• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Pac-Man World 2 Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pac-Man is on a brand new adventure and once again dealing with the pesky Ghost Gang. His new quest takes him through 6 new lands with plenty of new surprises. Brand new features include ice skating, roller blading, submarine diving and many other exciting puzzles to solve. [Namco]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Ranks among the finest titles of its genre on the system. [Mar 2002, p.106]
  2. 80
    Pac-Land has never looked better, cartoonishly but lushly rendered, and full of bright colors and crisp 3D objects.
  3. It's simple, but the game makes brilliant use of the classic's design, and the whole retro style never seems forced.
  4. The camera problems and the game's unnecessarily uneven difficulty seal Pac-Man World 2's fate, in spite of the game's depth.
  5. [It] does still suffer from a problematic camera. Often, it's difficult to get the best possible angle necessary for precise platform jumping. [Mar 2002, p.31]
  6. Aside from some dodgy camera work (as always) this is a simple and at times fun game, which will be enjoyed by very young players. But there are plenty of better games like this out there.
  7. Namco has bastardized one of our favorite timewasters into a ho-hum jump-a-thon with the occasional maze thrown in.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    ok i changed my mind this game is super fun and a humungous challenge, sometimes i go into rage mode but enough of me, the gameplay is very simple yet very productive, if you like any kind of platformer you will enjoy this game Collapse
  2. Apr 12, 2011
    9
    Amongst slightly frustrating gameplay, Pac-Man World 2 is a colorful, adventurous platformer for children of all ages. Pros: Lovable graphics and lavish colors lurk throughout its variety of level designs, pure old school platforming. Cons: Frustrating controls and camera angles halt Pac-Man from being a next-gen console masterpiece. Expand
  3. Dec 9, 2012
    8
    Beyond the use of the Pac-man label and the occasional classic maze lies a very good and fun platformer. the only drawbacks are the repetitive boss battles and a short game. Expand
  4. Oct 3, 2013
    8
    The only real problem with his game is the frustrating camera this game is a total blast and any platformig fan should try it out with creative and fun levels. Expand
  5. May 28, 2012
    7
    I am a huge namco fan. When I was six years old, I got my first Pac-man game, Pac-Man World (1). Played it, loved it. Years passed, and I missed the chance to get the other three Pac-man World games, but then Pac-Man Power Pack came out, and I gave it a whirl. While none of the other Pac-Man games will live up to the original, I found Pac-Man World 2 to be enjoyable. Pac-man World 2's story is as such: The ghosts have unleashed an ancient evil ghost known as Spooky by removing 5 golden fruit from the tree where Spooky was imprisoned. Spooky tells them that he will help them destroy Pac-Land, and so Pac-man goes out to stop them. It's a Pac-man game people! It's not supposed to have a deep plot, but it works for such a light-hearted game. The first thing you'll realize is that the graphics are pretty good. Bright, colorful, pleasing to the eye, it's Pac-Man. It's good that namco didn't stray too far away from that. The stages are well designed. They are challenging, and fun to play. Take B doing woods. Whenever you bounce on a B doing pad, it IS A BLAST!!! Combin it with careful platforming, catchy music, and solid controls make playing the game worth while. This game has a lot of replay value. If you want to get 100%, you'll have to eat every Pac-Dot, fruit, complete every maze, time trail, and collect all of the namco coins. It will last you hours. But the reason for this is how difficult it is to get them all. I'm not sure if this is a gltich or not, but there is a glitch if you go back into a level to get anything you miss and collect EVERYTHING in a level, but miss 1 simple fruit, your progression for the level will stay the same. Glitch or not, this is stupid!!!! The stages are challenging enough, why do I have to do everything picture perfect or else they just forget everything?!!!! The game gets even more frustrating due to that evil....oh...it's so evil...it will murder your family at night...the menacing camera. Ok, menecing might not be the right word, more like stubborn. It's as if the camera is a solid object. If there is an object blocking it, it WIIL NOT move, not matter how hard you try. Say you're jumping from platform to platform. You miss somthing. If you try to go back, the camer will screw up on you all the way to the pit you fall down. Sometimes, the camera just won't move. Go ahead. Try to look around. You'll most likely end up dying in a firey pit of cheap death, and then the camer will move on to it's next victim. Then there are the mazes, which are completely pointless. They're nowhere nearly as inventive as PMW1's mazes. They just rip off the first Pac-man. It's a waste of your time. Also, the difficulty boosts up later on in the game. Sure, this is normal for platformers, but this is just stupid. Compare Crash bandicoot 1's difficulty curve. It was even and balanced. PMW2's is so horrificaly hard that it took me a whole hour to finish the 2nd last level. A WHOLE HOUR! WTF! You will scream! You will feel like you want to kill yourself and you will DIE!!!! But eneough of the negatives. This game has several aracade games that you can play. The original Pac-Man, Pac-Mania, Pac-Attack, Ms. Pac-man. They all work and are fun. However, you don't get any options to these games, and to unlock them, you need to get so mant of those freaking namco coins which are so hard to GET! UGGHH! Bosses work, but not alaways. WHY? THE DIFFICULY!!! THE CAMERA!!!! THE IRRITATING WAYS TO HIT THE BOSS!!! THE INSANE AMOUNT OF ENEMIES COMING AT YOU!!!! The earlier bosses do have some fun to them. They have a REASONABLE difficulty, and they're fun. But after the snowy mountain boss...WHY CAN'T I JUST HIT YOU WITHOUT BEING THROWN OF THE MAP BY YOUR FIRBALL? UGHHHH! When the game is not blisteringly difficult, the game is at its finest. Careful Platforming, solid controls, fun collecting, when it works, its like playing the original Pac-man back in 1980. However, it doesn't always work with IT'S CAMERA!!!!! or let alone THE DIFFICULTY!!!! or the THAT STUPID COLLECTING GLITCH!!!!(?) AND THE FACT that i get thrown off the map because clyde threw a firball at me!!! ughhh! WHY NAMC, WHY?!!!! THIS IS A KID'S GAME! WHY MAKE IT SO DIFFICULT THAT IT WILL LEAD TO KIDS BECOMING SUICIDAL!!! UGHHHH!!! The worst part is is that this game just doesn't feel like the first Pac-Man World which I came to love. Completionalists will blow their brains out, but those Pac-Man fans whoose main reason to play this game is to get to point A to point B and be done, you should buy it....oh no... not you... not the camera...put down that knife.... AAAAAAAHHHHHHHH! Expand
  6. Oct 13, 2013
    7
    Pac Man in 3d puts an interesting new spin on a classic. The movement control feels rounded making precision difficult in certain situations such as attacking enemies, but it does not ruin the platforming. The platforming is very good. Pac Mans abilities are noticeably different than the average platformer character, giving this extremely simple game something new to offer. You can take or leave the story. It is not necessary or interesting. I would recommend this game for enthusiasts or those who want to see what Pac Man turned into. Expand
  7. May 1, 2013
    7
    A good platformer, although it doesn't have the retro-arcade feel to it that I came to expect like the first game has. It's got a good story to it, the ghosts creep into a village over night, and they steal treasure dangling off a tree and unintentionally, they release a big evil ghost called Spooky, and you have to get the golden fruit back and stop Spooky, I just don't understand how he can destroy pac-land as the game says, all he has is a magical stick on him. However, once you're done with this game, done with getting all the fruit and tokens, you're not really gonna come back and play again much over the long term, this is just not that sort of game. There are minor annoyances where you play in the arcade and play the first Pac-Man game or PacMania and it's extremely slow and in game, when you eat all pac-dots or fruit, it says "all pac-dots collected!" or "all strawberries collected!" for example, it's supposed to say eaten, not "collected." Throughout the bosses, the ghosts use the exact same flying machine, it's just lame and uncreative of making great boss battles (not the orange ghost nor the final one). The game recognizes the orange ghost as Blinky, and the red ghost as Clyde, when that's the other way round. What is great is that in every level, you need to get a Galaxian and when you do, it takes you to a maze and you can always play them again at home in the arcade. Getting 100% in the levels is fun. The levels are split into different sets as you progress, different enviornments and themes like the second set is high forests at night time and the 4th is volcano and lava. The stages are greatly designed and are always fun to play on. The graphics are great and this game is simply a fun, great adventure. And hey, who says it isn't fun to go out for a bounce in the woods? Expand

See all 11 User Reviews