User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1009 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RenniV.
    Jun 9, 2007
    10
    Fun, exciting and easy to play. Best of the series!
  2. DillanN.
    Jan 3, 2006
    10
    This game is the best game of the ps2 consol. I was so addicted to it. The graphics are wonderful and brilliant. This is my all time favorite game. If you dont have it get it. Trust me it is worth it.
  3. AlfredG.
    Aug 19, 2006
    10
    I've played and past this game 20 times and still it's not starting to get boring I used to play it every Saturday and Sunday from 5:00am to 11:00pm
  4. JamesBenjamin
    Oct 23, 2005
    10
    Absolutely brilliant, the graphics are a work of art, and the gameplay is awesome.
  5. ParkerO'Bryant
    Oct 20, 2005
    10
    Way better than the Gamecube version.
  6. mike
    Feb 4, 2006
    9
    This was a great game, plain and simple. To address those who dislike the shooting system used by RE4, they just did not give enough time to get used to it. When I first bought it and sat down, i was a bit worried about how easy it would be to play. Not a problem after some getting used to, trust me. The graphics are awesome, the cinematics are on target, and overall gameplay is allThis was a great game, plain and simple. To address those who dislike the shooting system used by RE4, they just did not give enough time to get used to it. When I first bought it and sat down, i was a bit worried about how easy it would be to play. Not a problem after some getting used to, trust me. The graphics are awesome, the cinematics are on target, and overall gameplay is all you could ask for and definitely the best RE in the series. Do not be scared away by these reviewers who complain about the drap scheme or the clunky gameplay... its meant to be a horror 3rd person action game and that's exactly what it is. Expand
  7. AnsonG.
    Apr 5, 2006
    10
    1st, i thought this game was boring at all. When i play this game, i feel very impressive. No wonder this game was 1st award. i doubt this (ps2) Resident Evil 4 is best then Resident Evil 4(Gamecube) was created in 2004. Anyway i very grateful about this game. Good work, Capcom.
  8. CharlieG.
    Jun 6, 2006
    10
    If you were not interested with previous RE games, RE4 will manipulate your brain and force you to love it, while you'll be enjoying every microsecond of it.
  9. RichardB.
    Jan 7, 2007
    9
    A great game, albeit maybe a little overrated. Being my first Resident Evil game, the slow movement and turning was a little jarring, but I got used to it. The shooting is very fun, the weapon selection is great, the graphics are awesome, and the sound is pretty good, but some of the dialogue is very cheezy. An excellent game? Yes. Best action game of all time? Not likely.
  10. ZackH.
    Jul 4, 2007
    9
    This game i would say is the best in the franchise they got rid of the clunky controls the laser sight had its few flaws like if there was more than one person on the screen it sometimes was hard to get a good shoot. the story was ok i could deal with it. and i liked the bonus content on this game. overall its a good game with some flaws. but i would sugest getting it for the gamecube its better.
  11. mikeg
    Apr 6, 2009
    10
    Just finish resident evil 5 and figure i pick up 4 never played it ,,wow its awsome and insane,,don't know which one is better,but do yourself a favor and play this game...i think its longer then 5 and has lots of extra, and no coop and i think thats a good thing cause sheeva can be a pain.
  12. JJReyes
    Nov 6, 2005
    10
    Man, this game just owns. I am so happy it made its way onto the PS2. I love to extra missions too.
  13. DarthMoonJohn
    Nov 7, 2005
    9
    The game is really impressive in every way,the graphics,the design,the gameplay all are done with great detail.The new camera is so amazing making the game feel and look like a true horror movie.My only complain is that in the Castle-chapter the game has some really rediculous moments which seem to be taken from games like Devil may cry, in these particulars moments the game ruins some of The game is really impressive in every way,the graphics,the design,the gameplay all are done with great detail.The new camera is so amazing making the game feel and look like a true horror movie.My only complain is that in the Castle-chapter the game has some really rediculous moments which seem to be taken from games like Devil may cry, in these particulars moments the game ruins some of its realism and thats too bad cause is would have been a truly Flawless adventure.Above all its an amazing game and among the best horror games ever. Expand
  14. BobDole
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    Awesome game! Absolutely MUST HAVE!!!!
  15. TomL.
    Nov 9, 2005
    10
    The Best PSTwo Game That Ever Did Exist. Period.
  16. LewisD.
    Oct 25, 2005
    10
    Same as on Gamecube, with more extras.
  17. Verbalkinch
    Oct 26, 2005
    8
    I have played the PS2 version and they are almost even... except for visuals. (Nintendo should be ashamed they under-utilized the GC graphics engine. The GC version looks THAT much better.) But SONY has widescreen and for a game that already plays like a movie, it worked VERY well. This game trumps all for this generation of interactive entertainment for production quality and finally I have played the PS2 version and they are almost even... except for visuals. (Nintendo should be ashamed they under-utilized the GC graphics engine. The GC version looks THAT much better.) But SONY has widescreen and for a game that already plays like a movie, it worked VERY well. This game trumps all for this generation of interactive entertainment for production quality and finally makes RE relevant again. I dare you to encounter the chainsaw guy in close quarters with no upgrades to the basic handgun. The immersion is amazing. It has some of the best elements of gaming dating back to atari. If this game had come sooner in the GameCube lifespan, its no doubt it would be a stronger console contender. You can have the best game on the market and the console for Sony and Microsoft's price point. This is the best time to be a gamer with multiple consoles. . RE4 has all of the polish of Kojima's METAL GEAR and the gameplay depth of Microsofts's HALO. If only there was the sense of free roaming akin to Rockstar's GTA series. My only qualms are linear gameplay and only semi interactive environments. But those are minor, eight out of ten easy for the PS2 version, I did like the extra missions even if the story still takes a backseat to the action. CAPCOM is the real winner, if you haven't played this game now that its on two consoles, you are NOT a gamer. Expand
  18. JohnK.
    Jan 17, 2006
    10
    Okay, okay, the controls are hard at first; trust me, stick with it. It'll take you an hour or two, after which you'll be playing the best game you've ever played. Fun combat makes you feel really bada$$, and it'll frighten you a bit, too (though it prefers to creep you out). This is one of the best games ever made for any console--don't listen to the haters or Okay, okay, the controls are hard at first; trust me, stick with it. It'll take you an hour or two, after which you'll be playing the best game you've ever played. Fun combat makes you feel really bada$$, and it'll frighten you a bit, too (though it prefers to creep you out). This is one of the best games ever made for any console--don't listen to the haters or you'll be missing something spectacular. Expand
  19. NightFallJosh
    Jan 20, 2006
    10
    I remember walking into my local gaming emporium and seeing a copy of this when it was a GameCubr title only and being blown away by the demo running on the tv's. After handing over my cash and returning to my cube i can safely say that this is the best RE game yet. Simple gameplay, simple controls, mind boggling graphics that push the limits of the hardware and a compelling I remember walking into my local gaming emporium and seeing a copy of this when it was a GameCubr title only and being blown away by the demo running on the tv's. After handing over my cash and returning to my cube i can safely say that this is the best RE game yet. Simple gameplay, simple controls, mind boggling graphics that push the limits of the hardware and a compelling storyline make the title a joy to play for every second your engrossed, the re-play factor is great with you completing the game numerous times to unlock all the weapons and test them out on it's toughest enemies. If you didn't like this game, throw away your console because, quite frankly theres no point in owning one if this doesn't get you going. Expand
  20. B
    Jan 6, 2006
    9
    Great game!!!! The reveiws are so dead on. This game brought life back into a genre that was stagnant. The only thing I thought it was missing was a more stealth approach to attacking the enemies. i.e.- A metal gear solid approach.
  21. PDN
    Mar 21, 2006
    10
    RE 4 was well designed from the graphics to the revamped control system. With the loss of the fixed camera angles and the addition of the free-aim firing controls, RE 4 has ceased to be simply an amazing game, but a true inovator in survival horror. The story was well written and the game play never became stale. It was scary, exciting and a lot of fun. I would recommened this to long RE 4 was well designed from the graphics to the revamped control system. With the loss of the fixed camera angles and the addition of the free-aim firing controls, RE 4 has ceased to be simply an amazing game, but a true inovator in survival horror. The story was well written and the game play never became stale. It was scary, exciting and a lot of fun. I would recommened this to long time RE fans and newcomers alike! Expand
  22. JoseA.
    May 1, 2006
    10
    While the Gamecube version's Graphic's are slightly better than PS2's, I m giving the edge to the PS2 for it's insanely entertaining addition "Seperate Ways".
  23. TimP.
    Jan 12, 2007
    10
    I've just read through some reviews on here and can't believe some of the negative comments. What is so wrong with the control system that makes it so difficult? Once you've played this for a little while it becomes second nature like all good games. Graphics and sound are great, but the gameplay, upgrades, bosses, everything about this game are right out of the top drawer. I've just read through some reviews on here and can't believe some of the negative comments. What is so wrong with the control system that makes it so difficult? Once you've played this for a little while it becomes second nature like all good games. Graphics and sound are great, but the gameplay, upgrades, bosses, everything about this game are right out of the top drawer. I've played alot of games in my time and found this tense, atmospheric and just a pleasure to play. A multi-player option might have been nice on the mercenaries game, but I'm nitpicking really. Just superb. Expand
  24. AdamN.
    Jan 30, 2007
    10
    This games is brilliant! One of my faourites and I have completed it, but started playing it again straight after in the new outfit! Truely magical!
  25. SamP.
    Feb 3, 2007
    9
    The PS2 version has more extras than its GCN predecessor, but the graphics are slightly but noticeably inferior. Having said that, this game is certainly the best RE ever and one of the best games on either system. The story is admittedly cliche (kidnapping the President's daughter? Come on), and the dialogue is as bad as usual for RE, but none of that matters. This game puts The PS2 version has more extras than its GCN predecessor, but the graphics are slightly but noticeably inferior. Having said that, this game is certainly the best RE ever and one of the best games on either system. The story is admittedly cliche (kidnapping the President's daughter? Come on), and the dialogue is as bad as usual for RE, but none of that matters. This game puts "Action/Shooter" and "Survival Horror" in a blender to make a smoothie of AWESOME. The enemies are pure awesome. The bosses are pure awesome. The interactive cutscenes are pure awesome. The weapons are pure awesome. Detractors either just don't get it or can't or won't handle the controls. Expand
  26. AkeemG.
    May 10, 2007
    9
    This game started off extremely cool but then it started to get a little lame somewhere around chapter3 when you first entered the castle.I only wish that more of the story and gameplay was centered around the village(chapter1-2) area because the village was the best part of the game in my opinion.I don't have much time left to give you all of the details so to make a long review This game started off extremely cool but then it started to get a little lame somewhere around chapter3 when you first entered the castle.I only wish that more of the story and gameplay was centered around the village(chapter1-2) area because the village was the best part of the game in my opinion.I don't have much time left to give you all of the details so to make a long review short all I have to say is that this game is very neat and that it WILL NOT dissapoint you! Expand
  27. DerekL.
    Jul 1, 2007
    10
    This game is simply amazing. The camera angles put you right in the action. That combined with the great controls, commands, 100 out of 10 point graphics, logic requirements, and just plain awesome storyline, wepons, and minigames makes this game 1,000,000 out of 10 in my opinion.
  28. GatsbyJ.
    Sep 8, 2007
    10
    -I'm on the side of those who think this game is near-perfect. And I have no personal bias in favor of the Resident Evil series, because before I played this game it'd been several months since I had last touched my PS2. But I remembered seeing the Gamecube commercials for this game and thought it looked really good. So I tried it out an LOVED IT. -The graphics still amaze me, -I'm on the side of those who think this game is near-perfect. And I have no personal bias in favor of the Resident Evil series, because before I played this game it'd been several months since I had last touched my PS2. But I remembered seeing the Gamecube commercials for this game and thought it looked really good. So I tried it out an LOVED IT. -The graphics still amaze me, and I think it has some of the best character models and backgrounds on the PS2. The atmosphere is really well-realized: dark, creepy, and best of all, grimy. -The sound was memorable in that subtle sort of way: it's scary when it needs to be, but for the most part the game is silent and uses sound effects to get the mood set. -The characters are hollow but fun to watch on screen. The story is standard Resident Evil nonsense: anyone who plays the series for the story has probably had their brain eaten by zombies. -But the gameplay is what it's all about. The game is fun from beginning to end. The weapons are all great; there's not an over-abundance of ammo lying around so it's challenging. The mutated townsfolk are a nice divergence from the previous zombies, and they're crazy when they run at you. The AI is quite intelligent and challenging. And for those who said there wasn't a single scary moment in the game, well that's cuz this isn't like the old Resident Evil's where things jump out at you. It's a lot harder to do that in true 3-D than pre-rendered games. There's tons of replay value with the different costumes and side-missions. -Yep, definitely one of the best games for the PS2, and one of my all-time favorites. Expand
  29. NigeM
    Jan 4, 2009
    10
    The best game I've ever played bar none. Yes, its better than any of the GTA's or God of war 2 even. Addictive, atmospheric, and satisfying gameplay. It constantly exceeded my high expectations and the difficulty level was pitch perfect. If resident evil 5 is as good i'll finally upgrade to PS3.
  30. PaulM
    Mar 31, 2009
    10
    This game deserve a perfect 10 with it's wicked gameplay and tight controls.
  31. RJW
    Sep 12, 2009
    10
    I loved this game from the look to he controls. Its easily my favorite game for the PS2 and definitely on my top 3 of all time. If you like action you must play this game.
  32. TonyM
    Jan 22, 2010
    10
    This game has intense action, hard but fun bosses,amazing guns and easy controls. I love the chainsaws when they cut off your head! There are so many fun secrets to die!!! re4 is the best game ever!!
  33. JaredN.
    Nov 1, 2005
    10
    The Game is hands down the best Resident Evil game out there, with excellent camera angles, upgradable weaponry, and hell an overall fun time, this game should be 10/10 no doubt, only flaw is the graphics are a bit worse, but not by much...this game is a 10. (to the people who gave this a low score, you must not be into resident evil games to relize this game is a total beauty and should The Game is hands down the best Resident Evil game out there, with excellent camera angles, upgradable weaponry, and hell an overall fun time, this game should be 10/10 no doubt, only flaw is the graphics are a bit worse, but not by much...this game is a 10. (to the people who gave this a low score, you must not be into resident evil games to relize this game is a total beauty and should be cherished) Expand
  34. Virti
    Nov 1, 2005
    10
    I loved all resident evil games and this one is no different.
  35. max
    Nov 23, 2005
    10
    the best game ever!! I just got it, well ive been playing 4 hours. im in some messed up castle and its the best, craziest, the most inventive, and maybe one of the hardest and longest games ever!
  36. NateH.
    Nov 2, 2005
    9
    One of the best resident evils out there. It keeps you on edge every single second. Though it sometimes can be quite the challenge. I love it!
  37. KavveenKanagaraj
    Nov 30, 2005
    10
    this game is dicaraquadaly feithasde(english) in german it means est ce ce du da la de.I wan into the local grocery storeand saw this hansome guy on the case just like me(but iam hot)so i brought it for my ps5 but it was crap like my brastlade so i cradewilr iete wo la ce mon cotylydon la diacot vou sec?
  38. PlamenD.
    Oct 13, 2005
    10
    Best survivor horror game ever!!
  39. FarooqA.
    Nov 5, 2005
    8
    Seeing the hype the game created, critics' high review points, and actually playing the the game, the only thing that actually comes to mind is that "man, PS2 already has so many of such titles out there, like Ghosthunter, Primal, MGS 4 or Shadow of the Colossus in which much emphasis is on exploration...why keep this one one in such a high prestige? " the answer is simple, that this Seeing the hype the game created, critics' high review points, and actually playing the the game, the only thing that actually comes to mind is that "man, PS2 already has so many of such titles out there, like Ghosthunter, Primal, MGS 4 or Shadow of the Colossus in which much emphasis is on exploration...why keep this one one in such a high prestige? " the answer is simple, that this IS one of the best games on GameCube and the best on GC is really not the best on PS2, PS2's first party titles has already blown everything to bits that no design based game on Xbox or GC could compare to them. Now I am sure what GC's power is based upon, simple ideas that originated at the start of the generation, and PS2 already has left that mark a long time ago... Still, this is the best Resident Evil out there but it certainly isn't the 9 or 10 rating suited, the graphics of 'resident evil : dead aim' were far more sharper and superior to it, what critics said was a bias that the graphics on the GC were more greater than PS2's, for this game is a PORT, and not a REMAKE, that the system could not have had picked up the detail. Everything from the GC version is fully here, and man are these the best game graphics on GC !? Expand
  40. AHenry
    Dec 1, 2005
    10
    to date the greatest Resident Evil game I played the envoment is more interactive graphics are impressive the A.I is smarter than the zombies in the previous R.E games the abely to make your wepons more powerfull ,reload faster and fire faster. It still have find items to go to diffent places and it realy feels like a servivor horror game . But next year Resident Evil 5 is going to blow to date the greatest Resident Evil game I played the envoment is more interactive graphics are impressive the A.I is smarter than the zombies in the previous R.E games the abely to make your wepons more powerfull ,reload faster and fire faster. It still have find items to go to diffent places and it realy feels like a servivor horror game . But next year Resident Evil 5 is going to blow this game away big time. Expand
  41. MichaelD.
    Oct 22, 2005
    10
    Resi-evil HAS to be the best game of the year,along with Snake eater. Hooray to Resi4!
  42. Skyle
    Dec 31, 2005
    10
    This game is breathtaking--a truly next-generation game on this generation's system. More fun than "God of War", more addicting than "Halo 2", more technically refined than "Chaos Theory"--this is the only game I've ever owned that my friends and family played only to got copies of their own. After sloughing through mundane RE sequels and spin-offs like "RE3" and "Outbreak", I This game is breathtaking--a truly next-generation game on this generation's system. More fun than "God of War", more addicting than "Halo 2", more technically refined than "Chaos Theory"--this is the only game I've ever owned that my friends and family played only to got copies of their own. After sloughing through mundane RE sequels and spin-offs like "RE3" and "Outbreak", I am so glad that Capcom has finally come full circle by bringing the greatest RE to the PS2. I am an avid and discriminating gamer, and trust me, this one is an instant classic. Expand
  43. Muclearelmo
    Oct 26, 2005
    10
    Resident Evil 4 is hands down the best game of 2005. Resident Evil 4 is also one of the best games of all time. Period. I played and beat the Cube version, and recently purchased the PS2 version. While I haven't finished the PS2 version (therefore unable to play Seperate Ways), I can firmly say that the graphics, frame rate, and animation have suffered very little in the transfer Resident Evil 4 is hands down the best game of 2005. Resident Evil 4 is also one of the best games of all time. Period. I played and beat the Cube version, and recently purchased the PS2 version. While I haven't finished the PS2 version (therefore unable to play Seperate Ways), I can firmly say that the graphics, frame rate, and animation have suffered very little in the transfer from GC to PS2. For those of you PS2 owners who haven't had the chance to play RE4, it sounds cliche, but do yourself a favor and buy it right now. If you don't want to throw down the $40 (yes, $40, not $50), then please, please rent it. I jest not when I say that RE4 does every single thing right. The only few negative remarks I could make about RE4, is that sometimes frequently switching weapons can be annoying (you have to go into the menu to change it), and that the final level feels a little long. These are easily outweighed by the sheer brilliance of everything it does right. Buy it now. Expand
  44. Micka
    Oct 27, 2005
    9
    Its a 9. Gamecube is a 10 out of 10 because its looks quite a bit better but over all this is a great port of what is in my mind, not only the best game of the year, but my favorite game of all time!!
  45. DanielEperstein
    Oct 30, 2005
    9
    This is a really good game. I can't believe someone on here complained about the controls, especially since the horrid controls of every other Resident Evil game makes them nearly unplayable to a lot of people.
  46. Orlok82
    Nov 17, 2006
    8
    I dont't know. When I started playing it, I was shocked. The first ten hours were amazing. But, while the game was evolving, I felt like it was too long. With more or less the same situations, the same enemies. I repeat, I don't know: a great game, but not completely.
  47. LaputanM.
    Dec 22, 2006
    10
    Smashing game. Reading about the complaints about running and gunning, I have to say that it would be pointless, anyway, noone can move and shoot with accuracy unless they move painfully slow. It would also ruin the game imo.
  48. D.W.
    Jan 26, 2006
    9
    Som bits were the most exciting, intense and terrifying moments in gameing. Others were fun but let the game down. it had laid the template for a great game. But trust me this game is worth it for the great bits.
  49. IgnacioP.
    Jan 28, 2006
    10
    Tis is one of my favorite games. I do not know how some people complain about the movements, when i started the game i thought the controls where difficult, but 20 minutes later they where so easy, i shooted them in the head the most of the times. It is not so difficult with the time. And if you don`t like the conversations just skip them. Besides I think the "challenges" (those that you Tis is one of my favorite games. I do not know how some people complain about the movements, when i started the game i thought the controls where difficult, but 20 minutes later they where so easy, i shooted them in the head the most of the times. It is not so difficult with the time. And if you don`t like the conversations just skip them. Besides I think the "challenges" (those that you have to tap the buttons) are pretty well done, you don`t know what to tap, and in the next moment you`re dead, but that`s fine. And if you want a harder challenge, just put the most difficult difficulty. Expand
  50. DarthMoon
    Mar 14, 2006
    8
    This game confused me quite a lot. It starts amazingly but it seems like the developers where lost in witch direction to take the game. While as a game it plays very well this resident evil doesnt stay true to its name,it gets too much over the top in many moments during the whole experience. I liked that the tried new things like the camera and the village setting but the overall feel of This game confused me quite a lot. It starts amazingly but it seems like the developers where lost in witch direction to take the game. While as a game it plays very well this resident evil doesnt stay true to its name,it gets too much over the top in many moments during the whole experience. I liked that the tried new things like the camera and the village setting but the overall feel of the game is lost. It starts like a really intense and realistic horror adventure with a compelling story behind it but it ends up being a ridicilous story with moments like Devil may cry.It has some great scary moments but it also has some very annoying and very silly moments witch break the horror atmosphere the game tries to put you in.Basicaly the game tries to mix some things that just dont quite work. For an action game its really good but for a Horror game its very dissapoining. Silent Hill 3 a much better horror game than this because it stays focus on what it wants to be and that is a Horror adventure not an action adventure.To sum it,great gameplay , great visuals, poor story , frustration instead of terrifying atmosphere. Expand
  51. Chris
    Mar 7, 2006
    10
    Absolutely beautiful! this game is incredible. The graphics and controls work very well compared to previous resident evil games, and has many different ways to get through the same game, many traps and erie scenes make this game my favorite game of the PS2.
  52. Andrew
    Apr 11, 2006
    10
    Believe the hype. As no great fan of Resident Evil or shooters in general, I was still amazed by this game. Great atmosphere and perfectly escalating challenge, by the end you'll feel exhausted, exhilerated, and amazed you were actually able to survive the horrors found in this quaint little village.
  53. KyleZ.
    Jun 10, 2006
    10
    This game has an amazing story line and has exellent game play. The creators should be proud of themselfs for making this game for the PS2. Its a challenge and some peaple dont like that but I take the game as pretty easyon both settings. The creaturs in the game make this the best Resident Evil game yet. I hope to see more games like this one.
  54. DiatrexV.
    Jul 29, 2006
    9
    Resident Evil 4 got a 10/10 gold award. It is a very good game but after a while it might start to bore you a bit. The graphics are pretty good. This game on PS2 is better than the one before it. The A.I. is pretty ok but thats not a problem becuase there stupid. Capcom worked hard on this game it I gess it would deserve a 9 (in my piont of view). It sure has a lot of sick shit in it Resident Evil 4 got a 10/10 gold award. It is a very good game but after a while it might start to bore you a bit. The graphics are pretty good. This game on PS2 is better than the one before it. The A.I. is pretty ok but thats not a problem becuase there stupid. Capcom worked hard on this game it I gess it would deserve a 9 (in my piont of view). It sure has a lot of sick shit in it because it has a lot of blood and stuff. It can get very irritating. The controls are ok but kind of strange one PS2. This game has its surprizes. Expand
  55. Mitsos
    Aug 12, 2006
    10
    It is a brilliant game.
  56. JohhnyY.
    Aug 7, 2006
    10
    Perfect.
  57. PhilipP.
    Jan 24, 2007
    10
    I thought I was there for real, I'd like to be able to see forward all the time but hey great fun.
  58. ZachR.
    Jan 25, 2007
    10
    By far the best Resident Evil game ever! The new control system and camera angles are great, not to mention the stunning graphics and memorable story. If you haven't played this game yet, you are not a man.
  59. MikeW.
    Jun 19, 2007
    10
    The best of the last gen games is THE best game for the PS2 overall. Highly recommended for all of the millions of PS2 owners out there.
  60. CaioK.
    Sep 28, 2007
    10
    The best game ever made for Playstation2! Good story, excellent graphics. It
  61. StewartC.
    Jan 22, 2008
    9
    The best game I have ever played and a vast improvement on previous RE titles. I was hooked from the start to the finish. The graphics are great, the plot scary, the gameplay is long and replayable and I'd definitely recommend buying it. Only a couple of very small nagging points, but hardly worth mentioning - ALMOST FLAWLESS...!
  62. AnonymousMC
    Jun 7, 2008
    10
    this game is great and semmingly perfect in each way. and if you can find a better game thanthis youre a liar because this is the las gen system game in history and john d. is tootaly out of place by giving a 3 it well deserves this 10 but dont buy the wii versian without a zapper or shooter now stop reading this and play resident evil 4 or 5 when you guys read this because i dont reaalythis game is great and semmingly perfect in each way. and if you can find a better game thanthis youre a liar because this is the las gen system game in history and john d. is tootaly out of place by giving a 3 it well deserves this 10 but dont buy the wii versian without a zapper or shooter now stop reading this and play resident evil 4 or 5 when you guys read this because i dont reaaly care as long as you play one of these games execpt resident evil 3 Expand
  63. shailinderm
    Nov 6, 2009
    8
    this game is fun but VERY HARD!the bosses health are not shown so that makes it boring.but i still like this game.i would have gave it 10 if it was not so hard.
  64. AndrewH
    Feb 9, 2009
    8
    This a very good game. I played it on my ps3 so wasnt overly impressed with the graphics but the gameplay is amazing. A lot of people dont get the controls and find it quite hard to get in to. I dont understand the problem. The only issue is that you cant move while aiming. So what? The game is designed around this feature. Also, some body in there reviem has said its a difficult game. It This a very good game. I played it on my ps3 so wasnt overly impressed with the graphics but the gameplay is amazing. A lot of people dont get the controls and find it quite hard to get in to. I dont understand the problem. The only issue is that you cant move while aiming. So what? The game is designed around this feature. Also, some body in there reviem has said its a difficult game. It isnt. This was my first resi game and i found it very easy. Some bits where you must protect ashlee can be tricky (she is totally helpless) and I found the blind enemies difficult to kill but the game gives plenty of ammo and health. Over all its a solid game and well worth a go, especially with the release of 5 just around the corner. Expand
  65. NathanD
    Mar 14, 2009
    10
    Personally, I think its the best game of all time. it has that something that makes you not want to set the controller down, and when you eventually do (due to sore eyes and head) you cant help think of it or talk about it! Once you clear it, you want to start again on the harder difficulty...or if your on the hardest difficulty, start again. The graphics are pretty impressive for a ps2 Personally, I think its the best game of all time. it has that something that makes you not want to set the controller down, and when you eventually do (due to sore eyes and head) you cant help think of it or talk about it! Once you clear it, you want to start again on the harder difficulty...or if your on the hardest difficulty, start again. The graphics are pretty impressive for a ps2 game. re5 is out now, but personally it doesnt compare to the story or playable factor of re4. p.s Bring back the merchant. Expand
  66. CodyB
    Mar 18, 2009
    10
    RE4; THE greatest horror masterpiece ever created in the history of horror games and one of my top 10 video games list. From start to finish, this game was, still is, and always will be worth over all game of the year 2005 and all those shit-loads of awards. Imo not all that scary, just disturbing at times but FUN-AS-HELL!!!
  67. CarlosB
    May 25, 2009
    9
    The game is great, but the controls are not so easy.
  68. KeenanS
    Jul 7, 2009
    10
    This is the greatest game I've ever played in my entire life. Everything about this game was spectacular from its graphics, to its gameplay, and even the puzzles. Not to mention this version comes with exclusive missions and weapons that were not in the Gamecube edition. This is easily one of the greatest games ever made and if you hate it, you're an idiot. If you own a PS2, you This is the greatest game I've ever played in my entire life. Everything about this game was spectacular from its graphics, to its gameplay, and even the puzzles. Not to mention this version comes with exclusive missions and weapons that were not in the Gamecube edition. This is easily one of the greatest games ever made and if you hate it, you're an idiot. If you own a PS2, you must own this game. Own one of the greatest games ever made! Expand
  69. JaredS
    Jan 15, 2010
    10
    This is easily one of my favorite games ever. The story is excellent and the gameplay is challenging. Yes the controls are very difficult to get used to but IMO make the game much more intense
  70. Wongit
    Nov 12, 2005
    10
    This is the game to own on Ps2, without a shadow of a doubt. Beautiful graphics, awsome music and voice acting, and great story telling. This game is hard...very hard. You just need to really concentrate on this game, and you will get it, it takes skill to play this game. Even though its the hardest game ive played its the best one ive ever played, do yourselves a favor and get this game.
  71. RickN.
    Nov 14, 2005
    10
    After the intro scene and after shooting a couple of locals I was thinking that the game would ease me in gently before the real madness starts. So the first village section I came across left me a bit shocked, with wave after wave of crazy demonic sounding villagers coming at you, leaving you firing wildly at a group before fleeing to one of the many houses, because you'll be safe After the intro scene and after shooting a couple of locals I was thinking that the game would ease me in gently before the real madness starts. So the first village section I came across left me a bit shocked, with wave after wave of crazy demonic sounding villagers coming at you, leaving you firing wildly at a group before fleeing to one of the many houses, because you'll be safe in there wont you? Not a chance, these deranged psychos will smash windows, open doors, even raise ladders so they can get at you on the upper floors. Zombies these guys aint. They run, oh yes, they run at you waving pitchforks/flaming torches/axes (some of them actually fling axes at you from distance), the new brand of enemy on offer here is quite overwhelming and really do give you a feeling of panic as they come at you, the sack-faced fellas with the chainsaws in particular. Killing them however, is extremely satisfying. Shoot that guy with the axes' hand and he'll drop it, getting pretty pissed off in the process he runs at you, by pressing x Leon leaps up and kicks him in his crusty face, sending him hurtling back into a group of his pals. The combat is thick and fast, making this more of an action horror game. Resi 4's main strong point has to be the atmosphere, it really is gripping and is created by the amazing graphics, attention to detail, sound effects and music. This game grabs you by the balls and dosn't let you go until you've completed it. Get it, right now. Go on. Expand
  72. shawn
    Nov 15, 2005
    10
    the best game i every played
  73. ninjagaidenhayabusa
    Nov 15, 2005
    10
    revived my enthusiasm for the franchise, The use of laser aiming weapons is fantastic accurate way of shooting your enemies. Shoot the enemy on the head, it would stun it for few seconds but before that happens approach then kick it, then it will flew throught floor and then leon can knife it on the ground to save your ammo, another is shoot the legs, then you could do a suplex on the revived my enthusiasm for the franchise, The use of laser aiming weapons is fantastic accurate way of shooting your enemies. Shoot the enemy on the head, it would stun it for few seconds but before that happens approach then kick it, then it will flew throught floor and then leon can knife it on the ground to save your ammo, another is shoot the legs, then you could do a suplex on the enemy. theres also traps on the floor along the way if your not careful, you could get hit. I was really impressed with dual between Leon and krauser, during the cutscene, you need to pressed simultaneouly the L1 and R1 or square and X button to avoid being hit by krauser, to progress the game, it rivals the dual between big boss vs. ocelot on mgs3 which is a very high quality of digital perfection. Shinji Mikami is a genius Expand
  74. TylerA.
    Nov 17, 2005
    10
    Its better on GameCube, better graphics and controls but I would reccomend it on PS2.
  75. JohnT.
    Nov 17, 2005
    10
    This Resident Evil is the best of all, I like the over the sholder perspective and the extra missions at the end addeds even more depth to the story. and its nice they kept the bad language out of it so that my son can also enjoy this one too.
  76. LingX.
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    a must have for the ps2. RE fans might find this a bit different since it doesn't have anything to do with zombies at all. instead, they gave us something different and more intelligent. the game focuses more on action now instead of survival horror. feel the rush to kill as a group of angry parasite-infested villagers carrying all sorts of weapon (from torches, axe, and rakes) swarm a must have for the ps2. RE fans might find this a bit different since it doesn't have anything to do with zombies at all. instead, they gave us something different and more intelligent. the game focuses more on action now instead of survival horror. feel the rush to kill as a group of angry parasite-infested villagers carrying all sorts of weapon (from torches, axe, and rakes) swarm your stronghold, a 2-story wooden house.. that part really gave a "night of the living dead 3 / assault on precinct 13" feel. oh and the game is long unlike the previous REs. the extras really made it longer like separate ways, where you get play as ada. kinda similar to Snake Tales in Metal Gear solid 2: Substance Expand
  77. ResidentE.
    Oct 13, 2005
    10
    Atmospheric brilliance.
  78. jackieR
    Oct 21, 2005
    10
    The best resident evil game of all time, the best gamecube and ps2 game of all time, the best survival horror game of all time, the step up from ps2 to ps3 is previewed in re4. and arguably the best andm ost ground breaking game of all time, think zelda for n64
  79. RaquwanM.
    Dec 15, 2005
    10
    This is the best game of the year
  80. BFG_MAN
    Dec 21, 2005
    9
    The game is fantastic It has better graphics than previous versions of RE. There are some unique melee moves that each character has. You can upgrade your weapons and/or buy stronger ones. My favorite part of the game comes when you come in contact with a boss. or a cut-sceen because you have to press a combination of buttons to dodge their attacks. (such as L1+L2) or you will die. If it The game is fantastic It has better graphics than previous versions of RE. There are some unique melee moves that each character has. You can upgrade your weapons and/or buy stronger ones. My favorite part of the game comes when you come in contact with a boss. or a cut-sceen because you have to press a combination of buttons to dodge their attacks. (such as L1+L2) or you will die. If it wasnt for this feature RE4 would be just an ordinary horror game. Expand
  81. AnneH.
    Dec 3, 2005
    10
    i know what your all thinking another resident evil game with the clunky controls but this one does not have it which makes the game easier and if you dont have the game you must be living under a rock.i dont know how to describe it. FREAKIN AWSOME.
  82. EdR.
    Oct 27, 2005
    10
    Awesome graphics, Innovative game play. The best PS2 game I have played in a long time.
  83. MichaelV.
    Oct 27, 2005
    10
    This game is better than tacos! (and that's saying a lot)
  84. BlakeY.
    Oct 27, 2005
    10
    Great game, a must play.
  85. TylerW.
    Jan 25, 2006
    10
    Great game!
  86. HandyDude
    Feb 17, 2006
    10
    There was absolutely no hype on this game because everyone thought same old same old but it isn't. to be honest i was getting sick of the zombies because how many accidental bio hazard outbreaks can you have. exactly its had enough and time for a change. really good game. mercenarie si fun. boss fights are awesome. i think the normal difficulty should be on pro because it is much There was absolutely no hype on this game because everyone thought same old same old but it isn't. to be honest i was getting sick of the zombies because how many accidental bio hazard outbreaks can you have. exactly its had enough and time for a change. really good game. mercenarie si fun. boss fights are awesome. i think the normal difficulty should be on pro because it is much harder and challenging. for those crap players that can't finish on pro bad luck. go play crazy frog racer. great game. Expand
  87. Ahmed
    Jul 27, 2006
    10
    it was the best game ever! but it was not as good as god of war.resident evil 4 has good graphics good story a lot of modes and a lot of guns. so i hope there is gonna be a resident evil 5! keep it up.
  88. JamieT.
    Aug 14, 2006
    10
    How can you give this game any lower then an 8! It's such a fun game to play and has an awesome story to go along with it. It's definantly up there with Half Life 2 and Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas. I give it a 10!
  89. SamH.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    One of the greatest experiences that I have ever had as a game. A great selection of villians, a compelling story and fantastic gameplay make this a near perfect game.
  90. AidanK.
    Apr 12, 2007
    10
    Having played all previous RE games (and completing them all at least once), i find it my duty to review this game and give it the highest score attainable. Admittedly the graphics aren't perfect..but we can blame that on the ps2's hardware. Keeping this in mind, the game still manages to scare the player senseless through, not only visuals but sound and the general feel of the Having played all previous RE games (and completing them all at least once), i find it my duty to review this game and give it the highest score attainable. Admittedly the graphics aren't perfect..but we can blame that on the ps2's hardware. Keeping this in mind, the game still manages to scare the player senseless through, not only visuals but sound and the general feel of the environment. Also, this game has tons of replay value (as i have completed the game 6-7 times, and 'Separate Ways' 2-3 times) and the Mercenaries Mini Games are a nice little addition. I also find it great how your weapons and cash are transferred over every time you complete the game. The voice acting is great, the animation is smooth and RE4 gets my 10/10. Expand
  91. KyleG.
    Aug 29, 2007
    8
    Sure, this is a very good game, but it's not perfect like most people make it out to be. The graphics are great for the most part, the story is kinda good, but the aiming was not as easy to control as it is on gamecube, in my opinion. But what really brings it down for me is that it doesn't have the charm that makes a game more than "just a game". The kind of charm that molds a Sure, this is a very good game, but it's not perfect like most people make it out to be. The graphics are great for the most part, the story is kinda good, but the aiming was not as easy to control as it is on gamecube, in my opinion. But what really brings it down for me is that it doesn't have the charm that makes a game more than "just a game". The kind of charm that molds a game into a memorable and life-impacting experience. It is just a game to me. a good game, but still just a game. Expand
  92. EricP
    Nov 30, 2008
    10
    RE4 is one of my favorite games of all time. The graphics really showcase what the PS2 can do, especially in 525p with the component cables. Most of the environments and detail in the scenery/character models are beautifully rendered. I had someone ask me if what I was playing was really a PS2 game. The sounds and music are creepy when they need to be and are overall pretty cool to listen RE4 is one of my favorite games of all time. The graphics really showcase what the PS2 can do, especially in 525p with the component cables. Most of the environments and detail in the scenery/character models are beautifully rendered. I had someone ask me if what I was playing was really a PS2 game. The sounds and music are creepy when they need to be and are overall pretty cool to listen to. I'm not sure why so many people have such a problem with the control scheme in RE4. It's ready weapon, aim, and shoot. What is so difficult about that? I agree I would like to be able to move while shooting also, but it's not really feasible with an over-the-shoulder approach. You would need one finger moving the person, another one aiming, and the other one firing. That would be TOO complicated. Making it a FPS would have been a mistake and pre-rendered graphics are out of the question. The lasersighting is more realistic than having a "crosshair" as someone was saying. You're not going to see a crosshair in real life, and unless you want to go into FP for accurate shooting like in MGS (which still wouldn't allow you to move), get used to it. The knife in this game was the greatest thing the game designers have done with the RE series. Easily equippable with L1 at any time and VERY useful, unlike the previous RE installments. The weapons are upgradeable enough to always keep you interested. Side missions are a bonus. Great enemies and boss fights. Looking forward to RE5. 10/10, hands down! Expand
  93. DanielPereira
    May 23, 2008
    10
    This game is,is... i don´t have words to describe it! It´s simply great!! Fantastic! I can never get tired of this game, or any RE game to be exact.. Since i played RE for the first time, I loved it and I played almost all RE series! I LOVE RESIDENT EVIL!
  94. JohnG
    Nov 24, 2009
    10
    I had a lot of fun with this game no matter how many times i beat it i couldnt stop playing. Its one of the best games ive played so far.
  95. outphazel
    Jul 26, 2009
    10
    It was amazing awesome game play the only bad thing is the graphics and the bosses and no online play all really retarded but everything else is really intense i hope everyone else enjoyed this amazing who ever has this game ill give you a really cool secret if you get absolutely 100% done there is a cool ending i cant tell you its a secret so bye for now plenty of more ratings coming It was amazing awesome game play the only bad thing is the graphics and the bosses and no online play all really retarded but everything else is really intense i hope everyone else enjoyed this amazing who ever has this game ill give you a really cool secret if you get absolutely 100% done there is a cool ending i cant tell you its a secret so bye for now plenty of more ratings coming your way peace out. Collapse
  96. AleksiK.
    Nov 14, 2005
    10
    One of the best games on PS2. I am amazed that GC version doesn't look so much different from it. Well, now we have zero reasons to buy GC. All cube owners must feel like they have wasted their money.... Thanks Capcom. A great game, and it shows how little there is difference between Gc and PS2. PS: I've played both versions, and PS2 has far more better controls.
  97. SteveW.
    Nov 16, 2005
    10
    Read the reviews here by you guys and saw that you all love this game , my friends who had it on other consoles all told me it was a great game so i bought it and i didnt realise how good it really is in one word WOW details aside buy this game lol buy it now :P
  98. ApocalypseBrown
    Dec 14, 2005
    10
    ......................... Sorry i'm too emotional with joy to describe this game. All i can say is i'll never part with game hopefully as its gaming history in a shiny box! EXCELLENT! Well done the lads at capcom for rejigging the series. Oh where's that tissue .........................
  99. Gazcomsat
    Dec 15, 2005
    10
    RE 4 on PS2 is easily the best of the series but God, is it hard! Like all the other Resi games you are never inundated with ammo and similarly here, you have literally the bare minimum to get by with. This can feel a little frustrating when you really want to blow an enemies head off but all you have to do it with is a pistol that seems no more powerful than a pea-shooter. The big RE 4 on PS2 is easily the best of the series but God, is it hard! Like all the other Resi games you are never inundated with ammo and similarly here, you have literally the bare minimum to get by with. This can feel a little frustrating when you really want to blow an enemies head off but all you have to do it with is a pistol that seems no more powerful than a pea-shooter. The big improvement with this RE game has to be the ability to buy new and more powerful weapons and there are plenty available. Once you buy or aquire a weapon you still have to find ammunition as this cannot (unfortunately) be bought. More than once I've found myself with an assortment of 8 different high-power guns and not a single bullet in any of them! The game is programmed so well however that when you need health or bullets you will find them but not in any great number so you have to be extremely careful how you use them. Save points are again via the Typewriter but this time no need for those annoying ink ribbons. These also seem perfectly placed which is vital when the gameplay is this tough. The Bosses are extremely hard with some of the later levels seemingly very long. It's pretty much a certainty that after you have killed a Boss, you will be down to your last bullet and 1 bar of your life. This is the beauty of the game though. The difficulty curve is absolutely spot-on and although there is little margin for error, everything still seems achievable. I can't recommend RE 4 highly enough. Expand
  100. KyleK.
    Dec 16, 2005
    10
    This is superb, awesome, just wicked. i love this game. the whole game is so good you have to keep on playing it. the extra's as in guns to unlock and characters through mercenaries mode is awesome. i have finished it a lot and im still going. well done capcom.

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
#1 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 38
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 38
  3. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. PSM Magazine
    100
    Not playing through it from beginning to end would be missing out on a major milestone in gaming history, not to mention a hell of a lot of fun. [Dec 2005, p.70]
  2. Game Informer
    100
    Simply put, Resident Evil 4 is a landmark video game, no matter what system you play it on... Truly brilliant. [Nov 2005, p.158]
  3. Play Magazine
    90
    Capcom turned the venerable but stagnant series around with Evil 4 [Nov p.72]