R: Racing Evolution PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Namco
  • Release Date: Dec 9, 2003
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 35
  2. Negative: 2 out of 35
Buy On
  1. In other words, it's just like all those other racing games you read about but never buy. Except, in this case, it's a tacit reminder that Namco has slipped so far down the field that it's actually being lapped - by games we bought almost five years ago. Oh sod it: ARGH!
  2. t looks fantastic! But it plays just ok.
  3. It's too bad that there's nothing but straw where R: Racing Evolution's heart should be. [Jan 2004, p.121]
  4. A solid, but very vanilla racer.
  5. 70
    A fun time, in spite (or because) of its ludicrous story and cutscenes, which you won't find in any other serious racer.
  6. PSM Magazine
    70
    A solid racing game, but its real-world courses (and even its original venues) fail to deliver the same amount of sheer thrill that its completely arcade-skewed predecessors did. [Jan 2004, p.29]
  7. A feature-lite driving simulator that neither offends nor excels in any particular area of design, and one that doesn't elicit a sense of excitement, rather a feeling of déjà vu.
  8. The game does, basically, offer lots of variety, a flat learning curve and a decent story mode for those that aren’t just looking for the latest in car physics.
  9. games(TM)
    50
    Its attempt at being a jack-of-all-trades could seem quite appealing to gamers who casually approach the driving genre. Connoisseurs, on the other hand, will own the highest quality examples of each trade that do the job better, leaving R: Racing Evolution feeling mostly redundant. [Mar 2004, p.98]
  10. A fairly entertaining game for the duration of the racing life mode, mostly because of the impressive pre-rendered sequences, but if you’re looking for a racing game with the simulation style goodness of "MotoGP," or the frenetic action of "Ridge Racer," you’d be well advised to look elsewhere.
  11. It’s a unique racing experience that isn’t quite arcade and certainly not simulation. As long as you know what to expect going in you won’t be disappointed and you might even be a bit surprised.
  12. A fun game but its not "Ridge Racer." "Ridge Racer" always complimented the "GT" series well but with this game its two trying to be in the same vein.
  13. R isn’t a horrible game, and if you actually get a bit used to the controls it’s absolutely playable, but the whole idea is that you shouldn’t have to get used to a racing game’s controls unless it’s as rewarding as, say, "Gran Turismo."
  14. 69
    In the end though you have to consider that when it's good its very very good and when its bad... its just a bit rough, never terrible.
  15. 68
    Control is stiff and the sensation of speed comparatively slow. And it's certainly not as fast and arcade-cool as "Ridge Racer."
  16. It attempts to deliver some simulation-styled thrills, but the driving physics and options simply aren't up to snuff when compared to other, better games. On the other side, the addition of brake assist turns the game into an overly simplified affair that reduces the gameplay to holding down the gas pedal and steering.
  17. Worth a look if you are a fan of the "Ridge Racer" games, but everyone else can probably give it a miss.
  18. It's not the worst racing title we've seen, whilst some of the ideas are worthwhile; it's just a huge shame that the actual racing experience just isn't there.
  19. The action on the track is mediocre, especially once you realize you'll have to wrestle with the touchy control on the same tracks in the same cars over and over. [Jan 2004, p.124]
  20. As the central deficiencies (car physics, handling, lack of challenge) also become more and more prominent with each race, most players will simply tire of its blandness, and decide to save the time Namco wants them to spend tuning their cars for an altogether better racing game.
  21. Not even that new or innovative as it’s just ripping off the idea generated by a very popular movie.
  22. While the ability to purchase new vehicles by completing challenges isn’t an original idea, it’s executed to near perfection. Admittedly, poor artificial intelligence, sometimes-awkward controls and a fairly small selection of vehicles all keep the game from rivaling titles such as Project Gotham Racing 2, but Evolution is an fine title nonetheless.
  23. 60
    If you're looking for the ultimate racing experience, you'll need to look elsewhere.
  24. An average game. It's got a lot of good ideas that we've seen before, but isn't able to pull it all together. Still, it's got a decent story and extras that will continue to challenge after Racing Life is done.
  25. 50
    The on-track action can only be described as skatey, as your tires never seem to grip the road. With a bit of practice, you can compensate for this, but the game just never feels right because of it.

Awards & Rankings

90
#90 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003
User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 2 out of 5
  1. Oct 16, 2011
    1
    The best part of this game is the girl on the cover. The driving sucks. The track sucks. And yes, I know this is PS2, but the graphics kind ofThe best part of this game is the girl on the cover. The driving sucks. The track sucks. And yes, I know this is PS2, but the graphics kind of sucked, too. A score of 1, because I couldn't play it more than 30 minutes until it became painful. Full Review »
  2. DanK.
    Mar 12, 2004
    10
    I love this game! If you find GT3 too be too difficult then try this one. I call it "Gran Turismo for Dummies" Drive all of the great cars on I love this game! If you find GT3 too be too difficult then try this one. I call it "Gran Turismo for Dummies" Drive all of the great cars on all of the great tracks without having to be a technical expert.....have fun!!! Full Review »
  3. Jonathan
    Dec 22, 2003
    9
    Well... for me its good racing game, i dont know probably for gran turismo addicts this aint good enough for ya, but for me, its satisfactory :)