• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Aug 27, 2002
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. One shot, one kill—this unforgiving, ultrarealistic console shooter is unlike any other.
  2. I love this game, and I don't see myself playing anything else at home for a good three or four months. [Sept 2002, p.11]
  3. 100
    For weeks, it's been the only game I've really wanted to play...The play experience is slow-paced, methodical and insanely tense. [Sept 2002, p.28]
  4. Then there's the online mode which I have to say is quite luscious. [Sept 2002, p.76]
  5. There are a number of new and unique concepts demonstrated in SOCOM: U.S. Navy SEALs, but it's the execution -- which is nearly flawless -- that makes them stand out from the crowd.
  6. The realistic weapons and possibility of one-shot deaths give it a visceral excitement other shooters lack. [Oct 2002, p.186]
  7. Its gameplay has evolved to a funfactor of hell yes!
  8. SOCOM has one of the nicest interfaces I’ve ever seen. Easy to use and very simple.
  9. While the graphics engine may have a few rough edges, they don't detract from the great stealth action. If you can forgive the spotty AI, you will enjoy the challenge the game provides.
  10. There’s a lot of attention to detail in the levels and environments, from weather effects to volumetric lighting. It all makes up for the simple character models and sometimes less than spectacular visuals.
  11. Possibly the best reason to own a PS2 network adapter. The team-based miliary tactics work better online than off. [Feb 2003, p.93]
  12. The headset does a great job to add a lot of realism to the game online and offline.
  13. With brisk, action-packed deathmatches online, easily controlled game hosting and clan setup, SOCOM is one of those games that the online experience was tailor-made for.
  14. The real area where SOCOM shines is in the player models and animations -- where everything from a simple reload to the way a seal crawls across a muddy riverbank to the way a freshly-capped enemy lurches forward and back, then topples over silently -- drips with an astonishing amount of detail.
  15. Overall, SOCOM is definitely at the top-tier of PS2 games in terms of sound, and can hold its own in graphics.
  16. An online game that is surprisingly deep but extremely easy to get into, making it an excellent game regardless of whether you've played other multiplayer shooters before.
  17. The game fails a bit in single player mode, but more than makes up for it in multiplayer.
  18. As great and good and wonderful and new as SOCOM is, the game has a MOAB-sized room for improvement and before we go deeper into the communal experience of multiplayer combat we should cover a few points that prove that we’re not going to be fully-fledged cyber soldiers just yet.
  19. 87
    The splendid visuals, reliance on real world hardware, and sound strategic system underlying each of many riveting rumbles in the jungle, frozen tundra and barren desert provide for a wonderful gaming experience. [4 Sept 2002]
  20. 87
    After playing online, say goodbye to your social life, and also the 12 mission single-player attempt.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 80 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 55
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 55
  3. Negative: 6 out of 55
  1. Aug 2, 2013
    8
    This is where the great SOCOM series started. It's dirt cheap nowadays so pick this one for your PS2. Even if the online is dead, the singleplayer is quite tense and deep. I hope Sony re-releases this on the PSN as part of an HD collection. Full Review »
  2. Apr 18, 2013
    10
    Excuse me Are you serious?! People here need to give inteligable, honest reviews and if they dont like the game, tell specifically why! Im speaking of course to the user who put nothing but IT SUCKS on the review. GROW UP! Full Review »
  3. Jun 8, 2011
    4
    This might have been fun when it came out do to the multiplayer, but now days it sucks, the campaign's story sucked, that is if it even had a story I honestly can't remember if it had one, it had the ability to be a great 3rd person run and gun shooter, but instead they made it a crappy stealth game where the A.I. is either completely oblivious to the fact that your there, or are instantly alerted the second when you make a move, the multiplayer was fun, but it's dead now, I honestly can't recommend this game to anyone at all, skip at all costs. Full Review »