Rez PlayStation 2

Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
Buy On
  1. 85
    If most of the fun of Rez is simply absorbing the sound and light show -- and a remarkably fine show it is, thanks to excellent work by a group of several talented electronic music artists -- it still offers plenty of replay value.
  2. If you're in the mood for something that is decidedly different than other games on the market, Sega's quirky, abstract art-influenced shooter just might fit the bill.
  3. Cheat Code Central
    90
    Rez is not so much a game as it is art.
  4. 86
    A little more actual gameplay would have driven the score up, but the unique combination of music and visuals make it a must play for those who seek something different.
  5. Once you get it on a big TV or monitor and hook it all up to a meaty stereo system, it really is something special to behold.
  6. 100
    One of the freshest titles in recent memory in both concept and execution.
  7. I've discovered it’s pretty much impossible to sit still and play this game at the same time.
  8. Play Magazine
    80
    A minor masterpiece. [Feb 2002, p.57]
  9. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    78
    It’s the first shooter I’ve played that’s demanded not just my reflexes, but also my intuition. A trip worth taking. [Feb 2002, p.156]
  10. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    90
    The Dual Shock 2 is kicking out vibes that will make you drop it if you don’t hold on tight. [Feb 2002, p.113]
  11. One of the most groundbreaking titles around... a truly unique ‘game’ and of the finest Sega created titles ever, one that everybody can play yet it’s individuality will divide gamers into those that love it and those that don’t.
  12. PSM Magazine
    80
    Perhaps the most stylish-looking game ever created. [Feb 2002, p.44]
  13. GMR Magazine
    80
    A fairly standard shooter dressed as a visual and aural masterpiece. Sadly unappreciated by the vast majority of the gaming world. [Feb 2003, p.93]
  14. It's weird, wonderful, addictive and groovin'.
  15. Rez is mindless, simple fun - with the emphasis on fun. If you don't blow out your eyes on this one, you're sure to blow out your thumbs.
  16. Official Playstation 2 Magazine UK
    90
    Hypnotic stuff. [Jan 2007, p.106]
  17. 90
    This is proof that a good idea, well-executed, can stand the test of time.
  18. The music falls into the techno category, but it’s very bland until you start destroying enemies.
  19. Beautiful graphics and bumping Trance music with jovial shooting to boot is a wicked combination any way you look at it. Definitely one of the best games out right now.
  20. Entertainment Weekly
    91
    You'll find yourself wrapped up in a visual and aural orgy sure to cause sensory conniptions. [29 Mar 2002, p.77]
  21. The vibration gets so intense that your hands nearly become numb from overstimulation.
  22. 80
    There's nothing else quite like it. which means you’ll either love it or hate. FHM loved it.

Awards & Rankings

#58 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. MattW.
    Mar 23, 2002
    9
    Whoa. This game is amazing (even better on weed). I love the unique visual style, and the music is excellent (especially levels 4 and 5). Be Whoa. This game is amazing (even better on weed). I love the unique visual style, and the music is excellent (especially levels 4 and 5). Be warned of these things, though: #1. its too short (only 5 levels), #2. its severly lacking in the gameplay department, and #3. since the music plays such an important role in the game, you should definitely have a nice sound system if u want to get the full experience. If you've got the hardware, i say this is a must buy. Full Review »
  2. Oct 3, 2010
    10
    I can't believe the low reviews this game got. It is so amazing and fresh, I guess most people where not able to appreciate this game the sameI can't believe the low reviews this game got. It is so amazing and fresh, I guess most people where not able to appreciate this game the same way that I did. It's a rare gem that is worth looking for. Full Review »
  3. SquallBoy
    Feb 27, 2002
    10
    Excellent sound, very retro gameplay and graphics and heaps of extras. The best fun you can have on the PS2 currently.