User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 3 out of 37

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AdamS.
    Mar 1, 2003
    10
    Very fun.
  2. StephanieO.
    Jul 30, 2005
    10
    I think that game is very wonderful, it has many things that you could do so if you fail on one event you could try the next. I mean when on a game do you become a car and able to a president!!!!!
  3. T.R.
    May 1, 2003
    10
    one word: Spiffy ;) i like this game very much.
  4. Kyrra
    Jul 23, 2003
    10
    I'm speechless.
  5. KennyM.
    Jun 15, 2004
    10
    All i need to do is the grand prix and volcano course and by the way stamp 99 is meating a alien spaceship.
  6. DavidT.
    Jul 2, 2004
    10
    My 5 and 6 year old won't let me play it as they always want it. Over 100 hours of fun for a tenner and still got things to do. One hell of a game and I can't wait for part 2.
  7. RemcoP.
    Nov 24, 2005
    10
    It is really something else, it is so huge the game leads you in a whole lot of directions really something else
  8. Kyrra
    Jul 23, 2003
    10
    I'm speechless.
  9. Joe
    Apr 21, 2004
    10
    Great game.
  10. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    This game is the racing game of all time. I think everything makes this game amazing. I have played over 200 hours of this game and i haven't gotten bored of it. I've collected all 100 stamps and i became president which took forever but gave me something to do. I love he music and sound in this game. The graphics bring back a simpler and more fun time before video games changed. TheThis game is the racing game of all time. I think everything makes this game amazing. I have played over 200 hours of this game and i haven't gotten bored of it. I've collected all 100 stamps and i became president which took forever but gave me something to do. I love he music and sound in this game. The graphics bring back a simpler and more fun time before video games changed. The cities and cars in this game are truly amazing. Expand
  11. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    o gosh where do i begin this game is pure awsomeness, the racing and adventuring aspect of the game put together into one game...., it proves old games are awsome and and don't be afraid to try something new
  12. Dec 29, 2014
    10
    In my opinion, this game is by far the best game ever to come out for the Playstation 2. The thing is, everything you do in the game is fun, and you never get bored with it. My brothers and I have beaten the game numerous times, and we still never get tired of playing it. Not only that, but even though we are much older, this game is still one of my favorites to play. Would rate 20/10 if I could.
  13. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    This game is forever labeled as one of the best video games ever made for the PlayStation 2, in my perspective. Its customization, racing and overall freedom in an open-world environment makes it a must have for those who love the racing or open-world genre.
  14. May 6, 2012
    10
    unhateable game. Have loved it since i was a little boy 4years old. kept me entertained right to the end. One of my favorite games although some stamps were hard to get like curling or rainbow jump
  15. Feb 8, 2015
    10
    This game is just too amazing for words, it is probably THE BEST game for Playstation 2 in my opinion, and it should really be up there in other people's minds too, the lessons that this game taught me are crazy, for example, Klien and Minerva, an old dumper truck falling in love with a purple sports car on a tropical island. :) nostalgia, oh and I've never got bored of this game, playedThis game is just too amazing for words, it is probably THE BEST game for Playstation 2 in my opinion, and it should really be up there in other people's minds too, the lessons that this game taught me are crazy, for example, Klien and Minerva, an old dumper truck falling in love with a purple sports car on a tropical island. :) nostalgia, oh and I've never got bored of this game, played it through when I was 4-5, and I was the happiest guy in the world when I foud you could rebuy it on the playstation 3 store, I must've become president at least 10 times, and I never got bored, literally hundreds of hours, worth every second :) Expand
  16. May 7, 2015
    10
    Fantastic game loved it ever since i first got it at the age of 4 and still love it to this day. I showed my friends this game and even they love this game. I love this game and the story may be far fetched but its oddly charming. The only problem is the sound as you will mainly hear screeching of your tyres. But still for a game that costs 10 euro. I'm sad not much people know about it.Fantastic game loved it ever since i first got it at the age of 4 and still love it to this day. I showed my friends this game and even they love this game. I love this game and the story may be far fetched but its oddly charming. The only problem is the sound as you will mainly hear screeching of your tyres. But still for a game that costs 10 euro. I'm sad not much people know about it. If you ever see this game its a must buy and you should get it. Expand
  17. JasonW.
    Jul 8, 2003
    9
    There's a lot of stuff to keep you occupied in this game. If you get bored of one thing there are pleanty of other things to hold your interest. Just put on a cd ('cause the music does suck) start the game and kiss the day goodbye.
  18. DavidC.
    Dec 9, 2002
    9
    This game is very fun. I enjoyed playing,upgrading, and customizing my own car, and racing my friend in 2 player mode. Soccer is extremely fun as well as golf. I recommend this game to anyone.
  19. KristenF.
    Jan 4, 2003
    9
    I loved the game...well as much of it as I got to play anyway, for I do not own it, and can't find it anywhere in town. I only give it a 9 since I have only played about 20 hours or so of the game.
  20. Kyrra
    Jul 26, 2003
    9
    I give this game a 9 y? because its awsome besides the fact that i have beet averything except i cannot figure out what stamp 99 is i have no idea how to either plz if you know it e-mail me plz!! i begg of you !!! kittiehasclaws@aol.com my e-mail<<<<< plz help !!! thnx
  21. Sep 14, 2010
    7
    Road Trip Adventure (PAL) is a very nice game to play. The world in Road Trip Adventure is only inhabited by cars which is cool. The main goal is to become the next president of the car world by racing in various races across different areas of the world. Road Trip Adventure is huge and I mean huge: There are towns to visit and you can talk to some of the locals and they may give you a jobRoad Trip Adventure (PAL) is a very nice game to play. The world in Road Trip Adventure is only inhabited by cars which is cool. The main goal is to become the next president of the car world by racing in various races across different areas of the world. Road Trip Adventure is huge and I mean huge: There are towns to visit and you can talk to some of the locals and they may give you a job to do like collect objects scattered across the huge landscape, participate in races and even play some interesting mini games like Football, Golf or Roulette! (Football is the best!) There are a variety of skins to unlock to use which are basically models of real life cars like the Porsche 911 and a Ford GT40 which are nice but these skins don't boost performance. There are some shops that you can visit that enable you to tune your car with, like engines and tyres. The music is OK but it can be annoying sometimes and no matter what car skin you have on or engine installed, the car engine sounds are the same and it can get on your nerves. This review doesn't cover most of the things you can do in the Road Trip Adventure world so go buy it! Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. The weakest portion of Road Trip is the sound. Aside from the screeching of tires on the road and the bubble-gum pop on the car’s radio, there really is little else to listen to.
  2. All in all, Road Trip gives the player exactly what we all cry for over and over again: Depth, Shelf-life and Affordability. This is no $50 three-hour tour that the average player can breeze through and then forget about.
  3. Charming, deep, and astonishingly addictive. [Oct 2002, p.150]