• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Dec 7, 2004
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. This game is thoroughly enjoyable from start to finish, even when you are dying over and over. Like "Prince of Persia," it's that one time you actually make it all happen that has you forgetting how many times you hit retry.
  2. After the mess of new ideas that was Mega Man X7, it's amazing that X8 can go back to the basics and seem completely fresh by not doing anything new.
  3. Old-school fans will rejoice, and maybe a new generation will now understand why Mega Man is awesome. [Jan 2005, p.124]
  4. One mighty fine addition to the series, as well as a quality platforming/action title in its own right.
  5. The stages are challenging, the bosses are interesting, though a bit predictable, and the game is just about classic platforming fun.
  6. The best original Mega Man game since the days of Sega Saturn. [Jan 2005, p.56]
  7. With the introduction of polygons in Mega Man X2 in 1995, I never thought their use would result in a good X game. But this is the game I imagined the future would bring.
  8. 73
    If you loved "Mega Man X7" and thought it was one of the best action games of last year then Mega Man X8 will probably grant you eternal life.
  9. The best Mega Man X in recent memory and will provide an enjoyable challenge to gamers willing to give 2D another go. [Feb 2005, p.97]
  10. Polishes everything about "X7", but makes no big changes. [Jan 2005, p.73]
  11. 70
    It's certainly not as good as the early X games, but it's a giant leap in the right direction.
  12. 70
    The story's dry as a bone, but that's not what you're playing Mega Man for anyway. The only truly glaring flaw: there are some lame 3D shooter sections, and while they aren't as frustrating (or prolific) as those in X7, surmounting them will still test your patience more than your ability with a joypad.
  13. The last game's horrible 3D stages are now less frequent, and the bosses have graduated from embarrassing to forgettable. [Jan 2005, p.134]
  14. Better than most of the series' efforts, this is still a painfully stunted experience. The art team give things a nice visual nudge, but the focus still needs to fall on the core gameplay.
  15. There's a total lack of ingenuity here, and although this may be the first 3D Mega Man game that "works", it's only because Capcom played it safe; the game is downright tiresome at times, with barely any interesting touches.
  16. Eliminates some of the annoyances of its predecessor. However, while that's all well and good, X8 can still often be an intensely frustrating game, and still isn't especially fun.
  17. A fairly hard game that regularly borders on the frustrating.
  18. MegaMan X8's return-to-basics approach makes for predictable but reasonably entertaining gameplay antics IF you're a diehard fan of Capcom's series.
  19. This game may be relatively simply, but it sure is varied... Comforting and predictable.
  20. And while the whole trial-and-error mechanic is enough to make you throw your controller down and never return, there's a rewarding feeling when you do finally win.
  21. Familiar but flawed. Once again, Capcom has added a few more wrinkles to make the experience slightly different than before.
  22. It maintains the old-school traditional gameplay but methinks that it holds it too tightly - like a wino hugging a bottle of cheap wine.
  23. 40
    Maybe our blue buddy needs to take a breather for a little while, replace his outdated circuitry, and make another run in a few years' time.
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Dec 9, 2013
    4
    Nonsensical, unnatural and laughable story accompanied with a gameplay that looks pretty but has lost all the previous essence. Mega Man is dead unless a total reboot. Full Review »
  2. Jul 19, 2012
    9
    I was surprised when I saw many of the bad reviews X8 got, because it's such a good game. Mega Man X8 is one of the best Mega Man games ever! I've seen many people complain over things like the voice acting, how it's not in 2D etc. Personally I think the voice acting is great, X has a couple of strange lines, but otherwise it's great, to me the voices really fit the characters. As for why it's not in 2D, do people really think Capcom would release another 2D Mega Man X game only 3 years after the last one for a console like the PS2? I really like the graphics in this game and the new character design, it looks great. The gameplay is amazing and the controls are amazing, I really like how fast-paced X8 is. The stages are awesome, the stages in X8 are a little short, but still some of the best stages in the X series. X8 is filled with cool stuff and there is a very cool easter egg in Optic Sunflowers stage. The story is slightly confusing, but atleast it has a story and it is good enough. Vile is in the game, I love Vile. Sigma in this game looks really cool, X1 style Sigma and final Sigma. And one of the things I like the most.. IT HAS CUT SCENES, WHO DOESN'T LOVE EPIC COOL ANIMATED CUT SCENES!? But as every game I've ever played, it has some things I didn't like about it. The boss battles are a little too easy, well, except for at the end of the game.. Some rare metals are freaking impossible to find without a guide. The mini boss at Gravity Antonion's stage is really annoying. X8 has some of my favorite VGM ever, Title screen, Jakob Elevator, Intermission Theme etc. but overall, the soundtrack is poor. The two fully 3D stages are annoying. But I don't care about this because overall Mega Man X8 is a fantastic game that was put a lot of effort into by the developers. If you are a Mega Man fan then you need this game, and I think any fan of platformers would enjoy this a lot too. Mega Man X8 is well worthy of a score of 9~ :3 now I'm just hoping that X9 will ever come out, because with the X8 ending you'd really expect a sequel. I really hope Capcom doesn't kill Mega Man completely.. Full Review »