• Publisher: Midway
  • Release Date: Mar 22, 2005
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 24
  2. Negative: 12 out of 24
  1. 80
    The controls are quite responsive, offering a wide assortment of combat moves, but the weak camera hinders them.
  2. Ingest evidence rather than confiscate it and you’ll develop embarrassing addictions you can kick only via meter-driven mini-games, or you’ll get busted in a random drug test.
  3. 70
    The narrative is a bit thin—there's a new drug on the street called "Liquid Soul" and your task is to figure out where it's coming from—but once the fists and lead start flying, you won't really give a damn why you're doing what you're doing.
  4. I had fun playing the game, which is all that really matters. Some missions were frustrating, but the generous continue system helped repress some of the anger.
  5. 65
    Whether you're high or not, the action never moves beyond the primitive realm of shoot, punch, kick, tackle, grapple, throw and pummel. The only time the game gets legitimately challenging is when it becomes necessary to toggle out of the drug menu and select your beating fist or holster a weapon to arrest a suspect.
  6. The key phrase with NARC would seem to be "wasted potential."
  7. Be aware that its vehicle-less gameplay resembles "State of Emergency" a lot more than it does "GTA: San Andreas." [June 2005, p.79]
  8. A few annoying control and camera issues become readily apparent in some of the more frustrating missions. [May 2005, p.54]
  9. If you strip away the patently silly drug effects and the forced attitude, NARC is an unimpressive mission-based third-person action game. It's also short, rife with bugs, and basically not a lot of fun to play.
  10. The best part about this remake is the ability to unlock the original NARC from 1988, but only if you can force yourself to play long enough to do so.
  11. Even if its opinion is a little simplistic ("Drugs have short-term benefits and long-term consequences") and awkwardly included in the game, at least there's an attempt at a message, which is more than most games manage.
  12. A slew of problems hold NARC back from being the anticipated game many expected, and personally, I’ll blame VIS for it. The gameplay relies too heavily on something like "State of Emergency," and it just isn’t fun.
  13. We like guns, we like city envirnments, and we like laughable drugs and violence references. AND we like arresting people. But we don't like Narc. No. Sorry. [PSM2]
  14. Put simply, NARC is a mess. Every time it starts to show a little potential, it blindsides you with a nearly unplayable mission, amazing camera failure, or a flat-out boring sidequest. [May 2005, p.112]
  15. 45
    Aside from hearing what decently cast voice acting sounds like and hearing Michael Madsen give an excellent performance in 6-10 hours of bad gameplay, there's absolutely no reason to touch this game, even at $20.
  16. Quite simply a short and boring third person shooter that tries too hard to be edgy and just comes off as more sick and disgusting than anything else I've played.
  17. It works in small doses in providing some carnage and distraction from reality.
  18. 40
    Everything about the game feels clumsy. The graphics are mediocre, the gameplay is middling and repetitive, and the completely shallow glorification of drug use is either appalling or just plain stupid.
  19. The game falls not only short of expectation, but also below what this great team is capable of.
  20. 30
    This moral ambiguity is one of NARC's biggest selling points, but it's also one of the game's biggest flaws. No matter how far you cross the line, you're never beyond redemption.
  21. Offers a quick toot of dopey euphoria, followed by twitching hours of comedown and regret. [July 2005, p.90]
  22. The gameplay is unexciting, and the counterintuitive controls make it even worse. I had a hard time aiming because of the awful camera controls.
  23. Terrible control, lame features and an overall lack of excitement make this law enforcement experience worse than an episode of "Cop Rock."
  24. Crap aiming and a crap camera combine with boring, nonsensical missions to translate into horrid gameplay for the main story.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. JesseS.
    Jun 18, 2005
    3
    I had really high hopes for this game when I first learned the news of its development. All I could think of is all of the great things they could do with it. There was plenty of things they could do to make this an innovative, fun game. Things that they did not do. Instead, you get a game that leaves you feeling completely cheated. The graphics are horrendous compared to other titles. This game makes Grand Theft Auto look like Doom 3. You'll have more fun counting how many recycling pedstrian designs you see walking down the street than playing the game. The controls fail miserably with a crappy aiming scheme, clunky controls, and a terrible camera. I would like to say that the gameplay would make it worth while, but I would be lying. You walk the streets, arrest criminals, confiscate drugs and/or weapons, go deposit them or use them, repeat. Either that or you do some of the most boring and overdone missions ever known to gaming. They have so many flaws its rediculous. For example, there is a mission where you are to take pictures of a gang on a basketball court. The idea is to get a picture of the face, so they can be identified. You will find yourself aiming the camera at one of the gang member's faces, directly, but the picture is useless - you have to be in the spot the game wants you to be in. There simply is NO variety in this game. If you're one of the people that had the same high hopes as I did for this game, please save yourself the time, money, and headache and avoid it all costs. Easily one of the worst PS2 titles ever devloped. Full Review »
  2. John
    Apr 2, 2005
    9
    The gameplay is kind of random shooting, but fun. The sick part about this game is all the weapons and you get to do drugs, and sell drugs. The random drug test are easy past but still blast, Full Review »
  3. EricA.
    Mar 30, 2005
    10
    this game rocks. One of the best PS2 games ever made. This is a must have for a GTA fan. ALso buy Resident Evil 4 when it comes out for PS2.