• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
NARC Image
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 20 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: NARC is an in-depth, 3rd-person action/shooter video game set against a stylized modern-day backdrop of the War on Drugs. Playing as dual characters, Jack Forzenski and Marcus Hill, in the elite NARC squad, players must rid the world of the powerful international K.R.A.K. drug cartel. UsingNARC is an in-depth, 3rd-person action/shooter video game set against a stylized modern-day backdrop of the War on Drugs. Playing as dual characters, Jack Forzenski and Marcus Hill, in the elite NARC squad, players must rid the world of the powerful international K.R.A.K. drug cartel. Using deadly firepower and police authority players will make the choice to play it straight or use and abuse narcotics to get that extra edge and quick cash. Players decide whether to play as a good or bad cop as they face the mean streets and criminal underworld that rules it. [Midway] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 24
  2. Negative: 12 out of 24
  1. 80
    The controls are quite responsive, offering a wide assortment of combat moves, but the weak camera hinders them.
  2. I had fun playing the game, which is all that really matters. Some missions were frustrating, but the generous continue system helped repress some of the anger.
  3. Be aware that its vehicle-less gameplay resembles "State of Emergency" a lot more than it does "GTA: San Andreas." [June 2005, p.79]
  4. We like guns, we like city envirnments, and we like laughable drugs and violence references. AND we like arresting people. But we don't like Narc. No. Sorry. [PSM2]
  5. Quite simply a short and boring third person shooter that tries too hard to be edgy and just comes off as more sick and disgusting than anything else I've played.
  6. The game falls not only short of expectation, but also below what this great team is capable of.
  7. Crap aiming and a crap camera combine with boring, nonsensical missions to translate into horrid gameplay for the main story.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. EricA.
    Mar 30, 2005
    10
    this game rocks. One of the best PS2 games ever made. This is a must have for a GTA fan. ALso buy Resident Evil 4 when it comes out for PS2.
  2. John
    Apr 2, 2005
    9
    The gameplay is kind of random shooting, but fun. The sick part about this game is all the weapons and you get to do drugs, and sell drugs. The gameplay is kind of random shooting, but fun. The sick part about this game is all the weapons and you get to do drugs, and sell drugs. The random drug test are easy past but still blast, Expand
  3. P.F.
    Mar 24, 2005
    8
    When I rented Narc on PS2, I was so excited. I popped it into my PS2 and played away. When I played it, Narc impressed me a little bit. The When I rented Narc on PS2, I was so excited. I popped it into my PS2 and played away. When I played it, Narc impressed me a little bit. The graphics weren't so great. In my opinion they're the same as GTA. The gameplay and plot was pretty cool. However, in this game you can't steal any vehicle or dirve one. This really disappointed me. In Narc there are a lot of drugs and funthings to do. I wouldn't say this is a must have game, but all in all it's fun. Expand
  4. Jason
    Mar 27, 2005
    8
    This game is so much fun. The fire fights are intense, the drugs trip everything out, the music is bumpin, and the price of $20 is perfect. This game is so much fun. The fire fights are intense, the drugs trip everything out, the music is bumpin, and the price of $20 is perfect. Definently pick it up. The graphics aren't the best but they are alright. I never thought i'd be so excited to do some crack. Not for little kids!!! Expand
  5. Jimmyd
    Mar 29, 2005
    8
    I did not like the latest grand theft game, couldnt get into it..but this game...it rocks...graphically equal to grand theft and something a I did not like the latest grand theft game, couldnt get into it..but this game...it rocks...graphically equal to grand theft and something a little different. It is fun to play, easy to learn and hard to master...and the price....a no brainer..go buy it. Collapse
  6. JesseS.
    Jun 18, 2005
    3
    I had really high hopes for this game when I first learned the news of its development. All I could think of is all of the great things they I had really high hopes for this game when I first learned the news of its development. All I could think of is all of the great things they could do with it. There was plenty of things they could do to make this an innovative, fun game. Things that they did not do. Instead, you get a game that leaves you feeling completely cheated. The graphics are horrendous compared to other titles. This game makes Grand Theft Auto look like Doom 3. You'll have more fun counting how many recycling pedstrian designs you see walking down the street than playing the game. The controls fail miserably with a crappy aiming scheme, clunky controls, and a terrible camera. I would like to say that the gameplay would make it worth while, but I would be lying. You walk the streets, arrest criminals, confiscate drugs and/or weapons, go deposit them or use them, repeat. Either that or you do some of the most boring and overdone missions ever known to gaming. They have so many flaws its rediculous. For example, there is a mission where you are to take pictures of a gang on a basketball court. The idea is to get a picture of the face, so they can be identified. You will find yourself aiming the camera at one of the gang member's faces, directly, but the picture is useless - you have to be in the spot the game wants you to be in. There simply is NO variety in this game. If you're one of the people that had the same high hopes as I did for this game, please save yourself the time, money, and headache and avoid it all costs. Easily one of the worst PS2 titles ever devloped. Expand
  7. SamS.
    Mar 23, 2005
    1
    Worst graphics ever.