• Publisher: Namco
  • Release Date: Oct 18, 2005
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. With four skill levels, awesome co-op multiplay, online play, and a ton of game-modifying options, Sniper Elite belongs on your hit list. [Nov 2005, p.80]
  2. A deep World War II shooter with excellent AI, physics, and heart-pumping, edge of your seat action.
  3. It's SOCOM meets Hitman and it makes lying in the rubble of a blown-out rathaus a tense, exciting and deeply satisfying pastime.
  4. Only the best of the best will see the final missions in Sniper Elite mode, but for the rest of us, Rebellion has created a remarkable, beautifully brutal WWII game that’s smarter than the usual fodder lining game store shelves.
  5. There is a little bit of “Medal of Honor” here and some “SOCOM” as well, but really this game has an identity all its own with a unique mood and feel. It isn’t the most challenging war title I’ve ever played but it is one of the grittiest.
  6. Besides that gripe, picking up the PS2 version of Sniper Elite gets you a solid multiplayer game, and a singleplayer game that's challenging, but at least as much so for its grainy graphics as for its unforgiving enemies.
  7. Sniper Elite makes headshots a grizzly reward that becomes addictive and, because the battle is always weighted against you, filled with air-punching satisfaction every time you make a connection. Bravo. [Nov 2005, p.96]
  8. Essential if you're the analytical, disciplined type, but the lack of action will put off anyone seeking immediacy and action from the go. [PSM2]
  9. 80
    If you're prepared for the deliberate nature of its gameplay, Sniper Elite is a rewarding way to fight WWII from the comfort of your couch. Just keep in mind the prerequisite degree of patience.
  10. 80
    Sniper Elite delivers the sort of slow-paced and rewarding gameplay experience not usually found on consoles. Gamers with the right mindset will love every mission here, while more impatient ones will be pulling their hair out long before the end of the first one.
  11. 76
    Though Sniper Elite doesn't do anything revolutionary, it's a fun game greatly aided by its expanded gameplay options.
  12. The depth is appreciated, but the graphics, camera, and collision could use polish. [Nov 2005, p.149]
  13. The realism may turn off some run and gun gamers, but even those fans will have a hard time not appreciating what Sniper Elite brings to the table in terms of great and entertaining game play.
  14. It's not for those with short attention spans, but patient players who aren't squeamish should enjoy Sniper Elite's tense and methodically paced action.
  15. There's not quite enough freedom in the levels to find that perfect shot, but this is still a rewarding and enjoyably fresh sniper sim. [Nov 2006, p.135]
  16. Elite excels at creating an atmosphere of paranoia and alienation... [Nov p.93]
  17. If you’re a gamer with a very heavy interest in war games, and a ton of patience then Sniper Elite is a game worth checking out.
  18. Wins points for originality, and the gameplay works well, but it lacks a compelling narrative (the disjointed mission objectives don't cut it), and it rarely made me feel as tense as I thought it should. [Nov 2005, p.117]
  19. Much too static and scripted and requires unearthly patience. What is the point in stalking if no one does anything without the stalker doing something first? [Dec 2005]
  20. Sniping can be cool, but this game finds a way to make it much more boring than it should be.
  21. So while Sniper Elite is tense and fairly riveting, it's never exciting or completely satisfying. The game feels like a chore to play through and the concept is just too limited to be truly enjoyable. [PSW]
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Jimbob
    Aug 7, 2006
    10
    Best Coop i've played on a console. The game offers an endless supply of missions, granted a bit 'samey', in which 2 people can easily progress through. Full Review »
  2. Sep 26, 2014
    10
    i loved this game it was a huge thing for me when i was younger. i did not manage to beat it at the time but i loved it it was a load of fun to the point i made it to i just had so much fun learning this game's ways and playing it till the dawns first light when i would pass out. i would totally play it again all these years later Full Review »
  3. ChadK.
    Jul 11, 2006
    10
    This game rock very reallistic I love hitting the gernades on ther uniform and watching them blow up .I had some of the best and funny things happen in this game it is one of those hidden gem games that you haer nothing about and turns out to be one of the best great job waiting for #2. Full Review »