Shadow of the Colossus PlayStation 2

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 993 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 57 out of 993
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Miroslav
    Mar 7, 2006
    10
    The must amazing thing in this game is the movment of horse as it sounds so real!! And also the amzing vew of giant colossus... Its great game.
  2. KyleH.
    Oct 22, 2005
    10
    Prepare to be stunned. This game is a must buy for anyone who has ever played a video game. Shadow of Colossus is a gaming masterpiece, artfully stitched together for an overall breathe taking experience. The vastness of the land and the fluidity of the camera play this game off just like a movie. Don't expect any filler or half-thought out side quests, because this game has none. Prepare to be stunned. This game is a must buy for anyone who has ever played a video game. Shadow of Colossus is a gaming masterpiece, artfully stitched together for an overall breathe taking experience. The vastness of the land and the fluidity of the camera play this game off just like a movie. Don't expect any filler or half-thought out side quests, because this game has none. The entire focus is on the main story-line. Minimalists be praised for this game is a life-changing experience. Expand
  3. Alex
    Jan 30, 2007
    10
    I don't know exactly what it is about this game that is so riveting, it just is. This is definetly worth your time even if your an RPG or sports game fan.
  4. ben
    Dec 7, 2005
    10
    If ICO is anything to go by then shadow of the Colossus being the prequal is a great addition to the story. i love the fact that you have a sword a horse and you, no more looking for that +24 night elf dragon salying sword hilt with the +56 earth armour crap, this is straight and simple game play and i love it. its a shame that this game will fall into the cult status and only played byIf ICO is anything to go by then shadow of the Colossus being the prequal is a great addition to the story. i love the fact that you have a sword a horse and you, no more looking for that +24 night elf dragon salying sword hilt with the +56 earth armour crap, this is straight and simple game play and i love it. its a shame that this game will fall into the cult status and only played by those people who love games, all you NFS MGS FFXI JACK AND DAXTER people forget this and go and buy your next NFS game and for the rest of us savour these moments beause they are few and far between. Expand
  5. CoreyD.
    Oct 20, 2005
    10
    Have only played 5 hours, but there's nothing it can do later on to recieve anything less than a 10.
  6. ChubbyWookie
    Oct 30, 2005
    10
    This is truly what "next-gen" gaming should have been about. Instead of just making the same old games "prettier", this game creates something that cannot be explained - it simply MUST be experienced. It is without a doubt the greatest game I have ever played - this is the one by which all other games should be judged.
  7. Lemonyama
    Jan 11, 2006
    10
    Anybody who is too immature, too ignorant or too closed minded to take time to appreciate real digital art will not get this game. If you find the journeys to reach the colussi boring then its only because you are a boring person. Scores out of 10 are thus meaningless depending on what sort of a person you are. My advice - if you want to experience a truely immersive world and fathom at Anybody who is too immature, too ignorant or too closed minded to take time to appreciate real digital art will not get this game. If you find the journeys to reach the colussi boring then its only because you are a boring person. Scores out of 10 are thus meaningless depending on what sort of a person you are. My advice - if you want to experience a truely immersive world and fathom at the originality of this title then its a must buy. Expand
  8. CraigT.
    Feb 21, 2006
    10
    An experience with real heart and soul! I think this and Ico are the 2 best games I've ever had the pleasure of playing, the graphics take your breath away and the Fights with the Colossi are truly Jaw dropping! A unique treat!
  9. Hoover54
    Feb 22, 2006
    10
    Alongside its predecessor ICO, one of the most original and beautiful games ever created on any platform. Very rarely do you get to experience games which draw you into the action so completely. Production design, character animation, music/fx, and gameplay all top drawer. Only flaws are the camera which can be a bit skittish and the story which errs on the vague and empty. Definitely up Alongside its predecessor ICO, one of the most original and beautiful games ever created on any platform. Very rarely do you get to experience games which draw you into the action so completely. Production design, character animation, music/fx, and gameplay all top drawer. Only flaws are the camera which can be a bit skittish and the story which errs on the vague and empty. Definitely up there with RE4 for game of the year - beats HL2 in immersive gameplay experience hands down. Expand
  10. TomásM.
    Mar 22, 2006
    10
    Times online shame on you! Shadow is the best gaming experience I ever had. At the ending scene of the game I´ve found myself crying in front of the tv. This game goes beyond every concept. Just unforgettable.
  11. JohanS.
    Mar 30, 2006
    10
    One of the best ps2 game ever.
  12. Nikki
    Mar 5, 2006
    10
    Shadwo of teh Colossus is on of the best games I ever played! The graphics are asome and the colossi are so well put in with the stroy! No game can ever compete with this!
  13. KateH.
    Jul 14, 2006
    10
    A artistic masterpiece in its own right. The graphics are georgous, with the "world" being one massive level with no loading screens. The fights with the magnificantly detailed colossus are tense and breath taking and there's always the wonder of what you're facing next. As for the controls, everyone seems to forget that you're controlling a horse, not some automatic car, A artistic masterpiece in its own right. The graphics are georgous, with the "world" being one massive level with no loading screens. The fights with the magnificantly detailed colossus are tense and breath taking and there's always the wonder of what you're facing next. As for the controls, everyone seems to forget that you're controlling a horse, not some automatic car, ride a horse in real life and find out how easy it is to control!. The horse moves its head and body just like a real equine, I galloped around it circles for a while, amazed at the way it moved. Possibly the strongest element of the game is the score. The music is exhilerating and heartbreakingly beautiful throughout the game, right up until the emotion filled ending. It's a must buy for anyone who can appreciate games that aren't all about guns and gore. After you've immersed yourself in Shadow of the colossus, you'll wonder why there aren't more games out there like this. A drop of pure light amongst the raging violence of the videogaming world. Expand
  14. RobC.
    Jul 30, 2007
    10
    This is what dreams are made of. No game compares to how spectaculor this is and the power, plus emotion behind this game really is amazing.
  15. ZigguratB.
    Mar 17, 2008
    10
    This game is simply a pure masterpeice. The battles, the monsters, the story and the music trult give it the feel and an epic adventure. Though the true beauty lies in the feeling of icolation one feels when playing the game. I mean, everything is quite unless you are fighing. All that can really be heard are the galloping feet of the horse and the call of the hawks in the sky. Truly a This game is simply a pure masterpeice. The battles, the monsters, the story and the music trult give it the feel and an epic adventure. Though the true beauty lies in the feeling of icolation one feels when playing the game. I mean, everything is quite unless you are fighing. All that can really be heard are the galloping feet of the horse and the call of the hawks in the sky. Truly a game like this becomes more than a game when one can truly feel the loniness and the emotion that the character may be feeling. Expand
  16. BillyN
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    A cinematic experience that that doesn't take the reigns away from you. You're not watching it, you're playing it. With some of the best control, graphics, and sound design on the PS2. The game opens with a cinematic of you trekking across different lands to find you're way to this hidden/forsaken land. You start from a central "hub", you've ridden in with what A cinematic experience that that doesn't take the reigns away from you. You're not watching it, you're playing it. With some of the best control, graphics, and sound design on the PS2. The game opens with a cinematic of you trekking across different lands to find you're way to this hidden/forsaken land. You start from a central "hub", you've ridden in with what seems to be a comatose or dead girl, who you place on an altar, and are trying to bring back to life through the power of this magical land. A voice tells you that to bring her back to life, you must to defeat colossus beasts one by one. And that's it; off you go making your way across the land to the different boss fights. It's an incredibly simplified game, that somehow manages to pull you in. Once you've started taking down the colossi, you can't help but want to find the next one, and then the next. The boss fights themselves are a mixture of timing and twitch gameplay with a dose of puzzle solving, (you have to find a way to reach the weak points of each boss.) Once you've defeated a boss, you're transported back to the main hub/area, and are treated to a little cinematic/ talk from the omnipresent force. Then you're off again to a different area of the map, riding along huge expansive environments, which is a mix of desert, and plains, with some rocky areas, and some forest /marsh areas in there as well. you don't fight any enemies along the way either, it's just you and you're horse discovering new areas, and taking in the view as you ride along, using your sword as a homing device to find the next boss. Some areas have you dismount and do a bit of platforming before you find your way to the boss. And although this game isn't perfect, (a couple of the boss fights are repeats, just in different areas) and the game play can get a bit repetitive, it's as close to perfect as most games will get, which I think makes it very deserving of a 10. I personally think Nintendo can really learn a thing or two from a design standpoint from this game, when making their next Zelda. Nothing beats riding all the way out to a far off cliff side, and then panning the camera around to take in a view that's ACTUALLY breathtaking, or standing up on your horse mid-stride and using it as a boost to jump off onto a boss that's flying by you. Or firing off you're crossbow on horseback, as a snake boss comes racing up from the sand behind you. Truly epic gameplay. Expand
  17. NatA.
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    Full of artistic feature and the graphic was superb and magnificent. Never wonder a simple game like this could bring a deep impression into the hearts of the players. A truly masterpiece.
  18. SkylarF.
    Oct 14, 2005
    10
    Now, i'm basing this purely on the demo that I've played...but if the real game is anything like this, then it is going to be amazing. It's totally original and radically different from anything I've ever played before. Which is a breath of fresh air in a world filled to the brim with sequals, prequals and remakes. Also, the graphics are clearly pushing the PS2 to its Now, i'm basing this purely on the demo that I've played...but if the real game is anything like this, then it is going to be amazing. It's totally original and radically different from anything I've ever played before. Which is a breath of fresh air in a world filled to the brim with sequals, prequals and remakes. Also, the graphics are clearly pushing the PS2 to its limits. And that's without even touching on its awesome gameplay. The physics of the characters movements is great. Its like the Gran Turismo of action games. But mainly, I must say that the tone, the mood it sets is exactly what I think most gamers are looking for. Its completely opposite of our world. Think "Legend", kind of mixed with Legend of Zelda. That's really the only way to put it. And the list of great things just goes on. All in all, from what I've seen here, this looks to be a very solid title that I think no one should miss. Expand
  19. HarryJohnson
    Oct 16, 2005
    10
    Great ****ing game!! Most original game i've played!!
  20. ChasM.
    Oct 17, 2005
    10
    Beautiful.
  21. BrianD.
    Oct 18, 2005
    10
    Awesome game! The visual slendor, the sheer emocional existence, the powerful storyline and great artistic value make this game a tremendous experience. Each colossi is a creature unto itself. Each living and breathing in their own way with their own quirks and ways to take them down. The only real problem was the camera, not enoguh to take away from the game, but a problem none the less, Awesome game! The visual slendor, the sheer emocional existence, the powerful storyline and great artistic value make this game a tremendous experience. Each colossi is a creature unto itself. Each living and breathing in their own way with their own quirks and ways to take them down. The only real problem was the camera, not enoguh to take away from the game, but a problem none the less, Don't let this discourage you thoguh. The game is defnintely one of those defining games that don't belong to an exact genre. Expand
  22. saluddiaz
    Oct 18, 2005
    10
    I had the pleasure to play the demo of this unbelievable game. I did love ICO and I would recommend this game to anyone. I'll go further and say that this game alone justify the purchase of the PS2. Unfortunately I cant find (so far) a game that justify the purchase of xbox 360.
  23. RothwellG.
    Nov 9, 2005
    10
    This game totally the best game in 2005. I think everyone should play it. this game is very unique.
  24. SamA.
    Oct 21, 2005
    10
    Innovative masterful work of art! Even with a few minor camera issues, I cannot give this game anything but the best - 10/10 all the way!!
  25. LeoF
    Oct 21, 2005
    10
    Easily one of the best games I have ever played on any console (and I started with the Atari 2600...) You are NOT a fan of videogames if you don't play this art/game.
  26. MikEYP.
    Oct 20, 2005
    10
    If you own a playstation 2 and you don't buy this game, you're a fool.
  27. ChrisV.
    Oct 20, 2005
    10
    This game is an inovative masterpiece. I never played ICO but even if you haven't you can enjoy this game. Controls are take some getting used to, but once you do, its awesome.
  28. JamesS.
    Oct 11, 2006
    10
    A brilliantly designed game. The ONLY flaw that I have with it is that the camera isn't as good as it could be especially on the last collosus. Overal a very very good game and a definite must-buy.
  29. Andyman
    Dec 20, 2006
    10
    I decided to wait until I had played through Shadow of the Colossus twice to determine how I truly felt about it. I'll say this for the game... I had MORE fun beating the Colossi the second time around than I did the first time, which is an extremely rare thing in the world of videogames. Sure, it has some minor flaws, but none of these detract from the game's unbelievably I decided to wait until I had played through Shadow of the Colossus twice to determine how I truly felt about it. I'll say this for the game... I had MORE fun beating the Colossi the second time around than I did the first time, which is an extremely rare thing in the world of videogames. Sure, it has some minor flaws, but none of these detract from the game's unbelievably immersive gameplay. SotC is easily one of the top five PlayStation 2 games ever made. Off I go to play through it yet again... and I bet I'll have even more fun the third time through! Expand
  30. AlexS.
    Dec 9, 2006
    10
    I'm giving this a 10 partly because it is one of my favourite games ever, and partly because I'm getting really annoyed at people who give games that are clearly good in some way 0's. This game clearly doesn't deserve a 0 in any way, and i cant believe people hand out zeroes just out of spite for the ten's give it a rank that's appropriate for gods sake. But I'm giving this a 10 partly because it is one of my favourite games ever, and partly because I'm getting really annoyed at people who give games that are clearly good in some way 0's. This game clearly doesn't deserve a 0 in any way, and i cant believe people hand out zeroes just out of spite for the ten's give it a rank that's appropriate for gods sake. But anyway, this game is one of my favourites of all time. The simplicity and emotiveness previously seen only in Ico, let's be honest, is really developed here. Once i had completed the game once and had a great experience, i tried again, but i really explored the landscape, finding whole plains and areas that you don't even need to go near, but are just so breathtakingly real its satisfying to just ride through them and look at them. The formula is so simple, and yet never gets boring; search for colossus; kill colossus; reappear at temple. Repeat. It takes quite a bit of problem solving to work out where the colossi are, and how to take them down, but i never once got bored or annoyed at it, i just used my head. I did use a guide once or twice, for the bits that really fry your brain, but the irritation immediately subsides when you realise just how clever the solution was. Every single colossi is cooler than the last, and just get better and better. I'm on my 6th or 7th play through the game, and i still havent managed to scale the temple wall to get to the secret garden and the bridge, get every peice of fruit, every lizard or kill all the colossi on hard time attack! You dont even have to do this stuff for replayability, just the nostalgia and joy of roaming the world is incredible. All in all, a masterpeice of a game. Expand
  31. GregL.
    Jan 30, 2006
    10
    Epic game. Excellent action and extremely immersive. Thoughtful ending, and sweet hidden items and modes (hard mode, time attack, all the items garnered therein).
  32. DarthMoon
    Mar 20, 2006
    10
    Thats why I bought my PS2. It has the most amazing and creative games ever.This game is a really unforgetable experience. The ending is emotional and the overal atmospere is incredible. Graphics are good but they could have been better. Shadow of the colossus is a true work.
  33. Niveche
    Jul 3, 2006
    10
    if there were any higher score than ten this game would get it. the most beautiful game EVER. and i thought iCO was great too. seems repetitive but each colossus IS different. and the visuals - spectacular. more art than arcade - but thats the beauty, appeal, and splendour - and experience like no other is the best way to put it. simply wonderful. GET THIS GAME. the PS2 is on itsif there were any higher score than ten this game would get it. the most beautiful game EVER. and i thought iCO was great too. seems repetitive but each colossus IS different. and the visuals - spectacular. more art than arcade - but thats the beauty, appeal, and splendour - and experience like no other is the best way to put it. simply wonderful. GET THIS GAME. the PS2 is on its last breath and this game is the finest way to let it rest. i repeat GET THIS GAME!!! Expand
  34. AnonA.
    Jan 27, 2007
    10
    Possibly the best game on PS2 - with strong competition from the previous 'ICO'. Some of the puzzles are a bit infuriating, but overall the impact of the game is brilliant - especially the innovative combat with each different beastie.
  35. JayK.
    Feb 18, 2007
    10
    Please buy this game. A masterpiece. Completely original. Artisitically perfect. Emotional. Even without the incredibly satisfying, creative, and enjoyable battles, the experience of just running around the atmospheric world on the horse is heart-swelling. I wish I could go there. The only fault is sometimes clumsy and frustrating horse controls, but even then it's for the sake of Please buy this game. A masterpiece. Completely original. Artisitically perfect. Emotional. Even without the incredibly satisfying, creative, and enjoyable battles, the experience of just running around the atmospheric world on the horse is heart-swelling. I wish I could go there. The only fault is sometimes clumsy and frustrating horse controls, but even then it's for the sake of realistic feel. Playing this beautiful game has enriched my life. I wish I could personally thank the developers. Expand
  36. UblubianF.
    Aug 20, 2007
    10
    This game freakin' rocks!!! the words I'm using dosen't even describle HALF of how great this game really is! Play it if you hate fanasy, play it if you love it! Just play it!!
  37. SamK.
    Sep 23, 2008
    10
    Shadow of the Colossus is a unique and remarkable game. Some gamers will have the decency to come online and say how bad it is (with no mini-guys, no weapon upgrades, etc) But thats the whole point, which the "gamers" have yet to figure out. It is a beautiful and original game all on its own, one of the most legendary to come in a very long while. SotC is worthwhile, don't listen to Shadow of the Colossus is a unique and remarkable game. Some gamers will have the decency to come online and say how bad it is (with no mini-guys, no weapon upgrades, etc) But thats the whole point, which the "gamers" have yet to figure out. It is a beautiful and original game all on its own, one of the most legendary to come in a very long while. SotC is worthwhile, don't listen to all that other bull! Even after finishing it, you will still feel the need to explore more in depth. And yes, there is very much an incredible story. Expand
  38. DavidD.
    Oct 8, 2009
    10
    Desolate environments, difficult and rewarding boss fights mixed with a story that carries itself on emotion with very few words. This game remains the best game ever made, even though the new console generation is already halfway through its lifespan.
  39. JBunka
    Jun 28, 2009
    10
    One of the best games i have ever played and we loole u must be really bad at this game, dont trust someone who cant spell third right. This game has to be experienced no one colossus is the same and everything is awesome graphics, fights, story (teardrop), and the environment. GREAT GAME.
  40. MahebruH.
    Oct 21, 2005
    10
    Phenomenal.
  41. JoeyD
    Oct 21, 2005
    10
    A 10, even coming from someone who didn't like ICO. This game evokes feelings that other games could only dream of. A must buy for any gamer who can appreciate good art, and doen't have to be shooting aliens, zombies, or hookers to stay entertained.
  42. Spartan
    Oct 22, 2005
    10
    I count myself as a hardcore gamer who is always looking for the next great game. I have played all of the suppossed great games of all times, but beleive me...nothing tops this, nothing.
  43. TioJoão
    Oct 24, 2005
    10
    Tudo ok.
  44. FredJ.
    Jan 10, 2006
    10
    Everything's been said already. This is a really great game. Great concept, great story, great music, great graphics and so on... The only thing that I think could have made the game better would be to have made the Colossi more aggressive. I wanted the first flying colossus to come snatch me out of the water when I was swimming around... still, they were pretty difficult, and it was Everything's been said already. This is a really great game. Great concept, great story, great music, great graphics and so on... The only thing that I think could have made the game better would be to have made the Colossi more aggressive. I wanted the first flying colossus to come snatch me out of the water when I was swimming around... still, they were pretty difficult, and it was very enjoyable. Expand
  45. JeremyM
    Dec 2, 2006
    10
    Wait a second, Omar. Isn't flawless and perfect the same thing? So how can it not have flaws but not be perfect? Doesn't make sense. Oh, and there are TONS of things to do in the game (and it took me a while to figure them out). There are awesome tricks you can do with Agro, as well as kill the little lizards. There are fruits in the trees. Both heighten your life bar and theWait a second, Omar. Isn't flawless and perfect the same thing? So how can it not have flaws but not be perfect? Doesn't make sense. Oh, and there are TONS of things to do in the game (and it took me a while to figure them out). There are awesome tricks you can do with Agro, as well as kill the little lizards. There are fruits in the trees. Both heighten your life bar and the amount of time you can hold on to things.

    But I agree, on first glance, there really isn't much to do. But boy, is there much to see. I read a review somewhere that said it was like taking a vacation, and really, that's what it felt like for me. In between taking down the massive colossi, I spent time just looking at what a world it really is. I don't need little side quests or whatnot, and the game still takes 15 hours to beat for most players. So $20 bucks isn't bad for that. I've played it 4 times through (and that's just on normal difficulty). It's not that it's different; it's art. It's not meant to be bombastic or over-the-top (although it seems unlike that due to the gargantuan nature of the colossi). It's meant to be enjoyed by not only its gameplay but also its beautiful landscape. I love tons of action in my games as much as the next guy. I have my Resident Evil 4, GTAs, Hitman 2, Burnout 3, Max Payne 2...but there's nothing quite like the ethereal beauty of Shadow of the Colossus. Absolutely jaw-dropping. And if you can find the hint guide (or just look this up online), and you can find a TON of extras on the game (white arrows, white Agro, some Ico tie-ins). Just extra stuff that makes it just a little more exciting. There are some definitely unnecessarily difficult boss battles (like the one in the water...with the teeth-looking crown you have to crawl up...whatever. too much to explain. if you played the game, you know which annoying piece-of-stone-lard that dude is).

    So buy it. Enjoy it. Wait a few weeks. Start the process over again. You won't regret it, unless you don't like progressive art.
    Expand
  46. TommyB.
    Feb 25, 2006
    10
    This game, as was Ico, awesome. A genuinly inspired, involving adventure that had more the feel of a well directed film than a game. I can only hope that there is more releases to come.
  47. TerryS.
    Feb 26, 2006
    10
    the Times Online reviewer has totally missed the mark with this game - The whole point of this game is to be an experience, your supposed to experience the world, and with a "zelda type" world you wouldnt soak in the beautful landscape through boring monotanous battles, there is a reason zelda is so good - shadow is style and substance, it can be short if u just want to do the battles, or the Times Online reviewer has totally missed the mark with this game - The whole point of this game is to be an experience, your supposed to experience the world, and with a "zelda type" world you wouldnt soak in the beautful landscape through boring monotanous battles, there is a reason zelda is so good - shadow is style and substance, it can be short if u just want to do the battles, or it can last a life time if you understand what the game is supposed to be about. This is more a work of art than a game, its outrageously beautiful and a breath of fresh air from the uninspired games that get churned out over and over - any reviewer that gives this game below 90 is...just...wrong. Expand
  48. JoshT.
    Mar 2, 2006
    10
    it is awesome and the ending is confusing but very stunning in a suttle way. The last battle is intense and superb. The way the colossus fights are so intense and puzzling as it is so difficult. The time attack is clever as well. Unfortunatly, i didn't enjoy much because i completed it in 6 days so im trying hard mode.
  49. Andrew
    Apr 11, 2006
    10
    One of the most moving experiences out there. Unconventional though their games may be, these developers are fast becoming a group whose products should never be missed. Enjoy.
  50. joshR.
    Apr 3, 2006
    10
    SOTC has some good and some good and some wierd graphics. The gameplay is great but the the game itself is doing the same thing over and over again with practacally no storyline. But this game is one of the greatest ever because finding the colossi and trying to defeat it is a great experience. Also the game only has bosses which is beautiful and most games should be like tthat becauseSOTC has some good and some good and some wierd graphics. The gameplay is great but the the game itself is doing the same thing over and over again with practacally no storyline. But this game is one of the greatest ever because finding the colossi and trying to defeat it is a great experience. Also the game only has bosses which is beautiful and most games should be like tthat because battling the same little monsters over and over again sucks!!!!!!!!!!!!! this game is great but should have things like god of war Expand
  51. DanS.
    May 29, 2006
    10
    One of my favorite gameplay experiences in quite a while. Games like this (and Katamari) give me restored faith in the industry. Not only innovative, but well executed.
  52. KlausF.
    May 8, 2006
    10
    This is a beutifal master piece. Anyone witch gives it below an eight doesn't know a master piece right when it hits you in your face. This game is a peice of art and (to me) is more artistic than the Monalisa its self. This game can not be missed its beauty in shape of a video game (sniff).
  53. GuyR.
    Jul 3, 2006
    10
    This game is simply incredible, no other game manages to instill such a feeling of an epic quest as this one. Also, other people are saying the story is weak because not all of the story is revealed, but it was actually meant to be that way. It was meant to promote using your imagination, and piece together the different plot cues yourself. Also, despite being rather short, there is some This game is simply incredible, no other game manages to instill such a feeling of an epic quest as this one. Also, other people are saying the story is weak because not all of the story is revealed, but it was actually meant to be that way. It was meant to promote using your imagination, and piece together the different plot cues yourself. Also, despite being rather short, there is some replay value as the hard mode actually features more vitals than normal, and the challenge is greater overall. Also, with so many geckos and fruit trees to find, there are things to do other than kill the colossi. The graphics are incredible, and are only hindered by the aging technology that the ps2 is, and the fact that there is such a huge land with absolutly no loading times (cept when you first enter the land) is also an amazing accomplishment. Expand
  54. JamesD.
    Jan 17, 2007
    10
    The best gaming experience I have ever had. It has made me look at the potential of video games not just as entertainment, but as an art piece. Nearly perfect in every way - just needed to be longer.
  55. AndrewG.
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    Shadow of the Colossus is my ALL TIME FAVORITE single player game. The game is gorgeous all the way through. The battles with the colossi progress in difficulty so well that each one makes you think that the next can't be any harder (or cooler) - but it will be. While the camera can be finicky at times (my only complaint with the gameplay), after the first few colossi you'll get Shadow of the Colossus is my ALL TIME FAVORITE single player game. The game is gorgeous all the way through. The battles with the colossi progress in difficulty so well that each one makes you think that the next can't be any harder (or cooler) - but it will be. While the camera can be finicky at times (my only complaint with the gameplay), after the first few colossi you'll get the hang of it and it won't be a problem at all. My ADD brother says that the game looks boring because you don't get any new items, and there's seemingly nothing to collect - but for me that is what makes the game so cool and almost realistic. Unless you need non-stop action all the time, or have to satisfy your urge for collection Banjo-Kazooie style in every game, then you will probably love Shadow of the Colossus. Expand
  56. Daniel
    Feb 21, 2007
    10
    Absolutely adored this game. It was just so beautiful. Riding on a horse in such a huge environment, fighting enormous colossi, risking everything to saved the one you love. Everything about this game is epic and it is the most unique gaming experience I have ever had. The only thing that will make it better is it being remade for the PS3. BUY IT!
  57. PhengY.
    Jun 19, 2007
    10
    This game should be cited as a historical landmark in video game history...Pong was the first mass produced video game, a historical landmark by default... This should be number two by way of breaking the barrier to truly next gen game developing... By the way it has more immersion and emotion in a five minute in-game sequence of just traversing the gorgeous baron landscape than all of This game should be cited as a historical landmark in video game history...Pong was the first mass produced video game, a historical landmark by default... This should be number two by way of breaking the barrier to truly next gen game developing... By the way it has more immersion and emotion in a five minute in-game sequence of just traversing the gorgeous baron landscape than all of God of War will ever have in its entirety.... Most of the gaming industry doesn't have the balls to publish more games like these so we should all be so lucky to experience this and cherish it. Expand
  58. KrysA.
    Aug 14, 2007
    10
    Words cannot describe how amazing this game is. From the mind blowing graphics to the amazing sound. Shadow of the Colossus should be bought by all Playstation 2 owners.
  59. BushM.
    Sep 3, 2007
    10
    Beautiful, amazing, masterpiece just some of the words that describe this game. a work of art absolutely no game like it.
  60. WillyO.
    Jan 22, 2008
    10
    This is one of the greatest games I have ever played. Its so simple yet so gripping, so minimal yet so complex. Its a game that much be played to be understood
  61. dankay
    Dec 26, 2008
    10
    i felt it my duty to add to the positive accounts of this game....i only got to play about 5 colossi, and i was so enamored i just had to get my hands on my own copy....it in the mail and on the way now.....truth be told....incredible...and the funny thing is.......all the intelligent reviews came from people who rated the game 8 and up....some people less than that are entitled to theiri felt it my duty to add to the positive accounts of this game....i only got to play about 5 colossi, and i was so enamored i just had to get my hands on my own copy....it in the mail and on the way now.....truth be told....incredible...and the funny thing is.......all the intelligent reviews came from people who rated the game 8 and up....some people less than that are entitled to their opinions...but the complete morons who wrote the 0 1 2 3 4 reviews..........holy crap......your ignorance shows in your ridiculous misunderstandings of the game, the fact that you were to stupid to find the next colossi for battle, and in your awful use of the english language....now i know this review doesn't have perfect punctuation, and i'm sure someone will call attention to it...but that's out of choice....not because i don't know how to write correctly....so anyway........point is.....awesome game....totally worth the time and money...and anyone who doesn't think so........should probably go back to kindergarten and start over from scratch..... Expand
  62. Lawrence
    Jan 30, 2008
    10
    This has got to be one of the best games I have ever played. The silence, the isolation, and the lack of objectives may not be everybody's cup of tea but for me its what made this game so brilliant. Everything about it is just so unique. A true masterpiece.
  63. PaulL
    Oct 31, 2009
    10
    Utterly sublime. A truly grown up , haunting, epic gutt wrenchingly emotional experience. The lonely rides across the desolate landscape in search of the colossi only emphasises the impact and scale of the battles. The music is unbelievably powerful, possibly one of the greatest scores of all time. The game also defies the usual gratfiying 'victory celebration' following most Utterly sublime. A truly grown up , haunting, epic gutt wrenchingly emotional experience. The lonely rides across the desolate landscape in search of the colossi only emphasises the impact and scale of the battles. The music is unbelievably powerful, possibly one of the greatest scores of all time. The game also defies the usual gratfiying 'victory celebration' following most boss fights in video games, opting instead to subtly build a sense of guilt and dread at what you are doing building ultimately to what is possibly the greatest ending in video game history. Those who have criticised the ending usually do becuase they do not understand or appreciate its subtle meaning (youneed to be familiar with Ico in order to) . This is an adult experience, there is no quick or cheap gratification here. Its is an artistically bold and utterly beautiful experience. Expand
  64. HassanH.
    Apr 30, 2009
    10
    Everything that an epic adventure needs to be. Memorable enemies, a story that allows the player to use their imagination, tight controls, and one of the most impressive soundtracks of recent note. In short, it's classic.
  65. CameronW.
    May 29, 2009
    10
    One of the best games ever (in my opinion). as of may 2009 i am still playing this aswell as my ps3 colection. graphics are in the space of past gen and next gen. all in all a imaginative, original and utterly incomparable game.
  66. BriceS
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    A lot of the criticism for this game seems ill warranted. Some say the graphics are bad, but why are you comparing a PS2 game to current gen releases? You say the game is boring and repetitive in nature. What do you do in FPSes besides shoot people? You say there's nothing to do besides kill Colossi. What's wrong with a game containing only the best part of action/adventure A lot of the criticism for this game seems ill warranted. Some say the graphics are bad, but why are you comparing a PS2 game to current gen releases? You say the game is boring and repetitive in nature. What do you do in FPSes besides shoot people? You say there's nothing to do besides kill Colossi. What's wrong with a game containing only the best part of action/adventure games (boss fights)? I don't understand how people can say the game is boring in nature since, "All you do is find weak spots and kill them." because any game can be boiled down to such simple principles when you think of it like that. Each boss fight is an interactive experience. If you honestly feel like taking down the first colossi (which was a simple "climb up top and kill him" task) was the same as the 8th (where you used diversionary tactics to defeat him) or the 9th (where you used geysers and the landscape to ascend), then you are a misguided fool. Each experience is so inherently different from each other. To say they're the same simply because you utilize the same toolset (sword/arrow/horse) is as ridiculous as it is ignorant. I can, however, understand the criticism about such a sparse landscape with little to do. However, that's the game's intention. To make you feel empty and alone and place greater emphasis on navigating your way to the boss and defeating him rather than to distract you with other things. If that's not your cup of tea, so be it, but accept that it's not and don't criticize the game because of it. That's like playing a racing game and saying it sucks because you find racing to be boring. Well, maybe you shouldn't be playing a racing game then. That doesn't mean it's a poor racing game. It means you don't enjoy racing games. Shadow of the Colossus is far from a poor production. If you didn't enjoy it, it's because it's not something you'd enjoy. Not because it's a bad game. Learn to accept that and don't criticize it for nonexistent faults. Expand
  67. Steve
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    Shadow of the Colossus is a masterpiece. The art direction, story, and characters are amazing. This game is the best to be released on any previous generation console.
  68. DanE.
    Nov 11, 2005
    10
    Cameron M. is a moron. this game is a masterpiece. its gorgeous and tons of fun. pick it up if you know whats good for you. definitely one of the best games of the year.
  69. GurlukovichS.
    Nov 15, 2005
    10
    [***SPOILERS***] You battle 16 massively enormous colossus. The size of each colossus varies tremendously, the character your playing is like a size of an ant. The area your gonna explore is extremely vast, thank goodness you have a horse to use and explore the vastness of plains, forest, desert, caves to find and defeat the 16 colossus. Im surprise how very different the gameplay of Ico[***SPOILERS***] You battle 16 massively enormous colossus. The size of each colossus varies tremendously, the character your playing is like a size of an ant. The area your gonna explore is extremely vast, thank goodness you have a horse to use and explore the vastness of plains, forest, desert, caves to find and defeat the 16 colossus. Im surprise how very different the gameplay of Ico and shadow of colossus is. In Ico theres plenty of puzzles and the awe inspiring companionship of yorda while shadow of the colossus has no puzzle but does have the most imaginative design on the massive colossus. Finding weakness for each colossus is satisfying and also watching the birth of Ico on the end sequence. I do wanna see them create a playstation 3 game. Expand
  70. SumDood
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    Awesome game i loved it. So unique and well done this is what a video game is all about. Gaming companies should take a page out of these developers book!
  71. IgorG.
    Oct 19, 2005
    10
    This is the gaming experience of the year and will be remembered for years to come as a title that showed the videogames are a medium that can convey a sense of wonder and emotiions.
  72. JoelB.
    Dec 14, 2005
    10
    One of the most beautiful and cinematic games ever released. Defeating each colossus feels just like that, defeating a colossal challenge. This is probably the most satisfying game I've ever played.
  73. AlexeiK.
    Oct 22, 2005
    10
    By far the best game of the year thus far in terms of telling a story and placing the elemnts of gameplay ina fun/interesting/intuitive field of play. having jsut finished the game yesturday and given myself time to assess it's value I haveto honestly say that there is little competion thus far this year for not only a compelling original setting and story, but an easy to control, By far the best game of the year thus far in terms of telling a story and placing the elemnts of gameplay ina fun/interesting/intuitive field of play. having jsut finished the game yesturday and given myself time to assess it's value I haveto honestly say that there is little competion thus far this year for not only a compelling original setting and story, but an easy to control, mind grinding gameplay mechanic that makes the player enthrulled to be there. In my honest opinion the best game of the year. Expand
  74. RivetMan
    Oct 23, 2005
    10
    This is a masterpiece. A great game to a great year for games. Resident Evil 4, God of War and now this piece of art. I got say, I didn't stop play it until the end and now I'm just started the hard mode and looking for secrets out there. Beautiful.
  75. MattA.
    Oct 25, 2005
    10
    Simply amazing play this game.
  76. PaulL.
    Nov 26, 2006
    10
    Great experience very challenging beautiful screen play one of PS2's best titles.
  77. Adam
    Jan 22, 2006
    10
    How can you overlook this game? The visuals up close may not be great but if you use the camera to your advantage and look at the background, it really takes you back. Although the camera controls may be stubern, the innovation, gameplay, and design in this game is enough for at LEAST a 9.0 score if not more!
  78. DemonicAngel
    Feb 17, 2006
    10
    Personally, I think anyone who gives this game less than an 8 should go back to their first-person shooters and seen-it-all-before franchises, because they clearly aren't capable of appreciating the artistry of Shadow of the Colossus. Dispensing with the typical hordes of enemies and trivial puzzles to be found in most games, Shadow is very pure in its intent - your quest is to Personally, I think anyone who gives this game less than an 8 should go back to their first-person shooters and seen-it-all-before franchises, because they clearly aren't capable of appreciating the artistry of Shadow of the Colossus. Dispensing with the typical hordes of enemies and trivial puzzles to be found in most games, Shadow is very pure in its intent - your quest is to explore a huge, desolate world to seek out and slay 16 giant mythical beasts, with the desperate hope of gaining the power to revive your fallen love. The game is intuitive to play, yet extremely challenging - you will often have to rack your brains to figure out a battle plan for each confrontation. The reviewer going by the alias "G.P." clearly perceives only nitpicking technical flaws and has no appreciation for beauty - the graphics are artistically superb, and the massive, bleak open spaces push the PS2 to its limits. Not to mention the colossi, all of whom are gargantuan behemoths with unique design and huge amounts of polygonal detail (and rendered fur!). All the characters are animated with expressive realism, with the protagonist in particular conveying in his movements and expressions an air of uncertainty at the mammoth task he faces. The score is beautiful, with rousing orchestral marches during the epic battles, and subtle violin pieces which further enhance the melancholy and loneliness of the game world. The story is presented through the events of the game far more effectively than, say, Half-Life 2 (which purports to have the same style of storytelling) could ever have hoped to achieve. Strangely, I felt an unprecedented emotional resonance with the colossi - on defeating the first one, there was a moment of triumph, but immediately afterwards the game cut to a wide angle of the stricken creature's death throes; and I actually found myself feeling sad that I was responsible for its demise, and even wondering if in fact I was doing the right thing by slaying these singular, beautiful creatures. Some games are not just about gameplay, but about the total experience. Shadow of the Colossus is one of them, and is by far the best game I've played in the past year or two. Unequivocally recommended to anyone who is sick of games that are big in length (and sponsorship) but short in artistry and love. If you're not sure, you should at least rent it and make up your own mind. Expand
  79. WesleyE.
    Apr 26, 2006
    10
    Shadow of the Colossus will likely not sell well in the US. We Americans don't seem to appreciate art when we see it, living in a slightly inhibited society where videogames, among all forms of entertainment, are somewhat dumbed down. Shadow nof the Colossus invites you to leave your world, and experience one of the most involving and emotional experiences ever created within the Shadow of the Colossus will likely not sell well in the US. We Americans don't seem to appreciate art when we see it, living in a slightly inhibited society where videogames, among all forms of entertainment, are somewhat dumbed down. Shadow nof the Colossus invites you to leave your world, and experience one of the most involving and emotional experiences ever created within the binds of electronic nentertainment. Shadow traverses above the tumultuous masses of lackluster games, and becomes a true work of art. It's likely the only game of this console generation (besides ICO) that manages to do so. A true masterpiece. Expand
  80. MichaelN.
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    This game really had an effect on me. I've played it numerous times and every time is like a new experience. I can spend hours playing it, exploring the vast, desilate, yet majestic landscape. The music just adds on, every song captivates me. The stunning graphics and art. All of it is just so great. I will definetly say that Shadow of the Colossus is one of the best games in This game really had an effect on me. I've played it numerous times and every time is like a new experience. I can spend hours playing it, exploring the vast, desilate, yet majestic landscape. The music just adds on, every song captivates me. The stunning graphics and art. All of it is just so great. I will definetly say that Shadow of the Colossus is one of the best games in PlayStation history. I am very glad that I spent my money on this. I don't regret it at all. Expand
  81. Cow
    Jan 14, 2007
    10
    Dynamic! One of THE BEST games I have ever played! Awesome Graphics, Great Story, and The Music Was Surpurb! This game would make a great movie! Total Adrenaline!
  82. LeeW.
    Feb 16, 2007
    10
    Oh my gosh. This game is simply epic. Nuff said. The visual effects are absolutely stunning and the AI of the Colossi and Agro are amazing. The landscape is also fantastic. The world is so vast and stunning and it really gives you a sense of solitude. Definitely one of the best games I've ever played.
  83. ParkerL.
    May 23, 2007
    10
    The most amazing game I've ever played. Graphics were beautiful, even if they were constant throughout the clips as well. I can not express enough how amazing the music was, it was incredible and really went well with the game and helped stimulate it even more. I have never played a game like this before, and I can garentee you that there is no game that has offered anything like the The most amazing game I've ever played. Graphics were beautiful, even if they were constant throughout the clips as well. I can not express enough how amazing the music was, it was incredible and really went well with the game and helped stimulate it even more. I have never played a game like this before, and I can garentee you that there is no game that has offered anything like the colossus and there complaxity and chalenges. Love the simplicity of weapons and gameplay, but simple doesn't always mean easy. Good use of diversity of the colossi and how to bring them down. Two things to work on to make this game perfect: 1) Camera angles, to much manual use, and you don't have time to mess with it in a battle. 2) Explain the storyling. This game probebly has the most web sites that have theorys about the plot. GREAT GAME!!! Expand
  84. IainT.
    Jul 27, 2007
    10
    After Ico I was wondering if a game could ever replicate its utterly absorbing atmosphere of loneliness and silence. Then Kenji Kaido gives us SOTC and my question was answered. I looked and some of the very low rated reviews people were giving this game and what made me laugh was many were giving low ratings for the very reasons I love the game (what I call the lonely silence). It is After Ico I was wondering if a game could ever replicate its utterly absorbing atmosphere of loneliness and silence. Then Kenji Kaido gives us SOTC and my question was answered. I looked and some of the very low rated reviews people were giving this game and what made me laugh was many were giving low ratings for the very reasons I love the game (what I call the lonely silence). It is such a beautiful game. I feel these are the best graphics to come out of a PS2. Better than Black even. Expand
  85. kyuudmc
    Dec 10, 2008
    10
    this isn't a game! its ART! aaah you'll never understand unless you try it out. the game play isn't so challenging but the game feels totally different than any other game ... than ANYTHING actually. the music! the feel .. its just something else. something far different than the games you used to play.
  86. SamJ.
    May 19, 2008
    10
    A perfect combination of simplicity, art, and game design. Players who see it through maybe scratching their head and wondering what it all means but once you figure it out, the impression is ever lasting.
  87. EvanG
    Dec 24, 2009
    10
    Simply amazing, truly captures the emotion and feel of a desolate world. It's easy to call it a "Hardcore Legend of Zelda."
  88. NickB
    Nov 11, 2005
    10
    A mature, unique fantasy tale that manages to compel and impress without falling back on the over-used tropes of coputer gaming. Possibly the best video game I have played this year, and the best PS2 game I have seen, hands down. We need morer games that push the envelope and provide new, unique experiences like Shadow of the Colossus.
  89. GaryP.
    Dec 28, 2007
    10
    Amazing game...I do so hope they bring out a similar game with Orc-like battles or fights. This is very LOTR type and is great fun! The heart beats faster when you encounter the Colossus! Massive!
  90. Aug 25, 2010
    10
    Shadow of the Colossus Every 'Art game' made from now on will have been inspired by this true masterpiece.
  91. Aug 27, 2010
    10
    This is probably one of the most amazing games I've played, for a ps2 the scale and graphics are amazing. And the story line is superb, the reason why some people don't like this game is because its "not to date". Y a its from 2005 its 5 years old the graphics weren't that great. The boss fights are different from any other game I've played is a must have for adventure action fans. AlsoThis is probably one of the most amazing games I've played, for a ps2 the scale and graphics are amazing. And the story line is superb, the reason why some people don't like this game is because its "not to date". Y a its from 2005 its 5 years old the graphics weren't that great. The boss fights are different from any other game I've played is a must have for adventure action fans. Also some people didn't give this a good score because their dumb and didn't bother to play the whole way though and stopped at the second colossi. Expand
  92. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    This game changed lives with the deep meaning and sadness put behind it. AMAZING graphics and a story that will break your heart. Exploration is a little annoying at times though. I feel jealous for those who havnt played it. I would give a lot to play it for the first time again.
  93. Feb 24, 2014
    10
    This is more than a game... it's an artistic masterpiece. The games epicness and beauty is astonishing. It's a perfect balance of adventure, action and puzzle game all in one.

    If you consider yourself a gamer but never played Shadow of the Colussus... do yourself a favor and get ahold of this ASAP!
  94. Sep 26, 2010
    10
    Simply put, Shadow of the Colossus is one of my favorite games of all time. I recommend it to anyone who can enjoy a highly focused, uncluttered, and slower paced game.

    So much good has already been said about Shadow of the Colossus I won't reiterate it, instead I am going to focus on the criticisms I've been reading in the reviews. If you just cannot begin to understand why people rave
    Simply put, Shadow of the Colossus is one of my favorite games of all time. I recommend it to anyone who can enjoy a highly focused, uncluttered, and slower paced game.

    So much good has already been said about Shadow of the Colossus I won't reiterate it, instead I am going to focus on the criticisms I've been reading in the reviews.

    If you just cannot begin to understand why people rave about the story.... please, finish the game first. I think 70% of the story is conveyed *after* the fall of the final colossus. For me, the ending sequence propelled this game from great to awesome. It explains so much and ties it together very well. Is it going to tell you everything? No. That is just the style of storytelling Team ICO uses, and they use it quite masterfully.

    First three words, in the introduction, form the manual: "in an undisturbed land." It is an element of the plot, there is a reason there is NOTHING around save for some birds and lizards--nothing is supposed to be there. Yes, grasslands are pretty boring, but you know what, they are pretty boring in real life too. The forest areas are genuinely beautiful, and there is more to the world than just the plains.

    This game pushes the PS2 to its absolute limits. I've seen effects that I didn't even know where technically possible on the system and the uninterrupted size of the world is very impressive. As a result, the frame rate does drop noticeably in certain areas, a minor price to pay.

    I never had issues with the controls of Wander (the hero) although there were definitely times the camera wouldn't stay where I wanted, but overall calling the controls bad is a gross overstatement. What about the horseback riding? Well...

    Agro (the horse) really is a living breathing character in the game. He is a part of this story, and in this game he is not your character. You are ALWAYS in control of the hero, Wander, who is RIDING Agro. Agro is not just some neat-looking speed-boost for your character. Try to run him off a cliff and he will turn, stop, snort in defiance, whinny out of disagreement, and refuse, just like a real horse would. Are the controls the easiest or simplest? No, but I have ridden horses before, and I will tell you they are absolutely the most convincing I have ever seen. In some way it also makes those long rides searching out the Colossi more engaging, if all I had to do was "push forward" to walk just like normal, but faster, it would have been a much more boring journey. I applaud the designers for not taking the easy route and obviously closely studying the behaviors between horse and rider.

    This game is about adventure and problem solving, e.g. puzzles. It is NOT an RPG, it is NOT a hack-n-slash, it is NOT an action game. Figuring out how to take down each Colossus given just yourself, a bow, and a sword is the whole point. It is about improvisation and resourcefulness. Some fights with the Colossi are just epic, and are really how boss fights should be. Instead of "how many times do I swing and/or cast this spell until he dies?"

    Overall I found Shadow of the Colossus to be a much more engrossing and enjoyable experience than something like God of War could ever be. God of War relies heavily on genre standards; I've lost count of how many collect the red/blue/green orb action games there are now. GoW provided a very solid game and threw in hefty doses of sex and over-the-top violence to make it stand out from the crowed, and it succeeded.

    Shadow of the Colossus instead tries to be unique in its design and presentation, appealing to a very different tastes, and it succeeds beautifully.
    Expand
  95. Oct 12, 2010
    10
    Shadow of the Colossus is a game; not only beautiful, engaging, and emotional, but legendary. It goes down in history with games such as Mario and Legend of Zelda. This adventure game may not have small enemies to kill, but it has 30 story tall beasts to slay. The graphics are amazing for a PS2 game, the gameplay controls are smooth, and the music and sounds are phenomenal. If you have aShadow of the Colossus is a game; not only beautiful, engaging, and emotional, but legendary. It goes down in history with games such as Mario and Legend of Zelda. This adventure game may not have small enemies to kill, but it has 30 story tall beasts to slay. The graphics are amazing for a PS2 game, the gameplay controls are smooth, and the music and sounds are phenomenal. If you have a PS2, and this is not in your collection, get it. Now. Expand
  96. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    10/10 = Masterpiece = I don't know who gave this game an 8, but this artistic masterpiece should not be ignored! One of the greatest games ever made . . . EVER!!
  97. Dec 21, 2010
    10
    the feeling that this game gives you while you are playing it is just beautifull one of the greatest games of all time simply art of the modern era, a must have for the people who wants new concepts in gaming.
  98. Jan 16, 2011
    10
    This game is absolutely beautiful. No other game has quite done what SOTC has, with its inelligent sense of puzzle solving and original art style. The gameplay is definitely satisfying with each success of defeating each colossus. On top of that, the game has become a master of telling a heartfelt and exciting story with minimal dialog. There are however a few minor problems. ForThis game is absolutely beautiful. No other game has quite done what SOTC has, with its inelligent sense of puzzle solving and original art style. The gameplay is definitely satisfying with each success of defeating each colossus. On top of that, the game has become a master of telling a heartfelt and exciting story with minimal dialog. There are however a few minor problems. For instance, it can be quite irritating to mount your horse in a hurry, causing your character to jump around violently around your horse. Also, each battle is a puzzle with very vague instruction on how to accomplish it. These defects, however, are dwarfed by the overwhelming positive attributes found throughout the rest of the game. In all, this game is a colossal work of art within itself. Expand
  99. Mar 30, 2011
    10
    Probably the most important game to spearhead the "games as art" argument (as absurd as even considering the inverse is), and for good reason: It's beautiful, fun, profound, and deeply awe-inspiring. Picking this game up for 20 bucks when I was 17 and exploring the quiet forests canyons deserts and plains with Wander and Agro was one of the most substantial highlights I've had in my lifeProbably the most important game to spearhead the "games as art" argument (as absurd as even considering the inverse is), and for good reason: It's beautiful, fun, profound, and deeply awe-inspiring. Picking this game up for 20 bucks when I was 17 and exploring the quiet forests canyons deserts and plains with Wander and Agro was one of the most substantial highlights I've had in my life as a gamer. Expand
  100. Jul 15, 2012
    10
    I just have to say. Missredone you must be a fat girl. Or ugly. I DARE you to post a picture of yourself somewhere. Go Barbies dream ride. Figures, coming from a post from 2012. This game was released in 2005. This game was epic for its time and still is. If you dont like it fine. But at least give a legit reason. You wont be able to find one, NO OTHER GAME is like it. That's what makes it epic.

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
#3 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 77 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 77
  2. Negative: 0 out of 77
  1. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    90
    If you can appreciate artistry in games, if you hanker for an experience that transcends genre, if you want to see what happens when a creative design team is allowed to ignore sales numbers and flavor-of-the-month trends, by all means bring yourself into Shadow's world. [Oct 2005, p.98]
  2. Game Informer
    88
    A truly unique experience that inspires emotions in a way few games can. It has its share of problems, but I love it just the same. [Oct 2005, p.130]
  3. It's unlike anything else you've ever played, and so you may love it or you may hate it. Count me firmly in the "love" boat. [Nov 2005, p.142]