• Publisher: Midway
  • Release Date: Sep 27, 2004
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. Shadow Hearts is not a short game by any means, as it will take normal gamers anywhere from thirty to forty hours to complete.
  2. As far as sequels go, Shadow Hearts: Covenant gets everything right by improving upon nearly everything. As far as RPGs go, the quality of the game is obvious.
  3. Quite honestly, it doesn't have anything on the pioneering Dark Chronicle or the flawless Final Fantasy VII, but then you'd have to do something pretty special to outdo those two.
  4. Even if disk two is useful only as a coaster for your role-playing coffee mug, Shadow Hearts: Covenant will still give you thirty hours of fantastic gameplay. That, in my opinion, is worth paying for.
  5. The voice acting in the game is downright awful - especially painful after hearing the excellent voice acting in "Tales of Symphonia."
  6. A rock-solid Role-Playing Game with a moving story, believable characters, and loads of great humor that keep it from dragging you down...Hands-down the definitive role-playing experience for the PlayStation 2.
  7. A lengthy, two-disc tale with all the sidequesting most people could ever want, Shadow Hearts: Covenant took me nearly 40 hours start to finish. And yet, after all that I still wanted to keep playing, yet another sign of greatness.
  8. Not only is it the best RPG I’ve played this year; it is a serious contender for Game of the Year in my opinion.
  9. I haven’t played an RPG this good since "Dark Cloud 2." It’s so polished and ingenious that it’s a wonder that Midway hasn’t put more marketing muscle behind it. Make no mistake, this is the best RPG to come out this year and may very well be the best RPG to come out for quite some time.
  10. All I can say is WOW! This game is amazing! Shadow Hearts: Covenant is in my opinion one of the best RPG to hit the scene this year.
  11. It just works; it combines a challenging combat system with likeable characters and a unique setting to create a truly excellent game. Covenant is easily a contender for the title of best RPG on the PS2.
  12. 93
    It's been a long time since I've played an RPG this engrossing in terms of story and yet was still fun to play after 35+ hours. Shadow Hearts: Covenant is one of those rare games that you simply don't want to end.
  13. An exceedingly enjoyable RPG that’s both captivating and addictive enough to keep fans of the genre more than satisfied.
  14. Offers a nice twist on the role-playing genre, blending a fascinating and darkly brooding plot with the occasional and very bizarre dark humor while throwing in an interesting twist to the genre’s weakest point –fighting.
  15. 91
    I had just experienced one of the best role-playing games this year...The battle system is great, the characters are awesome, the storyline is among the best of the year, and the presentation is top-notch.
  16. Easily one of the most refreshingly original adventures to grace the PS2 to date. Elements conspire to create a well-rounded and enjoyable gaming experience that will keep you entertained for all of its 40-odd hours and aside from the odd annoying section (being forced to use underpowered characters early in the second disc, for instance), there really isn't anything stopping this being one of the best RPGs due out this year.
  17. Even if you don't explore all the nooks and crannies, Shadow Hearts: Covenant is a great game that any fan of the role-playing genre would likely enjoy; its style, its humor, and its well-crafted battle system set it apart in a world of "Final Fantasy" clones.
  18. Both innovative and at times odd, Shadow Hearts: Covenant is a treat for RPG fans looking for something a little different than all of the RPG clones out there.
  19. The game features spectacular presentation, including some of the most memorable music to come along in an RPG in ages.
  20. Along with "Star Ocean," "Kingdom Hearts" and "Dark Chronicle," this is one of the few RPGs that dares to throw away the Final Fantasy blueprint, with great results. [PSM2]
  21. Covenant is such an interesting mix of old-world immersion, nice plot twists, layered (and super-quirky) characters, and rewarding combat. [Oct 2004, p.132]
  22. 80
    It's a nifty twist on the traditional RPG in both its battle engine and the offbeat nuances of its plot. The pacing could have been a touch faster, but it's a small gripe in the grand scheme of things.
  23. 80
    If you think you might be an RPG fan, this is definitely one to grab.
  24. 70
    A game whose lack of originality is matched only by its abundance of... well, pretty much everything else.
  25. 60
    It's a LONG role-playing game, but that's not necessarily a good quality when it becomes more of a chore than a hobby.
  26. There's not much that's revolutionary, but the compelling story, nutty characters and lack of pretentiousness and convoluted game-play elements make this a worthwhile addition.
  27. 90
    With splendid visuals, new fighting innovations, and a snappy sense of humor that anyone can comprehend, Shadow Hearts: Covenant dazzles you every step of the way. [Nov 2004, p.156]
  28. The judgment ring makes even buying herbs at the shop entertaining, and the linear story jazzed up with a number of side-quests will keep your interest throughout.
  29. 80
    It's balanced to near-perfection, and manages to pack very few slow moments into a few dozen hours of gameplay. Sure, it's not a Square-Enix title, but you'll be surprised at just how good this game is.
  30. It's really a no-brainer for RPG fans even with the genre being so crowded this season. Personally, I put Shadow Hearts Covenant in my top three RPGs this generation.
  31. It’s funny, bizarre and, at times, downright filthy, precisely the kinds of things I look for in my Japanese games. Unfortunately, it’s got other things I'm not so crazy about, like few sub-quests, constant random battles and excessive loading. But if you like your games sexy, this might be the perfect match.
  32. 8 / 8 / 9 / 7 - 32 gold [Vol 793; 27 Feb 2004]
  33. Ridiculously good. With a stacked roster of fun personalities, a wicked sense of humor that never lets up, and a vast, captivating quest, the words "epic" and "engaging" don't really do this one justice. [Nov 2004, p.78]
  34. Yet again the Shadow Hearts series delivers, and really you’d be a fool not to try out this original and captivating series. As for now this is the finest RPG on the Playstation 2.
  35. The gameplay is what will make or break Covenant for you; to be honest, it's nothing new. But the game is so chock-full of clever little intertwined ideas that you won't mind. [Nov 2004, p.126]
  36. You’ll see and hear a lot of things your senses weren’t prepared for and revisiting a more traditional RPG afterwards is like walking out after an all-night party and going straight to the local library... A wonderfully pleasant and refreshing surprise. [March 2005, p.112]
  37. It’s old-school and traditional, but has gameplay depth unique to it, and a wicked sense of humor that will keep you going without fear of falling into the melodrama trap.
  38. Only the best elements have been preserved and put to good use to continue the series. Covenant gives us great characters, a unique and fun to use combat system and a storyline that takes on a life of its own.
  39. Covenant’s quirky charm, nifty battle system and likeable characters comprise a noteworthy RPG and its strange yet satisfying story sets it apart from other, similar RPG titles.
  40. 90
    Its style is like no other, and the mechanics behind battles are rock solid.
  41. 90
    It is unique, addictive, funny, well-written, and above all, memorable.
  42. 90
    It features everything that makes a great RPG great, and offers a lot more that many don't. Shadow Hearts: Covenant is one of the unexpected surprises of the year.
  43. The judgement ring fighting system and the semi-realistic surroundings are the major high points. [Apr. 05]
  44. Had the comedy not fallen so flat and completely undermined what is otherwise a great story to follow, I seriously would have considered this as a personal RPG of the Year contender for last year seeing that the gameplay is just as fun as any RPG that came out in 2004.
  45. It has a great sense of humor - but it handles the serious stuff with equal panache. [Nov 2004, p.144]
  46. Saves itself from mediocrity through sheer force of its oddity. I honestly don't know what to expect next from Nautilus. [Nov 2004, p.138]
  47. The game’s unique style, off-beat humour and memorable characters give it enough strength to rise above the bland Final Fantasy –clones and stand on its own merits. [May 2005, p.73]
  48. Luckily, the adventure and the Judgment Ring aspect of combat lend themselves to a quality title that's sure to be a nice change of pace for those who love Final Fantasy.
  49. An eclectic, distinctly Japanese RPG mix that takes us to a place just beyond the fringes of our reality. [Oct 2004, p.72]
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. WalterN.
    Jan 3, 2007
    10
    Simply the best RPG I've played. The FMVs and the story is near unmatched by most of today's new animes on all consoles. The Simply the best RPG I've played. The FMVs and the story is near unmatched by most of today's new animes on all consoles. The gameplay is also very unique. Xenogears still remains the best ever. Full Review »
  2. KatyG.
    Feb 14, 2006
    10
    Awsome!I love it! I am trying to fight the jellyfish thing so I can get the book thing. But this game is just cool!
  3. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    One of my favorite RPGs of all time. Story is great. Wide range of characters. I don't believe I've ever enjoyed a story so much. TheyOne of my favorite RPGs of all time. Story is great. Wide range of characters. I don't believe I've ever enjoyed a story so much. They added quite a bit of comedy with some characters. Battle system is more than just clicking through menus. Makes the battle system engaging and entertaining. There are options to increase or decrease some functions of the battle system for those who want more or less of a challenge. Monster design in the Shadow Hearts games are amazing. Creepy monsters all with lore. Plenty of side quests, and difficult battles for completionists. Full Review »