• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Shadow Hearts: Covenant Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: (Also known as "Shadow Hearts II" in Japan) The story unfolds via amazingly detailed cutscenes which bring the enthralling and complex characters, powerful battle sequences and unique gameplay to life. Shadow Hearts: Covenant also brings back the innovative combat system, the Judgment Ring, which not only allows players to choose which characters to bring to battle, but also determines the final outcome of the battle based on the players' speed and accuracy. New to the Shadow Hearts sequel, are enhancements to the Judgment Ring which allow team-based combo attacks. Set during World War I in a fantastical world of magic and creatures, the game takes place six months after the original Shadow Hearts ended. Yuri, the main character is back, and he embarks on a new expedition with friends Gepetto, a puppet master, and Kallen, a German female soldier. Yuri's morphing abilities have been weakened because he has been cursed by Nicholas, a member of a secret society taking advantage of the war to fulfill their evil ambitions of ruling the world. Yuri and his companions must journey to find a cure for his curse and defeat the malevolent cult. [Midway] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. Ridiculously good. With a stacked roster of fun personalities, a wicked sense of humor that never lets up, and a vast, captivating quest, the words "epic" and "engaging" don't really do this one justice. [Nov 2004, p.78]
  2. It just works; it combines a challenging combat system with likeable characters and a unique setting to create a truly excellent game. Covenant is easily a contender for the title of best RPG on the PS2.
  3. It's really a no-brainer for RPG fans even with the genre being so crowded this season. Personally, I put Shadow Hearts Covenant in my top three RPGs this generation.
  4. Had the comedy not fallen so flat and completely undermined what is otherwise a great story to follow, I seriously would have considered this as a personal RPG of the Year contender for last year seeing that the gameplay is just as fun as any RPG that came out in 2004.
  5. 8 / 8 / 9 / 7 - 32 gold [Vol 793; 27 Feb 2004]
  6. Covenant is such an interesting mix of old-world immersion, nice plot twists, layered (and super-quirky) characters, and rewarding combat. [Oct 2004, p.132]
  7. 60
    It's a LONG role-playing game, but that's not necessarily a good quality when it becomes more of a chore than a hobby.

See all 49 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    One of my favorite RPGs of all time. Story is great. Wide range of characters. I don't believe I've ever enjoyed a story so much. They added quite a bit of comedy with some characters. Battle system is more than just clicking through menus. Makes the battle system engaging and entertaining. There are options to increase or decrease some functions of the battle system for those who want more or less of a challenge. Monster design in the Shadow Hearts games are amazing. Creepy monsters all with lore. Plenty of side quests, and difficult battles for completionists. Expand
  2. Aug 18, 2012
    10
    This is an excellent role-playing game! Never has a game made me laugh and cry so much!! SHC is the total package. It has a compelling story with the perfect balance of funny and lighthearted to dark and mature. The characters are so endearing and funny, especially Joachim XD. The combat is also creative and fun! I can keep going on about how excellent this game is, but you'll need to see it to believe. SHC is the best RPG for the PS2 since Final Fantasy X!! Expand
  3. Oct 4, 2012
    10
    Gems like these presents the ultimate jrpg experience, the combat system is unique just as much as the story telling. The atmosphere present in the game is unparalleled. Collapse
  4. Dec 13, 2012
    9
    It took everything that made the first game great and made it better. While in principle it play very similarly to the first game not really adding too much new, that isn't a bad thing. The first game was fantastic so why change the formula. But the real star here is the narrative. The story is utterly gripping. Yuri's journey is really touching and dark (to be honest I nearly wanted to cry by the end.) The rest of the companion characters are unique with fully flushed out characters (Joachim is just a laugh a minute.) The story and atmosphere aren't as dark as the first game but do have more depth and drama. If I had to mention one critique, it is that the relationship between Yuri & Karin plays out in a VERY similar way as Cloud & Tifa's from Final Fantasy 7. Again this isn't really bad, just noticeable. Overall: A terrific RPG that is just as good as the first one, if not better. Expand
  5. Mar 7, 2013
    8
    I liked the battle system, the characters and the humour but SH Covenant pus new things to the SH Story, which just donĀ“t fit. It was also way to easy, probably the easiest game that I ever experienced. But it is still a good RPG with some memorable events. Expand
  6. Apr 21, 2013
    5
    This game starts out with really boring military cutscenes. The game doesn't get going very quickly. Japanese anime characters are out of place in WW1. The gameplay is basically a golf-like reaction system, but a bit harder. If you are old or feeling slow you won't be able to play this. It makes sitting down to play on a lazy afternoon an impossible annoyance. The interesting characterization just isn't there, as typical as later Japanese RPG games. This is why Midway went into bankruptcy. Not fun. Expand

See all 21 User Reviews