphant game on the consoles of yesterday! Expand
  4. Dec 28, 2013
    8
    Thanks Mom and Dad for getting me this game in 2002. I was too small to get past Omaha beach back then, but around 2005-2006, I had a blast. But what annoyed me about this game it that it has "Frontline" in the title, yet only 2-3 missions has you fighting on the front while the rest is conducted behind enemy lines. Other than that, the game is really fun. Now Medal of Honor is dying. TheThanks Mom and Dad for getting me this game in 2002. I was too small to get past Omaha beach back then, but around 2005-2006, I had a blast. But what annoyed me about this game it that it has "Frontline" in the title, yet only 2-3 missions has you fighting on the front while the rest is conducted behind enemy lines. Other than that, the game is really fun. Now Medal of Honor is dying. The only way to bring this series back to its former glory is to return to WWII. Expand
  5. Aug 10, 2013
    10
    I will never forget playing this game back in June 2002 when i was just 21. It was just so amazing and so different, great graphics, great levels, great gameplay, long campaign, great soundtrack, it just blew me away from start to finish. It was also the game that started off the trend for World War 2 shooters like how Call of Duty Modern Warfare 4 started off the trend for Modern WarfareI will never forget playing this game back in June 2002 when i was just 21. It was just so amazing and so different, great graphics, great levels, great gameplay, long campaign, great soundtrack, it just blew me away from start to finish. It was also the game that started off the trend for World War 2 shooters like how Call of Duty Modern Warfare 4 started off the trend for Modern Warfare shooters. So if you want to play a classic game that started off the WW2 trend that lasted from 2002 to 2007/2008 when it eventually died off and made way for modern warfare games, then this is the game. Also great if your a lover of WW2 games. Expand
  6. Nov 11, 2012
    8
    This game was the best Second World War First Person Shooter available until the Call of Duty series was born. More 'old school' gamers might prefer this now as it is a 'lone-wolf' type of game. Still enjoyable.
  7. Sep 21, 2012
    10
    It may not be up to par with the games of today, but man this game was the **** when it was released. The controls felt perfect and it had an intriguing (and historically correct) storyline. Worth buying if you can find it somewhere.
  8. Feb 28, 2012
    7
    Back in the day graphics , physical destructions , huge landscapes getting torn apart with endless bombards and watching soldiers blown away was awesome . But MOHF start to feel rinsed and colorless. The game start to show age , but , its still a piece of innovation even with all this years .
  9. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    For a bloody old game which has the 3D graphics of a stickman, This game is the best FPS game I and many other have played. You may think im crazy or even on drugs but I am not. This game Is so fun you can just play for hours and hours without even getting bored in the slightest. I had this for Gamecube and one of my mates had it on ps2 and there is quite a big difference controls wise.For a bloody old game which has the 3D graphics of a stickman, This game is the best FPS game I and many other have played. You may think im crazy or even on drugs but I am not. This game Is so fun you can just play for hours and hours without even getting bored in the slightest. I had this for Gamecube and one of my mates had it on ps2 and there is quite a big difference controls wise. Gamecube controls are really hard to aim with and you will find yourself either spraying with a machine gun or attempting to hit the enemy and then resulting in, meleeing them. But despite that you will get that hand of it after the first mission. This game is worth every penny and even though it cost me £10 at the time I would happily have paid £20-£30. The reviews speak for themselves. 10,10,10,10,10,10,10,9,10,10,7,10,10,10,10,10,10,10 and then a 0. And you see that 0 and think that guy is 13 years old and thinks that ww2 games are rubbish because he has played mw3. Well that kid is very very wrong. This game is the game to get and for only like £1 its a bloody bargain. Expand
  10. May 3, 2011
    9
    Medal of Honor is the defintion of Classic Video Game. For 2002 this game created such a crazy atmosphere and virtual war experience that I was on the edge of my seat for the entirety of it. One of my favorite FPS campaign missions of all time is in it, which is a level where you have to infiltrate a mansion using stealth OR guns a blazing, whatever your wish. It really let for a great,Medal of Honor is the defintion of Classic Video Game. For 2002 this game created such a crazy atmosphere and virtual war experience that I was on the edge of my seat for the entirety of it. One of my favorite FPS campaign missions of all time is in it, which is a level where you have to infiltrate a mansion using stealth OR guns a blazing, whatever your wish. It really let for a great, and very challenging level, that I adore and will always remember. The gameplay is classic, the soundtrack is classic, the graphics are classic. This game oozes with classic!! Collapse
  11. Feb 12, 2011
    9
    This is one of those games that was just well made, it has a good story, and a outstanding soundtrack, and a good selection of World War 2 weapons, it has epic set pieces that would make the Call of Duty series jealous, and some beautiful locations, my only complaints are that targeting isn't easy do to a bad reticle, and the ending is more Sci-Fi shooter than World War 2 shooter itThis is one of those games that was just well made, it has a good story, and a outstanding soundtrack, and a good selection of World War 2 weapons, it has epic set pieces that would make the Call of Duty series jealous, and some beautiful locations, my only complaints are that targeting isn't easy do to a bad reticle, and the ending is more Sci-Fi shooter than World War 2 shooter it reminded me of Star Wars, these flaws aside you have one of the best shooters ever. Expand
  12. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    Absolutely incredible, haters don't have any idea of how much of a masterpiece this is. This IS the greatest World War 2 first person shooter ever devised.
  13. KeananD.
    Aug 19, 2008
    9
    I really couldn't have asked for more from a Medal of Honor game. The graphics are fairly good, the controls are easy, and the music/audio is absolutely amazing. Some of the story can be a bit confusing at times, but it doesn't really detract from the game itself. I recommend it for any WWII game lover.
  14. RaphaelR.
    Nov 4, 2004
    8
    It's good but the game would have been much much better if they added a lil bit more blood and body parts flyin .. i mean what good is a WAR GAME without blood and stuff but the rest is good enemy A.I. is pretty good weapons are alright AUDIO IS GREAT graphics are lke an 8/10 story is kinda bad in my opnion but whatever... uhhm.. yues this game is worth buying if u want a fun firstIt's good but the game would have been much much better if they added a lil bit more blood and body parts flyin .. i mean what good is a WAR GAME without blood and stuff but the rest is good enemy A.I. is pretty good weapons are alright AUDIO IS GREAT graphics are lke an 8/10 story is kinda bad in my opnion but whatever... uhhm.. yues this game is worth buying if u want a fun first person shooter for ur PS2. Expand
  15. NeilW.
    Aug 27, 2004
    9
    Great graffics, good game play.. tho the default controls are pretty dodgy.. good to change them.. good war game tho.. if u like that kinda stuff!
  16. AndrewJ.
    Jan 31, 2004
    5
    Not half as good as I expected.
  17. FernandoC.
    Jan 26, 2004
    8
    Buen juego... me gusto mucho en general hasta el final donde no se porque me parecio como sencillo.... de pronto fue suerte! Recomendado
  18. AlexD.
    Dec 7, 2003
    6
    Not nearly as good as the PS1 Medal of Honors.
  19. AlexD.
    Dec 7, 2003
    6
    Not nearly as good as the PS1 Medal of Honors.
  20. KyleK.
    Nov 17, 2003
    10
    A true realistic first-person shooter for all people. A superb game. Can't wait till Rising Sun.
  21. Chuck76
    Apr 10, 2003
    7
    This is as traditional as FPS games get. Sure the graphics, sound and presentation are superb but you can't help but feel a little let down. It's all good fun but running along constraining paths, picking up ammo and health reminds me of the past, a past I thought we'd moved away from. This is just a re-hash of previous MOH titles I want FREEDOM! I want to choose where to This is as traditional as FPS games get. Sure the graphics, sound and presentation are superb but you can't help but feel a little let down. It's all good fun but running along constraining paths, picking up ammo and health reminds me of the past, a past I thought we'd moved away from. This is just a re-hash of previous MOH titles I want FREEDOM! I want to choose where to go and what to do next, anyone who loves GTA 3/Vice City will find this title slightly dissapointing. If they make the next MOH free-roaming so YOU can decide what to do next and how to do it, with sub-missions as meaty as the main missions and a huge map of northern Europe which you can travel around at will, with some variation in game play maybe vehicles (ooh just like GTA) then they'll be on to a real winner. This title isn't bad by any means it's just a bit linear, if you like following paths buy it! Expand
  22. NickG.
    Mar 20, 2003
    10
    An awesome game for people who love wargames. The graphics are astonishing! And the music makes the fighting even more dramatic. This game will surely end up as a classic for PS2.
  23. BoredInTechClass
    Jan 13, 2003
    8
    The graphics are great and it's a rush to go through some of the operations here. A few more levels, and less constrained goals and surroundings, and this would be perfect.
  24. DwightS.
    Oct 9, 2002
    10
    This game is the best I have ever played. Any nerdlinger that has anything bad to say about this game has obviously spent too many years in front of its console and not enough getting drunk in its local. My GOD I am thanklful I only have to play a game instead of really being there. And I come from a German bloodline....HOW COOL IS THIS GAME!!!!
  25. MattP.
    Sep 9, 2002
    7
    The first level is great which makes the rest of the game disappointing. The levels are massive with no save points meaning you have to go through them time and time again and the framerate constantly slows down. But the sound is fantastic, the graphics are good and theres plenty of replay-value. Worth getting.
  26. BerraL.
    Sep 6, 2002
    10
    This game will be one of my best i ever played. Everything is great about it, except the controooooooler (but you can switch the control to the old moh and mohu control. ive think its best). now im gonna say something on swedish: det här är ett måste för varje action fantast!!
  27. PatrickW.
    Sep 2, 2002
    9
    This game is a gem. In addition to the 1st personal shooter you are a part of the historic narrative of world war ii - each stage reveals the allies progress in the war - filled with news reel clips and more. A must play, but replay value once you beat the game is low - NO online play... so it's a rental.
  28. SimonH.
    Aug 21, 2002
    7
    The first mission is one of the best game scenarios I have ever played, unfortunately after that it reverts to M.O.H PS1 styles. Although fighting along side allied soldiers does add for a new perspective.
  29. Dec2000
    Aug 15, 2002
    8
    Just like Randall J this game is the reason why I bought PS2. I Have no regrets about buying it, and think that the game is really excellent. I only have a few problems with the game. The first is that there are only about four or five missions which are like what a GI would normally be doing in WWII. I was blown away by the Normandy Mission and "Seaside Stoaway" but other levels (i.e. Just like Randall J this game is the reason why I bought PS2. I Have no regrets about buying it, and think that the game is really excellent. I only have a few problems with the game. The first is that there are only about four or five missions which are like what a GI would normally be doing in WWII. I was blown away by the Normandy Mission and "Seaside Stoaway" but other levels (i.e. the U-Boat Pen) lef me feeling like I just bought "Goldeneye" again. For the fourth installment(?) I would like to see wither an Airborne assault (basically "Band of Brothers type thing) or a shift in combat theatre to the Pacific, maybe Italy or N. Africa. Also a Multiplayer would enhance the game's re-playability. Overall a solid game, I would buy the next one in a minute. Expand
  30. RandallJ.
    Aug 2, 2002
    9
    The whole f.....g reason i bought the PS2 is because of this game. I'm a huge fan of WWII and suggest you get!
  31. CanteenBoy
    Aug 1, 2002
    8
    Oh WHOA! Look at those GRAPHICS! Can you believe those JET planes flying overhead in the first mission?!? And all of those ARMY MEN running around with those HUGE backpacks, thier belts strapped downwards with CANTEENS rubbing, aching for someone to take them, asking for some more health! Don't worry! Canteen Boy will save you now! Damn those Germans!!!!
  32. MikelT.
    Jul 24, 2002
    8
    Needs more levels.
  33. UmbertoM.
    Jul 24, 2002
    10
    Indeed the best game I have ever seen. Every detail is so realistic that makes you think that you'll never stop playing it. Every Nazi is so perfectly created that it is almost a shame that you must take them out.. Thanks to EA
  34. Ryan
    Jul 20, 2002
    10
    First person shooter fans finally have something to look in to. This game blew me away. Its sense of realism is the best ive seen in a first person shooter. This game, simply said, ROCKS!!!!!!
  35. ChrisG.
    Jul 19, 2002
    10
    Just beat the PC version, now bought the PS2 version. Not as good graphically, but still good and fun. I wish the controls were better (they should market a keyboard and mouse for the PS2, I'd buy it)
  36. DanielF.
    Jul 17, 2002
    9
    Great game, one of the best games to come out on the ps2, only problem is the controls need a lot of practice and the game is just crying out to have a multi player game???
  37. SBSpence
    Jul 16, 2002
    8
    Another solid title in the Medal of Honor line up. A little disappointing in that it doesn't "reinvent the wheel" with cutting edge programming or new ideas, but, that just may be part of it's charm. This game pulls you with it's very first mission and then slowly slips back into the same ol, same ol. It feels very much like previous titles with the main difference being a Another solid title in the Medal of Honor line up. A little disappointing in that it doesn't "reinvent the wheel" with cutting edge programming or new ideas, but, that just may be part of it's charm. This game pulls you with it's very first mission and then slowly slips back into the same ol, same ol. It feels very much like previous titles with the main difference being a few scattered insanely difficult levels! It even made me shelve it for a few days before finally coming back on strong for me with the final few levels to finish it out. A very solid addition to the Medal of Honor line-up but isn't the much awaited "Holy Grail" for gamers. Expand
  38. GeorgeC.
    Jul 8, 2002
    10
    Some say this game is the Halo for Ps2.
  39. Chad
    Jul 5, 2002
    10
    The best game of all time...or at least to this date...sick.
  40. AnonymousMC
    Jun 21, 2002
    9
    This game by far is the best "war" game I have played. The plot is okay, but the graphics are great, and the sound is fascinating. You can get through most of it when you rent it. The first couple of levels are really easy, but then it gets hard. In the beginning you do not have many weapons but as the game moves on you get to use more. For a while there I had lost my faith in "War"This game by far is the best "war" game I have played. The plot is okay, but the graphics are great, and the sound is fascinating. You can get through most of it when you rent it. The first couple of levels are really easy, but then it gets hard. In the beginning you do not have many weapons but as the game moves on you get to use more. For a while there I had lost my faith in "War" games- the games with the little toy soldiers. But this game beats them all. The only thing missing is multiplayer- and if you could play the game with a cooperative option that would be even better. Expand
  41. [Anonymous]
    Jun 16, 2002
    10
    This game kicks ass. Can't seem to get enough of this. Its exciting, and scary at the same time, I think the enemies Artificial Inteligence
  42. MikEPaynE
    Jun 5, 2002
    10
    Hey ''Hero S.'', have u played the game before? have u experienced the game before? have u ever seen the game before? NO! you havent. u have been too busy playing chess, wearing highwaters, and playing pokemon cards with yourself because nobody likes you, MOH:FL is the best game besides GTA3. but you wouldnt know that because your mommy wont let you play it. will she? Hey ''Hero S.'', have u played the game before? have u experienced the game before? have u ever seen the game before? NO! you havent. u have been too busy playing chess, wearing highwaters, and playing pokemon cards with yourself because nobody likes you, MOH:FL is the best game besides GTA3. but you wouldnt know that because your mommy wont let you play it. will she? will she? will she? NO! Expand
  43. FilazaferJoe
    Jun 3, 2002
    10
    No doubt, the best PS2 game since GTA3. I love it.
  44. HeroS.
    Jun 3, 2002
    0
    PSX Nation is the only site that dares to tell the truth, the game sucks, waste some $s and see for yourself :-(
  45. SolidSnake
    Jun 2, 2002
    10
    there's no two-player mode, but the one-player mode is so great you won't care about that. Pick up a copy of this game NOW!!!!!
  46. DQ
    Jun 2, 2002
    10
    Yep.
  47. ZacharyB.
    Jun 1, 2002
    10
    This game is totaly amazing, the graphics are great and the gameplay is awesome. This is the most realistic war video game I have ever played. In the begining i thought i was watching Saving Private Ryan.
  48. Dutchman
    Jun 1, 2002
    10
    One word: amazing!!!!
  49. TAsh
    May 31, 2002
    9
    Needs blood. War times without bloodshed....not happening. Other than that, the game rocks. Can't imagine playing on regular television with no Dolby Surround stereo hooked up though...
  50. JasonL.
    May 30, 2002
    10
    This is the all around best game I have ever played.
  51. MikeK.
    May 29, 2002
    10
    Another great shooter added to the ps2 list after redfaction deusex quakeIII and unreal.
  52. Mark
    May 28, 2002
    10
    Dude. This game rocks!!!
  53. NicholasB.
    May 27, 2002
    10
    This is one of the most awesome games in the history of awesome games. It is my favorite except Halo.
  54. MikeP.
    May 24, 2002
    10
    This game brings back bad memories.... i got off the boat it was wwII i used a spoon for a mirror to see around a corner... BANG BANG BANG I shot the solider dead, blood runer from his head, eyes burn from sting and sweat, seems every pathway leads me to nowhere.... ANYway, this game rules, its very fun and thats what games should be! FUN
  55. BeauF.
    May 23, 2002
    10
    I had the chance to play this game at E3 today and was blown away by it, to say the least. The sound is phenomenal. The Omaha Beach landing sequence is as real as you can ask for. A definite must-buy.
  56. May 3, 2011
    0
    Medal of Honor is the defintion of Classic Video Game. For 2002 this game created such a crazy atmosphere and virtual war experience that I was on the edge of my seat for the entirety of it. One of my favorite FPS campaign missions of all time is in it, which is a level where you have to infiltrate a mansion using stealth OR guns a blazing, whatever your wish. It really let for a great,Medal of Honor is the defintion of Classic Video Game. For 2002 this game created such a crazy atmosphere and virtual war experience that I was on the edge of my seat for the entirety of it. One of my favorite FPS campaign missions of all time is in it, which is a level where you have to infiltrate a mansion using stealth OR guns a blazing, whatever your wish. It really let for a great, and very challenging level, that I adore and will always remember. The gameplay is classic, the soundtrack is classic, the graphics are classic. This game oozes with classic!! Collapse
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. It bests its predecessors in one key area: Every mission conveys a nail-biting tension that absorbs the player as never before. [June 2002]
  2. 80
    Frontline isn't perfect, though. For one thing there are the always-problematic control issues. A console system with its gamepad just can't replicate the tight controls offered by a mouse and keyboard.
  3. Despite its occasional appearances, the game is so incredibly linear it hurts.