Scooby-Doo! Night of 100 Frights PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: May 20, 2002
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 24, 2016
    10
    Scooby-Doo was the main focus of my entire life until I was 8. I loved it so much I would think about it at all times, I just wanted to live in the show's universe. My dad surprised me by buying a PS2 in 2005 and my sister and I were allowed to go choose our very own video game. At the store that I went into my eye immediately caught Night of 100 Frights, for I had played it at a friendsScooby-Doo was the main focus of my entire life until I was 8. I loved it so much I would think about it at all times, I just wanted to live in the show's universe. My dad surprised me by buying a PS2 in 2005 and my sister and I were allowed to go choose our very own video game. At the store that I went into my eye immediately caught Night of 100 Frights, for I had played it at a friends house a year earlier and it was the first 3D platformer I had ever seen as the only games I had played before were 2D Scooby games on my Gameboy Advance SP, and educational games on my school's PC. I brought it home and it cemented itself as my favorite game of all time, even to this day. As a fan of the show, it masters everything. The music composed for the game doesnt appear in any of the show's episodes but it should, as it sounds so inherently Scooby and perfect that I would buy a soundtrack album to this game if it existed. The graphics were phenomenal for a game made in 2002, and the only issue is that the camera angle is fixed and can be disorienting, and the load times between every room become repetitive. The art and theme of each level is straight out of 1969 and captures the mystery and eeriness of the original show beautifully. The variety to the levels is huge, there are hedge mazes, caves, shipwrecks, dungeons, graveyards, and the largest mansion ever to be built with a Super Secret Lab underneath. The voice acting is awesome, somehow the crew convinced the legendary Don Knotts to make his only video game appearance ever, and he does it fantastically-appearing at random times in impossible locations with hilariously kooky comments. The variety of fan-favorite enemies is large, and the boss fights even have their own songs created specifically for the game! The difficulty is high for a game designed for children, and the game does not hold your hand and tell you where to go which was brutal for my 7 year old self, but increased the playtime drastically as I had never really played videogames before and discovering everything in this huge world took about a year as I was only allowed to play for a limited amount of time on weekends. I thought I would never finish the game, but it does have an ending unfortunately. It has a pretty good plot that always had me guessing who would disappear next. Did I mention Tim Curry voices the main antagonist-The Mastermind? Yes he does! Buy this game now and play it, I will treasure this forever as it was the game that began my love of video games, and is so lovingly accurate to the show. Cannot recommend enough, also check out Battle for Bikini Bottom by the same studio, it does exactly to Spongebob what this did for Scooby Doo. Heavy Iron cannot do wrong. Expand
  2. Jan 25, 2016
    9
    Chopped Liver! Where to begin with this extraordinary game. There is nothing quite like the experience of this masterpiece, from the groovy music to the wonderful art style and settings. Each level is completely unique from the last and the difficulty is just right to give a fun experience for both the little kids and a challenge for more serious gamers. A must play for any gamer who wantsChopped Liver! Where to begin with this extraordinary game. There is nothing quite like the experience of this masterpiece, from the groovy music to the wonderful art style and settings. Each level is completely unique from the last and the difficulty is just right to give a fun experience for both the little kids and a challenge for more serious gamers. A must play for any gamer who wants a unique experience they will always remember. Just remember to stay on that lawn mower! Expand
  3. Apr 30, 2011
    4
    Night of 100 Frights is so hideously produced that you'll be laughing more than the laugh track, except you'll be laughing at it. Pros: Impressive graphics; stays true to the TV series; it has an integrated laugh track! Cons: Dull gameplay; poor controls; it's way too easy for experienced gamers.
  4. KRISTIHODGE
    Aug 11, 2002
    9
    I ENJOY PLAYING THIS GAME JUST AS MUCH AS MY 4 YEAR OLD! THE ONLY TROUBLE WE ARE HAVING, IS REACHING THE LAST WARP GATE OF THE GAME. MY SON HAS SOLVED 94% OF THE GAME. I JUST WISH WE COULD FINISH IT. I AM TRULY AMAZED WITH THE GRAPHICS. WELL WORTH THE 40.00 THAT I PAID FOR THE GAME.
  5. DaveNightmare
    Feb 7, 2005
    10
    This game is outstanding. Childish and immature. Just like me. It rocks.
  6. SBSpence
    Jul 16, 2002
    8
    This a solid platform game with that extra special "hook" ESPECIALLY if your a big time Scooby fan! The graphics are as close to a 10 as a platform game can get! The unneeded difficulty on couple of the levels, and the HORRIBLE camera controls are the only negaive on this otherwise stellar title. This one is pure camp...and is a keeper! :)
  7. Feb 19, 2011
    6
    Scooby Doo! Night of 100 Frights falls short of a good game because of poor plat forming, the story is painfully dull, and having to revisit areas just to find some equipment is pretty boring but necessary, the best part of this game is admittedly the puzzles and Scooby's charm, but even with all the flaws for some reason I still had some fun with this game, but it's not one I couldScooby Doo! Night of 100 Frights falls short of a good game because of poor plat forming, the story is painfully dull, and having to revisit areas just to find some equipment is pretty boring but necessary, the best part of this game is admittedly the puzzles and Scooby's charm, but even with all the flaws for some reason I still had some fun with this game, but it's not one I could recommend, you may want to try this game but know what your getting into. Expand
  8. Jun 23, 2016
    7
    Interesting game. Pretty good because the story was funny and engaging which really reflected on the childish comedic value of the franchise - the graphics were also very impressive for the time the game was produced. But it was also pretty annoying because of the poor camera angle and very formulaic gameplay. Decent game, had some laughs but as it was a platform game, it fell short in aInteresting game. Pretty good because the story was funny and engaging which really reflected on the childish comedic value of the franchise - the graphics were also very impressive for the time the game was produced. But it was also pretty annoying because of the poor camera angle and very formulaic gameplay. Decent game, had some laughs but as it was a platform game, it fell short in a fair number of key areas associated with the genre. Expand
  9. Jun 10, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It has too be one of my favorite Play Station 2 games, it delivers an experience not unlike the show, it is funny and its dark lighting perfectly mimic the feel of the Hanna-Barbera cartoon. Expand
  10. Apr 4, 2017
    9
    This game is so nostalgic and many years later still holds up and a great game. Great bosses, fun powerups, fun level design, fun combat and controls and story is fun to.

Awards & Rankings

#88 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
#63 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. The only downside to Night Of 100 Frights is the sheer lack of originality and so-so difficulty level.
  2. 70
    If you’re looking for an adventure game with familiar characters, some pretty funny jokes, and a laugh track, well, there’s just no where else to turn.
  3. One of those rarities that lives up to the spirit of its subject matter while also dishing out a reasonably decent gameplay experience.