Onimusha 2: Samurai's Destiny PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Aug 28, 2002
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 61 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Yangzong_guoguo
    May 23, 2005
    10
    This game is sooooooo cool!! The graphics r so good and the sound effects r so cool!!! Everyone play this game!!!!!!
  2. NabilJ.
    Nov 26, 2002
    10
    Great horrorfest slasher if you liked the first game, you'll like this one!
  3. VarunB.
    Aug 12, 2005
    10
    It does what every good sequel should...improve on every aspect from the original. This is one of the most beautiful games to hit the PS2, and focuses more on the RPG element than the original. The combat system is cleaner, and it's much easier to get critical kills. With 4 sub-characters, this game has the best replay value I've seen in a while. Definitely worth the while!
  4. Oct 3, 2010
    10
    A real step up in all the good ways from Onimusha: Warlords. This game is much better with the gameplay being the best part of this game, while the story is not as strong it is still good enough.
  5. Sep 13, 2014
    10
    Still one of my favorite games! Remember playing this all the time and completed it way more times then I can remember. It blew my mind how everything was improved, to the combat, weapons, story and shopping system. Still get my PS2 out to play this today!
  6. DougA.
    Oct 15, 2002
    9
    Great Game!!
  7. JohnS.
    Dec 28, 2002
    9
    Onimusha 2: samurai's destiny is a superb game. It is one of my favorites. The graphics are incredible and the sound is great. I did not like the difficulty, however. it is a bit simple, although it is fun, addicting, and nonstop gaming action. you should at least rent this game.
  8. BrentS.
    Dec 31, 2002
    9
    Awesome Environments, Second to none Graphics, Storyline superb. Need I go on....
  9. RyanT.
    Sep 16, 2002
    9
    A very good sequel to Onimusha Warlords. But its basically the same game with minor improvements. If you liked the first Onimusha you will like this one.
  10. Jan 6, 2011
    9
    a much improved game over the first. the first big improvement is its much much longer then the first game which was easily beatin in just alittle over 3 hours. the graphics where great in there day. a much better story and charicters. voice acting has slightly improved from the first or maybe just as bad . i liked the new trading option and ability to buy from shops. almost every thinga much improved game over the first. the first big improvement is its much much longer then the first game which was easily beatin in just alittle over 3 hours. the graphics where great in there day. a much better story and charicters. voice acting has slightly improved from the first or maybe just as bad . i liked the new trading option and ability to buy from shops. almost every thing about this game is improved from the first one... minus the camera there are some spots where it just sucks . all in all though this is how a sequel should be. Expand
  11. Mar 29, 2013
    9
    It took everything it did in the first game, and made them better. Visuals are superior. Combat is even more action pact and a dream to play. Story is REALLY gripping with some really deep characters that you really connect with. Surprising, as Jubei really comes across a little flat at first glance. This is truly a fantastic sequel that deserves to be in anyone's collection. Overall: ThisIt took everything it did in the first game, and made them better. Visuals are superior. Combat is even more action pact and a dream to play. Story is REALLY gripping with some really deep characters that you really connect with. Surprising, as Jubei really comes across a little flat at first glance. This is truly a fantastic sequel that deserves to be in anyone's collection. Overall: This is what all sequels should aspire to do! Expand
  12. Sep 10, 2015
    9
    Still one of my favorite games! Remember playing this all the time and completed it way more times then I can remember. It blew my mind how everything was improved, to the combat, weapons, story and shopping system. Still get my PS2 out to play this today!
  13. TarikT.
    Sep 30, 2002
    8
    Despite the laughable dialoge, and terrible ending you will find lotsa fun in onimusha 2.
  14. Hades
    Mar 6, 2003
    8
    Pretty cool stuff. If you're a fan of Resident Evil type gameplay or find asian cultures intriguing as i do then i think youll enjoy this game. Thankfully, this game is much longer than Onimusha 1 which also adds up to a better, deeper storyline. The game's graphics are superb, the water in some scenes is simply gorgeous and possibly the best ive seen yet (namely the beach scene Pretty cool stuff. If you're a fan of Resident Evil type gameplay or find asian cultures intriguing as i do then i think youll enjoy this game. Thankfully, this game is much longer than Onimusha 1 which also adds up to a better, deeper storyline. The game's graphics are superb, the water in some scenes is simply gorgeous and possibly the best ive seen yet (namely the beach scene and the river in the forest..) The sound effects and music are also very well done. Gameplay is pretty fun stuff as well. Two complaints though are that you can't skip some cutscenes and the last fight in the game was kinda lame...but oh well. Add the extras you can unlock and "friend" system and you have your replay value there. All in all this is a good game, at the very least worth a rental. Collapse
  15. Mar 26, 2014
    8
    In most respects, Samurai's Destiny is everything Warlords was and more, though I can't help but feel that Warlords' formula has been diluted somewhat. Nevertheless, Samura's Destiny is bigger, has more of everything and is - for the most part - all the better for it. I finished Warlords in 5 hours, this one took me 10.
  16. Dec 26, 2013
    8
    This is a graphically stunning game with it's own style, great character designs, and plenty of pretty scenery. It's also a fun and addictive action game.
  17. SAV
    Jul 3, 2015
    8
    Seguito di quell'Onimusha che un anno prima tanto successo ottenne su PS2, Onimusha 2: Samurai's Destiny ci riporta nel Giappone feudale, questa volta nei panni del giovane guerriero Jubei, intenzionato a sterminare Nobunaga e i demoni Genma per vendicare la morte dei suoi cari. Un titolo bello e divertente quanto il suo predecessore, impreziosito dalla possibilità di farsi degli alleatiSeguito di quell'Onimusha che un anno prima tanto successo ottenne su PS2, Onimusha 2: Samurai's Destiny ci riporta nel Giappone feudale, questa volta nei panni del giovane guerriero Jubei, intenzionato a sterminare Nobunaga e i demoni Genma per vendicare la morte dei suoi cari. Un titolo bello e divertente quanto il suo predecessore, impreziosito dalla possibilità di farsi degli alleati tramite un semplice sistema di regali e dotato di una longevità leggermente maggiore. Expand
  18. Apr 16, 2017
    8
    Im gonna be focusing only on his flaws, because the good things about this game were already said in my Onimusha: Warlords review, so its a review more directed to people that already completed the first one.

    It's a good sequel, the combat feels a lil bit better than the first Onimusha, but isn't better than Warlords. Onimusha 2 hasn't many flaws, but those flaws were mean while playing
    Im gonna be focusing only on his flaws, because the good things about this game were already said in my Onimusha: Warlords review, so its a review more directed to people that already completed the first one.

    It's a good sequel, the combat feels a lil bit better than the first Onimusha, but isn't better than Warlords. Onimusha 2 hasn't many flaws, but those flaws were mean while playing it, and there are four of them.

    1.Bosses: They have 0 technique, doesn't matter if you are god playing this game, the battles of the bosses only consist on doing special attacks with all your weapons, and healing yourself. Okay the bosses from the first part weren't so special, but they have patterns that you could learn and use your technique to counter them. And im not saying the Onimusha 2 bosses were easy (for **** sake Jujudormah it's hard and one of the worst bosses that i ever played on a videogame).

    2.The Escenarios: Okay they are well designed, well connected and there are many of them, but the game force the player to revise them over and over and this is very boring, obviously (SPOILER: I did not find wrong to replace the Mansion from the first Onimusha, but that fact makes it even more tiring: END OF SPOILER).

    3.THE ****ING TRADE MECHANICH: Okay, in Onimusha 2 there are other important characters apart from the main protagonist. You can trade with this characters in order to have rewards like a medicine for example. Until there there's nothing wrong, right? There wouldn't nothing wrong if the game makes you a minimum singal that you CAN PLAY WITH THEM IF YOU TRADE, And i find this very annoying, because i know of this fact while i was finishing the game, and **** i wanted to play with Eiki for example, because anyone that plays Onimusha 2 for the first time wouldn't know of this mechanich.
    Expand
  19. ZiggyStardust
    Oct 31, 2002
    6
    If you liked Onimusha 1, Onimusha 2 is really more of the same. Nothing spectacular, and a little on the short side, but solid overall.

Awards & Rankings

29
37
#37 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. 80
    In every sense what a gaming sequel should be: bigger, better, and bolder than the previous incarnation in every almost respect imaginable. With huge steps forward in terms of design, graphics, and gameplay, this should equally delight and entertain fans of the original, as well as newcomers to the trilogy.
  2. As is the problem with most games built with pre-rendered backgrounds, there are going to be a lot of times where the game camera is going to leave you open for cheap shots as you move from one angle to another.
  3. The graphics have matured to push the bar higher for what a PS2 game should look like and despite flawed localization and some awkward moments in the voice-acting, it delivers the promise of "more, deeper, better."