User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 3 out of 22

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AndrewS.
    May 5, 2002
    10
    This is the best game out for psx2 and it's worth the money to buy it.
  2. RayH.
    Oct 2, 2001
    9
    The best damn hockey game period.
  3. RyanT.
    Oct 22, 2002
    10
    This game was well worth the 80 dollars that i spent on it! The graphics are quite superb and the fights were both tasteful and hard on the controls with the constant button mashing. The A.I. was great for a hockey game. This was the perfect showing of playstaton 2 power and blew away the other attempts at this genre.
  4. LukeB.
    Mar 1, 2002
    10
    This is the greatest sports game of all time, and the fantasy draft gave it that final touch.
  5. MikeC.
    Apr 3, 2002
    10
    Great Game! Best Hockey game ever!
  6. ZiggyStardust
    May 11, 2002
    8
    Some incomplete animation when players skate into the net or get body checked into the boards. the fighting really sux. and it's crazy how no hats get thrown onto the ice when a hat-trick is scored. don taylor's colour commentary script is terrible; why would ea make him constantly tell jokes? the jokes get old fast. lastly, there are a lot of weird errors that occur (examples: Some incomplete animation when players skate into the net or get body checked into the boards. the fighting really sux. and it's crazy how no hats get thrown onto the ice when a hat-trick is scored. don taylor's colour commentary script is terrible; why would ea make him constantly tell jokes? the jokes get old fast. lastly, there are a lot of weird errors that occur (examples: penalty shot being awarded for no reason, or announcer says he's really disappointed with a players performance and he's the 1st star of the game, or goalies getting stuck on the net. there are many other annoying little things) i was pretty disappointed with this game, but my expectations were ultra high. it's certainly a good game overall. Expand
  7. R.B.
    Mar 17, 2003
    10
    This is one of the best games i'v ever played yet!!
  8. KevinK.
    Sep 24, 2002
    9
    This is the first hockey game I've played that has ever given me any kind of trouble in trying to win games. Great job with the difficulty factor. Other than a couple minor glitches, this game is great. A definite buy for any hockey fan.
  9. DonTaylor
    Jan 14, 2004
    8
    Great Game. I'm sure everyone has heard enough comments on the game's strong points. However, Don Taylor is absolutely horrible. He completely ruins the game. I can't even play it with the sound on because of all of the stupid things he says...his powerfully unsuccessful attempts at humour make me want to take a bath with a toaster.
  10. MikeN.
    Nov 23, 2001
    8
    Solid game for the hockey fan, lots of stats and good simulation -- but I find that the Franchise/Season modes are lacking and are a bit weak.
  11. Apr 3, 2013
    8
    Pretty fun game to play still today but matches end up with ridiculous scores like 8-15 or 4-9. Achievements are kind of fun and cards also. If you are looking for realistic hockey game look somewhere else.
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. 100
    Simply the best hockey game ever released.
  2. The high watermark for hockey games on next-generation platforms, and has set a standard that will be hard for competing products to match...it's damn close to NHL '94 for addictiveness.
  3. Changes are by and large cosmetic, but this is a skilled surgeon at work here, and the new model is undeniably smoother, faster, and more in-yer-face, with a new big hit move arguably worth the admission price alone.