User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MattT.
    Mar 2, 2003
    10
    The graphics may not be amazing, however, the gameplay is taxing and requires practice and skill. this is the most realistic racer i have played! The sound could be called repetetive but engines voices dont break when their goin down the straights do they! Spike deserves a good pat on the back for this racing masterpiece.
  2. [Anonymous]
    Nov 5, 2002
    10
    This is the best bike game ever no where near as repetetive as motoGP2.
  3. BigSwede
    Nov 6, 2002
    10
    Obviously the game mags never have ridden a real bike for sure. This is the Gran Tourismo for bikes. Been playing all nights since I got my hands on it. My best recommendation to all sportbike lovers out there.
  4. JohnN.
    Dec 6, 2003
    7
    It was a 9 until a found one major flaw. Two people can't load their own garages and race against each other! Only one garage can be loaded at a time! :-(
  5. MichaelG.
    Oct 12, 2002
    10
    Any one who don't like this game has never been on a motorcycle before. this is the only motorcycle game that works like the real bikes. I've been riding for 27 years, and I can'T PUT IT DOWN............keep up the go work spike ..........this is the game that every biker in the bronx .NEW YORK is playing today. also I have spoken to some biker in ct. and they like it too, Any one who don't like this game has never been on a motorcycle before. this is the only motorcycle game that works like the real bikes. I've been riding for 27 years, and I can'T PUT IT DOWN............keep up the go work spike ..........this is the game that every biker in the bronx .NEW YORK is playing today. also I have spoken to some biker in ct. and they like it too, so maybe some of the other voter needs to ride some time and then comment. Expand
  6. S.W.
    Nov 8, 2002
    10
    OK it's not as polished as GTA3 and some of the audio is repetative but I'm on day 5 now and hooked. Shame they limited it to rice rockets though.
  7. BenN.
    Mar 15, 2003
    6
    Good game which lasts long but gets boring after a while, the hard difficulty should be noted and the tracks take ages to learn!
  8. TonyL.
    Jul 18, 2004
    9
    Everything changes after a visit to the tune shop!
  9. PatrickI.
    Apr 29, 2005
    10
    I've been playing this game for almost 2 years now and just yesterday I beat the last of the duels. that only leaves the time trials and training. This game is definately not for people that like easy, shallow games. it is really hard to get used to the realism but once you do, you cant turn it off. this game is always dogged down because I always crash type fellows. Guess what, you I've been playing this game for almost 2 years now and just yesterday I beat the last of the duels. that only leaves the time trials and training. This game is definately not for people that like easy, shallow games. it is really hard to get used to the realism but once you do, you cant turn it off. this game is always dogged down because I always crash type fellows. Guess what, you can't turn hairpins at 90 MPH, you cant go from 200-20 in 2 seconds and if you are going 140MPH you cant make a quick turn. Collapse
  10. AdrianP.
    Nov 17, 2002
    10
    Best motorcycle game ever!! I am disappointed with the games reviewers, they obivously have little experience in riding bikes. This game shouldn't be compared to GT3, since cars never get damaged so its too easy to cheat. I think is a blend between GT3 and Race Driver. Can't wait to hear about plans for Riding Spirits 2 - hopefully they'll include more European/American Best motorcycle game ever!! I am disappointed with the games reviewers, they obivously have little experience in riding bikes. This game shouldn't be compared to GT3, since cars never get damaged so its too easy to cheat. I think is a blend between GT3 and Race Driver. Can't wait to hear about plans for Riding Spirits 2 - hopefully they'll include more European/American based bikes and maybe my own 97' cbr600f... 95% Expand
  11. GPracer
    Dec 7, 2003
    10
    Anyone who thinks this game is too hard obviously doesn't understand how much of a challenge riding really is. Kudos to BAM for being able to achieve what they have. Sure MotoGp looks and plays great. But I know it wont seperate the Drivers from the Riders like Riding Spirits does. I'd really like to see it developed more!
  12. NunoC.
    Nov 27, 2002
    10
    The Best. Nothing like it. The game is almost perfect (I miss wheelis and power slides) but it's only the first. To the reviewers:just want a easy game. It's a bike, It's hard to ride. You have to learn how to drive a bike first to stand a chance.
  13. TLSMan
    Dec 26, 2002
    6
    It's Gran turismo ONE, for playstation, not GTA3 for PS2.. The critics are largely right, you just have to love bikes enough to look past this first games' shortcommings.
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. The problem with speed perception is probably the most noticeable deficiency that can be easily defined, although the lack of innovation and close design of gameplay aspects to earlier releases can't be dismissed out of hand.
  2. Graphically inferior to glitzy modern day racers, and nowhere near as fast as it should be. [Oct 2002, p.40]
  3. A hard game to recommend, but just as hard to universally bash.