User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1100 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 10, 2017
    10
    What can I say? Masterpiece. First game that I literally conquered! If I was counting how many times I played this game, it would reach 100, no doubts! Just amazing! Can't even describe it. Amazing!
  2. Aug 9, 2017
    9
    Second best part of the series after Resident Evil 2. The series completely changed the style and gameplay and became quite intresnoy, confusing and most importantly frightening
  3. May 2, 2017
    10
    You would think the game is not as scary as the previous titles in the franchise, but no: Resident Evil 4 is horrifying in its own way. It's creepy... even more: weird.
  4. Apr 8, 2017
    10
    Excelentes graficos, Excelentes puzzles, Excelente dificultad, Excelente historia, Excelente pelo de Leon. La gente dira q no es el clasico Resident Evil pero para mi esta es la evolucion del survival horror, Claro, le bajan aunq sea un 30 por ciento de tiros y esta perfecto. Pero igual el juego te trae buenos sustos, y unas batallas contra jefes colosales q... Oye simplemente EXCELENTE
  5. Apr 1, 2017
    1
    I can't believe they created such a big game and didn't bother to check if the settings worked right. If you invert the Y, it will work for moving the camera but their is no way to invert the Y for aiming. So you get all confused with what is up and down. Its unmanageble. This is amateur work...
  6. Mar 23, 2017
    10
    For all intents and purposes, Resident Evil 4 is the magnum opus of the Resident Evil series. The way its atmosphere was dark, sinister and full of fear was a testament to its time and it reworked its gameplay from previous titles to perform groundbreaking genre defining reactions is superb. The weak aspect (the story and its dialogue) fall under this "so bad that its good" style that isFor all intents and purposes, Resident Evil 4 is the magnum opus of the Resident Evil series. The way its atmosphere was dark, sinister and full of fear was a testament to its time and it reworked its gameplay from previous titles to perform groundbreaking genre defining reactions is superb. The weak aspect (the story and its dialogue) fall under this "so bad that its good" style that is able to transmute well with the tension and horror that made the weakness almost unnoticeable for me to care. The combat and tension was master crafted and made survival horror a gold standard alongside Silent Hill 2 during the early 2000s. The enemies and bosses, the death scenes, the atmosphere, the music and so much more made RE4 one of the best games of all time for me and that will never change. Expand
  7. Mar 17, 2017
    10
    This is not only one of the best video games for PS2, but it is also some of the best and most coherent zombies video games ever. The storytelling fantastic, the radical evolution just magnificent, the controls and EVERYTHING. I fell in love instantly with this game. If you're like those ones who want theories, action and drama, then RE4 reflects them, so what are you waiting for?? (100%)
  8. Jan 28, 2017
    8
    Gameplay wise this game is very revolutionary. I think most people agree that it's the first action-adventure TPS with perfected gameplay, puzzles and aiming system.

    Since there are a few modes you can unlock after finishing the main story, you can spend hours and hours until game completion. (I bet if the game was released nowadays you would have to pay to unlock the extra modes as
    Gameplay wise this game is very revolutionary. I think most people agree that it's the first action-adventure TPS with perfected gameplay, puzzles and aiming system.

    Since there are a few modes you can unlock after finishing the main story, you can spend hours and hours until game completion. (I bet if the game was released nowadays you would have to pay to unlock the extra modes as DLC) Not to mention replayability is excellent - no wonder why people are still playing it 10 years ago after its release!

    Now let's be honest. I love RE4 gameplay wise, but story wise it's horrible.
    1. STORY IS **** It took place in Spain, has nothing to do with Umbrella and zombies.
    2. This isn't even horror. It's just a shooting game. You never run out of ammo and there are no scares either.

    This game should be released as a one-off side story, never as Resident Evil 4. I absolutely loved the setting of the demo - it has that eerie and claustrophobic atmosphere of previous RE games and pretty interesting settings (took place in a locked down castle, hallucinations from infection etc). RE4 really wasted the opportunity to be a proper RE sequel, which is a huge shame.

    This game is also where the series went downhill. Because it is so successful, Capcom tried to remake this action-without-horror-TPS spinoff twice (as sequels again, no less) and failed miserably. How surprising.
    Expand
  9. Jan 9, 2017
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game started out amazing, but alas, it fell to nonsense material, too much ammo shortage, and an over kill of cut scene actions. Bottom line is this: Graphically speaking it rocks, the story is wonderful. But on the PS2 the game sucks so badly. There are too many occasions the NPC's litterally "CHEAT" causing you to use too many health items, and too many munitions. How do you get hit from an NPC if its back is too you and in front of your eyes? Why is ammo so scarce? Ashley calls you a perv when you dont even try to look up her skirt. Did i get the broken copy? Rifle ammo...well simply not enough, at least not on the Playstation 2. I've seen playthroughs on other platforms and its nothing like the PS2. I've played this game for way too long, and as good as a gamer i am, i still cant seem to beat it. I think i do have a broken copy of the game, its just way too hard. And why, god help us, do you have to beat the game to get an "Easy" mode? Tell me that!!! The game as a whole does not make sense in most areas. At best i give it a 4 rating, simply because the graphics are really amazing, and the weapons you get to choose from are wonderful. Other than that, this game was a dud and a disapointment. Expand
  10. Dec 30, 2016
    10
    Resident Evil 4 quando lançou, muita gente ficou com um pé atras, pelo fato da jogabilidade, camera e muitas coisas ter mudado, mais felizmente a essencia Resident Evil continuou, com a volta do Leon (que é o meu personagem favorito da saga), e tambem temos a chata da Ashley, o jogo é fenomenal, os grafico sao lindos, a direçao de arte é bela, principal os vilarejo, temos o Classico UmResident Evil 4 quando lançou, muita gente ficou com um pé atras, pelo fato da jogabilidade, camera e muitas coisas ter mudado, mais felizmente a essencia Resident Evil continuou, com a volta do Leon (que é o meu personagem favorito da saga), e tambem temos a chata da Ashley, o jogo é fenomenal, os grafico sao lindos, a direçao de arte é bela, principal os vilarejo, temos o Classico Um Forasteiro, o jogo tem alguns Puzzle, mais nao chegam a ser tao dificeis, Resident Evil 4 é uma espetacular, e junto com Left 4 dead 2 sao os meus favoritos jogos de Zumbi. Nota 10 Expand
  11. Dec 23, 2016
    8
    This game is quite good and very fun, but its so overrated by pseudo-gamers and the press, as, aside from the lack of attention to small details, it has unforgivable and incomprehensible flaws. Its true that the graphics, the effects, the setting and the length are great altogether. But the enemy AI its unacceptably mindless. You will find yourself in situations where you are in front ofThis game is quite good and very fun, but its so overrated by pseudo-gamers and the press, as, aside from the lack of attention to small details, it has unforgivable and incomprehensible flaws. Its true that the graphics, the effects, the setting and the length are great altogether. But the enemy AI its unacceptably mindless. You will find yourself in situations where you are in front of an enemy and it doesnt see you, even if you shoot other enemies close to it, or if he sees you, for some reason cannot attack you. Or enemies that walk into ground traps and nothing happen, but at the same time are placed so they must walk into laser traps and explode. Or enemies that spawn just behind you, like they came from nowhere because theres no door. Or the shocking case of a scene where an enemy shows with a rocketlauncher and you just wait so then he shoots to the wall and kills himself. Theres too obvious loopholes for certain enemies that make the game easier than it should be, and to be honest the default difficulty is already easy as you never feel like you have to manage your ammo carefully. One curious fact is that the radius of dinamite, grenade (etc) is bigger for enemies than for you. As others have pointed out, the game is based on limited controls, i suppose this is done on purpose, but throwing a grenade accurately can be very difficult or impossible, and simple things like a button to dodge the arrows of the enemies that carry crossbows for example, or more important, a way to fast change weapons with an animation (rather than pausing the game each time) are missing. The flaws of the game doesnt end there though. The game is very linear, in the sense that theres no secrets or secret areas to discover, and the full map is given to you before having explored it as well as the weapons you can get. The save points sometimes are too overspread as well, it feels like theres one around every corner, even when the area in-between wasnt challenging or lengthy at all. About the story, characters and plot, they are of the most stupid, disastrous, ridiculous and non-sensical you will ever see in a game, so its better just to overlook it. So while this is no doubt one of the best games of the ps2 catalogue, calling it the best would be an insult to other games that are much more deep and perfect and whose mechanics are much better thought out. Expand
  12. Sep 9, 2016
    7
    I will never understand why Resident Evil 4 got all this praise. Although I played all of RE games and this was the first one I completed, all the horror from previous titles simply vanished. All that's left is an average 3rd person corridor shooter with quite nice setting. Really the best thing in this game was the rural spain and the grotesque enemies, especially rednecks and thisI will never understand why Resident Evil 4 got all this praise. Although I played all of RE games and this was the first one I completed, all the horror from previous titles simply vanished. All that's left is an average 3rd person corridor shooter with quite nice setting. Really the best thing in this game was the rural spain and the grotesque enemies, especially rednecks and this creature with the bag on its head. Resident Evil should be remembered for the original trilogy, not for this or the crappy movies. Expand
  13. Aug 16, 2016
    10
    One of the best PS2 games. Atmosphere, graphics, sounds, is really good. Not like the old Resident Evil games are among my favorite games.To me, the Resident Evil series is the last good game. Other games really doesn't suit to the Resident Evil series.
  14. Jun 30, 2016
    10
    i dont really think that 5000 letters are enough to describe how perfect this game is !! if you have the chance to get it, JUST DO IT !!!! best game ever 1000000000000000000000/10
  15. Jun 29, 2016
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Years after the destruction of Raccoon City,wiping out any living creature and the virus with it and Umbrella finally finished,Leon S Kennedy,now a goverment agent is assigned to find the missing daughter of the president of the United States,who has been aducted by an unknown occult,her whereabouts was unknown until one day it was mention she was in a rural part of Spain,thats where the game begins.

    You're in a village,trying to find someone to ask for Ashleys whereabouts,where a man violently tries to kill you with his axes...there you have no choice but to eliminate him...soon you realise the whole village is against you. What happened there? What happen to the villagers? Why they act that way? Only for you to find out.

    This is the first game where the camera is behind you back,the graphics looks really awesome in this game,better than Resident Evil Code Veronica,you should see the cutscenes how lively the characters are,Leon is more tougher and good looking,Ashley looks ok,secondary characters look awesome too. The location is in the more rural part of Spain,the village,the church,a castle,a mine,an island,a laboratory etc all of them look terrific. The fire looks really real so real that if you get close to it you can get hurt,you can rum in the water too and use a speedboat as transportation,be careful,not all water area is safe.

    The controls plays as always but more intuitive,meaning that they don't move as if they are tanks,they move more like humans,you can run,climb,shoot, kick and hit enemies etc. The variety of weapons is enormous,most of them have this lasersights which can be more easy to aim at enemies which mostly you want to eliminate them shooting them in the head. The boss fights are hard sometimes mostly cause they really hard but sometimes you'll have to use the enviroment to your advantage to gain success in your battles.

    Whats new here are the quick time event which during scenes you will have to stay alert cause you will never know when danger is near,when you do know you will have to press the buttons really fast otherwise its game over for you especially the Leon vs Krauser knife fight,believe me,i had to try a few times to get it all right.

    In this game its the first time where you can buy and sell stuff thanks to the merchant you find throughout the game,when you find him you can buy new weapons,a bulletproof vest,upgrade weapons for them to be stronger and you can sell precious items you find,in some of them you have to do a little mixing to other items so that they can have more value.

    Lets talk about the moment you find Ashley,well Ashley is a damsel in distress where you have to protect her from enemies,you can give her simple instructions like wait so you can investigate the area,once you see that its safe tell her to follow you and she will,also you can tell her to hide if that option is avaliable. You will have to keep her close to you cause enemies can take her and if the enemy that takes her to a door its game over...it will be game over if she suffers damages. Also a new item is the yellow herb,it cannot be use by its own but if its mixed with a green herb or a green and red together,your health will grow each and each time you use a mixed herb with the yellow one cause both Leon and Ashley starts with short health. Those herbs can be use for Ashley as well.

    Once you complete the game,a mercenarie mode is avaliable where you fight against a horde of enemies,you can pick Leon,Ada,Krauser,Hunk and Wesker.

    For the ps2 which is the version im reviewing,a new scenario is avaliable called Separate Ways where you play as Ada Wong,you will play in her perspective,her objection is to find a sample for evidence,i figure you guys know shes playing in both sides here. You play exactly like in Leons scenario but Adas is much shorter and more easier than Leons.

    Well i guess its safe to say that this is one of the best Resident Evil game yet but its not my fav,its has better gameplay and better graphics than all of the previous Resident Evil but i enjoyed the story of Resident Evil 2 & 3, But this is a long Resident Evil game and its story is also very cool and easy to understand. If your a fan of Resident Evil game or even no fan,you'll definately will have alot of fun with this one,sure the zombies are gone and the scare factor is not as high as the previous ones but still its not going to stop you for having a blast with this one...and who knows? Maybe its a good thing. Good work Capcom,hats off to you :D
    Expand
  16. May 22, 2016
    9
    Este juego es de los pocos que pueden engancharte tanto sin apenas haberlo jugado. Es interesante ver cómo esto resulta ser. Sere por esta vez directo e iré al punto que les convoca.
    El que esté juego sea de terror no compromete la diversión que puedas pasar con el. Puede ser atemorizante pero te impulsa a seguir andando, explorando y recorriendo el mundo presentado. Tanto es así que el
    Este juego es de los pocos que pueden engancharte tanto sin apenas haberlo jugado. Es interesante ver cómo esto resulta ser. Sere por esta vez directo e iré al punto que les convoca.
    El que esté juego sea de terror no compromete la diversión que puedas pasar con el. Puede ser atemorizante pero te impulsa a seguir andando, explorando y recorriendo el mundo presentado. Tanto es así que el peso baja pero es compensado por todas las divertidas horas que llevaras jugando.
    Sin contar el diseño artístico, la banda sonora, la atmósfera y diversión obtenida de esta entrega este título definitivamente merece estar en vuestro repertorio.
    Expand
  17. Apr 18, 2016
    9
    Very good game . Excellent graphics for 2005 , best storyline in Resident Evil Games , Awesome Gameplay , Interesting opening level " The Village " . This is not Horror game but this game is fearful . Best Resident Evil Game , even better Resident Evil , Resident Evil 2 and Resident Evil 6 . Very Poor Nine of Ten .
  18. Apr 12, 2016
    4
    para la epoca intentando hacer cosas nuevas que se cagaron la saga por completo.... el origen de la mierda en resident evil. una verguenza, jugabilidad horrible un casi shooter totalmente capado, unos zombies pesimos.
  19. Apr 12, 2016
    10
    Resident Evil 4 is a total masterpiece of the action-horror games genre.My favourite console game ever!Amazing graphics,awesome atmosphere,perfect story,nice gameplay.This game is addictive.It's worth every penny.
  20. Apr 11, 2016
    9
    This game is the best game of the ps2 consol. I was so addicted to it. The graphics are wonderful and brilliant. This is my all time favorite game. If you dont have it get it. Trust me it is worth it.
  21. Mar 23, 2016
    6
    I really don't understand what makes this game special for so many people. To me, it marks the point where resident evil starts going downhill, it's no longer about clever puzzles and being low on health and ammo and feeling the next step could very well be your last, instead this is more like a shooter were you are just shooting all the time against 1000 dudes on the outside, no fear, noI really don't understand what makes this game special for so many people. To me, it marks the point where resident evil starts going downhill, it's no longer about clever puzzles and being low on health and ammo and feeling the next step could very well be your last, instead this is more like a shooter were you are just shooting all the time against 1000 dudes on the outside, no fear, no horror, no anything, just shooting and shooting. And they even add a shop? What the hell, is this resident evil or Counter strike? The game kinda starts to get boring after the first two massacres. Also, you have "over the shoulder" perspective but the character moves like in old resident evils, it's SOOOO unintuitive.

    To finish, something really annoying was he fact that the action takes place in Spain and the voice actors are clearly speaking mexican dialect, it makes me feel the game is kind of a joke, they didn't even research anything about the place the game was taking place in? I only give it a 6 because graphically it's kinda nice even if it's old and because the storyline was good despite the mexican thing kinda taking away the immersion.
    Expand
  22. Mar 10, 2016
    10
    Este jogo é incrível! Eu recebi e ainda não posso parar de jogar. Os gráficos são tão detalhadas para um game e é desafiador, mas divertido e terá que jogar por horas! A história é complexa e profundamente pensado. O melhor jogo que eu já joguei de forma
  23. Mar 8, 2016
    10
    Melhor jogo na minha opinião para PS2, jogo brilhante mesmo, gráficos, jogabilidade ótima, a interação em si é o mais positivo, melhor da série disparado.... Zerei mais de 10 vezes
  24. Mar 1, 2016
    10
    O Que dizer desse jogo? É simplesmente o melhor jogo que já joguei, sim é o melhor jogo que já joguei e olha que já joguei muitos jogos bons, realmente bons, mas Resident Evil 4 tem algo que nenhum outro jogo tem e acho que nunca terá: Rejogabilidade Verdadeira. O Game foi lançado em 2005 e até hoje eu jogo aqui no meu humilde PS2, faz mais de 10 anos e eu simplesmente não consigo meO Que dizer desse jogo? É simplesmente o melhor jogo que já joguei, sim é o melhor jogo que já joguei e olha que já joguei muitos jogos bons, realmente bons, mas Resident Evil 4 tem algo que nenhum outro jogo tem e acho que nunca terá: Rejogabilidade Verdadeira. O Game foi lançado em 2005 e até hoje eu jogo aqui no meu humilde PS2, faz mais de 10 anos e eu simplesmente não consigo me enjoar desse game, é simplesmente um jogo de outro mundo.

    Sei que Resident Evil 4 é um game que foi e ainda é muito criticado pelos fãs da franquia Resident Evil pelo fato de que, diferente da trilogia clássica de PS1, RE4 não é um game de survival horror, mas sim um exímio jogo de ação. Ao meu ver não sei muito o que dizer sobre isso, é verdade que RE4 não é um jogo de horror mas também não é somente um jogo de ação, é muito mais do que isso. É um jogo inovador em todos os sentidos, uma verdadeira Obra-Prima. O game conta com gráficos excelentes, ambientações fantásticas e bem detalhadas, que variam desde Vilas espanholas, um majestoso Castelo e uma Ilha onde ocorrem diversos experimentos.

    Mas além da qualidade nas ambientações do game, temos muitos outros fatores positivos em Resident Evil 4, como por exemplo: RE4 conta com personagens carismáticos e muito marcantes, como o Leon, o protagonista do game, que antes havia aparecido em Resident Evil 2 ao lado de Claire, temos também Ada Wong, que retorna com muita classe, com um papel muito importante na história. Temos também a adorável (ou para muitos, a terrível) Ashley, que é a filha do presidente dos EUA e que apesar de muitos considerarem ela irritante, ainda assim ela é um personagem muito marcante. Falando em filha do presidente, nosso objetivo principal é entregar ela para seu pai, por isso passamos por tantas encrencas durante o game. Outros pontos fortes para mim são os inimigos, música e sons durante nossa jogatina, que são espetaculares, cada um desses fatores, os inimigos em particular são o que fazem eu mais gostar do game e na minha opinião, TODOS os inimigos são marcantes.

    Um fato que alguns fãs da franquia não gostaram em Resident Evil 4, foi a substituição dos zumbis pelos ganados, sim, RE4 não possui zumbis, nossos inimigos dessa vez são pessoas que possuem dentro de seus corpos o parasita conhecido como "Las Plagas" e o cara responsável por tudo isso é Osmund Saddler que vai criar muitos problemas para que Leon não complete sua missão... Continuando com os inimigos, há uma variedade muito grande deles, temos por exemplo o El Gigante, um gigante bem sinistro que aparece em diversas partes do game, apesar de forte seus ataques não são tão velozes, Temos também Garradores, criaturas cegas que "enxergam" através do som e apesar de terem uma blindagem em seu traje, existe um ponto fraco em suas costas, temos o Dr. Salvador que são ganados com um saco na cabeça e uma motosserra nas mãos que se chegar perto o suficiente, corta sua cabeça fora, nada demais... ou então, os Regenerators que são meus inimigos prediletos no game, não só por terem uma aparência amendrontadora, mas também pelos sons épicos e arrepiantes que eles produzem... Isso foram só alguns exemplos de inimigos, mas existe vários outros, incluindo boss fights claro, que são épicas por sinal, como nas batalhas contra U-3, Verdugo ou contra o veterano Krauser por exemplo.

    Sei que já escrevi muito, mas se chegou até aqui saiba que estou quase acabando, mas acredite, eu falei muita coisa mas ainda não é tudo o que o game tem a oferecer, não é mesmo. Vou falar brevemente então agora da jogabilidade que para mim é o ponto em que Resident Evil 4 realmente se destacou e se tornou revolucionário. A jogabilidade de Resident Evil 4, apesar de limitada em certos pontos, é maravilhosamente viciante e única até o lançamento do game, digo isso pois ela é tão boa que muitos jogos aclamados pela crítica utilizam, quer exemplos? Temos jogos fantásticos como Gears of War, Dead Space e The Last of Us, ambos utilizam uma jogabilidade parecida e claramente inspirada na de RE4, com a câmera sobre o ombro e tal... Bom, acho que é isso mesmo, sei que falei bastante mas é que é um jogo que se destaca muito sobre todos os outros, claro que muitos podem não gostar, eu entendo, gosto é gosto. Mas na minha humilde opinião Resident Evil 4 é único e inigualável, é um jogo perfeito? Não, não é. Existem muitos bugs, é verdade, mas é um jogo tão majestoso que isso não faz a menor diferença na minha avaliação final, vale muito a pena jogar, como eu havia dito antes, o considero o melhor Jogo da História e para mim, ele não é digno de receber qualquer nota que seja diferente de 10.

    Nota Final: 10/10 (Obra-Prima)
    Expand
  25. Jan 4, 2016
    9
    This game is bonkers! After playing RE5,6, or any of the other newer RE entries you will gain to appreciate RE4 a bit more. It's more action oriented than it's predecessors, but the series was already trying to head in that direction since RE2. The classic survival horror elements are mostly dismissed, but it's there (barely). The PS2 version adds new modes on top of a game with alreadyThis game is bonkers! After playing RE5,6, or any of the other newer RE entries you will gain to appreciate RE4 a bit more. It's more action oriented than it's predecessors, but the series was already trying to head in that direction since RE2. The classic survival horror elements are mostly dismissed, but it's there (barely). The PS2 version adds new modes on top of a game with already tremendous amount of replay value. Mercenaries mode is insane, challenging, and very rewarding! I know I put a unhealthy amount of hours into this game beating it to 100% completion. I don't know if I could go through it again...it's madness! Expand
  26. Dec 3, 2015
    10
    Bem, este game foi estrondoso, seja mudando completamente a franquia Resident Evil ou se tornando uma revolução para os games da época. O fato é que RE4 foi um bos maiores e melhores games já feitos. O que dizer dos inimigos, chefes, ambientação, trilha sonora impecáveis?! Jamais irei esquecer o que passei ao jogar esta obra prima do Mikami. Seu fator raplay é demais. Passar o tempo,Bem, este game foi estrondoso, seja mudando completamente a franquia Resident Evil ou se tornando uma revolução para os games da época. O fato é que RE4 foi um bos maiores e melhores games já feitos. O que dizer dos inimigos, chefes, ambientação, trilha sonora impecáveis?! Jamais irei esquecer o que passei ao jogar esta obra prima do Mikami. Seu fator raplay é demais. Passar o tempo, caçando tesouros, upando as armas com o Merchant é fantástico. A jogabilidade é perfeita e dá uma ampla liberdade ao jogador. Os puzzles estão presentes e são muito bem feitos. Mesmo com um enredo relativamente fraco, não dá pra diminuir os méritos do game. Sua qualidade é indiscutível! Se ainda não jogou, procure RE4 o mais rápido possível, versões não faltam pra isso. Expand
  27. Nov 29, 2015
    10
    Simply one of the best action games ever. It has incredible atmosphere and aesthetics, and delivers a frightening and intense experience. So much fun to play time and again; once you beat it, you just want to play it over again. The combat mechanics are amazing, the enemies are unique and varied, and the plot, while a little bizarre sometimes, is nonetheless engaging. One of the best, andSimply one of the best action games ever. It has incredible atmosphere and aesthetics, and delivers a frightening and intense experience. So much fun to play time and again; once you beat it, you just want to play it over again. The combat mechanics are amazing, the enemies are unique and varied, and the plot, while a little bizarre sometimes, is nonetheless engaging. One of the best, and a true milestone in the survival horror genre. Expand
  28. Nov 22, 2015
    0
    woooooooow this game can suck my weanus peanus. you play as this GOD DAMN..........PHAGGOT with like an emo haircut taking some blond bimbo calling out yor name every 10 seconds. pretty lame tbh, graphics suck theyre really pixelly and coudlnt tell what i was looking at and the zombies are way to op. kept getting chainsawd by that one stuped mexican and the game wouldnt tell me where towoooooooow this game can suck my weanus peanus. you play as this GOD DAMN..........PHAGGOT with like an emo haircut taking some blond bimbo calling out yor name every 10 seconds. pretty lame tbh, graphics suck theyre really pixelly and coudlnt tell what i was looking at and the zombies are way to op. kept getting chainsawd by that one stuped mexican and the game wouldnt tell me where to go. cant run and shoot at the same time WHAT THE FUG? smh
    COD zombies is way bettter than this honestly, super polished and less casualized, you can run while you shoot and do seet parcore. that game requries skills while resident evil is just artificial difficulty.

    was my first and last resident evil, movies are way better that milla jewvavitch had some nice tataaaaaaas.
    Expand
  29. Oct 8, 2015
    9
    I am usually not a big fun of FPS games, but I have to say, I love this game. This game reminds me of elegant old days, while gameplay is what matters.

    + The game is hard and challenging in a good way, you know you could do better next time, or check your suitcase come up with new strategy, or check the map to loot some treasures for cash, it forces you to explore the map, yet it is no
    I am usually not a big fun of FPS games, but I have to say, I love this game. This game reminds me of elegant old days, while gameplay is what matters.

    + The game is hard and challenging in a good way, you know you could do better next time, or check your suitcase come up with new strategy, or check the map to loot some treasures for cash, it forces you to explore the map, yet it is no way boring, I don't collect for trophy, I collect because I want to.

    + I love characters in this game, even Ashley. I think she is more realistic than Ellie.

    + The text in the game is very good, they offer you both information and some rest. I love it, first time I read every single text in a game.

    - The control can be annoying sometimes, you can't move while aiming, that is fine, but you can't move while ready a knife, that is not cool, and the fact that you can't stun an enemy with your knife is also annoying while you get stun by every single hit from an enemy. You can't run while changing direction, what you actually do is stop, turn your face, then run again, it is annoying.

    - QTE in this game is harsh as hell, actually is not Quick Time, it is super human reflex, it is really hard to perform a QTE unless you know you should perform a QTE, and the QTE button you have to push seems to be random. They even add QTE in cutscene, do you know how many times I put down the controller just realized there was a QTE so I picked up the controller yet didn't have the time to perform the QTE?

    - Some enemies have way too many health, can be annoying if you don't upgrade your weapon correctly.

    - Last boss doesn't have many phases, which is a let down, I was really hoping something more epic.

    Overall, one of the best games I've ever played, give it some time to get used to the control you will love it.
    Expand
  30. Oct 7, 2015
    10
    My favorite Resident Evil game, and I've been a fan since day one too. Although the zombies have been replaced, the cunning and creepiness this gem brought to the table makes up for staying with old and familiar. Beautiful game.

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
#1 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 38
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 38
  3. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. PSM Magazine
    100
    Not playing through it from beginning to end would be missing out on a major milestone in gaming history, not to mention a hell of a lot of fun. [Dec 2005, p.70]
  2. Game Informer
    100
    Simply put, Resident Evil 4 is a landmark video game, no matter what system you play it on... Truly brilliant. [Nov 2005, p.158]
  3. Play Magazine
    90
    Capcom turned the venerable but stagnant series around with Evil 4 [Nov p.72]