• Publisher: SNK
  • Release Date: May 25, 2005
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. It'd be a little more worthwhile if an arcade-perfect Metal Slug 3 had been included in the collection, but this is still a must-have for those of us who fondly remember our local arcade.
  2. Metal Slug 4 & 5 are arcade-perfect translations of the latest entries into a classic series of games. They are thumb-numbingly difficult, though with infinite continues this challenge is undermined – making completing either game a matter of simple devotion rather than skill.
  3. What's typical by SNK standards equates to a few hours of incredible old-school adrenaline rush. [June 2005, p.54]
  4. What you get here is a near-perfect recreation of the arcade versions of Metal Slug Four and Five.
  5. 80
    But don't let anything touch you, no matter what, because this game brings back the Old Testament concept of one-hit deaths. Beneath the Saturday morning cartoon exterior of the Metal Slug games beats a cruel heart that you'll either love or hate.
  6. 80
    An excellent offering but is only recommended for the hardcore side-scrolling shooter fan due to the short gameplay time. [July 2005, p.74]
  7. Finally, everyone will be able to see everything these games have to offer. [June 2005, p.127]
  8. If you're reading this review, having never played a Metal Slug game before, then all you need to know is that it's an insanely over-the-top 2D action game in which you play the role of a commando who kills a lot of people.
  9. Metal Slug 5 is the obviously superior version, and in all honesty it would have been better were it just $20 for that alone, but this is still a good deal.
  10. It's likely that only those players who have already acquired a taste for Metal Slug's rich blend of crazy, manic violence and goofy humor will fully appreciate this package.
  11. They are not bad games, but nothing you have to run to the store and pick up this instant. However, when you put the two games together you can get a lot of gameplay for the buck.
  12. Easy to play, easy to run through, nostalgic game style and the memories brought on more than a few smiles during the game.
  13. Unfortunately, each gorgeous game can be finished in about an hour. [June 2005, p.78]
  14. And while fans of such modern shootouts as Halo 2 will scoff at its Super Nintendo–ish look and gameplay, anyone who can remember the last decade without the aid of I Love the ’90s should come away smiling.
  15. I wish there were more items to unlock, but as is, it's still worth a play through.
  16. 60
    When you purchase the Metal Slug 4 & 5 combination pack, you are purchasing Metal Slug 4 & 5, wrinkles and all. That's not a horrible thing, but it's also not a great thing.
  17. 60
    For most gamers, this is a prime rental, able to provide a few hours distraction. But for 40 bucks, only the most dedicated players will get their money's worth.
  18. 60
    If you're prepared to treat Metal Slug 4/5 as an arcade game and are interested in discovering secrets and alternate paths then you can get a lot out of this game.
  19. Metal Slug 4 is intense, immediate and fun in all the right ways, but it's disposable entertainment in every sense of the phrase. [Review of Metal Slug 4 only]
  20. It gives me a warm fuzzy to go back and play games like these, but like any other classic games, it just can't hold my attention.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. MickR.
    Jun 17, 2005
    10
    Explosive action, incredible art, and spectacular animation. Buy this right now!
  2. EmmanuelG.
    Jun 10, 2005
    10
    this is very good game.
  3. Funkonaut
    May 29, 2005
    7
    My first introduction to the Metal Slug series was through Metal Slug Advance for the GBA. At first I thought it was a simple run-and-gun My first introduction to the Metal Slug series was through Metal Slug Advance for the GBA. At first I thought it was a simple run-and-gun game that was way too short. After my thirtieth time playing it I realized what Metal Slug really is: a trial-and-error fest that you play again and again until you can run through each level without dying even once. As impossible as that may sound, I eventually accomplished that feat on Metal Slug Advance. With Metal Slug 4 and 5, that could be a near-impossible task. This game is HARD. At any moment there are dozens of enemies on the screen, all firing at you from every direction. And there's no life bar; you die if you get hit even once. If you want some old-school shooter action that requires lightning quick reflexes and takes weeks to master then this game is for you. Otherwise, it's a great rental that will find you blowing through both games in about an hour due to unlimited continues. Full Review »