Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3 FES Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 314 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Lead a group of high school students with a dangerous extracurricular activity: exploring the mysterious tower Tartarus and fighting the sinister Shadows during the Dark Hour, a frozen span of time imperceptible to all but a select few. However, the end of their quest is no longer the end ofLead a group of high school students with a dangerous extracurricular activity: exploring the mysterious tower Tartarus and fighting the sinister Shadows during the Dark Hour, a frozen span of time imperceptible to all but a select few. However, the end of their quest is no longer the end of the story--witness for the first time the aftermath of the final battle and the students' struggle to find meaning in their new lives. Persona 3 FES contains an enhanced version of the original game, loaded with new Personas and cutscenes, a weapon synthesis system, additional quests and events, a hard difficulty mode, and the ability to change your characters' clothes. 30 additional hours of gameplay - Take the role of Aigis in a brand new Persona 3 episode that plays as a full game with an original story, extra cutscenes and objectives, and seventeen new music tracks. [Atlus USA] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 25
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 25
  3. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. 100
    FES' other addition -- a remarkably expansive epilogue called "The Answer" that's instantly accessible from the title screen -- simply cannot be missed.
  2. Pick this one up while you can still find it, even if you've already played the hell out of Persona 3. Absolutely worth the time, and it'll hold your attention for the entire ride.
  3. Almost every addition to The Journey makes it a superior experience to the original Persona 3 , and the addition of The Answer increases that value.
  4. PSM3 Magazine UK
    90
    Improved, with enough here to keep you busy till "Persona 4." [Feb 2009, p.84]
  5. With a mere $30 price tag, it's the perfect way for fans and newcomers to experience this exceptional RPG. [May 2008, p.94]
  6. 80
    The three interwoven role-play threads in Persona 3 FES are so deftly sewn that it's easy to tune out the rest of the noise.
  7. Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3: FES is a hardcore title with hardcore appeal, and it's not intended to a blockbuster.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. JonT
    Oct 6, 2009
    10
    Epic Adventure! For those who have not played persona 3 this is a must get! For those of you who have, FES has a bunch of new features and a Epic Adventure! For those who have not played persona 3 this is a must get! For those of you who have, FES has a bunch of new features and a Loonnggg epiloge! Its a must play! Expand
  2. Oct 31, 2016
    10
    An absolute must-own for JRPG fans. Persona 3 is an amazing adventure from start to finish, and the new FES version adds even more to theAn absolute must-own for JRPG fans. Persona 3 is an amazing adventure from start to finish, and the new FES version adds even more to the already stellar Persona 3.

    The gameplay is centered around dungeon crawling juggled with high school life. The characters are well presented and the turn based battles are fun and strategic. Although I lament the fact that I can't take direct control of party members, there are only a few instances in which this actually became a real issue.

    The story is the real selling point of this game, and it deals with some pretty depressing themes, such as death and depression. The game tells its story incredibly well, and near the ending, you really feel the weight of your entire journey so far on your shoulders, and it all culminated to a bittersweet but immensely satisfying ending that you will remember forever. But just in case that wasn't enough, FES has added a lengthy epilogue chapter called "The Answer", where you play as a different character and go on another adventure to discover a truth after the main game.

    The characters are very well written and believable. Even if some characters get on your nerves, it's not for lack of characterization. The characters in this game feel relatable, and a few of them you will downright love as you go through the adventure together. They become stronger with you, in battle, in their connection with you, and in themselves. It's a hell of a feat to get the player to care as much about the characters of a game as Persona 3 does, but this game manages it wonderfully.

    Persona 3 alone was already an amazing and unforgettable experience, and FES only makes it better with the addition of some new and altered Personas, new sidequests, costumes, and The Answer. If you're a JRPG fan, and even if you aren't, this game will amaze you in so many ways.
    Expand
  3. Aug 29, 2010
    10
    One of the best RPGs of the past decade (in my opinion of course). This game is great. It's length is good ($30 for 120+ hours? Pretty good inOne of the best RPGs of the past decade (in my opinion of course). This game is great. It's length is good ($30 for 120+ hours? Pretty good in my opinion), the actors do a very good job (aside from Fuuka who can go from pretty good to abysmal). The story is good and the characters really help push it along. The combat is the same as any other JRPG. One thing that most people complain about is the lack of being able to control your party members, believe me when I say, it's not as bad as it sounds. The worst of the AI is probably Misturu, but everyone else has pretty good AI, so don't worry about that. The Persona fusion system is a lot of fun to mess with, you could easily spend 20+ minutes fusing Personae together. Awesome game. Expand
  4. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    This definitely comes in as one of my favorite RPGs of all time. Any fan of JRPGs or anime in general needs to pick up this game as well asThis definitely comes in as one of my favorite RPGs of all time. Any fan of JRPGs or anime in general needs to pick up this game as well as Persona 4. The Social Link system is an amazing way to mix up the action, and the end result is a perfect blend of dungeon crawling, monster collecting, and visual novel. The grind might be repetitive, but the boss battles are great and the story/characters are amazing. Definitely not an RPG to be missed! Expand
  5. Mar 11, 2017
    9
    I came to play this franchise with no expectations and Atlus has really established itself as a brand that can compete with the like of SquareI came to play this franchise with no expectations and Atlus has really established itself as a brand that can compete with the like of Square Enix in the JRPG genre. Persona 3 is one of my favorites games in the PS2 and I recommend it practically to everyone. Its gameplay is unique because no other game, AFAIK, has ever tried mixing in bonds and friendship as a source of leveling power/capability. Guaranteed a great game for its time and will always have a special place in me. Expand
  6. Feb 19, 2014
    9
    While the dungeon crawling and social sim combination may not be for everyone, any person who calls themselves an RPG fan would be doingWhile the dungeon crawling and social sim combination may not be for everyone, any person who calls themselves an RPG fan would be doing themselves a disservice by not at least trying this title. P3FES builds upon the original P3, fixing many of the gripes people had with original while adding a new social link, multiple mechanics regarding combat and stat building, and an all new epilogue which explains the closing hours. With a large cast of likeable characters, a solid (albeit at times annoying) combat system reminiscent of Pokemon, and intriguing story and supporting elements, P3FES has all the great makings of a perfect RPG, but falls just short of the mark due to a few complaints.

    Combat can be a drag as the amount of control you have over your teammates is very small, Tartarus is the only dungeon in the game and it's literally the same floor repeated over and over again, the inventory system is clunky and confusing at most times, the art style and music is an "either you love it or you hate it" deal, the story slows down considerably near the end, and at times the game feels more like a social/waifu simulator with the rare dungeon dive.

    The Persona series gets a lot of scrutiny due to the lack of depth outside of the Social Links , but this much is certain: P3 FES is a greatly improved version of the original, and definitely warrants a try.
    Expand
  7. Aug 20, 2012
    5
    in the last years of the playstation2 i was already gone, haven't played anything on this console anymore, but years later i realized that iin the last years of the playstation2 i was already gone, haven't played anything on this console anymore, but years later i realized that i missed a lot of good games. So 4 years after the release i played this game, which was so highly praised everywhere and for me this was a HUGE disappointment. I always loved RPGs, especially japanese ones, and a more modern teen story sounded well for me, also the graphics looked amazing on the pics, but at the end i cannot understand all these euphoric reviews. the dating-part in this game is so simple and it felt more like a facebook-game, in which you are doing stuff to upgrade more and more, but not because you really like it, you have the feeling you have to do it, and the RPG part is also boring. Shuffled mazes which dont look good. It was also too easy, and if you are not strong enough then go there again and again and your states will rise and you will win. so easy. there is nothing strategic in this game, just level up and you will solve the fights. it doesnt depent on your strategy or your decisions, just that you had enough fights till this point. the 2 parts dont fit together, the story needs so much time that something interesting is happening and so on... i can't understand you fans out there. for me this one felt more like polished cellphone-game. Collapse

See all 32 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2008
#5 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2008