• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
NBA 2K2 Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: New features include a revamped low post game (exploit the defender with lightning quick drop step moves, back him down for a rim-rattling dunk, or shoot a sweet fadeaway jumper), new playbooks, and new street courts including Oakland's legendary Mosswood Park, Philly's Hank Gathers RecNew features include a revamped low post game (exploit the defender with lightning quick drop step moves, back him down for a rim-rattling dunk, or shoot a sweet fadeaway jumper), new playbooks, and new street courts including Oakland's legendary Mosswood Park, Philly's Hank Gathers Rec Center, and Houston's Ronde Rec Center. [Sega] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. If the game were any more detailed, they would have to include a “Record Shitty Rap Album” mode.
  2. Sure, the graphics aren't what we'd expect from a PS2 title, but the gameplay is what counts, and 2K2 has it.
  3. Virtually every aspect of the real NBA game is accurately represented and well implemented to provide a roundball experience that is second to none.
  4. Either too easy or too hard, depending on the setting. You will seethe with frustration on the highest difficulty setting, and easily outscore opponents on the easiest setting. There is no in-between, which makes a great game really frustrating.
  5. NBA 2K2 is money – but I expect more next season. [Mar 2002, p.79]
  6. The graphics, the sound, and the street games... Sega knows how to make a winner.
  7. The game contains so many AI flaws that playing it from a simulation fans standpoint, it doesn't do a good job representing basketball.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. MichaelA.
    Apr 3, 2002
    10
    It's tizzight.
  2. KobeIverson
    Mar 25, 2002
    10
    This is hot.
  3. ZiggyStardust
    May 11, 2002
    9
    It's definitely the deepest basketball game i've ever played. the graphics a slightly disappointing (they're a little glitchy It's definitely the deepest basketball game i've ever played. the graphics a slightly disappointing (they're a little glitchy or contain incomplete animations at times), but the gameplay is certainly up there. if you're a fan of realistic nba basketball, you couldn't do much better than nba 2k2. for more casual nba fans i recommend nba street instead. i'm quite happy with purchasing both titles though. Expand
  4. DanteS.
    Mar 7, 2002
    8
    If you're lookin' 4 simulation, add 2 points to my score, and you'll get what NBA 2K2 deserves in simulation terms. A solid If you're lookin' 4 simulation, add 2 points to my score, and you'll get what NBA 2K2 deserves in simulation terms. A solid 10. And forget all the silly graphics and flaws of NBA LIVE 2002. NBA 2K2 is "THE" game! However, if you're not a simulation fan, and you prefer arcade style, go to NBA Street. In my opinion, 1000 times more fun than this one. Expand
  5. ZiggyStardust
    Aug 13, 2002
    8
    It's definitely the deepest basketball game i've ever played. the graphics a slightly disappointing (they're a little glitchy It's definitely the deepest basketball game i've ever played. the graphics a slightly disappointing (they're a little glitchy or contain incomplete animations at times), but the gameplay is certainly up there. if you're a fan of realistic nba basketball, you couldn't do much better than nba 2k2. for more casual nba fans i recommend nba street instead. i'm quite happy with purchasing both titles though. Expand
  6. AndrewH.
    Aug 4, 2002
    8
    Great game, BUT when your passing the ball back in and simply hit 'X' the guy you pass it to might be out of bounds (or backcourt Great game, BUT when your passing the ball back in and simply hit 'X' the guy you pass it to might be out of bounds (or backcourt when running down the court), I wished they'd not pass to them. Other than that, GREAT game. Expand
  7. [Anonymous]
    Jun 21, 2002
    5
    Sure, the realism is unbelieveable, the passes, plays and replays are amazing, but if you are not good at basket ball videogames then Sure, the realism is unbelieveable, the passes, plays and replays are amazing, but if you are not good at basket ball videogames then you'd only be playing this game to look at it. Collapse

See all 9 User Reviews