User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 199 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 199
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Serra
    Dec 5, 2001
    5
    Looks good, but that's about it. It's slow going and some of the puzzles are crazy.
  2. BullT64
    Nov 24, 2001
    6
    Good game but those puzzles...are worse than the zombies.
  3. Aug 12, 2012
    5
    I really hate giving a Resident Evil game a low score but this one just wasnt so great. The graphics are great, the controls are what to expect. I thought the monsters and bosses were good but the puzzles just sucked. I mean there were just too many of them and some of them didnt even make sense. I think the over emphasis on puzzles is what ruined the game for me but i dont know. iI really hate giving a Resident Evil game a low score but this one just wasnt so great. The graphics are great, the controls are what to expect. I thought the monsters and bosses were good but the puzzles just sucked. I mean there were just too many of them and some of them didnt even make sense. I think the over emphasis on puzzles is what ruined the game for me but i dont know. i thought that the game itself was pretty good, but not as good as compared to the 1st 3 resident evil games. I do like the story however and thats really about it. This is perhaps the lowest score I would give a main Resident Evil Game. Expand
  4. Aug 21, 2013
    6
    i expected something new for resident evil for the ps2 and i was really hyped for this game but it turned to be nothing new and it is boring bad graphics and it had the worst start ever
  5. Dec 11, 2013
    7
    When Resident Evil: Code Veronica X first released back 2001, Gameplay is Perfect, Story was Best even more thanks to Wesker.
    Gameplay: 7/10
    Story: 8/10
    Total: 8/10
    I was once Die Hard Fan but stop caring Since Series become crap once Resident Evil 4 Released.
  6. Jan 4, 2016
    7
    It's far from the worst entry, but it's definitely not the best. Especially when compared to RE1-3. The flow of the game is often tedious and slow. The storyline feels a bit unusual for a Resident Evil game, but still entertaining nonetheless. RE2 and RE3 feel more progressive in the technical achievement department. Code: Veronica feels like a step back to some degree. It has more inIt's far from the worst entry, but it's definitely not the best. Especially when compared to RE1-3. The flow of the game is often tedious and slow. The storyline feels a bit unusual for a Resident Evil game, but still entertaining nonetheless. RE2 and RE3 feel more progressive in the technical achievement department. Code: Veronica feels like a step back to some degree. It has more in common with the flaws of the original (which was a better game), Long backtracking, tedious battles, etc keep this entry from stealing the spotlight from the classic trilogy on PSX. The only thing it had going at the time was nice visuals and cutscenes, which even back in 2001 were very Dreamcast esque hence being a port of the DC version. Expand
  7. May 19, 2013
    1
    I beat this recently with a friend after going through RE 1-3 and I have to say this is the worst Resident Evil game I've played. RE1 had it's issues but because it was such an innovator and tried many new things (many ideas worked, few didn't) it was excellent; RE2 doubled the gameplay by adding multiple paths, new weapons systems, more characters, and better plot/writing/acting; RE3I beat this recently with a friend after going through RE 1-3 and I have to say this is the worst Resident Evil game I've played. RE1 had it's issues but because it was such an innovator and tried many new things (many ideas worked, few didn't) it was excellent; RE2 doubled the gameplay by adding multiple paths, new weapons systems, more characters, and better plot/writing/acting; RE3 added the Nemesis, dodging, ammo crafting, and the best overall graphics and controls of the pre-RE4 series. Code Veronica does nothing new and actually does almost everything worse compared to it's predecessors. The pre-rendered cutscenes are all RE3-quality or better, with a few of them being very impressive with their technical prowess. However everything else about the graphics are worse... the beautiful pre-rendered backgrounds are gone and many of the environments have stretched out bland beige and grey textures. Character models textures are average for consoles at the time but particle effects (especially exploding heads) are disappointing. Somehow the sound effects have gotten worse, with many of the weapons lacking punch and enemies sounding weak or obnoxious. Controls are frustratingly worse than RE3, with a lack of dodging and poor auto-aim tracking making fighting airborne targets a nightmare. There's no real reason to replay the game and the bonus game mode you unlock gives you no unlocks for the regular game upon completion. On top of all this you have to deal with the unintuitive game design with every map feeling like a maze, bosses that stun lock or 1-hit KO you, a ton of recycled areas, and the final act's chain of bosses that will leave you stunned at the ridiculousness of it all. Code Veronica is playable, but this is an 80's B-movie caricature of a Resident Evil game that feels like it was crapped out by Capcom's B-team of interns and temps. Collapse

Awards & Rankings

#12 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2001
#55 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2001
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Clearly the best game yet produced for the survival-horror subgenre of adventure gaming, in spite of its flaws.
  2. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    90
    A necessary part of any adventure gamer’s balanced breakfast…Masterful storytelling and superb graphics. [Sept 2001, p.144]
  3. 100
    This is, for all intents and purposes the same game that was released for the DC over a year ago. It was great then, it's still great now.