NHL 06 PlayStation 2

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KeytonE.
    Nov 10, 2005
    6
    As a long time fan of EA's NHL series, I'm fearful that I may turn into a 2K convert. NHL06 really takes some good steps forward with stick handling and the best player control to date. However, the game has some serious flaws that really hold it back. The crowd animations are absolutely pathetic. They all just sit there like blank faced idiots while you score a highlight reel As a long time fan of EA's NHL series, I'm fearful that I may turn into a 2K convert. NHL06 really takes some good steps forward with stick handling and the best player control to date. However, the game has some serious flaws that really hold it back. The crowd animations are absolutely pathetic. They all just sit there like blank faced idiots while you score a highlight reel goal. The create-a-player feature isn't nearly as detailed as it could be. Take a lesson from your own game EA! Tiger Woods 2005 has a much better create-a-player featrure. The difficulty is the one feature that aggrivates me the most, and shows where the programmers really cut corners. The 'difficult' setting is absolutely annoying. All it does is crank up the computers scoring percentage, makes computer players skate faster, and takes away all your high percentage scoring chances. In some games the computer will score on nearly 50% of its shots, while you're lucky to score once in 25. It definitely looks and plays nice, but the drawbacks ruin the experience. Expand
  2. JimBobA.
    Aug 17, 2005
    10
    Good game but not the best.
  3. MartinM.
    Sep 14, 2005
    6
    Being a fan of the 2K series over EA's NHL XX for three years, I was looking foward to the 2K6 edition. What a foul I was. It feels so cheap, it's unbelievable. First off, the menus suck big time. Second, the gameplay and graphic are just average. It's only a day later I noticed SEGA was not involved anymore. To my surprise, because I hate encouraging EA, NHL 06 was Being a fan of the 2K series over EA's NHL XX for three years, I was looking foward to the 2K6 edition. What a foul I was. It feels so cheap, it's unbelievable. First off, the menus suck big time. Second, the gameplay and graphic are just average. It's only a day later I noticed SEGA was not involved anymore. To my surprise, because I hate encouraging EA, NHL 06 was completely the opposite. It's almost everything a hockey fan hope for. I got to admit it... Good work EA. Expand
  4. DrewF.
    Sep 25, 2005
    9
    Best game in the series since NHL 97 for the PC. I'm really enjoying it. Only real downside is that it's near impossible to get a shutout.
  5. Kevin
    Nov 13, 2005
    8
    NHL 06 providing fun gameplay for the average fan. While it lacked in some areas, it was indeed worth the $30. The Creation Zone's faces can be odd, since the faces look the same. But the Player Editor is a blessing, since you will have to change a few things. The NHL 94 retro was so-so. no real names, nor the Hartford Whalers. The Franchise was very disapointing this year, as it was NHL 06 providing fun gameplay for the average fan. While it lacked in some areas, it was indeed worth the $30. The Creation Zone's faces can be odd, since the faces look the same. But the Player Editor is a blessing, since you will have to change a few things. The NHL 94 retro was so-so. no real names, nor the Hartford Whalers. The Franchise was very disapointing this year, as it was the same as last year, heck, last year's sucked. The Gameplay makes this all good. While the scoring is high, and the game maybe hard, it's very fun. It will give you entertainment, and is the best multi-playing hockey game this year. If your for fun gameplay, NHL 06 is your game. Collapse
  6. Jun 3, 2015
    9
    This game is fast. Somehow even faster than NHL 05. Create a player is great in this game. The right analog stick allows you to pull of ridiculous dekes. If you score on one of these, you feel amazing. I also found the game's soundtrack to be my favourite of any EA sports game I have ever played (and I have played many). One flaw is that slow players get destroyed by quick players in thisThis game is fast. Somehow even faster than NHL 05. Create a player is great in this game. The right analog stick allows you to pull of ridiculous dekes. If you score on one of these, you feel amazing. I also found the game's soundtrack to be my favourite of any EA sports game I have ever played (and I have played many). One flaw is that slow players get destroyed by quick players in this game. Speed really kills here. Expand

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. PSM Magazine
    85
    Skating, controls, and even star players with star moves all make it very obvious that the inspiration for this year's hockey sim came from ["NHL 94"], the legendary dozen-year-old iteration of the series. [Sept 2005, p.81]
  2. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    60
    It's nice to see EA's NHL franchise starting to turn a corner, but it still has a ways to go before besting 2K Sports' stellar efforts. [Sept 2005, p.90]
  3. Game Informer
    70
    A complete turnaround from last season, and a direction that I hope EA steers clear of in the future. The user should always have control over the most basic gameplay functions. [Sept 2005, p.96]