Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
Buy On
  1. PSM Magazine
    80
    The key to Operation Surma is in the challenge and entertainment value that's provided, and that should get you your money's worth. [Feb 2004, p.38]
  2. Cheat Code Central
    80
    If anything, this game proves that stealth doesn't have to be boring.
  3. A good story, solid controls and graphics, and tons of interesting gadgets. [Feb 2004, p.103]
  4. Not quite as fresh as it would have been if "Splinter Cell" were not already out there, but it is a very solid game in the stealth genre and a really outstanding use of a movie license that just begged for this kind of game.
  5. Engaging gameplay full of intriguing gadgets and weaponry, a tightly-wound story, and intricate stealth-action. Unfortunately, there are a few problems with the game, mostly graphically, as the framerate varies, unlike the detail, which is consistently mediocre.
  6. Probably isn’t going to satisfy those who are looking for an in-depth stealth game requiring strategy and calculating maneuvers.
  7. I just think that if they could have stepped up the difficulty and/or the AI a few notches, this one could have been really good.
  8. The gameplay and puzzles are spoon-fed to you in easily swallowed bites, but much like Chinese food, when it’s over you will be full but not terribly satisfied.
  9. Takes no big chances with the genre's rules--it's strictly stealth-by-numbers that's highly reminiscent of last year's "Splinter Cell"--but it's a well-made and entertaining game all the same.
  10. 73
    The heavy focus on gadgets is good fun for a little while, but there's just never that immersion that I think has become required for games in this category.
  11. Only slightly above the mean in most respects. It bites off of "MGS" and "Splinter Cell" so heavily in most parts that it’s hard to walk away from the game with a entirely unique sense of what the game was trying to do.
  12. Whilst it may lack innovation and the mediocre graphics could put off a few punters, Mission: Impossible - Operation Surma offers up a competent, decent and all-round enjoyable stealth package (even if it does so at the expense of others).
  13. Weekly Famitsu
    70
    7 / 7 / 7 / 7 - 28 [Vol 798; 2 Apr 2004]
  14. The sloppy camera ruins a lot of fun that this game has to offer. The only good thing is the amount of gadgets that Ethan has available.
  15. To play Operation Surma is to walk a tightrope between excited gaming tension and an overwhelming urge for self-mutilation.
  16. 65
    All of this is handled well enough, but there's nothing special to it.
  17. Despite these problems, the one thing that stands out in this game is that it stayed true to the Mission Impossible name, making it almost seem as if we were watching the movie.
  18. Though most of the game is well balanced, the last few missions become unfairly hard.... But a fine effort indeed. [Feb 2004, p.110]
  19. The part of the game that annoyed me the most - long range combat.
  20. 63
    It just has some serious problems with the camera combined with average graphics and sound that don’t spell success for the title.
  21. 60
    There is a big flaw in this Operation, however, and it's control. Simply put, the simplicity and elegance of "Splinter Cell" is not to be found in the IMF.
  22. While the tough, stealthy game play won’t grip you in a chokehold of novelty and surprise, it flashes a lethal look and feel.
  23. 60
    While combat obviously isn't the focus of a stealth game, the fighting in Surma is stunningly awful.
  24. Play Magazine
    58
    I normally don't mind a very specific, linear gameplay structure, I even invite it, but the ideas in the game don't work within this rigidity. [Jan 2004, p.66]
  25. Beneath the crashes, the clumsy mission design and the comically inconsistent environment lurks a perfectly average stealth adventure.
  26. A generation ago this would've been held up as a fine game, but it's been radically usurped in almost any area you care to mention, and in this day and age just slapping a licence on the front of the pack isn't enough to make it anywhere near interesting.
  27. While it's a fair addition to the crowded stealth-action genre, the hardest part of this mission is figuring out why anyone would choose this game over Splinter Cell's soon-to-be-released sequel.
  28. A hateful creation, demanding more attention than a sugar-buzzed toddler and never showing you what you need to see, including anyone who might be shooting holes in your stomach.
  29. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    40
    Although not as bad as "Tomb Raider," MI is marred by an appallingly complex control system that (if you're anything like me) you'll never get used to. [Feb 2004, p.103]
  30. games(TM)
    30
    Dilute, disjointed and uninspiring. Feeling more like a staggered set of obstacles than a wholesome game, the action sadly boils down to little more than a tediously dull showcase for your equipment and abilities, which are put into use against some questionable AI stooges. [Jan 2004, p.118]
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. DougB.
    May 23, 2004
    10
    I really enjoy this game. I think it is very under rated. I like it better than Splinter Cell in the sense, when Ethan needs to fight, he I really enjoy this game. I think it is very under rated. I like it better than Splinter Cell in the sense, when Ethan needs to fight, he can, Sam runs around in circles till he's shot dead, bogus! The rest of the stealth stuff and the gadgets are excellent. Full Review »
  2. JonathanL.
    Dec 17, 2003
    6
    The beginning of the game is awesome, and some other parts throughout are entertaining, but the game turns sour when it concentrates too The beginning of the game is awesome, and some other parts throughout are entertaining, but the game turns sour when it concentrates too heavily on puzzles and not enough on gameplay and user-friendliness. Even though Ethan has "help" in other characters, they never come around when you need them most. Full Review »
  3. C.Kings
    Nov 30, 2003
    9
    This game rocks.