Rugby PlayStation 2

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 41
  2. Negative: 6 out of 41
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. StuM.
    Mar 23, 2003
    10
    Exellent. if u love rugby. best game out!!!!!!! WICKED!!!
  2. JOEJ.
    Aug 21, 2003
    10
    Union is great.
  3. HarryK.
    Jan 15, 2002
    10
    It is hella cool...australia r the best.
  4. EddB.
    Jan 23, 2002
    10
    Brilliant. Simply Brilliant.
  5. RichardH.
    Dec 18, 2001
    10
    this game is a great. It is fun to play with many different tournaments. I recommend this to everyone
  6. MattJ.
    Nov 25, 2002
    10
    Ohhhh yeah.
  7. Justin
    Mar 9, 2002
    10
    Rugby is a lot better than Football, less stoppage of play and no wimpy pads to protect girly-boys who complain about their salaries.
  8. Don
    Dec 12, 2001
    10
    Great.
  9. Michael"Mongo"Lloyd
    Jan 28, 2002
    10
    The only draw back is my wife won't let me wear my boots in the house.
  10. JasonC.
    Mar 5, 2002
    9
    I am a big Fan of Rugby. From Jono Rugby, on PS1. I went and bought a PS2 to play Rugby 2002. This game needs to be practiced and played by two players, to really enjoy the most out of it. The detail and play ability is excellent, and I would recommend this game to any person loving a good contest between two People.
  11. AndrewH.
    Nov 3, 2001
    9
    This game is brilliant for any rugby fan. It has it all - the excitement and the reality of the major game. Just play it to find out how good it is!!
  12. Bmozz
    Feb 23, 2003
    9
    WICKED. Only lacking sevens and super 12. Hope to see a good EA World Cup 03 game. NRL is sh&t it is only played in Oz no other country takes it serious. Rugby Union is a true international sport.
  13. EllieS.
    Apr 2, 2002
    8
    It's ok.
  14. JamesH.
    Jan 24, 2002
    8
    Great for any rugby fan, league or union. NEEDS MORE COMPETIONS & SPECIAL MATCHES eg Lions, barbarianas, super 12. But still one great game!!
  15. M.P.
    Jul 15, 2002
    8
    Good Game but needs super 12 as well. NRL would make a sh*t game. All they do is run then stop, then run then stop again. Only two states in Australia would buy it, possibly some Victorians. Bring on AFL!!! (go the Eagles)
  16. NathanT.
    Nov 16, 2003
    8
    The game is alright> the bad points i would say are: lack of game modes witch makes it a bit boaring for some users. The graphics look really bad. Not a good game for people who don't know the rules to rugby. Good points would be: It's 1000 times better than rugby 2004. It fetures all of the teams and over 500 different players. People who are real rugby fans will enjoy this The game is alright> the bad points i would say are: lack of game modes witch makes it a bit boaring for some users. The graphics look really bad. Not a good game for people who don't know the rules to rugby. Good points would be: It's 1000 times better than rugby 2004. It fetures all of the teams and over 500 different players. People who are real rugby fans will enjoy this game over looking the poor grapics and lack of gaming modes. over all it's a pretty good game. This is a definite for rugby fans. Expand
  17. DougieB.
    Feb 25, 2004
    8
    I think that it is a very exciting game and i can't wait till the next 1 comes out.
  18. [Anonymous]
    May 15, 2002
    7
    I'm rating plain old rugby its an ok game but it needs more tournaments like the shute shield super12 hongkongsevens and the aussies vs lions. The only tournamunts its got is worldcup tri nations and v1nations make rugby 2003 with all the things i asked.
  19. SimonH.
    Aug 7, 2002
    7
    As a rugby player I found the game a real buzz. Could do with a few more EA add ons such as player create etc.. Overall worth a play.
  20. Ty
    Mar 14, 2002
    7
    Great game but it's not competitive enough once you mastered beating the Aussies and England. It needs more tournaments too. It lacks the Super 12 and the UK leagues. Its still fun to play but it could use some improvement. Now lets hope for Rugby League 2003. Cheers
  21. L.G.
    Oct 25, 2003
    6
    Not great, but, unfortunate as it may be, WAY better than Rugby 2004. Still a fun game to play for awhile, its moron AI and lack of modes will have you looking elsewhere pretty quickly, however. Not that there is elsewhere to look, given that Rugby 2004 is such a horribly disappointing release.
  22. BarryM.
    Jan 3, 2002
    5
    Needs more competions eg. Lions, world 15 and club. Good game play.
  23. DaveP.
    Jul 14, 2002
    5
    This game is good but it lacks compitition once you win the world cup, tri-nations etc thats it. It needs more like statistic keeping etc top try scorer, create player & team mode, super 12, sevens and special teams eg. Lions, Babarians. Otherwise make an NRL game.(National Rugby League) Proberbly everyone in NZ & OZ will buy it.
  24. EmilevanZ.
    Aug 12, 2002
    3
    Its a cool game but it would be alot better if it had the super 12 and other leagues because you can play many more teams than international.
  25. JoeJ.
    Feb 11, 2003
    3
    Its just crab, this game is so suck and its just suck so much that I wonder why would it come out!

Awards & Rankings

79
22
#22 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2001
66
#66 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2001
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    70
    Once you’ve mastered the somewhat quirky camera zooms and the rules of the sport, EA’s Rugby becomes an enjoyable experience. [Sept 2001, p.145]
  2. The game play is very solid. The game is very fluid as you make a string of passes to the left and right to get over the try line for a "try". The kicking game is also very well done...If you are not knowledgeable about Rugby, do not buy this game!!!
  3. 73
    The strategy gets quite deep, and the team play is totally engaging once you get the hand of it.