• Publisher: Koei
  • Release Date: Jun 21, 2005
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Remarkable design. [Sept 2005, p.86]
  2. Don’t let the dated visuals fool you here - this game is as deep and engaging as they come.
  3. The best it's ever been. [July 2005, p.120]
  4. 74
    This latest RTK game is the best yet, but the franchise long ago subscribed to the Madden philosophy- incremental changes to what is essentially the same game year after year.
  5. Doesn't do much to mark the occasion, but it still offers the same esoteric war strategy experience that keeps dedicated fans coming back time and time again.
  6. The game would’ve benefited from a few more obvious enhancements, but it is still extremely easy to be captivated by the enthralling storyline and engaging strategy experience.
  7. Fighting battles, debating policy, dueling, and expanding an empire with an endless series of menus does have its charms. [July 2005, p.75]
  8. 70
    Even with its conservative mechanics, bland graphics, and user-unfriendly interface, the sheer depth of the game will still appeal to the faithful who've persevered for nine sequels - however few they may be. [July 2005, p.98]
  9. 70
    It's a polished, evolved, and strangely addictive game. Sure, it's looking a bit rough and never gives you the visceral thrill that charging through the battlefield in the "Dynasty Warriors" games offers. Of course, some of us have discovered the more cerebral joys of managing troops from the background.
  10. It's undeniably cool to participate in shaping history, but not everyone will have the patience to conquer China. [Sept 2005, p.75]
  11. There is so much detail to Romance of the Three Kingdoms X that it has to be seen to be understood. It's a very deep, involved gaming experience that can absorb hours before you know it.
  12. Somewhere underneath the unfriendly interface, there's a worthwhile game for the hard-core strategy game fanatic. But as a newcomer, I found it too obscure and frustrating to be enjoyable.
  13. R3KX, with its lack of real challenge, story, or presentation values, is just not in any way a memorable game. Koei is capable of much better, as "Dynasty Warriors" and their upcoming PC title "Uncharted Waters" attests to.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. WalterR.
    Apr 18, 2006
    9
    Solid and addictive. Stick with it and you'll love it.
  2. StefStef
    Jan 17, 2006
    10
    This game is the most complex and strategic that i have ever seen. Sure the interface is difficult to grasp at first, but that's why This game is the most complex and strategic that i have ever seen. Sure the interface is difficult to grasp at first, but that's why there are tutorial to explain everything the first time you go somewhere. You can do a lot of things depending on your style. I remark that those who gave it low grade all says they don't understand the game. Maybe they didn't try very hard because if they had, they would still be playing like mad! This game is far more addictive than any Civilization game for the pc. It's even more addictive than Master of Orion. But you do have to use your brain to remember a lot of things so for those who don't like to use their brains in a game, don't bother with this one. Full Review »
  3. KavveenK.
    Jul 28, 2005
    10
    I simply love this game. All these day I hated the previous versions but this has really changed my taste!!!! All theaks to R0T3KX. II simply love this game. All these day I hated the previous versions but this has really changed my taste!!!! All theaks to R0T3KX. I specially love the sword combos...Literally above 1000 combos each person and it is never repeated.....I really love this game. Full Review »