User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1061 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 27, 2012
    9
    A great game with some of the best tension in a game, i played this game so many times.
  2. May 21, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it................................. Expand
  3. Aug 22, 2011
    9
    The last/best atmospheric game of the classic franchise. The number four part of the franchise, surprise the player with a magical tension , and solid gameplay. Set in Spain is also a great move for the series, expanding the setting is always important. Even the graphics seems to be comparable to games of the 360 and PS3 very detailed and fresh. Best in the series after 1 and 2 .
  4. Apr 18, 2016
    9
    Very good game . Excellent graphics for 2005 , best storyline in Resident Evil Games , Awesome Gameplay , Interesting opening level " The Village " . This is not Horror game but this game is fearful . Best Resident Evil Game , even better Resident Evil , Resident Evil 2 and Resident Evil 6 . Very Poor Nine of Ten .
  5. Jun 29, 2013
    10
    i haven't played the previous resident evil games and i started with this one and i believe that this game mad the resident evil series what it is today cause this game is perfect in every thing survival horror yep you'll find that action yep you'll find that bad ass bosses and moments yes all that is in here with awesome controls and gameplay with a great story makes this game perfect
  6. Sep 28, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is the best game of the ps2 consol. I was so addicted to it. The graphics are wonderful and brilliant. This is my all time favorite game. If you dont have it get it. Trust me it is worth it. Expand
  7. Mar 17, 2017
    10
    This is not only one of the best video games for PS2, but it is also some of the best and most coherent zombies video games ever. The storytelling fantastic, the radical evolution just magnificent, the controls and EVERYTHING. I fell in love instantly with this game. If you're like those ones who want theories, action and drama, then RE4 reflects them, so what are you waiting for?? (100%)
  8. Jul 21, 2011
    8
    More of the same, but with worse graphics and sound. Yes not everything was perfectly ported to other consoles and I'm not sure if Playstation owners were incredibly excited by the fact that they were finally getting a game that had been out for several years on another console. Overall though its the best package including the main storyline, bonus features, alternate storyline and ofMore of the same, but with worse graphics and sound. Yes not everything was perfectly ported to other consoles and I'm not sure if Playstation owners were incredibly excited by the fact that they were finally getting a game that had been out for several years on another console. Overall though its the best package including the main storyline, bonus features, alternate storyline and of course the mercenaries (which is a blast). It does however, suffer from getting the ugly stick bonked around its presentation a bit. The character models aren't nearly as sharp and the textures are bit muddy and the sound is just not the same quality the gamecube version had. Of course this is different hardware we're talking about and it mostly does the job very well and is still MILES AHEAD of the PC port which is still an unmitigated disaster done by a completely worthless team of idiots that couldn't port a console game if their lives depended on it. Its still just as fun, just as scary (debatable), features the same hilarious over the top dialog as before and Ashley's rump is still exceedingly fun to get caught start at on a ladder. Expand
  9. Aug 12, 2013
    9
    This is the Resident Evil game that proved the franchise could be reinvented and reinvigorated without even having to needlessly throw zombies onto the screen. The new enemies were just as merciless, brutal, and horrible to face, and it worked well. Add in major adjustments to controls, camera, and the atmosphere- the moodier the better it seems, and you've got quite the winning formula.
  10. May 29, 2013
    10
    Definitely the best RE game to exist! It's exciting, suspenseful, and scary as h**l! Just wish all the newer RE games wouldv'e followed the same formula this one had.
  11. Jul 18, 2012
    9
    Great survival horror game. One of the best resident evil games. Fun and entertaining gameplay, great graphics and sound. Great cast of characters like Ada Wong who is my favourite RE character.
  12. Nov 9, 2014
    10
    Assieme a Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots e a Kingdom Hearts II,questo è il miglior videogioco che io abbia mai giocato in tutta la mia vita.Il migliore.
  13. Apr 11, 2016
    9
    This game is the best game of the ps2 consol. I was so addicted to it. The graphics are wonderful and brilliant. This is my all time favorite game. If you dont have it get it. Trust me it is worth it.
  14. Jun 27, 2012
    10
    The plot is so weak it's almost absurd, but in almost every other regard this is a truly great game. Call me crazy, but I think this game was far scarier than the trilogy. It's still by all means a horror game, just a different type and more action oriented. To be honest, I always thought it would make more sense for the protagonist of a resident evil game to be more action orientedThe plot is so weak it's almost absurd, but in almost every other regard this is a truly great game. Call me crazy, but I think this game was far scarier than the trilogy. It's still by all means a horror game, just a different type and more action oriented. To be honest, I always thought it would make more sense for the protagonist of a resident evil game to be more action oriented anyway, given what they are and what they're dealing with. The game itself is a ton of fun, very suspenseful, and on top of that goes on and on for probably 20-25 hours in just the story mode alone. Expand
  15. Nov 5, 2014
    10
    This installment of Resident Evil changed a bit, and introduced more modern characters that move a lot faster, and it was a great update to a series that has been fantastic since Sega Genesis. This game does not disappoint and like all of the main Resident Evil's(Survivor not included) dominate the ratings. You'll enjoy this game until the very end. Also like all Resident Evil games,This installment of Resident Evil changed a bit, and introduced more modern characters that move a lot faster, and it was a great update to a series that has been fantastic since Sega Genesis. This game does not disappoint and like all of the main Resident Evil's(Survivor not included) dominate the ratings. You'll enjoy this game until the very end. Also like all Resident Evil games, expect to be spooked at some point or another, even myself which I rarely ever get spooked. Expand
  16. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    Resident Evil 4 is without a doubt the best game in the series!! The mix between Horror and Action is spot on in this game.. The story is AMAZING! the gameplay mechanics are really good for a PS2 game, and the replay value is really HIGH! especially the HD version which has all the extras from past versions. All in all Resident Evil 4 is an AMAZING! game.. You MUST own it if you likeResident Evil 4 is without a doubt the best game in the series!! The mix between Horror and Action is spot on in this game.. The story is AMAZING! the gameplay mechanics are really good for a PS2 game, and the replay value is really HIGH! especially the HD version which has all the extras from past versions. All in all Resident Evil 4 is an AMAZING! game.. You MUST own it if you like action/Horror games Expand
  17. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    Resident Evil 4 is without a doubt the best game in the series!! The mix between Horror and Action is spot on in this game.. The story is AMAZING! the gameplay mechanics are really good for a PS2 game, and the replay value is really HIGH! especially the HD version which has all the extras from past versions. All in all Resident Evil 4 is an AMAZING! game.. You MUST own it if you likeResident Evil 4 is without a doubt the best game in the series!! The mix between Horror and Action is spot on in this game.. The story is AMAZING! the gameplay mechanics are really good for a PS2 game, and the replay value is really HIGH! especially the HD version which has all the extras from past versions. All in all Resident Evil 4 is an AMAZING! game.. You MUST own it if you like action/Horror games Expand
  18. Dec 30, 2016
    10
    Resident Evil 4 quando lançou, muita gente ficou com um pé atras, pelo fato da jogabilidade, camera e muitas coisas ter mudado, mais felizmente a essencia Resident Evil continuou, com a volta do Leon (que é o meu personagem favorito da saga), e tambem temos a chata da Ashley, o jogo é fenomenal, os grafico sao lindos, a direçao de arte é bela, principal os vilarejo, temos o Classico UmResident Evil 4 quando lançou, muita gente ficou com um pé atras, pelo fato da jogabilidade, camera e muitas coisas ter mudado, mais felizmente a essencia Resident Evil continuou, com a volta do Leon (que é o meu personagem favorito da saga), e tambem temos a chata da Ashley, o jogo é fenomenal, os grafico sao lindos, a direçao de arte é bela, principal os vilarejo, temos o Classico Um Forasteiro, o jogo tem alguns Puzzle, mais nao chegam a ser tao dificeis, Resident Evil 4 é uma espetacular, e junto com Left 4 dead 2 sao os meus favoritos jogos de Zumbi. Nota 10 Expand
  19. Oct 4, 2015
    10
    Horas y horas de juego ( me lo pase 11 veces ), ESPECTACULAR ...el primer Resident Evil que jugué y lo considero estar en el top 5 de los mejores juegos de la play 2 . Se puede decir la única cosa negativa era la historia que era muy sencilla pero todo lo demás era música celestial en mis oídos . ! MORIR ES VIVIR !
  20. Mar 10, 2016
    10
    Este jogo é incrível! Eu recebi e ainda não posso parar de jogar. Os gráficos são tão detalhadas para um game e é desafiador, mas divertido e terá que jogar por horas! A história é complexa e profundamente pensado. O melhor jogo que eu já joguei de forma
  21. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    This is my favorite Resident Evil game because it's by far the scariest. When I first played this game I was so nervous that I was sweating - then again I was 14 or so, and not very experienced in horror games. This is the first Resident Evil in the series to do something different than the Fixed Angle thing - which to some extent made it less frightening, but in another made it much moreThis is my favorite Resident Evil game because it's by far the scariest. When I first played this game I was so nervous that I was sweating - then again I was 14 or so, and not very experienced in horror games. This is the first Resident Evil in the series to do something different than the Fixed Angle thing - which to some extent made it less frightening, but in another made it much more involving. A pro that this game has that over the others is that the enemies aren't necessarily that over the top - they're simple looking (except for maybe the bosses). The fear introduced is from men and women who don't appear to have anything wrong with them - though their clothing is way out of style (like from the early 1900s or something). They only grimace and don't look all that pretty - oh, well, they also attack you with knives and farm gear, and eventually chainsaws and even further on with gatling guns. There are monsters, but in this they aren't pulsating or as cartoon-like as they are in previous and future games. Resident Evil 5 sort of went over board with the monsters to the point where they looked less frightening (sometimes there's more through simplicity). What's also great is this game is directly related to the series and yet is indirectly related because it's an entirely new premise. It's definitely my favorite of the series and is lots of fun - much more survival is in this one over RE5. Expand
  22. Jul 25, 2014
    9
    Best Resident Evil. I've ended on the Wii, PS2, and Xbox 360 7 times. Leon is beast. Those kicks he does are really impressive. There are so many unforgettable characters even from the previous games. They really out done themselves.
  23. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    10/10 = Masterpiece = Innovative and the best survival horror game of all-time. IT"S ACTUALLY SCARY They should write that on the cover. Pure Genius
  24. Oct 9, 2013
    9
    An excellent combination of survival horror and third-person shooter action, RE4 delivers in all aspects of a near-perfect and engaging game. As others come and go, Resident Evil 4 will be remembered as a true classic.
  25. Jan 28, 2017
    8
    Gameplay wise this game is very revolutionary. I think most people agree that it's the first action-adventure TPS with perfected gameplay, puzzles and aiming system.

    Since there are a few modes you can unlock after finishing the main story, you can spend hours and hours until game completion. (I bet if the game was released nowadays you would have to pay to unlock the extra modes as
    Gameplay wise this game is very revolutionary. I think most people agree that it's the first action-adventure TPS with perfected gameplay, puzzles and aiming system.

    Since there are a few modes you can unlock after finishing the main story, you can spend hours and hours until game completion. (I bet if the game was released nowadays you would have to pay to unlock the extra modes as DLC) Not to mention replayability is excellent - no wonder why people are still playing it 10 years ago after its release!

    Now let's be honest. I love RE4 gameplay wise, but story wise it's horrible.
    1. STORY IS **** It took place in Spain, has nothing to do with Umbrella and zombies.
    2. This isn't even horror. It's just a shooting game. You never run out of ammo and there are no scares either.

    This game should be released as a one-off side story, never as Resident Evil 4. I absolutely loved the setting of the demo - it has that eerie and claustrophobic atmosphere of previous RE games and pretty interesting settings (took place in a locked down castle, hallucinations from infection etc). RE4 really wasted the opportunity to be a proper RE sequel, which is a huge shame.

    This game is also where the series went downhill. Because it is so successful, Capcom tried to remake this action-without-horror-TPS spinoff twice (as sequels again, no less) and failed miserably. How surprising.
    Expand
  26. Dec 27, 2014
    10
    i swear to god. this game looks like a xbox 360 game or ps3 game. and it was released for the ps2. this game changed resident evil. for the first time this has changed in a good way. but re5 and 6 were bad. i mean 5 was fine but 6 was awful.

    re4 was my favorite ps2 game of all time. it didn't looked like a ps2 game. it looked like a xbox 360 game. awesome enemies like the chainsaw and
    i swear to god. this game looks like a xbox 360 game or ps3 game. and it was released for the ps2. this game changed resident evil. for the first time this has changed in a good way. but re5 and 6 were bad. i mean 5 was fine but 6 was awful.

    re4 was my favorite ps2 game of all time. it didn't looked like a ps2 game. it looked like a xbox 360 game. awesome enemies like the chainsaw and the generators which were scary as **** sometimes hilarious jumpscares from snakes. great story and voice acting. amazing weapons and Quick Time events.
    Expand
  27. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    The pinnacle of the series. A masterpiece. The PS2 version of "Resident Evil 4" is one of the console's greatest games. Not just a simple port, Sony's cover of the GameCube classic includes exclusive weapons, costumes and Ada Wong missions. This is a revolutionary sequel that turned the series on its head by completely changing the format. An action game by heart, RE 4 still manages toThe pinnacle of the series. A masterpiece. The PS2 version of "Resident Evil 4" is one of the console's greatest games. Not just a simple port, Sony's cover of the GameCube classic includes exclusive weapons, costumes and Ada Wong missions. This is a revolutionary sequel that turned the series on its head by completely changing the format. An action game by heart, RE 4 still manages to churn out major scares with its extremely tense gameplay. In this installment, Leon S. Kennedy (of RE 2) has been charged with finding the President's missing daughter somewhere in Spain. He eventually discovers that the region has been overrun by people infected by a biological weapon known as Las Palagas. Much shooting ensues. "Resident Evil 4" is a brilliant game that marries the action genre with the survival horror aspect of the franchise. Released a year before "Gears of War", RE4 set the standard of third-person action games with its over-the-shoulder camera view and quick time events. The game itself is about a 20 hour adventure and not one minute is wasted with boring, mundane tasks. Brain-teasing puzzles of the series' past return and the action has been amped up completely. It's a great feeling to knock a zombie down by shooting at its knees only to line up a head shot. RE 4 offers plenty of various firearms, all which can be upgraded at scattered merchant shops. The GameCube version of "Resident Evil 4" might contain sharper visuals, but the PS2 version makes up for it with all of the extra content. It can almost be labeled as a "Director's Cut". This was probably the best game of 2005 and the PS2 arguably has the definitive version of it. Expand
  28. Jun 28, 2012
    10
    Wonderful. The game stands on its own. Great survival horror moments and action sequences. The quality in every department of this game is superb. Excellent visuals, music, and gameplay. The storyline & gameplay takes a departure from what Resident Evil fans are familiar with. Resident Evil has evolved. Starting with RE4.
  29. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    This game is bloody excellent! The combat, voice acting, graphics, story and characters are all up and above average. It is one of the most atmospheric and suspenseful experiences in gaming, and will stand out as a classic for years to come. Excellent, but is difficult to find in stores and on the internet.
  30. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    Made this **** Series good.

    I recall one of my favourite Survival Horror games EVER, Sweet Home, this comes "Semi-Close" to that. Fixed the terrible gameplay and camera, and that terrible plot. Some people don't like this game, lemme explain why : Resident Evil is TERRIBLE. I Mean TERRIBLE. This game took out the **** and replaced it with pancake Syrup, but without that terrible tasting
    Made this **** Series good.

    I recall one of my favourite Survival Horror games EVER, Sweet Home, this comes "Semi-Close" to that.
    Fixed the terrible gameplay and camera, and that terrible plot.

    Some people don't like this game, lemme explain why : Resident Evil is TERRIBLE. I Mean TERRIBLE.
    This game took out the **** and replaced it with pancake Syrup, but without that terrible tasting bull****, it ain't the same.
    Expand

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
#1 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 38
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 38
  3. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. PSM Magazine
    100
    Not playing through it from beginning to end would be missing out on a major milestone in gaming history, not to mention a hell of a lot of fun. [Dec 2005, p.70]
  2. Game Informer
    100
    Simply put, Resident Evil 4 is a landmark video game, no matter what system you play it on... Truly brilliant. [Nov 2005, p.158]
  3. Play Magazine
    90
    Capcom turned the venerable but stagnant series around with Evil 4 [Nov p.72]