NHL 2K3 PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Nov 10, 2002
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 3 out of 17
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. mr.420bliz-blunt
    May 5, 2003
    10
    By far the best damn hockey game period. It blow's all others out the bong water,even that want to be nhl 2k3, nhl 2003 by ea sports. 2003 is a above average game, but that d-chase nuts guy is sucking off mr. madden. who would want a game where you score 10 goals a game on the hardest settings,and the sped players don't know how to pick up a rebound, i think the makers of this eaBy far the best damn hockey game period. It blow's all others out the bong water,even that want to be nhl 2k3, nhl 2003 by ea sports. 2003 is a above average game, but that d-chase nuts guy is sucking off mr. madden. who would want a game where you score 10 goals a game on the hardest settings,and the sped players don't know how to pick up a rebound, i think the makers of this ea sport's nhl2003 rode the really short bus if you know what i mean d- nut chaser.The people who won't like 2k3 are not real hockey fans and either watch hockey for the fight's or sit next to the ea sport flamers on the bus. Your vagina's all sandy about some sound problem,but ea sports forgot to master the gameplay before moving on to the sweet soundtrack and extra's they do set up.So stick to 2k3 because i wouldn't have gave it a ten if it wasn't the best hockey game ever put together.The big boy's are 2k3ing it up, while the tot's are stroking of to nhl2003. 2k3 smokes the rest like a tightly rolled up dooby of dizity danks. Oh yeah big ed i think the ed stands for (easily deceived)because simple minds are ed. stl .blues don't forget it ,peace Expand
  2. Dan
    Nov 23, 2002
    10
    It's a sweet game with stunning graphics and gameplay!!! A Must buy!!!!
  3. Sean
    Dec 2, 2002
    9
    This game is really good. The only problem I have is the menus. Overall, this is a great game and any hockey fan should pick it up.
  4. JoeC.
    Jan 11, 2003
    10
    Best hockey game of the year. Graphics are great as well as the gameplay. great features. this game passes all other competition.
  5. AndrewD.
    Feb 24, 2003
    9
    This is the first hockey game I have played extensively since NHL 94! I have played NHL 2003, and NHL Hitz 20 03, and Faceoff 2003, as well as other past editions, and NHL 2K3 delivers! You can block shots, either only on your knees, or dropping completely, pin against the boards, deke, hook from behind, body check, shoot slap shots, wrist shots, one timers, fight, and more! The franchise This is the first hockey game I have played extensively since NHL 94! I have played NHL 2003, and NHL Hitz 20 03, and Faceoff 2003, as well as other past editions, and NHL 2K3 delivers! You can block shots, either only on your knees, or dropping completely, pin against the boards, deke, hook from behind, body check, shoot slap shots, wrist shots, one timers, fight, and more! The franchise mode isn't quite as extensive as NBA 2K3, but it is still really good, trading players, and so on. You even have access to the players still in the Juniors if you lose players to injuries. And if that's not enough, there's tons of sliders and options to adjust the game the way you like it. Definitely the best hockey game on the planet right now! A MUST for the avid hockey gamer! Expand
  6. EvanK.
    Mar 13, 2003
    9
    As a Canadian I'm a pretty big fan of hockey. I played every game of the 2003 variety..cept for Hitz cuz ppl told me that game was just useless LoL. 2K3 is the first game where you can do pretty much everything in franchise mode. Players get better according to how they play, not how high their potential rating is like in EA's 2003. Which is kinda stupid when you have a 50 goal As a Canadian I'm a pretty big fan of hockey. I played every game of the 2003 variety..cept for Hitz cuz ppl told me that game was just useless LoL. 2K3 is the first game where you can do pretty much everything in franchise mode. Players get better according to how they play, not how high their potential rating is like in EA's 2003. Which is kinda stupid when you have a 50 goal scorer with a lower rating the next year than a player who scored 2 goals and sat out 50 games. So buy this game..you'll get yer bang for the buck. Collapse
  7. PatrickS.
    Mar 14, 2003
    9
    The absolute best hockey game I've ever played. It's the first game I've played that forces you to play smart, realistic offense to set up scoring chances. My only gripes are that the commentary could be better and at times the goalies are a little too good.
  8. $GMoney$GIrdham
    Apr 26, 2007
    10
    This is the best hockey game i have ever played. It has excellent graphics, fabulous commentary, hard checking, and great sound. GO WINGS!
  9. BryceB
    Jan 19, 2003
    10
    Hmm...Big Ed, Johnny V, and D-Chase all sound oddly similar...Maybe it's because they are all the same gay fag, who likes to play crappy arcade hockey...This game blows away the competition, and is not in any way comparable to those boring EA games. In 2K3, you actually have to think, and use your head if you want to win...probably why ed, johhny and chase can't play it...superbHmm...Big Ed, Johnny V, and D-Chase all sound oddly similar...Maybe it's because they are all the same gay fag, who likes to play crappy arcade hockey...This game blows away the competition, and is not in any way comparable to those boring EA games. In 2K3, you actually have to think, and use your head if you want to win...probably why ed, johhny and chase can't play it...superb goalie animations, nice graphics, and ultra realistic, you can't go wrong by choosing this game. Expand
  10. 3D
    Dec 23, 2003
    9
    The only fault I ever had was the lack of online capabilities on the PS2. I have never, in my life, played a hockey game more realistic than this. Best of all, the computer doesnt score cheap goals on you like all other hockey games, and its actually difficult to score goals.
  11. Matt
    Nov 21, 2002
    9
    Is it perfect? No. Are there a few little issues here and there? Yes. Are the graphics in EA's NHL series better? Yes. But, is this game the best video hockey game ever made? Absolutely. You have to play smart, use your other players, your teammates will play good positional defense, the CPU team will cycle the puck and set-up plays. And the goalie animations are amazing. This game Is it perfect? No. Are there a few little issues here and there? Yes. Are the graphics in EA's NHL series better? Yes. But, is this game the best video hockey game ever made? Absolutely. You have to play smart, use your other players, your teammates will play good positional defense, the CPU team will cycle the puck and set-up plays. And the goalie animations are amazing. This game gets better and better the more you play it!! Expand

Awards & Rankings

#60 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 25
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 25
  3. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. 100
    If you’re looking to play hockey of the NHL variety, to tackle pro challenges and use real-life strategies, NHL 2K3 will thrill you as much as watching your team heroically survive a five-on-three penalty kill.
  2. With AI that is light years ahead of EA Sports, a simulation experience that's second to none, and a fun - if somewhat fickle - online experience with Xbox, the serious hockey gamer should only look at one title this year.
  3. Does an excellent job on the ice, providing the best all around control that I've ever seen. Good physics and a solid presentation add to the show.