User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 622 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 622

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 28, 2011
    6
    This game was ok. What i don't understand is this isn't a survival horror game, resident was always about zombies, surviving on minimal ammo.
  2. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    Completely amazing! A perfect action, horror and survival game, the story is amazing, graphics are really awesome and the gameplay is really funny and interactive.
  3. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    Resident Evil 4 is without a doubt the best game in the series!! The mix between Horror and Action is spot on in this game.. The story is AMAZING! the gameplay mechanics are really good for a PS2 game, and the replay value is really HIGH! especially the HD version which has all the extras from past versions. All in all Resident Evil 4 is an AMAZING! game.. You MUST own it if you like action/Horror games Expand
  4. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    мистическая, страшная, долгая, реиграбельная и потрясающая игра, начав в неё играть вас может она и не впечатит, но потом...вы удивитесь как события развиваются.интересные противники, ужасные мутации игеймпей который вас не отпустит,игра в моей памяти навсегда.есть игры с более выдающимся сюжетом, так же серьёзный недостаток в игре это отсутствие быстрой смены оружия как в re5(приходится каждый раз лезть в инвентарь что снижает эффект борьбы с зомби), моя оценка игре 97/100...абсолютный шедевр Expand
  5. May 29, 2013
    10
    Definitely the best RE game to exist! It's exciting, suspenseful, and scary as h**l! Just wish all the newer RE games wouldv'e followed the same formula this one had.
  6. Sep 19, 2013
    9
    Resident Evil 4 was the best game on the PS2. It's graphics were incredible. The replay-ability of RE4 is very high, due to the unlockables and New Game I loved the inventory, which let you hold a lot of items and let you organize them to your liking. There are a great deal of weapons you could buy, depending on your play style. Resident Evil 4 professional mode gives you a certain level of challenge without it being frustrating and unfair. With there now being HD releases on Xbox 360 and PS3, there is no reason not to own this wonderful game. Expand
  7. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    This has to be the best game made for the PS2, from the multiple replays to the extremely well designed cut-scenes and the multiple enemy types, this game is better than most of its competitors. Espectially when you beat it and then there are the Ada missions and the Mercenaries missions. Best game EVER!!!
  8. Aug 19, 2010
    8
    Right, okay. Deus Ex, Half Life, RTCWolfenstein, etc.: these games had been out for 3 - 6 years before RE4 and the dev team STILL couldn't get a good control scheme down. Its veeeeeeeeery simple: left stick = move, right stick = look. How do you **** that up? By going with a control scheme 5 years older that should never have existed to begin with. Terrible VO, plotholes beyond measure, occasionally overly difficult enemies, but if you can get past all that, its pretty damn fun.

    I was tempted to give this game a zero to balance out all the undue adulation, but that would be giving in to reactionary polarization. This is just an honest review with an honest score.
    Expand
  9. Aug 30, 2010
    8
    Resident Evil 4 has some very good game modes. It's kind of puzzling, but it's very good. This game gives you hundreds of hours of great gameplay. This game can be a little cheap at times, but its great 8/10.
  10. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    Although this is the review for the PS2 version which is considerably poorer than the Gamecube version, this still warrants a perfect score simply because although the game doesn't seem as crisp as the original Gamecube exclusive it is still absolutely brilliant even in the 2010 five years on. The reason for people who have played the Gamecube version to buy this is because you can pick it up for a very cheap price now and you get a brilliant extra mode involving Ada Wong that fits into the game perfectly and its clear that the developers obviously planned this, because if they hadn't surely it shouldn't have been this good, and extra clothes and weapons for you to use. Ok enough about the bonus stuff. There is 20 hours of gameplay to be enjoyed here for first time players, when I first went through it I done it in just under 17 hours, and with all the special weapons I must have set some kind of record in completing it in exactly 2 hours and 43 minutes. Please post a review stating whether you have done the game in less time. Brilliant characters also with great facial animations and some of the most epic boss battles ever, none of them disapoint. Onto the mercenaries which to be honest could have been a game on its own if there had been a couple more levels thrown into it. Check this game out you won't be dissapointed at all. Absolutely the best horror game ever made, and right up there with the best game ever along with the new games. An absolute gem of game. Buy, Buy, Buy!!!!!!!!! Expand
  11. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    10/10 = Masterpiece = Innovative and the best survival horror game of all-time. IT"S ACTUALLY SCARY They should write that on the cover. Pure Genius
  12. Dec 19, 2010
    10
    The only reason i haven't sold my ps3. This is just a great game I have played RE 1,2 and 5 besides this one and this is definitely my favorite. While some say it's not as scary as the previous games in the series and I agree, I have to admit that I was like 10 when I played them and they were so freaking dificult because of a crappy camera, aiming and movement that i think the only reason I got scared was because i knew I was going to be eaten by some zombies at any moment. Anyway this game has it's cool scary moments and a creepy atmosphere that can't be overlooked, so at the end I keep coming back to play this game once in a while now that I have beaten the **** out of RE5 and platinum'd it, because RE4 is just better. Expand
  13. Feb 14, 2011
    10
    THE BEST SURVIVAL HORROR GAME OF ALL TIME!!!!!Before this game I viewed Resident Evil as an outdated and bland series but this game brought the sagging series back into the limelight and showed there is still some life(no pun intended)in this series.The story follows Leon S. Kennedy on his quest to save the president's daughter.This has the quintessential "bad" B-horror movie plot and I love the cheesiness of the dialogue and overall story.Just because there are cheesy lines does not make the script lame.All the characters are expertly drawn and have a lot of personality.As you journey through this hellhole of a place you will a encounter a variety of settings such as the Spanish village,industrial areas,a huge and illustrious castle,different cavern areas,and plenty of others.The game gives you many ways to approach gameplay.Your equipped with a mix of handguns,sniper rifles,automatic weapons,shotguns,grenades,and not to mention your awesome knife.You will be put in this scenarios and you'll have to devise your own strategies and battle plans to survive.The enemy A.I. is also very intelligent.They will work together and use a variety of items to bring you to your knees.The action is frantic and occurs very often,but even the parts that aren't action oriented are so atmospheric that you will be to afraid to move on the next area.I've only scratched the surface of why this game is so amazing.So here is a list of Pros and Cons(there are very few Cons). Pros:
    Awesome graphics,
    cool storage system ,
    the Merchant ,
    all the different environments,
    creepy atmosphere,
    behind the shoulder look,
    accurate and fun aiming system,
    the constant claustrophobic feeling, intelligent and brutal A.I,
    EPIC boss fights!!,
    awesome cheesy dialogue and story,
    wonderful sound,
    addictive and varied gameplay,
    fun weapons,
    well drawn characters,
    awesome unlockables(PS2 version),
    will not disappoint gore lovers,
    protecting Ashley missions are actually enjoyable,
    fluid controls, and
    basically everything.

    Cons:
    Puzzles and switching weapons can be tedious at times.
    Expand
  14. Jan 24, 2012
    10
    RE4 is among the best that the PS2 has ever had to offer. I just beat the main campaign (about 20 hours long) and it's fantastic. It's action packed, thrilling, and while the actual scares were few and far between, the ones that were present were very effective. I've seen lots of complaints about the controls. I suppose it's a matter of taste, because the controls felt perfect to me. My one complaint, and it's not even much of a complaint, is the script. The voice acting is solid, but the dialogue itself is fairly clicheed, and sometimes just plain cheesy. Doesn't matter. Once you beat the campaign, there's a crapload of unlockables and extra game modes. If you own a PS2, you must own this game. Expand
  15. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    Made this **** Series good. I recall one of my favourite Survival Horror games EVER, Sweet Home, this comes "Semi-Close" to that. Fixed the terrible gameplay and camera, and that terrible plot. Some people don't like this game, lemme explain why : Resident Evil is TERRIBLE. I Mean TERRIBLE. This game took out the **** and replaced it with pancake Syrup, but without that terrible tasting bull****, it ain't the same. Expand
  16. Apr 3, 2011
    9
    I'm not a fan of survival horror and don't care much for shooting games, but this isn't a survival horror compared to previous Resident Evil games. The removal of the survival aspect has probably disappointed fans of the series, but this game is challenging even still. I really enjoyed this game because of memorable set pieces, bosses and even normal creatures and the game still gives a sense of tension. Still remember it well after years since completion. Expand
  17. Aug 22, 2011
    9
    The last/best atmospheric game of the classic franchise. The number four part of the franchise, surprise the player with a magical tension , and solid gameplay. Set in Spain is also a great move for the series, expanding the setting is always important. Even the graphics seems to be comparable to games of the 360 and PS3 very detailed and fresh. Best in the series after 1 and 2 .
  18. Jul 21, 2011
    8
    More of the same, but with worse graphics and sound. Yes not everything was perfectly ported to other consoles and I'm not sure if Playstation owners were incredibly excited by the fact that they were finally getting a game that had been out for several years on another console. Overall though its the best package including the main storyline, bonus features, alternate storyline and of course the mercenaries (which is a blast). It does however, suffer from getting the ugly stick bonked around its presentation a bit. The character models aren't nearly as sharp and the textures are bit muddy and the sound is just not the same quality the gamecube version had. Of course this is different hardware we're talking about and it mostly does the job very well and is still MILES AHEAD of the PC port which is still an unmitigated disaster done by a completely worthless team of idiots that couldn't port a console game if their lives depended on it. Its still just as fun, just as scary (debatable), features the same hilarious over the top dialog as before and Ashley's rump is still exceedingly fun to get caught start at on a ladder. Expand
  19. Mar 14, 2013
    10
    Perrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrfection.
  20. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    This is my favorite Resident Evil game because it's by far the scariest. When I first played this game I was so nervous that I was sweating - then again I was 14 or so, and not very experienced in horror games. This is the first Resident Evil in the series to do something different than the Fixed Angle thing - which to some extent made it less frightening, but in another made it much more involving. A pro that this game has that over the others is that the enemies aren't necessarily that over the top - they're simple looking (except for maybe the bosses). The fear introduced is from men and women who don't appear to have anything wrong with them - though their clothing is way out of style (like from the early 1900s or something). They only grimace and don't look all that pretty - oh, well, they also attack you with knives and farm gear, and eventually chainsaws and even further on with gatling guns. There are monsters, but in this they aren't pulsating or as cartoon-like as they are in previous and future games. Resident Evil 5 sort of went over board with the monsters to the point where they looked less frightening (sometimes there's more through simplicity). What's also great is this game is directly related to the series and yet is indirectly related because it's an entirely new premise. It's definitely my favorite of the series and is lots of fun - much more survival is in this one over RE5. Expand
  21. Sep 10, 2011
    5
    This game ruined Resident Evil series. It replaced Zombies with parasites, and removed anything that resembled puzzles. It is action game nothing else.
  22. Sep 19, 2011
    9
    If you have played the previous Resident Evil games than this game is almost nothing like its predecessors because they have made alot of changes to this game. For starters there are no longer fixed camera angles in areas the camera is now at the back of the characters, most of the guns have laser sighting and scope to help with aiming and the zombies have been replaced by humans who are mind controlled and infected by Las Plagas. All these changes reduce the scare factor of the game compared to its predecessors but also makes the gameplay more action orientated, higher paced and makes the controls more responsive and making the A.I more diverse. The Ganados the infected humans you fight in the game are alot more smarter than the zombies and the way they gang up on you and attack you is alot different than the predictable zombie grabbing and blood sucking from the previous games. The Ganados can hit you with their melee weapons either by stabbing you or throwing it when they are far away and even throwing dynamites at you. On top of that those villagers also react differently to your gun shots shooting in the leg will make them limp, shooting them on their arms will cause them to drop their weapons, the Ganados can also get stunned during the combat which will allow the player to go near them and perform some special unarmed moves. All these changes and additions make the gameplay more fun, diverse and less repetitive compared to the previous Resident Evil games. The players finds alot more ammunition and healing items in this game as the enemies that are killed almost always drop the healing items, ammo and money and treasure as well which the player can use to buy and upgrade weapons from a merchant who appears throughout the game. The game also has some interactive cutscenes that make you think you are actually involved in then game even when you are just watching the cutscenes which is also a great addition. There will be also points in the game where you go through areas while protecting a defenseless girl who moves with you she can't fight but she can get hurt and you can use your herbs and First aid sprays to heal her and she will also be helping you solve some puzzles in the game these levels of the game may be frustrating at times but they are still fun and entertaining. The scare factor may have been toned down but that doesn't mean RE4 did not give me the creeps there were alot of points in the game that made me jump and scared me s**tless the part where you first fight the underwater monster, the part where you fight the El-Gigante, the part where you fight the bugs in the sewer and specially the part where you first fight the Re-generator all those moments just scared the crap out of me the first time the played this game. However the scary moments in this game are far less than there were in the previous Resident Evil games. The story is really good despite the only connection being between it and the previous RE being the characters Leon, Ada and Wesker and the mentioning of Umbrella otherwise its a completely different story. The story is far from epic but it is still well told and well written. Creating a chemical to control the humans than taking over america and taking over the world may sound too gimmicky and may have also been a used up formula for the stories in games but it was executed well here. The graphics are really good considering it is ps2 ofcourse ps2 has done better with God of War and MSG games but still the graphics look very good however the ps2 graphics still don't hold a candle up to the Gamecube version but that is because GC had a better graphic card the the PS2 and graphics don't totally make a game. The game's music and sound effects are just superb always suit the environments and the sound effects do a good job of building up tensions and giving the creeps. The voice acting is good however the dialogue can just be cheesy and corny at times. Apart from the main story the game also has the awesome and fun Mercenary Mode, Assignment Ada (a small mission for ada) and the ps2 version has two new extras which were not in the GC version the Movie Browser where all the game's cutscenes can be viewed and the Separate Ways in which you play as Ada where she explains her motives for being involved in the main campaign. These extras just makes the players come back for playing this game for hours and hours and having fun and really increasing the game's already high replay value and lasting appeal. Overall Resident Evil 4 is a great achievement on the part of CAPCOM. 9.5/10 Expand
  23. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    the hard work and research behind this game is remarkable, shinji mikami and team spent 11 days in europe to recreate a very real european experience in the village and the castle. Indeed if u visit a european castle u would see an eerie similarity
  24. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    When i played this game i was very young and it was one of my first games.
    So it all was pretty new for me and i think that made it extra awesome for me because this is still one of my favorite games. And leo still is the king of Resident evil world. And i here many people complaining about the control system but i think it is great.
  25. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    Resident Evil 4 is without a doubt the best game in the series!! The mix between Horror and Action is spot on in this game.. The story is AMAZING! the gameplay mechanics are really good for a PS2 game, and the replay value is really HIGH! especially the HD version which has all the extras from past versions. All in all Resident Evil 4 is an AMAZING! game.. You MUST own it if you like action/Horror games Expand
  26. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    A triumphant re-invention of the resident evil series, resident evil 4 is a very imaginative and fresh new look in the survival horror genre in general. The attention to detail to the overall package is outstanding, with a perfectly paced story that keeps bringing unexpected surprises in both the storytelling and the gameplay. this is a great feat especially considering the main story is more or less 15 hours long, not counting the bonus material that extends the fun with minigames and side stories. level design is extremely well done and atmospheric, character design is intriguing, the music emphasizes the horror produced by the atmosphere, and the gameplay involves more than simply running and shooting thanks to small but effective variations and some exploration. My only small complain is that while the voice acting is very professionally produced, some of the dialogue is a bit cheesy for a game with serious themes. perhaps the few bad lines of dialogue are intentional from developer capcom as a trowback to the horrendous dialogue in the earlier resident evil games but this is only a very minor thing. A slightly more significant complain i have is that the control scheme is just a bit dated and slow, but effective nonetheless. Expand
  27. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    This game is bloody excellent! The combat, voice acting, graphics, story and characters are all up and above average. It is one of the most atmospheric and suspenseful experiences in gaming, and will stand out as a classic for years to come. Excellent, but is difficult to find in stores and on the internet.
  28. Mar 14, 2012
    2
    Overrated, boring game that fully discrases the name of resident evil. Capcom took there fans and took a complete dookie on there face and smeared it around! This is a terrible game. Its not even an RE GAME! WOW! Its got Leon And Ada... Woopty doo, its still not worthy of bearing the name Resident Evil 4. Resident Evil 4 should of been something completely different. This is stupid. Buy Resident Evil Outbreak, Resident Evil Code veronica, or Resident evil Operation Raccoon City INstead! Expand
  29. Jun 28, 2012
    10
    Wonderful. The game stands on its own. Great survival horror moments and action sequences. The quality in every department of this game is superb. Excellent visuals, music, and gameplay. The storyline & gameplay takes a departure from what Resident Evil fans are familiar with. Resident Evil has evolved. Starting with RE4.
  30. Mar 11, 2013
    7
    No doubt this is a strong title for the PlayStation2, good graphics and polished gameplay, the story is not really innovative but at least does its job: keeps you moving on and opening new doors between curious and afraid...
  31. May 27, 2012
    9
    A great game with some of the best tension in a game, i played this game so many times.
  32. Jun 27, 2012
    10
    The plot is so weak it's almost absurd, but in almost every other regard this is a truly great game. Call me crazy, but I think this game was far scarier than the trilogy. It's still by all means a horror game, just a different type and more action oriented. To be honest, I always thought it would make more sense for the protagonist of a resident evil game to be more action oriented anyway, given what they are and what they're dealing with. The game itself is a ton of fun, very suspenseful, and on top of that goes on and on for probably 20-25 hours in just the story mode alone. Expand
  33. Jul 10, 2012
    10
    Top notch gaming here to be had. Take a journey back to 2005 where Gordan freeman roamed the earth and ID survived of their good graphics and zombies when RE4 took the series to a whole new level. The aiming is much more pecise than that of the old ones (but I still love 'em) and the creepy atmosphere really made me jump!
  34. Jul 18, 2012
    9
    Great survival horror game. One of the best resident evil games. Fun and entertaining gameplay, great graphics and sound. Great cast of characters like Ada Wong who is my favourite RE character.
  35. Jul 23, 2012
    8
    Brainless story, bad characters and voice acting..still, it's pretty fun once you get the hang of it. The item collecting is also pretty rad. Still, I expected a bit more.
  36. Jul 23, 2012
    10
    Resident evil 4 foi um jogo marcante para cada pessoa que jogou e mereçe a nota maxima.Com uma história epica , personagens carismáticos , com graficos incriveis para a época.
  37. Sep 4, 2012
    10
    хорошая игра. читайте биборан по два раза в день!
  38. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    Great game!!! Not so great as Gamecube version, because of the cut scenes (not realtime rendered and for that reason there is no point in changing costumes) and some visuals, but gameplay is very addictive. Shinji Mikami made a great game.
  39. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    The pinnacle of the series. A masterpiece. The PS2 version of "Resident Evil 4" is one of the console's greatest games. Not just a simple port, Sony's cover of the GameCube classic includes exclusive weapons, costumes and Ada Wong missions. This is a revolutionary sequel that turned the series on its head by completely changing the format. An action game by heart, RE 4 still manages to churn out major scares with its extremely tense gameplay. In this installment, Leon S. Kennedy (of RE 2) has been charged with finding the President's missing daughter somewhere in Spain. He eventually discovers that the region has been overrun by people infected by a biological weapon known as Las Palagas. Much shooting ensues. "Resident Evil 4" is a brilliant game that marries the action genre with the survival horror aspect of the franchise. Released a year before "Gears of War", RE4 set the standard of third-person action games with its over-the-shoulder camera view and quick time events. The game itself is about a 20 hour adventure and not one minute is wasted with boring, mundane tasks. Brain-teasing puzzles of the series' past return and the action has been amped up completely. It's a great feeling to knock a zombie down by shooting at its knees only to line up a head shot. RE 4 offers plenty of various firearms, all which can be upgraded at scattered merchant shops. The GameCube version of "Resident Evil 4" might contain sharper visuals, but the PS2 version makes up for it with all of the extra content. It can almost be labeled as a "Director's Cut". This was probably the best game of 2005 and the PS2 arguably has the definitive version of it. Expand
  40. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    This is not only the best survival horror game ever but in my opinion the best game ever. The story is great, there is lots of action and great boss fights.
  41. May 24, 2013
    1
    I kind of liked the tension in Jurassic Park: Trespasser caused by the difficulty in aiming a gun, since you could control multiple joints in the same arm by holding down a different button and moving the mouse. But I couldn't stand RE4 for longer than 10 minutes. The difference is the mouse control in Trespasser let you move awkwardly but quickly. Not that it was a good game, but at the least you could learn to work with Trespasser's weird control scheme, improve, get faster, and at the very least move while shooting.

    The joystick control for RE4 move the character's aim ridiculously slowly even for a character who had never held a gun before, much less a supposed secret agent. I've never fired a real gun before in my life, but I could outshoot this guy. He's basically a cripple.

    The only thing that makes this Resident Evil superior to previous entries in the series is that the controls for those were even WORSE. But you know what games have better shooting controls? ACTUAL shooters: Halo, Call of Duty, Max Payne. This game has nothing to recommend it over any real action game.

    For some reason people give horror games a pass on having terrible controls because not being able to control your character adds to the fear (or something). I don't get it and it's just not fun for me.
    Expand
  42. Dec 16, 2012
    5
    The game is OK. It has good plot, gameplay (but very downgraded compared to the old ones) and OK graphics. A bad note for the graphics: RE4 for PS2 is just a port. That's why it has less graphics than GC version, so, the graphics aren't so good. 5.5 for me.
  43. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    It may possess the over the top bad dialogue and storytelling famous in RE, but this only serves to add to the games unique charm. The gameplay is really great, it's got lots of cool elements like the Attache system for limited storage and buying upgrades from a mysterious and hilarious "merchant" It is a scary game no doubt, when you encounter re-generators for example, a horrifying nearly unkillable zombie you're likely to go into panic mode. The visual design is all top notch from the locations to the very detailed character models. It can go from very actiony over the top and fast paced to eery and unsettling in a matter of minutes. It's got lots of awesome unlockable modes and costumes/guns giving it great replayability. It's uniquely awesome Expand
  44. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    By far, the best game in the saga and one of the best games of the world. The story may be a bit... boring (let's keep it like that), but smashing zombie brains and fighting weird-looking monsters has never been that fun. It's just a masterpiece. It's such a shame that the series is not as good as this game due to RE:6 or RE: ORC (I should have imagined that it wouldn't be a good game when I saw the title's first letter.) Expand
  45. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    Clever, suspenseful, fun, so many words to describe this masterpiece, Resident Evil 4 has to be one of the most played games I have ever invested my time into, the one thing that bothered me was the lack of Resident Evil in this game, what happened to the zombies and survival horror?
  46. May 1, 2013
    10
    Of all the games I have ever owned, this game has sucked the most hours out of me. Love this game and everybody should own it. Graphics, story, and gameplay are the best on the PS2.
  47. Jun 29, 2013
    10
    i haven't played the previous resident evil games and i started with this one and i believe that this game mad the resident evil series what it is today cause this game is perfect in every thing survival horror yep you'll find that action yep you'll find that bad ass bosses and moments yes all that is in here with awesome controls and gameplay with a great story makes this game perfect
  48. Mar 13, 2013
    10
    one of the best resident evil games made sadly after this they went in the completely wrong direction. they shouldve built on top of this but instead they threw everything away.
  49. Mar 12, 2014
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is very disappointing when compared to earlier Resident Evil games. First of all, it's not a survival horror; you have a bunch of ammo and health throughout the game, rather it is a shooter game. Second, there is no atmosphere; it has no or few horror elements. Details like merchant, items falling from enemies (not zombies), yellow herbs (superhuman health increasement) etc. ruin it all together. Third, plot is in my opinion stupid and has nothing to do with the prequels. Fourth - I really hate Hollywood details and cliches in this game.
    But still, if you like shooting and blowing up masses, you should play this "survival horror".
    Expand
  50. Oct 9, 2013
    2
    *Sigh* How the hell do i start...? Oh, yes! RE4 is the worst piece of survival horror crap ever! Seriously, critics! Were you high when playing this game? 96 point average?! What the hell?! The game is so flawed i could use it as toilet paper! Why is the game so terrible? Well, to start, the QTEs. They give you no time to react and brutally punishes you for wanting to enjoy a cutscene! Seriously, Capcom! You could at least warn us! At least you had the sense to either make us start QTEs of our own accord (like in boss fights) or you have time to react in RE6. Plus, I thought RE6 was an amazing game! Oh, and let's not forget 'Leon. Leon! LEOOOOOOON!!!!' I hate Ashley's guts. SCREW THIS AWFUL GAME! Expand
  51. Mar 29, 2013
    10
    simply the best survival horror game of all time no other company even capcom itself can make a better game. the game uses if everything to keep the player feel desperate of surviving. the story, the characters, the graphic, the sound.. etc. everything in it is awesome. a game that define survival horror with an RPJ!.
  52. Aug 12, 2013
    9
    This is the Resident Evil game that proved the franchise could be reinvented and reinvigorated without even having to needlessly throw zombies onto the screen. The new enemies were just as merciless, brutal, and horrible to face, and it worked well. Add in major adjustments to controls, camera, and the atmosphere- the moodier the better it seems, and you've got quite the winning formula.
  53. May 5, 2013
    8
    Most of the ratings are definetly overrated. There are things which kill the fun in this game. One word: Ashley. She was so freakin annoying, I thought about quitting the game. The boss battles though are as good as always and the shoot mechanics smooth. Stable frames, good graphics for it´s time. Well, you think: Why a 8? Why not a 9? Because Ashley is SO DAMN ANNOYING SHE KILLS THE FUN FOR THE REST OF THE GAME! The Game Designers shot themselves with the shotgun in the knee. Also it´s not real Horror. The Survival Horror left Resident Evil with this game. So it´s one of the better Resi´s but it´s not quite that good. NEVER A 96! 85 is acceptable. Expand
  54. Apr 8, 2013
    10
    The game is flawless and very well made! i had so much fun playing it and is one of the best games ive played on ps2. Good graphics ,amazing weapons and is quite thrilling. Mercenaries was freaky and it almost made my pants.
  55. Apr 17, 2013
    9
    this is what a game should be like... re4 blew me away and continues to... the characters and storyline are completely addictive. overall one of the best games ive played
  56. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First off, I played through this game AT LEAST 5 times. I had just as much fun the first time as I did the fifth time.

    Resident Evil 4 is not too horrifying, except one level towards the end. This is where you fight dark blue dagger-toothed monster things that cannot be killed, unless you shoot 3 of the parasites on their back. You can cripple them by shooting their legs off, but they regenerate and grow back. (Thus, the reason they are called regenerators.)

    Enough rambling. The game as a whole has decent-okay combat. There are around 12-15 guns you can buy, not counting the unlockable ones that you can get after beating the game.

    The small amount of people who gave this game poor reviews don't seem to have played the game before. There is, in fact other modes than story mode. Assignment Ada, and Missionaries. Missionaries is just a free-play mode where countless hordes of zombies are hurled at you until your chopper arrives. Pretty fun to do after you beat the game and don't feel like playing it again. Assignment Ada isn't that fun, to be frankly honest. Its just replaying a mission as a woman named Ada, except its 500 times harder. The story is pretty long, and there are multiple paths that you are able to take during the game.

    The enemies you face consist of the generic zombie, (a spanish farmer that tries to kill you with pitchforks and knives.) cult group members, (pale people in black cloaks that try to strangle you), enemies with wolverine-like claws that have their eyes stitched shut, and scary-ass chainsaw men/women with bags over their heads. They actually might be scarier than the regnerators I talked about earier.

    All in all, this is a GREAT game. I hope this review helped. :D
    Expand
  57. May 5, 2013
    10
    Simply Put- Resident Evil 4 is one of the greatest games ever made. This is a masterpiece. The tempo, the combat, the scares, the gameplay, hell even the story is cheezly good. This game is how action horror games should be made. The level of impact this game has had on the game industry- Gears of War, L4D, and every other over the should 3rd person shooter this gen. And the boss fights.... OMG. These fights are so amazing- Del Lago, El Gigante, Bella Sisters, Straddler, Verdugo and of course the greatest boss fight in the history of the series. The one. The only. Krauser. These moments are amazingly awesome. This game is amazingly awesome. Play it. Expand
  58. May 8, 2013
    9
    Capcom clearly was aiming in a wider public when they made Resident Evil 4.
    Its almost perfect blending of survival horror and action, packed with an addictive gameplay, great story and really beautiful visuals aren't enough to make it the best Resident Evil ever made, but even diehard fans of the series can enjoy it as much as the casual gamer will and i highly recommend it to both.
  59. May 11, 2013
    10
    Simply best game ever!!! still playing this in 2013 and never get bored of playing. I think so new RE games and not as good as this game. Actually i have never counted how many times i have played this game. Its no 1 in my list
  60. May 17, 2013
    10
    Otimo jogo da série e mantém o survival horror. Foi muito brilhante criar um jogo com botoes de ações para executar, especialmente os chutes. e ficaria muito melhor se aumenta-se mas o clima sombrio dos cenarios e os inimigos, mais efeito de som ao entrar em um lugar vazio.
  61. May 25, 2013
    10
    es un juego muy emocionante, nunca habia visto juegos de este tipo para ps2,con una trama extendida,con momentos de mucha accion y mucha drama.diferente a las entregas anteriores
  62. Jun 26, 2013
    10
    este juego,fue mi favorito con buena trama E historia,drama y accion,graficos buenisimos,muy buen juego merecible de un 10 y 100 para los criticos,yo lo recomiendo.
  63. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    One of the best PS2's era game ever. Wonderful game, spectacular visuals, amazing characters, great weapons and enemies, the scenarios are dark and gritty, something expected from a RE game.
  64. Oct 9, 2013
    9
    An excellent combination of survival horror and third-person shooter action, RE4 delivers in all aspects of a near-perfect and engaging game. As others come and go, Resident Evil 4 will be remembered as a true classic.
  65. Jul 9, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the best game on all erath.I played in this game on ps2 pc xbox 360 and on pc again and again. this game have all of need great game graphic (on 2005) gameplay story and music Expand
  66. Oct 11, 2013
    8
    EN: Resident Evil 4 has some good improvements, looks awesome and plays awesome, but the story could be better. A solid 8 feels right.
    PT-BR: Resident Evil 4 apresenta algumas boas melhorias, tem aparência incrível e jogabilidade incrível, mas a história podia ser melhor. Um sólido 8 me parece correto.
  67. Feb 18, 2014
    10
    Along with Silent Hill 2, this is THE Survival Horror game. It's amazing, innovative, scary. Controls are amazing, graphics are good. The only downside is probably "LEON! LEON!". But that is nothing compared to the rest of the game.
  68. Nov 28, 2013
    10
    This game is creepy. The first and the best the "new" Resident Evil game, you are taken to a cult village in Spain to rescue the presidents daughter. The more you discover about the cult and your various encounters with the villagers (who have parasites called Las Plagas in their head) make you nervous to play this game.i. 2004 these graphics were insane and still hold up today. Plus, good voice acting in this franchise is a change and Leon actually sounds believable. The gameplay is smooth and precise, for example it is hard to get a direct shot without the gun moving because it takes in real life factors like breathing. Now people complain it lost its survival horror roots with this game (and I agree the series eventually did) but if you play that opening village scene without terror (especially when chainsaw man comes out) you are probably not human. So go on, prepared to get scared and return to a time of good Resident Evil games, and the only good Resident Evil game that has a good story, good gameplay, and good graphics. It's not the original GameCube version but in some aspects the PS2 version is better. So play it, just bring an extra pair of pants. Expand
  69. Dec 10, 2013
    3
    When Resident Evil 4 first released back 2005, Gameplay turn from Good to Worst since became Noobish, Story was ok part just thanks to Ada Scenes along with Wesker Scenes,
    Gameplay: 3/10
    Story: 6/10
    Total: 7/10
    I was once Die Hard Fan but stop caring Since Series become crap once Resident Evil 4 Released.
  70. Dec 19, 2013
    9
    One of the best horror, I will remember this game forever, she spent a lot of time, but Resident Evil 5 I like more, be sure to play this game if you have not played
  71. Jan 7, 2014
    10
    A game that change the traditional style of his ancestors, to make a game that had awkward cameras and clumsy controls to another completely different, clearly frame trend to another resident evils
  72. Feb 27, 2014
    10
    This game has virtually nothing wrong with it. From the moment I started playing it hooked on to me and never let go, the game in my opinion is a perfect blend of action and horror which has never been successfully replicated since. In my mind, it's a masterpiece.
  73. Mar 16, 2014
    8
    When I picked this game up for the first time last week I thought "It can't be as good as people say." Well, I'll tell you I was surprised when I got into playing it. It has a very original combat system with shooting and it makes a more challenging game, it's not like some shooters on the PS2 where it auto-locks and all you have to do is press the shoot button. Don't get me wrong, it's not a challenge because its broken. Its a challenge because when a villager is charging you, sometimes you cant line up the shot and have to pull your knife and brawl for your life. I also really like the inventory system, if you are OCD and want to make everything just right, you can spend almost hours combining, crafting, and sorting your inventory. The controls are simple and are easy to understand. It takes under a minute in the first part of the game to get everything down. The game-play mechanics will have you saving every last bullet so you don't run out (or maybe i'm just really bad at saving my ammo). I also liked, at the beginning, the scarcity of ammo for everything but your pistol, then making you fight hordes of villagers with a grenade, 6 shotgun shells, and 20 or so bullets in your pistol. Verdict: A must own for video game collectors, or anyone who owns a PS2. Expand
  74. hyker
    Oct 31, 2008
    0
    We say to a game its a good game if you played it through and say "that money and time I spent on this game wasn't in vein" and that what happened I played through the game and I liked it,however,I played the previous resident evil games which was also good and I said the quote after playing it,but resident evil 4 was nothing like it.Awesome shooter, but there's nothing horror or scary which was a bit disappointment to me. That's why I give it a 7,its an awesome shooter but it has nothing to do with the style of the previous games and as said above I liked it and thats enough for me to give it a good point. Collapse
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 38
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 38
  3. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Not playing through it from beginning to end would be missing out on a major milestone in gaming history, not to mention a hell of a lot of fun. [Dec 2005, p.70]
  2. Simply put, Resident Evil 4 is a landmark video game, no matter what system you play it on... Truly brilliant. [Nov 2005, p.158]
  3. Capcom turned the venerable but stagnant series around with Evil 4 [Nov p.72]