• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Jan 23, 2002
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. Sure, the story is a little weird, and yes, the music isn't quite as good as it was in the first game, but PaRappa 2 is a solid effort, nonetheless.
  2. 81
    It’s short, it’s easy, but it’s also highly entertaining. This is also one of those titles that you could easily go back to and play in a few months and still enjoy it.
  3. Disregard this misalignment though, and you’re left with an enjoyable aural romp which, whilst slight and, on occasions, extremely forgiving, makes up for most of its shortcomings by hitting you with damn funky music.
  4. 80
    The addition of two-player modes makes PaRappa more of a party experience and extends the game's life beyond novelty. The story is just plain weird, but it's still a great hoot.
  5. It's nice that this sequel let's you freestyle more often, and the scoring seems more logical than before. [Feb 2002, p.82]
  6. PaRappa may not be the most worthwhile purchase for some due to the fact that it’s ridiculously short, and the replay value doesn’t really add any new gameplay elements, but it is PaRappa, and if that floats your boat, the short bit of fun you’ll glean from the game may be enough.
  7. Adequate for those seeking a second dose of some hoppin beats and humorous raps from the crew.
  8. With the amount of time between the original Parappa, and the release of the PS2, I don't see how this game can take so long to load, and lack any kind of improvement on the original gameplay or graphics.
  9. 70
    It's a short, short game. I haven't found anything more than earning new colored hats each time I beat it.
  10. A very short game, which brings loads of fun. That may sound odd, but it is true.
  11. Brevity is what kills this game. It's not impossible to play through the whole game in under an hour, and some of the side games, like a 2-player head-to-head game, just don't seem to extend the fun.
  12. Mothers and fathers concerned that their impressionable offspring are being perverted by dalliances with Liberty City and Max Payne will open their arms to Parappa and his wholesome morals.
  13. That storyline is absolutely ridiculous. [Feb 2002, p.112]
  14. Even without the bells and whistles that other recent rhythm-based games have offered, PaRappa the Rapper 2 is a lot of fun.
  15. The game needs more polish and some more ingenuity with the songs, but this will keep you satisfied until the third installment releases.
  16. An almost total lack of innovation makes the game seem pretty dated when compared with other games on the market.
  17. There's a total of eight rounds, and the story is still genius (if you like extremely quirky non-sequitors), but I don't feel like I'm getting a new game. More like Parappa Version 1.2.
  18. A fun game that doesn't have nearly enough gameplay -- or enough replay value -- to warrant a purchase.
  19. When the levels are as easy as this, you end up spending less time with the music, which is where most of the joy in this game comes from.
  20. 60
    What began as a simple tale of a dog and the flower he loves has become a farcical, overblown imitation of a cheesy action movie with little challenge or replay value. As unfortunate as it is for gamers to be let down so early in the new year, it must be said that PaRappa 2 is the first disappointment of 2002.
  21. 60
    No worse than the original, in some ways it’s even better than. But where "Tony Hawk's Pro Skater 3" or "Metal Gear Solid 2" improved the engine, graphics, feel, and design, Sony seems content in only making PaRappa 2 look better.
  22. Offers less gameplay than the first and lacks the ingenuity and novelty. [Feb 2002, p.154]
  23. Most players will also find the game to be far too easy. It can be played through under an hour. [Feb 2002, p.40]
  24. The game is more akin to a single episode of an interactive cartoon than a fully fleshed-out experience worthy of a full price purchase.
  25. This game features bland, unmemorable beats and lyrics. You don't get anything close to the kick ass reggae dub of the flea market scene in the original or Chop Chop Master Onion's awesome intro.
  26. Oh, my how the great have fallen...$50 for Parappa 2 is "highway robbery."
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. May 14, 2011
    6
    An unnecessary and cheesy, but nonetheless solid effort to relive a cult classic. Pros: The high res 2-D sprites are refreshingly old school;An unnecessary and cheesy, but nonetheless solid effort to relive a cult classic. Pros: The high res 2-D sprites are refreshingly old school; hilarious story and characters; additional Practice and Battle mode are handy. Cons: Too little, too short, too pricey; no replay value; some of the lyrical content is a bit too bizarre. Full Review »
  2. Feb 27, 2014
    9
    PaRappa the Rapper 2 is one of the few PS2 games that I find myself constantly sliding into my disc drive, even to this day. The music isPaRappa the Rapper 2 is one of the few PS2 games that I find myself constantly sliding into my disc drive, even to this day. The music is catchy, the graphics serve their purpose, and the versus mode adds to its replay value, making it a great party game. Say what you will, but PaRappa 2 will always be one of my favorites. Full Review »
  3. Oct 21, 2013
    7
    Whilst being very short, I loved this game, one of those games that make me take the dust off my PS2.. and somehow manage to get me hooked onWhilst being very short, I loved this game, one of those games that make me take the dust off my PS2.. and somehow manage to get me hooked on it.
    It has very catchy music and raps, the kind that I always come back to listen again over and over.
    The plot is nothing epic or something, but it's very funny and keeps you asking for more.
    Full Review »