Resident Evil Outbreak PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Mar 31, 2004
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 91 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 91
  2. Negative: 7 out of 91
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TonyL.
    Oct 11, 2004
    5
    Crap crap crap.
  2. StephenS.
    Apr 2, 2004
    7
    Like with any game that offers online teamplay....if you can't easily communicate ....the online portion becomes worthless.
  3. OmarM.
    May 4, 2004
    7
    This game is all right but in my opinion if you din;t have a network adapter you better buy one. It's just not fun if it's not online.
  4. Apr 4, 2011
    5
    ive been wanting a resident evil game in co op since i played the very first RE game . i was so pained to have to play this game . the online was just ruined with the fact there is NO VOICE CHATT OR EVEN TYPING!!!... WTF!!! its a co op game for christ sake . you kind of need to talk to help solve puzzles , work together , share ammo, decide where to go among many other things a damn micive been wanting a resident evil game in co op since i played the very first RE game . i was so pained to have to play this game . the online was just ruined with the fact there is NO VOICE CHATT OR EVEN TYPING!!!... WTF!!! its a co op game for christ sake . you kind of need to talk to help solve puzzles , work together , share ammo, decide where to go among many other things a damn mic would help with. i mean if this game supported Voice chatt i could have probubly given it a 8. the offline mode is ok but to short and your AI team mates are morons . they just run off and do there own thing and maybe you will run into them again some where down the road. the puzzles are pretty tricky which you may like or hate . i didnt mind them . the load times are alittle to long you would think with the HDD add on it would help alot but it maybe cuts it down by 25% . since this game is ment for online and with no voice chatt its not a game i can recomend for any one but the hardest RE fan .if you where looking for a cool co op game to play online this sure as hell isnt it. Expand
  5. Aug 18, 2011
    7
    Outbreak has a very cool opening that impress in all directions to the first few second to the next minutes. After getting grabbed by the overall great cut scene, and getting introduced to the gameplay, It felt nice for some minutes. After 15 minutes everything started to not plug or be interesting, starting with the story, then the "RPG" concept to it, didn't had a nice balance , toOutbreak has a very cool opening that impress in all directions to the first few second to the next minutes. After getting grabbed by the overall great cut scene, and getting introduced to the gameplay, It felt nice for some minutes. After 15 minutes everything started to not plug or be interesting, starting with the story, then the "RPG" concept to it, didn't had a nice balance , to boring to repetitive. Also , to start with, this is where the game start to fall in pieces in terms of scary factors the crew responsible from this Outbreak developed more deep that problem in future games, when I say that I mean to RE5 that was just not what is Resident Evil. I wish this outbreak could had been more catastrophic. Expand
  6. Sep 27, 2013
    6
    A novel idea that just feel a bit flat in execution. I love the multiple character angle, but I also feel that each weren't really given enough depth and individual development to make you really care.

    None the less, it does a decent job as a resident evil game, but at the time of release, the gameplay style was getting very tired and over used. Visuals are good, atmosphere does the
    A novel idea that just feel a bit flat in execution. I love the multiple character angle, but I also feel that each weren't really given enough depth and individual development to make you really care.

    None the less, it does a decent job as a resident evil game, but at the time of release, the gameplay style was getting very tired and over used.

    Visuals are good, atmosphere does the job, voice acting a little weak at times, and narrative a little flimsy.

    Overall:
    A good idea that just came too late for anyone to really care. The game is decent, but nothing to get excited about. Good for a weekend if you've got nothing better to do.
    Expand
  7. Jun 16, 2014
    7
    es un buen juego de la saga pero el multijugador esta mas o menos la historia es buena la jugabilidad es buena los graficos como de de ps3 pero lo malo del juego son los bugs solo tiene 5 niveles y le falta un cooperativo y mejorar el multijugador y reactivarlo
  8. Dec 16, 2015
    6
    The game is fun for one playthrough or two,but it gets boring and there are no replay value if this games plain boring,back then there were very few people playing online to make this a great experience,we european didn't even have the online option to play which decrease the scores quite a bit,the graphics a great,the gameplay well good,the AI partners are dumb and the load timesThe game is fun for one playthrough or two,but it gets boring and there are no replay value if this games plain boring,back then there were very few people playing online to make this a great experience,we european didn't even have the online option to play which decrease the scores quite a bit,the graphics a great,the gameplay well good,the AI partners are dumb and the load times awful.This game had a lot of potential but releasing it for ps2 was the worst decision ever made.If Capcom decided to remaster this for ps4 & xbox one then i'll think it would be more successful. Such a shame. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#14 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2004
#36 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2004
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 40
  2. Negative: 3 out of 40
  1. The graphics and score are outstanding, but ultimately, the gameplay falls flat with heavy-handed mechanics and tedious goals.
  2. Another major gripe is that there’s a lot of loading. Without a HDD, every door you walk through will require a pretty substantial loading time.
  3. 75
    Outbreak would have been a much, much better game had it had online voice communication. There's simply no excuse for omitting this feature in a game hinges on being able to communicate rapidly between party members.