Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. 86
    This is an inventive game that's a bit too easy and not quite as polished as it could have been. Sure, it's no 9.9, but it's still something I highly recommend to anyone who likes to be entertained.
  2. Holds up to the challenge of being a platformer on the PS2 by delivering an experience that ranks right up there with the best the system has to offer.
  3. Psychonauts isn't merely a game to watch, or a game you don't want to miss. It's THE action/adventure to get.
  4. Much of the world's luster, from the textures to the character models, is sadly diminished in this version. [Aug 2005, p.85]
  5. 80
    The team at Double Fine has managed to seamlessly combine sumptuous, mind-bending visuals and a downright funny script to create one of the most inventive games to hit the PS2.
  6. A small issue I had with the game is the replayability; while you can go back and clear out all areas, there is no real payoff for doing so. Even with these minor issues, Psychonauts definitely comes strongly recommended.
  7. 90
    Whatever travails Psychonauts endured throughout its development history, the end result is a gem. It's a brilliant debut for Double Fine, and here's hoping it's just the start of what we can expect to see from them.
  8. 80
    The levels are fun, the gameplay is solid, and the puzzles and bosses require more than a bit of brain matter to figure out, resulting in a nice sense of accomplishment every time you reach a new milestone in Raz's adventure.
  9. The uniquely quirky presentation, brilliantly conceived storyline, excellent cut scenes and tremendously varied gameplay all combine for a totally refreshing and fun game experience.
  10. It isn’t any kind of reinvention, but a revitalisation, with a style so rich that it becomes an integral part of the game’s substance; Psychonauts breathes imagination and individuality as effortlessly as most games steal from one another. [July 2005, p.84]
  11. This port's still brilliant, still mind-bending and (certainly) still Psychonauts. [Aug 2005, p.51]
  12. It’s not revolutionary by any means, nor is it particularly long, but thanks to some clever creative control the game delivers a funny, engrossing and downright weird experience unlike most other platform adventures. [July 2005, p.104]
  13. A trip through his cerebral mass would be an interesting journey, just to see where Schafer comes up with his characters and their quirky realms.
  14. Weird, funny, immensely playable, and has that nigh-unclassifiable thing we can only call charm.
  15. The crazy visuals are almost worth the price of admission alone, but the decent gameplay and a great sense of humor also help.
  16. This is one of the best platformers around and easily stands up to the best that Sony puts out every year. I’d love to see a sequel.
  17. 80
    Most definitely one of the best platformers for quite some time, and another Tim Schafer success story, but the game is still a little lacklustre and prevents it from becoming the pick of the crop.
  18. A wildly imaginative platform adventure. Framerate and visibility issues are a bit of a letdown, though. [Mar 2006]
  19. In the history of PS2 platformers, there has never been an example that positively drips character like Psychonauts does. In fact, you'd be hard pushed to find an example in any genre.
  20. Despite these issues, Psychonauts is a wonderfully strange platformer. The idea of perception being a reality in itself is the kind of thing I'd like to see future games explore further.
  21. Despite technical annoyances and later-level frustrations, Psychonauts is an absolute joy to play. [Aug 2005, p.80]
  22. The freshest game we've played since "Katamari Damacy." [Aug 2005, p.72]
  23. If you wake up in your chair at home, having mysteriously forgotten the last half hour of your memory, but with a fresh copy of Psychonauts in hand, don’t question it. Just play and have fun.
  24. Psychonauts is one of those games that truly stands out from the crowd. With its eclectic mix of styles and outstanding design, it’s likely to be remembered in the same kind of way we look back at games like Beyond Good and Evil.
  25. A brainy winner, at once mindlessly entertaining and intelligently designed.
  26. The humor may not be for everyone, and the game fares a little better on Xbox in terms of performance, but otherwise, Psychonauts is definitely insane on your brain.
  27. The level design is really great (I love Lungfishopolis and like Adam, I refuse to say why because it's just that great). The gameplay, however, isn't as inviting.
  28. Epitomizes everything that I love about gaming. Creativity, ingenuity, artistry, variety, innovation, passion and emotion -- Psychonauts was designed with all of these attributes, and with them it is one of the most satisfying gaming experiences from start to finish you’ll ever have.
  29. Hugely inventive, charming and funny. Psychonauts is a surprise hit and this year's star platformer. [Nov 2005, p.128]
  30. A solid, traditional platformer made extraordinary through immersive narrative, a whimsical setting, and sheer creativity.
  31. People are crying out for new styles of gameplay, which Psychonauts delivers, but we have a feeling that even if we tell you to go out and buy or at least try, most people will find themselves tempted by a more mainstream title, which is a shame.
  32. Creative mayhem, and is at times crazy fun to play.
  33. Psychonauts isn’t for genre enthusiasts; Psychonauts is for anyone who’s ever looked at a game.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 22
  2. Negative: 2 out of 22
  1. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    The greatest game ever created. If you don't enjoy this game then you are truly lost in life. Everything about it is spot on and amazing. You can't ask for more. Full Review »
  2. Jan 12, 2013
    9
    I recently got Psychonauts on PSN, and it was worth all 10 dollars. The atmosphere is wonderful, the characters are great, even if the main character looks like Tim Burton directed a Puffs tissue commercial. Heck, they even give the extras distinct personality's. My only problem lies with the beginning of the last level and the annoyance of "Little Oly". Overall, it is a great value and is on my top ten favorite PS2 games Full Review »
  3. Mar 4, 2014
    4
    Nowhere near as funny, whacky or exciting as most reviews seem to make it out to be. Personally I didn't enjoy it much and found it overrated. That said, if you're after a platformer and enjoy the style of this game, the gameplay seemed ok. Full Review »