• Publisher: Midway
  • Release Date: Nov 18, 2003
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
Buy On
  1. I don't even need to write a review, this one writes itself. All these games... Buy it. [Dec 2003, p.150]
  2. 75
    My disappointment in this disc's shortcomings is tempered by the sheer amount of great, classic gaming on offer.
  3. These are first-rate emulations of all the original games, perfect recreations that will put a smile on your face and provide countless hours of gaming enjoyment.
  4. You can't really play this game without thinking of the dark, sweat-filled arcades that're now long gone, or of those plastic-sheathed sitdown machines you still sometimes see in bars. Midway Arcade Treasures is like a time capsule, buried back when games were simple, and no less fun because of that.
  5. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    82
    This incredible compilation is a dream team of sorts for anyone old enough to remember having to out to play the best videogames. [Jan 2004, p.128]
  6. An excellent package and a true treasure.
  7. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    90
    Unlike any arcade compilation released on PS1, these games are exactly like their standup counterparts. [Jan 2004, p.125]
  8. A well-selected assortment of gaming classics that could easily eat up weeks of your free time and is definitely worth a buy for any arcade gamer buff.
  9. It’s a must for old schoolers and also a must for the younger generation so they can see what we had to play and how far videogaming has come in the last 20 years.
  10. For $20, you’ll be getting a fantastic collection of games and a bit of history to go with some of the bigger ones. Hopefully future collections will add a bit more in the history department, but for now, this is an admirable start.
  11. GMR Magazine
    80
    The emulation is solid, delivering sound and gameplay that's up to par. [Jan 2004, p.86]
  12. GameNow
    91
    The bulk of the included 24 games are still highly addictive and hecka fun to play - especially multiplayer. [Jan 2004, p.59]
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 1 more rating

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Dec 5, 2016
    10
    I enjoy these classic arcade games that have not been available to me. The controls are great! Even Defender has been made simple for greatI enjoy these classic arcade games that have not been available to me. The controls are great! Even Defender has been made simple for great comfort. These games will not get old. 10/10. Full Review »
  2. RayM.
    Dec 15, 2003
    8
    The game is exactly as it sounds...20 games of the past that have the same amount of fun that I remember in the arcades. The controls are The game is exactly as it sounds...20 games of the past that have the same amount of fun that I remember in the arcades. The controls are great and it saves your high score, so you have a reason to keep playing. Full Review »