• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Jan 30, 2007
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 61 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 61
  2. Negative: 6 out of 61

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. FaizuddinJ.
    Jun 20, 2006
    10
    This is a very outstanding and unbelievable RPG. The more story goes, the more it will excite your hearts. The gameplay and battle system is definitely comforting and reasonable. Although it combines cell-shaded and graphic texture, it wouldn't cease the value of this game at all.
  2. MatthewB.
    Jan 28, 2010
    3
    Story starts off amazing. Your opinion of that changes 20 hours in, and after completing the 40 hour game you feel like you missed half of it. Combat starts off great. Skill system is interesting and handled in a nice way. 10 hours in, combat devolves to [pause] > [special attack]. 15 hours in, skill revelation system grinds to a halt due to items you have to go back to an earlier planet Story starts off amazing. Your opinion of that changes 20 hours in, and after completing the 40 hour game you feel like you missed half of it. Combat starts off great. Skill system is interesting and handled in a nice way. 10 hours in, combat devolves to [pause] > [special attack]. 15 hours in, skill revelation system grinds to a halt due to items you have to go back to an earlier planet and grind for an hour to retrieve. Characters are interesting though. Differing motivations, personalities, and they play off each other well enough. However, the scenes that make them seem interesting come off as annoying and ill-timed. I'd recommend you rent the game, play it through halfway, return it and imagine the rest. Expand
  3. EBidd
    Jan 16, 2007
    5
    An average RPG. The gameplay is reasonable. The cell-shading reminds me of The Legend of Zelda: Windwaker.
  4. ZachJ.
    Jul 22, 2007
    3
    From the beginning, I really liked this RPG. The battle system was good enough off the start, and the story seemed interesting. However, as I went along, this game just gradually made me start to hate it. Like, absolutely despise it. This game has the worst dialogue out of any RPG I've played. Ever. It's absolutely painful. I mean, if you think that Final Fantasy's stumbles From the beginning, I really liked this RPG. The battle system was good enough off the start, and the story seemed interesting. However, as I went along, this game just gradually made me start to hate it. Like, absolutely despise it. This game has the worst dialogue out of any RPG I've played. Ever. It's absolutely painful. I mean, if you think that Final Fantasy's stumbles along every once in a while, then you have no idea of what depths of crappiness lie in store for you here. The characters seem fake, the writing is terrible, and it sells the entire game short. Jaster is an awful main character, and all of his lines are crappy segues to the next dungeon or action segment. You know his entire personality within two minutes of dialogue from him (which is all of "leik OMG we have to help out people in need, i totalz want adventure, good is good and bad is not good") and he never changes once throughout the entire freaking game. They could've made so much more interesting characters here, but instead they chose to take the easy route and provide mindless filler between the boring dungeon segments. If you don't like anime-styled RPGs, do not get this game. If you don't like having to sit through hours of the worst cutscenes in RPG history, do not get this game. In fact, just don't get this RPG. In the end, it really is not worth it. I really wish I could say more for this game, becuase it had SO much going for it. The battle system is good! Like, really good! Why the hell did they have to muck it up by making the rest of the game terrible? In fact, the graphics, for a console that's successor has been out for almost a year now, are pretty freaking good! Why, Level 5? Why would you ruin what could've been an amazing game? Expand
  5. GiovanniC.
    Jan 9, 2008
    9
    First of all this game is much better than FInal Fantasy XII so I do not understand how it could get a lower score (maybe it lacks the famous name). The graphics are amazing for a PS2. The story is nothing extremely innovative and the speech is not very good but at least the characters are somehow different. The random battles are a lot of fun. I think Level 5 found the right replacement First of all this game is much better than FInal Fantasy XII so I do not understand how it could get a lower score (maybe it lacks the famous name). The graphics are amazing for a PS2. The story is nothing extremely innovative and the speech is not very good but at least the characters are somehow different. The random battles are a lot of fun. I think Level 5 found the right replacement to turn based battles (Learn Square-Enix!) At least here I can attack by pressing a button without having to wait for a stupid blue line to connect the character with a monster. I loved the suggestions from the other party members (even if sometimes they are not optimal). They give you more control on what happens without breaking the action too much. The weapon system is also great. I like the fact that you do not need to get a guide to mix wapons as there are so many combination you will eventually get the best weapons just by trying your own combinations. Besides, the game is forgiving in terms of mistakes so you will not have to reload a saved game just because you messed up a combination. Sidequests are nice and the world is full of clues so you can really solve them alone without downloading a guide. Monster hunting is also fun in this game and does not need the player to meet requirements that are impossible to think of. In the end, Rogue Galaxy is a game I really recommend. Expand
  6. paulA.
    Feb 1, 2007
    8
    First off I despise cell shaded grafics... usually. however, this game is great looking. the gameplay is much better than the auto pilot final fantasy XII battles. some of the other reviewers compare the cell shading to zelda which is a farce. the characters and the environments, although different, mesh well together and are much more detailed oriented than windwaker. overall the game First off I despise cell shaded grafics... usually. however, this game is great looking. the gameplay is much better than the auto pilot final fantasy XII battles. some of the other reviewers compare the cell shading to zelda which is a farce. the characters and the environments, although different, mesh well together and are much more detailed oriented than windwaker. overall the game loses a little in the repetitive battles but if your like rpg's then, lets face it, your used to it by now. Expand
  7. JLongden
    Feb 1, 2007
    9
    An outstanding action RPG. The cel-shading is probably the best that has been done on the PS2 platform, miles beyond LoZ: the WInd Waker, and the voice acting is probably the best that's been presented in an RPG. Gameplay-wise, it's a cross between Level 5's earlier Dark Cloud and S-E's Kingdom Hearts series. The story itself is fairly standard, but the way in which An outstanding action RPG. The cel-shading is probably the best that has been done on the PS2 platform, miles beyond LoZ: the WInd Waker, and the voice acting is probably the best that's been presented in an RPG. Gameplay-wise, it's a cross between Level 5's earlier Dark Cloud and S-E's Kingdom Hearts series. The story itself is fairly standard, but the way in which it's being told moves above the standard. Expand
  8. SteveT.
    Feb 1, 2007
    9
    I am quite impressed with this game so far. The story is engaging, the graphics are stellar (for PS2), the gameplay is fun and challenging. All in all I am more impressed with this game that I was with FFXII. Level 5 studios continues to impress. I can't wait to get home to continue playing and see what further fun and challenges this game holds for me. It is a definite recommend for I am quite impressed with this game so far. The story is engaging, the graphics are stellar (for PS2), the gameplay is fun and challenging. All in all I am more impressed with this game that I was with FFXII. Level 5 studios continues to impress. I can't wait to get home to continue playing and see what further fun and challenges this game holds for me. It is a definite recommend for any RPG fan, especially during the time of year when there are not alot of quality games coming out. Expand
  9. KevinA.
    Oct 1, 2007
    8
    Level 5 always brings out some good titles and this one is no exception. Rogue Galaxy doesn't need to be FF to be great. It just has to be itself. Gameplay is good and stable. Tutorials are always when you need them. It's not heavy RPG, it's light and fresh. One thing I really like about this game and wish more RPGs on the PS2 would do, less load times. As any RPG or JRPG Level 5 always brings out some good titles and this one is no exception. Rogue Galaxy doesn't need to be FF to be great. It just has to be itself. Gameplay is good and stable. Tutorials are always when you need them. It's not heavy RPG, it's light and fresh. One thing I really like about this game and wish more RPGs on the PS2 would do, less load times. As any RPG or JRPG fan will tell you, when you leave a shop or go into a cave/dungoen/forest, you'll see a loading screen. Not in RG, hardly any load times at all between cutscenes and buildings. Characters are entertaining but quite forgettable after you beat it. Voice acting is really good but the writing stinks. Funny thing about it is that the characters don't look like pirates at all but the most pirate-looking character (Zegram) isnt a pirate. Anyway, to make a long story short, this is an good game. Pick this one up ON SALE!!! Expand
  10. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    A fantastic RPG! Great graphics, fun gameplay and plenty of stuff to do. The battle can be a little tedious but this game is definitely worth playing if you like Japanese RPGs (especially FF12 -- this game is very similar).
  11. Mar 5, 2013
    7
    Its has good graphics and the worlds are all well designed. I liked that there are different races with different looks. The story is nothing special but not that bad either.The battle system is action battle system but it ads nothing towards the progression in the game and the characters are lacking in variety. They all have the same attacks and team attacks with the same effect. All inIts has good graphics and the worlds are all well designed. I liked that there are different races with different looks. The story is nothing special but not that bad either.The battle system is action battle system but it ads nothing towards the progression in the game and the characters are lacking in variety. They all have the same attacks and team attacks with the same effect. All in all its a good rpg but not a highlight on the PS2. Collapse
  12. Nov 2, 2013
    8
    Pros: colourful, light-hearted and lively with straightforward gameplay (for a JRPG) that does not punish the player. Save-points and item stores are frequent, bosses are never insurmountable (no need to grind) characters are silly and likeable. Cons: random encounters can get annoying, some dungeons are a little large and repetitive.
  13. Oct 11, 2011
    10
    Fun adventure rpg. The story and combat system I well designed. The combat isn't turned based, its a lot more active and you have to directly attack enemies which makes this game a lot more active than traditional rpgs. The cell shaded graphics are nice touch which makes it look and a lot different from other games. Its definitely worth checking out.
  14. Mar 11, 2012
    8
    Some small annoyances based on getting locked up while the game runs through the motions, the game over screen a definite offender, it only occasionally frustrates, and is mostly an avoidable quirk. The combat is pretty nice, allowing you to actually take an active role in how well the party fairs. The story's mostly pants but that doesn't really bother me at all. Overall, i love it. OneSome small annoyances based on getting locked up while the game runs through the motions, the game over screen a definite offender, it only occasionally frustrates, and is mostly an avoidable quirk. The combat is pretty nice, allowing you to actually take an active role in how well the party fairs. The story's mostly pants but that doesn't really bother me at all. Overall, i love it. One of my personal top 10 for PS2 Expand
  15. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    Never have I seen such a blend of 2 things: Feeling with efficiency. I believe this game is a rare jewel. Much like the best most well-programmed installations of release after release of the lightest and most epic successes out there, Rogue Galaxy fits its name to absolution. Notwithstanding, this game is far beyond the nature of ANY perspective of rather any in-game or individualsNever have I seen such a blend of 2 things: Feeling with efficiency. I believe this game is a rare jewel. Much like the best most well-programmed installations of release after release of the lightest and most epic successes out there, Rogue Galaxy fits its name to absolution. Notwithstanding, this game is far beyond the nature of ANY perspective of rather any in-game or individuals senses. (The con being that you are sort of obligated to be in high-octaveness and measured crashing through side-quests, intelligent strategical choices, etc.) Why did I rate this a 10? Well since I saw the 83 score. That's about IT. For any new-comers to games, this game is a nice primer for the more successful high-octave blasts from the past which is dangerous in stature; yet beautiful at heart. This is a gold mine. (Not talking Vedan here) XD I have finished this game, and I know you will too if you are like me. Anywhere, anybody could (at least in America) get a kick out of this game sooner or later. At worst, cookie cutter bread and butter, at best, Epic nature to a transcendent and majestic extent. Please, go ahead and GO GET IT NAO!!! Expand
  16. Mar 24, 2014
    8
    Colourful, fun, graphical marvel, tons of content, plenty of planets to visit... one of those undiscovered gems. If it had Blitzball I would rate it twice as good as FFX.
  17. Jun 21, 2014
    10
    Rogue Galaxy is one of the brightest shining stars in the RPG universe.

    Pros: Intriguing story that draws you in right from the beginning and which takes on legendary proportions near the end. Exquisite cast of well-thought-out, deep and memorable characters. Engaging real-time hack and slash combat system. Crafty crafting system. Multiple outfits for each character. Gorgeous
    Rogue Galaxy is one of the brightest shining stars in the RPG universe.

    Pros:
    Intriguing story that draws you in right from the beginning and which takes on legendary proportions near the end.
    Exquisite cast of well-thought-out, deep and memorable characters.
    Engaging real-time hack and slash combat system.
    Crafty crafting system.
    Multiple outfits for each character.
    Gorgeous graphics and dazzling cutscenes.
    Elegant soundtrack and impressive voice acting.
    Suprisingly fun and extensive minigame.

    Cons:
    No signs of a sequel.
    Expand
  18. May 27, 2015
    8
    If you were to ask me what is my favorite PS2 Game of all time I would say Rogue Galaxy. Its not a perfect game it has some flaws to it but its still a fun game.

    ~ Story ~ The story focuses on our main hero Jaster Rogue who wants to go to space one day and travel to see and discover other planets. He meets 2 Space Pirates Steve & Simon and from there his adventure begins. He joins
    If you were to ask me what is my favorite PS2 Game of all time I would say Rogue Galaxy. Its not a perfect game it has some flaws to it but its still a fun game.

    ~ Story ~

    The story focuses on our main hero Jaster Rogue who wants to go to space one day and travel to see and discover other planets. He meets 2 Space Pirates Steve & Simon and from there his adventure begins. He joins Dorgengoa's crew and proceeds to take treasures from other planets.

    Overall - The story is not that special in fact its kind of cliche, there are some exciting parts here and there like Jaster going Super Saiyan & other spoilers I don't want to mention. The story is moderate in my opinion not the best story ever nor the worst story ever. I also feel like the characters drive the story a little bit especially Jaster.

    ~ Gameplay ~

    The gameplay is kind of similar to playing a Tales game if you've ever played one.

    Revelation System - In this game you have what is called the Revelation Flow which is a weird but effective system for gaining abilities and stat increases. To use this system you have to get certain items from chests, monsters or through other means and place them on the Revelation Flow Board or Chart[whatever you want to call it] once you put all the necessary items there cha ching a small light bulb appears and you either gain a new Ability or a Stat Increase from there you can move on to other parts on the Board or Chart or Whatever.

    Fighting - Ah there's nothing like pressing the X Button to slash enemies with your sword and feel satisfaction when doing it. Battles occur in real time its not a turn based JRPG and thank god for that. On the screen "Warning' appears and monsters pop up out of nowhere like Heartless do in Kingdom Hearts. Sometimes "Challenge' appears and you will be required to do certain things to obtain Hunter Coins which lets you access certain things in shops and etc. Characters usually have 2 weapons Primary Weapons which are usually Swords, Spears or Axes and Secondary Weapons which are usually Guns, Shuriken or in Kisala's Case its Shoes.

    Action Gauge - While fighting in this game similar to Tales of Graces if you've ever played that. You have the Action Gauge which dictates how much actions you can do before it runs out, it loads back up pretty fast especially if you guarding against monster attacks.

    Abilities - In this game you can use abilities such as Flash Sword which adds lightning to your attacks or Dagger Slash which adds ice to your attacks. You can also use moves like Desert Wind to damage surrounding enemies with a powerful dust tornado, there's also team combination abilities like Hells Gate which sometimes wipes out all enemies in battle. 1of the problems I have with this is that characters should have more effect abilities and another problem I have is that abilities like Desert Wind can make battles feel cheap and way too easy since it can kill all the monsters. Its easy to abuse such abilities, I don't chose to abuse it but others might and probably will but that's just a minor complaint.

    Healing - At 1st when I started playing this game I noticed that you can pause and heal yourself in the battle menu and I thought this is better than Kingdom Hearts. Because in KH you have to heal while fighting which can be difficult at times. However skipping to 2015 I began playing the Tales Games where they limitate your ability to heal and how much items you can use which I thought was genius, it screwed me up in some battles but this is the better way to go. In Rogue Galaxy you can heal as much as you like and item limitation is not that high so the difficulty in this game is very low because you can heal over and over again and not die, this makes the game far too easy when it should be a far more challenging experience.

    Insectron - Basically you catch Pokemon I mean bugs and play a game in Planet Zerard to earn prizes.

    Fusion - Later on in the game you'll get a purple frog who can eat and fuse your weapons.

    Quarries - Hunt Powerful Beasts and get rewards.

    ~ Sound ~

    Everyone talks about Nobuo Uematsu and Yoko Shimomura but what about Tomohito Nishiura. This guy composes amazing music, Dark Cloud 1 had a better Soundtrack of course but Rogue Galaxy still has a pretty good soundtrack.

    Graphics - Very very good for a PS2 Game I'm no expert on graphics though. But I do love the HD Cutscenes that play in some moments in the game like the part when the giant worms were about to eat Jaster alongside the epic music that played with it. Level-5 does not disappoint in this department.

    Overall - I'm filled with nostalgia but I tried not to be too bias with this game. The bad things are the game is too easy, gameplay can get repetitive and I wish there was more Planets. The good things are there's lot's of characters to use, the story is not that bad & there's alot of exploration & side content to do. Despite my complaints I still love this game and I hope you will too.
    Expand
  19. Mar 5, 2013
    0
    Its has good graphics and the worlds are all well designed. I liked that there are different races with different looks. The story is nothing special but not that bad either.The battle system is action battle system but it ads nothing towards the progression in the game and the characters are lacking in variety. They all have the same attacks and team attacks with the same effect. All inIts has good graphics and the worlds are all well designed. I liked that there are different races with different looks. The story is nothing special but not that bad either.The battle system is action battle system but it ads nothing towards the progression in the game and the characters are lacking in variety. They all have the same attacks and team attacks with the same effect. All in all its a good rpg but not a highlight on the PS2. Collapse
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. This is undeniably still a good, enjoyable and very pretty game. Nevertheless, at this time, from this developer, Eurogamer won't be alone in mourning the fact it's not nearer a perfect, staggering and beautiful one instead.
  2. Grinding out levels and looking for items is rarely this rewarding, and it’s obvious that Level 5 knows the depths of the role-player's mind all too well. Now if they could just hire a good writer.
  3. An RPG made for traditional fans of the genre. With a solid story, vivid and likeable characters, a vast, interesting world, and fun gameplay, Rogue Galaxy is simply a must-have for RPG fans.