• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Mar 22, 2005
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. The hand-drawn environments are gorgeous, as are the visuals as a whole, but that doesn't mean I want to see the same areas again and again. [March 2005, p.130]
  2. Shining Tears is clichéd, has a few flaws in the combat system and is sometimes a little too easy for even one character (let alone a pair of them) to run through. And yet, Despite all its shortcomings, I've really enjoyed playing the game.
  3. With its repetitive gameplay, terrible A.I., painful slowdown, frequent load times, and clichéd storyline, I honestly have no explanation for why the game can still be fun to play, but it can.
  4. Considering how rich your upgrade options actually are, it's disappointing that the combat itself falls a bit flat. This is a straightforward hack-and-slash that is saddled with an unnecessary partner system and masses of foes that can be easily killed.
  5. You can save anywhere or enter and exit battles as needed - nice touches that make this one user-friendly. [March 2005, p.124]
  6. 61
    Hardcore SEGA freaks and RPG nuts will likely be more forgiving than they have to be, but with the simplistic and repetitive nature of the gameplay and the lack of any challenge whatsoever, it'll be hard for anyone to appreciate it as much as they did the Genesis games.
  7. The repetitive gameplay is the real downer for the game. Having to repeat the same steps over and over again gets old quickly.
  8. Those willing to beat back the multiple waves of irritating technical snafus will find a highly flawed, yet ambitious and engaging Action RPG. [March 2005, p.73]
  9. 60
    Even though I had some fun with the Shining Tears, most of it stemmed from nostalgia and imagining what this game could have been.
  10. The pacing just kills the experience and the good ideas that the game brings to the table were never executed the way that they were drawn up.
  11. Pros: Beautiful art, unique team mechanic. Cons: Repetitious battles, poor A.I., slowdown. [March 2005, p.101]
  12. 50
    The graphics are very attractive but there are much better games of this style such as Sega’s own "Shining Soul II." Shining Tears is one for the die-hard fans and 2D enthusiasts only. [JPN Import]
  13. 48
    I think we're getting to the point where we're going to have to start paying Sega NOT to make games on their own.
  14. 20
    Shining Tears is an applicable title for this game, because anyone who spends their time and money on it will break down in tears... Avoid it like a proposition from a girl walking out of the VD clinic.
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Sep 12, 2013
    7
    An essentially good game with many flaws. These include poor translation, poor AI, poor use of hardware (causing system slows), and poor pacing. Buy this only if you are capable of being patient through its foibles. If you do, you will find an uncut gem of a game. Full Review »
  2. KyleD.
    Mar 24, 2005
    7
    I am not familiar with the Shining Saga series, other than what I've read from other gamers. I have to applaud this game for its 2-D environments and "Secret of Mana" like playability. The aspect I enjoy most is the ability to play this game co-operatively with a friend. Multiplayer action is missing from so many RPG's. Now don't expect the story to blow you away and there are some issues with the game's menu system (most notably the strange looking menu icons) but if you are interested in 2-D slasher RPG's at all I would reccommend this one. Full Review »
  3. Oct 29, 2013
    7
    Storyline was good enough to keep the interest, the controls were sometimes slow and handled dully and the battle system was entertaining enough. Direction-wise this game was messy and had me guessing on how to proceed with the story, luckily online Walkthroughs exist. Character development was fair but seemed limited, the customization was okay, but the upgrading and leveling was decent. Sometimes it seemed that the developers just got lazy and overwhelmingly littered the battle field with enemies at times (especially near the end). This is definitely not for every RPG gamer, but "Shining Tears" has it's charms, worth a play if you run in to it, but I'm NOT labeling this a masterpiece. Full Review »