User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 777 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 50 out of 777

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 26, 2012
    4
    This game was never good. This game still isn't good. The camera is your worst enemy. Guards constantly spot you when you can't even see them and this get's worse once you need to turn on your radar in the rest of the rooms in the game. The Story is just plain un-interesting. Hideo Kojima may be a master writer of stories, but this one doesn't deliver until the last hour or so of gameThis game was never good. This game still isn't good. The camera is your worst enemy. Guards constantly spot you when you can't even see them and this get's worse once you need to turn on your radar in the rest of the rooms in the game. The Story is just plain un-interesting. Hideo Kojima may be a master writer of stories, but this one doesn't deliver until the last hour or so of game play and cut scenes, and even at that point I find myself not caring about some of the things, while the parts while interesting feel more like they belong in a film or some documentary. This is not a good game and it's a boring movie. Expand
  2. Apr 9, 2012
    1
    Standards for video games must have been really low when this game first came out. I didn't play the original but I picked up MGS2 in the HD collection for the PS3. The problem with the game isn't the graphics (as some might say the graphics look dated on the PS3). No, the problem is the same as it was back when the game first came out - the gameplay. MGS2 has the worst gameplay of anyStandards for video games must have been really low when this game first came out. I didn't play the original but I picked up MGS2 in the HD collection for the PS3. The problem with the game isn't the graphics (as some might say the graphics look dated on the PS3). No, the problem is the same as it was back when the game first came out - the gameplay. MGS2 has the worst gameplay of any console game I have ever played. How could reviewers possibly give this game a perfect score? MGS and MGS4 are great games (still have to play MGS3) but MGS2 just doesn't compare. The camera is terrible, the shooting is terrible, your character handles terribly. But the Metal Gear series isn't known for gameplay as much as it is for story, right? You could totally skip this installment. I bought the HD collection to fill in the gap between MGS and MGS4 and what have I gained? Pretty much nothing. The problem isn't Raiden either - I actually like Raiden. Snake controls even worse than Raiden if that is even possible. Why did I give this game a 1 instead of a 0? The cutscenes were the best part of the game, even though they were mindless and nowhere near as good as in the other games. I couldn't wait to put down my controller from playing this horrible game just to watch a cutscene. The only reason I am putting this review here and not in the HD collection is because I don't want to judge the entire collection after only playing one game. I hope the other 2 games are better. Extremely disappointed with MGS2. Expand
  3. Apr 3, 2011
    0
    No, I still dont get this, WHO CALLS A VIDEO GAME BAD BASED OFF PLOT? It makes no sense, are you really going to hate this game just because you play as Raiden? Are you high? Not only is his involvment in the game necessary to the plot, but its not that big of a deal, snake and raiden's controls are the same, how big of a baby are you to complain who you are playing as? Plot are youNo, I still dont get this, WHO CALLS A VIDEO GAME BAD BASED OFF PLOT? It makes no sense, are you really going to hate this game just because you play as Raiden? Are you high? Not only is his involvment in the game necessary to the plot, but its not that big of a deal, snake and raiden's controls are the same, how big of a baby are you to complain who you are playing as? Plot are you serious? "Screw the incredible graphic,s and gameplay, the plot was stupid" maybe you people forgot but this ISNT a movie, its a game, if you hate the cutscenes than just skip them, is it really that hard? How can functioning humans review like this, it is the epitome of illogical reviwing, thats like saying the food sucked because it wasnt on a good plate, who cares about the plate???? The food is the main focus. You cant just call food bad because of the plate it is served on. Expand
  4. Aug 21, 2010
    0
    You don't play as Solid Snake through most of the game. Instead you play as an emotionally challenged J-pop wimp named Raiden. The bosses in this game are a rollerblading bomber, a bisexual pseudo vampire (like Twilight), and an old man who is being controlled by a dead guy's arm. The gameplay consists of wandering around being spotted and then hiding for 20 minutes while the enemies goYou don't play as Solid Snake through most of the game. Instead you play as an emotionally challenged J-pop wimp named Raiden. The bosses in this game are a rollerblading bomber, a bisexual pseudo vampire (like Twilight), and an old man who is being controlled by a dead guy's arm. The gameplay consists of wandering around being spotted and then hiding for 20 minutes while the enemies go quiet. The enemies are infinite once you've been spotted and you're bound to be spotted since the smallest disturbence sets them off. As a result you spend most of the game hiding from enemies and not doing any combat whatsoever. Normally a stealth game doesn't focus on combat but this is a whole other story. In most stealth games you can occasionally take out a soldier or two without being spotted, but this game demands that you don't do any combat other than the boss battles. Add to all this a terrible plot and you've got one of the most overrated games of all time. Expand
  5. DanielE
    Dec 2, 2009
    3
    The gameplay enhancements and overall graphical improvements over the first game are a welcome addition. However the contrived plot and lame characters send this one to the bottom. The whole time i was playing this i keep getting a sense of deja vu, and in the end i found out why. I really wanted to like this game, but after the prequel on the ship in the beginning, this thing just tanks. The gameplay enhancements and overall graphical improvements over the first game are a welcome addition. However the contrived plot and lame characters send this one to the bottom. The whole time i was playing this i keep getting a sense of deja vu, and in the end i found out why. I really wanted to like this game, but after the prequel on the ship in the beginning, this thing just tanks. If you enjoy philosophical ramblings shoved down your throat while being treated to a recycled plot that is much harder to believe than its source material being presented as a "game". Then this is for you. Expand
  6. ZackL
    Nov 6, 2009
    0
    This is my absolute least favorite game of all time simply because everyone thinks it's the greatest thing to ever be played when it's garbage if there was a lower rating than 0 than you better believe that's what this would be getting
  7. DeanR
    Dec 29, 2008
    0
    Metal Gear Solid 2 was the worst game in the series. Hideo Kojima deceived gamers by making them believe you played as Solid Snake only to find out that you play a new, young (and by all accounts) bisexual character named Raiden. If Raiden was similar to Snake in any way - it might have been okay - but he moved like a ballerina and pranced like a pony. How would you expect Batman fans to Metal Gear Solid 2 was the worst game in the series. Hideo Kojima deceived gamers by making them believe you played as Solid Snake only to find out that you play a new, young (and by all accounts) bisexual character named Raiden. If Raiden was similar to Snake in any way - it might have been okay - but he moved like a ballerina and pranced like a pony. How would you expect Batman fans to buy a Batman game and then have to play as some new character the whole game? It would be an outrage. The games plot was confusing and the only reason it was a success was because cool-aid drinking fanboys forced themselves to like the game. It was a mess. LUCKILY though, Hideo learned from his mistake and produced 2 awesome follow-ups - MGS3 (my second fav of the series) and MGS4. So I can forgive the crap that was MGS2, but don't try to tell me that it was some kind of masterpiece - because it was stupid. Collapse
  8. SolidSnake
    Mar 30, 2008
    0
    To be honest, I hated working on this game.

    Working conditions sucked, salary was even lower than it was in MGS1, and the script was complete bullshit. Except for my parts, of course.

    Hm... here's my advice. Just play through the Tanker Chapter and move on to MGS3. It'll save you a lot of hours of drudging through boring missions and a ridiculously asinine storyline.
  9. BoraC.
    Mar 26, 2008
    4
    Is it a game or a movie? It's not supposed to be both. It starts as a game, and ends up as a movie. No matter how good or bad the storyline is, a game is not supposed to have a cutscene that is longer than a tv sit-com. Before the battle with Solidus I checked the time and it was more than 20 minutes, so I quit playin.
  10. Korn
    Feb 13, 2008
    0
    Why Is this Game Have a Higher Score than the Original MGS? What A Joke
  11. CarlosFromPeru
    Aug 4, 2007
    1
    This game is a big disappointment. I was waiting for something better. The story is ridiculous.
  12. AaronP.
    Mar 23, 2007
    0
    This game sucks. It sucks because it has lousy gameplay and it has a plot that would make a little kid cry. This game is the pimple on the franchises a**. Trust me save your hard earned money.
  13. JasonW.
    Aug 26, 2006
    1
    it was weak, no snake except in the tanker part, yet they promte snake as being the main theme on the back of the game box, its really awful how the chatter just goes on an on an on an on an on...no serioulsy thats how it is , (when coming to the end it really gets bad)... the game was short, the highest level card u achieve is 5 an u dont even use it, all in all this Game deserves to be it was weak, no snake except in the tanker part, yet they promte snake as being the main theme on the back of the game box, its really awful how the chatter just goes on an on an on an on an on...no serioulsy thats how it is , (when coming to the end it really gets bad)... the game was short, the highest level card u achieve is 5 an u dont even use it, all in all this Game deserves to be given away for free, i gave it a 1. Expand
  14. AnonymousMC
    Mar 3, 2005
    0
    I hated this game and I'm going with the rest of the other brutally honest people here and tell you straight up this game sucks. I wanted to write the people responsible for this game and tell them exactly how gay the end was. I'm currently running around naked on this game that never seems to end. Where am I supposed to go now, wait you know what I don't care because II hated this game and I'm going with the rest of the other brutally honest people here and tell you straight up this game sucks. I wanted to write the people responsible for this game and tell them exactly how gay the end was. I'm currently running around naked on this game that never seems to end. Where am I supposed to go now, wait you know what I don't care because I hate this game and I'm tired of hearing how the colonel was a north american fireworm in his past life. My only last wish is that there were numbers lower than 0 so I could give this one a lower score. Expand
  15. GaryJ.
    Jan 6, 2005
    3
    Plot is HORRIBLE. Totally ruins the franchise. Gameplay is good, but with a plot so awful, why bother?
  16. AliciaD.
    Dec 16, 2003
    0
    This is violent and teaches children it is ok to play with guns and killing people.
  17. Bander
    Oct 7, 2003
    4
    It was a remake of MGS:1 dont u people listen to the game line and think about the storyline SAME ONE.
  18. MichealJ.
    Feb 23, 2003
    3
    Ditto to Yo hey yo's opinion.
  19. Yoheyyo
    Jan 16, 2003
    3
    zzzzzz.....oh, is that cut scene over? has excellent graphics, with some nice subtleties, and makes great use of the controller, but the unending cut scenes, cheeseball story, lame-ass villians bring the score way down. it really seems like the creator ran out of ideas. a mad bomber on roller blades? please, that's just stupid. most over-rated game ever.
  20. PaulF.
    Jan 14, 2003
    0
    OK, you guys are fans of the series, solid snake is a decently cool character, but this game is trash, absolute utter total trash. the storyline is so ridiculously convoluted and just plain silly that any and all redeeming features of the gameplay (and there are a few, but really not that many) are flooded with bad feelings. the cut scenes drag on for ages, explaining, and re-explaining OK, you guys are fans of the series, solid snake is a decently cool character, but this game is trash, absolute utter total trash. the storyline is so ridiculously convoluted and just plain silly that any and all redeeming features of the gameplay (and there are a few, but really not that many) are flooded with bad feelings. the cut scenes drag on for ages, explaining, and re-explaining the most ridiculous justifications for the most non-sensical twists. i should probably give it a one because the first section with snake is ok, though not great, and the second character is crap, but even if he had been cool it wouldn't have mattered. Please people, stop giving this game a 10, and stop buyng it, if you keep believing the hype and continue to pretend this game is good just because you liked its predecessor (which wasnt as good as the original Syphon Filter by a longshot by the way) then the game will never improve, the next version will have just as lame a story, with another crappy character, and they'll lazily put in another torture sequence, and stinger fight with an aircraft (how lame was that?) and you'll have paid another $50 for a pile of crap that you can give 10's to again. Expand
  21. KyleB.
    Nov 14, 2002
    3
    Why do they call this metal gear SOLID!. The game has no snake what so ever. For the first 15-20 minutes you're snake, after that you take control of a very womanly character named raiden. This character slaps people instead of punching and has a huge emotional attachment to Rose, one of the most annoying female love interests I have ever seen in a game. Raiden never once cracked a Why do they call this metal gear SOLID!. The game has no snake what so ever. For the first 15-20 minutes you're snake, after that you take control of a very womanly character named raiden. This character slaps people instead of punching and has a huge emotional attachment to Rose, one of the most annoying female love interests I have ever seen in a game. Raiden never once cracked a joke, he has some of the most ugly hair ever and instead of using a bandana he uses wigs! He sounds like he has a cold, Has almost no physicial definition looking like a ten year old boy. Raiden truly destroys this game, if you can't like the main character, how can you really enjoy the game? It gets a three because those few precious seconds as snake and the witty banter Snake and Ottacon pass back and forth makes the game at least some what humerous. The game should have no Raiden what so ever. They actually called him Snake at the start of the game. DISGRACEFUL! Expand
  22. JasonL.
    Jun 9, 2002
    1
    The plot and interaction with supporting characters are both pathetically corny. Unlike many others I will not be fooled into thinking this is a great game just because of some pretty cutscenes (which happened to be way too long).
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. The environments are amazing, when on the deck of the tank the rain effects are extremely lifelike, along with rain drops hitting the ship and characters.
  2. As stunning and enjoyable as ever. You may feel foolish gripping the controller throughout a 40-minute cut scene, but MGS2 is something which must be experienced.
  3. 80
    MGS2 suffers in its story. I can't spoil it for you, but I can at least warn you to be prepared for a plot that frequently reaches levels of sheer absurdity.