MLB 2005 PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Mar 16, 2004
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
Buy On
  1. A decent baseball game and is genuinely better than the last offering, but you get the sense that the developers are more spending too much time with cute bonus features like the EyeToy support and headset commands rather than focusing on ways to improve the gameplay.
  2. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    70
    Up from the depths of the minors a year ago, MLB 2005 is starting to look like it belongs in the bigs...Maybe next year, 989, you'll go all the way. [May 2004, p.96]
  3. 70
    It's a drag that some serious AI issues still plague the simulation, but the EyeToy interaction and ball physics make MLB 2005 worth a look. A readily available online component even alleviates some of the AI tics.
  4. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    70
    The graphics need work, but no other game lets you really play as you. [May 2004, p.99]
  5. PSM Magazine
    70
    Despite incredible depth and improvement, hardcore baseball fans will be frustrated with the game's AI failures. [May 2004, p.37]
  6. The game isn't quite on a level with EA's "MVP Baseball 2004," but it does compete (which is saying a lot when you look at last year's installment) and it's fully capable of providing you with hours of entertainment.
  7. netjak
    60
    Just a couple steps away from being a great title.
  8. GMR Magazine
    70
    Overall, everything feels responsive, scores and stats come out realistically, and the atmosphere just feels right. [May 2004, p.84]
  9. For the features it has, though the same as others on the market, and for it’s ability to just give you a good time I give this game a 7 out of 10.
  10. Entertainment Weekly
    67
    For the ultimate in ego gratification (yours), MLB 2005 lets you use an Eye-Toy to digitally paste your face onto the body of a young rookie. [16 Apr 2004, p.L2T 19]

Awards & Rankings

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. ShellyF.
    Jun 20, 2005
    10
    This game is very,very good the graphics are good and the stadiums are very good.
  2. BrandonC.
    Aug 3, 2004
    9
    This game is probably the best game ever!!!!!! I love this game! I love exhibition, because of the trading you can do.
  3. RandyH.
    Apr 23, 2004
    6
    I liked everything about this game except no player editor or create- a-player. It's too hard to get your rosters to look right. Example I liked everything about this game except no player editor or create- a-player. It's too hard to get your rosters to look right. Example Raul Mondesi is on the Diamondbacks and Randall Simon is on the Cubs and no matter who I offer them they won't make the trade. If I pay 40 bucks for a game I'd like to be able to make my rosters as they really are. Full Review »