• Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Aug 6, 2003
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. 100
    Grainy video filters, swirling cameras and intense action put it severed head and shoulders above the rest of the horror-game competition - the best installment yet of a great series. [Aug 2003, p.32]
  2. Adds a new level of terror to the Silent Hill franchise. It has the same great atmosphere and tension from the first two games all while adding tons more enemies and more tension because of it.
  3. 100
    All hype and scare-the-girlfriend jokes aside, Silent Hill 3 is a truly disturbing, frightening, and bloody experience (more or less in that order). This is the current high-mark of scary games, period, with production values that put most contemporary horror-flicks to shame.
  4. 93
    An audio experience that shouldn’t be passed up, especially if you are a fan of the series or survival horror in general. It is a shame the controls are difficult and the game is so short, or all would have been wonderful.
  5. 92
    Silent Hill 3 still freaks me out, sucks me in and makes me awfully frightened to play this game in the dark by myself. And isn't that what's it's all about?
  6. The single, most atmospheric survival horror game around. It goes so far beyond the greatness achieved in the 2nd installment that one must wonder, where will it all go from here?
  7. It gives you lots of reasons to pick it up again and again, chief among them being the extremely well-realized story and the amazing atmosphere of dread. Silent Hill 3 is a tense, powerful game.
  8. 91
    It's an interactive nightmare, complete with off-kilter logic and unnerving imagery, both of which are bound to stay with you for weeks. [Sept 2003, p.52]
  9. A definite improvement over Silent Hill 2 in almost every way (except length), SH3 is probably one of the best survival horror games available right now. While the length affects things other than the replay value, the unlockable extras do their part to extend the game’s longevity.
  10. A solid addition to the series. The thrills are definitely here, and they're more disturbing than ever, but it sticks to the traditional survival horror mold — a likely turn-off for those looking for something new.
  11. This game also has quite a bit of replay ability to, with 3 different endings to see, and additional scenes to be seen on replay. My only qualm with this game is that it’s too short, at only 5 hours on your first play through and maybe half that each additional time.
  12. Have you ever walked out of a particularly good horror flick only to discover that your muslces ache because you've been tensing them up in anticipation of the next terrifying event? Silent Hill 3 is like that. [Aug 2003, p.95]
  13. While it arguably does little in term of innovation, it has some classic puzzles, far more satisfying combat elements than ever before, some truly horrifying sections, fantastic visuals, gruesome audio and a quality storyline that kicks most of the embarrassing competition out of sight.
  14. While it's not any kind of gameplay revolution, it's the best, most polished and creepiest of the series.
  15. 90
    For all its similarity to Silent Hill 2, the third installment still manages to set itself apart with more variety, slightly improved combat, more logical puzzles, a different enough story, and even better visuals in their own grainy nonconformist way.
  16. Wet-the-bed scary survival horror. We dare you to play it. [Jan 2007, p.106]
  17. Scary, and I'm talkinng freaked-the-f***-out-at-3 a.m. scary. I mean it - afer an inexplicably horrific run-in with a blood-spewing bathtub at Brookhaven Hospital, sleep was out of the question for me. [Sept 2003, p.114]
  18. Somewhere between the solid first few hours and the game's thrilling conclusion, Silent Hill 3 transforms from a humdrum sequel into a knuckle-searing digital nightmare. [PSM2]
  19. Laden with a few differences here and there, no horror fan...in fact, no GAMER can be without this third instalment in one of Konami's best franchises on the market.
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 247 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 67
  2. Negative: 1 out of 67
  1. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    This was definitely the best of the Silent Hill games made. It had such a great storyline and just an all around great horror game. It neverThis was definitely the best of the Silent Hill games made. It had such a great storyline and just an all around great horror game. It never gets old and it has some of the most creepiest levels and monsters than some of these new horror games have. It can be a bit challenging at times, even on easy, and you need to conserve every item you find but that's what a real horror game is made of! Full Review »
  2. Jul 6, 2014
    10
    Silent Hill 3 is the more darker, deepest, sad and bizarre silent hill title ever!! I love Haether Mason character and Claudia too. The finalSilent Hill 3 is the more darker, deepest, sad and bizarre silent hill title ever!! I love Haether Mason character and Claudia too. The final chapter from the Alessa history and epic conclution, please silent team back to save the franchise !! Full Review »
  3. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    This is my favorite title from the Silent Hill series, the main character had something that the other ones didn't had, she expressed herThis is my favorite title from the Silent Hill series, the main character had something that the other ones didn't had, she expressed her feeling in a nice way, when her father die and when she wanted revenge from Claudia. The graphics, the sounds and the atmosphere were good. The extra weapons were excellent and i can't play this game enough to get bored, one of my favorite games ever! If the controls and the camera was a little better it would totally deserved a 10. Full Review »