Monster Hunter PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Sep 21, 2004
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 37
  2. Negative: 3 out of 37
Buy On
  1. Whilst certainly not free of issues, Monster Hunter is equal measures out-and-out fun and out-and-out terror, delivered fantastically well in both online and offline modes. The game provides a PSO-style game for the PS2, and offering pick-up-and-play online gaming without the need to commit to hours at a time.
  2. The quests quickly repeat themselves and some of the larger creatures are nigh impossible to take down alone. Even so, it's a remarkably unique and thorough title and if you're online with your PS2, there's no reason for you not to get a taste for cold blood and take the hunt online. There really is nothing else quite like it.
  3. Weekly Famitsu
    80
    8 / 8 / 8 / 8 - 32 gold [Vol 796; 19 Mar 2004]
  4. 80
    Problems with the camera and controls hold it back from mass appeal, and unless you have the broadband adapter, you're missing out on a large chunk of the experience. With that said, there's definitely enough here to for serious players to enjoy if they're willing to devote the time necessary to really dive into the game.
  5. If you're able to accept the unorthodox control scheme, the mediocre single-player game (at least it has one), a troublesome camera, and the lack of an effective lock-on mechanism, then you're tough enough to reap Monster Hunter's unique benefits. [Dec 2004, p.162]
  6. With more true role-playing elements to balance out the sheer kill-and-collect MO of tis debut, this franchise, ripe with much potential, could grow serious legs. [Nov 2004, p.138]
  7. 80
    A must have for those with an interest in online gaming, especially the type of gamers who simply do not have the time to spend hours upon hours finding a party in an MMORPG. The pick-up-and-play formula works very well here and will no doubt keep you addicted for many months. [JPN Import]
  8. You can see the potential here the instant you set foot in town, but the real fun is found only online. The rest of the elements are merely so-so. [Nov 2004, p.134]
  9. PSM Magazine
    80
    For scratching that online teamplay itch though, not much else around satisfies quite like this. [Dec 2004, p.82]
  10. Highly amusing, fun combat system but a bit dragged down by the sometimes hard to get used to controls. Online play is great, but lag is sometimes a painful factor against small enemies.
  11. Edge Magazine
    80
    The game’s major achievement is an emphasis less on personal advancement, but rather on working as a cohesive unit to achieve your collective goal – the hunting of monsters, truly absurdly monstrous monsters... It’s an excellent exercise in humility and cooperation, and one that should not be passed by. [Dec 2005, p.108]
  12. With friends, the sense of camaraderie and teamwork is fantastic. Working together luring monsters into traps is hugely satisfying.
  13. Offline it’s a hollow shell of an action/adventure game, but online it’s a fun, addictive, and worthwhile entry – a game that’s based on teamwork rather than endless deathmatches.
  14. 75
    Those who "get" Monster Hunter will find hundreds of hours of entertainment both online and off. But whatever the case, Capcom should be commended for taking such an original, offbeat and ultimately rewarding approach to the genre.
  15. Lack of a lock on system can make the game frustrating, and I did suffer from a couple connection dropouts that weren't on my end. Still, to anyone looking for a new MORPG to play with their friends, try this out.

Awards & Rankings

#36 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2004
#93 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2004
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. ErikL.
    Jan 23, 2007
    10
    I love how this game is reviewed badly by criticsbut everyone who plays loves it. I cant thing of anything bad to say about this game I sunk I love how this game is reviewed badly by criticsbut everyone who plays loves it. I cant thing of anything bad to say about this game I sunk over 500 hours collecting all the armor. Full Review »
  2. Feb 17, 2015
    7
    I think that this game was amazing! I had so many amazing times with this game, yes the controls are hard to get used to and yes the cameraI think that this game was amazing! I had so many amazing times with this game, yes the controls are hard to get used to and yes the camera can be slightly frustrating, but the multiplayer is really where Monster Hunter shines, the experience you have hunting with a group of friends to collect and grind over and over for better armor and weapons becomes endless fun! Full Review »
  3. Oct 5, 2014
    9
    Eh, as always... Chech reviews and critics and You`ll always skip a good game. Sometimes it`s hard to belive that`s not their job. xD
    This
    Eh, as always... Chech reviews and critics and You`ll always skip a good game. Sometimes it`s hard to belive that`s not their job. xD
    This game is honestly one of the best experience You can get on PS2. If You like challanging games, like to test Your skills and memory... and above all You have a lot of patience and strong will - well, You gonna love this title.
    Trust me. I did.
    Full Review »