SOCOM: U.S. Navy SEALs PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Aug 27, 2002
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 83 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 83
  2. Negative: 14 out of 83
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AlexJ.
    Oct 17, 2004
    10
    It's the best thing i rate it 10 itst the best weapons levels graphics and its just the best!!!!!!!!!.
  2. MetalInc.
    Oct 18, 2002
    2
    Sucks. Sucks sucks. Sure the graphics are nice, the gameplay is ok...but all of this is shunned due to horrible AI. You can walk up behing two guys.....shoot one in the head, and his partner won't even turn around. HORRIBLE AI. I think the only reason to play this game is the online options...other wise you might as well go buy a copy of bubble bobble for NES.
  3. JhonS.
    Jun 3, 2003
    1
    This game is a loss and nearly worthy of a 1 its lacks soooo much and has almost no originality for example, In the interest of spicing up the first-person shooter landscape for the PlayStation2, Sony releases "SOCOM: US Navy (fair enough) in hopes to get the support of Sony's growing online community, it was meant to thrill as both a one-player experience and an online shoot This game is a loss and nearly worthy of a 1 its lacks soooo much and has almost no originality for example, In the interest of spicing up the first-person shooter landscape for the PlayStation2, Sony releases "SOCOM: US Navy (fair enough) in hopes to get the support of Sony's growing online community, it was meant to thrill as both a one-player experience and an online shoot 'em up but sadly it failed, "SOCOM" adds a few tiny enhancements to the genre. But where "SOCOM"(and to be fair) manages to get a few things right, it also manages to fall on its face many times. Navy SEALS are arguably among the best and most versatile combat soldiers this country has. As such their exploits make for exciting videogame.. Or so you would think. "SOCOM" attempts to capture the real-world stress and consequences that might trouble the SEALS during any given workday and again does it to well. The villains in "SOCOM" are terrorist factions operating here in the United States and abroad. Their villainous antics bring players to locations ranging from the jungles of Thailand to the frozen north of Alaska, with several stops in between but the IA intelligence makes them more like girl scouts than terrorist factions. You play as the field commander for an elite group of three other Seal?s. Your task is to undo or prevent terrorist mayhem. Helping you along is the latest in Special Operations Command, a k a SOCOM. You're wired to teammates and central command via headsets and can adjust strategies in the field to accommodate new intelligence. You can give direct orders to other Seal?s and they can respond. Sony sets a precedent by including a headset to communicate in game, a feature that does well to add to the overall experience of any game. Stealth first, ferocity second Missions in "SOCOM" require pre-launch preparation. Before going into the various threatening environments, players must review available Intel and update the team's assorted weaponry and gear. Once on location, how boring Players can pick up and drop gear as necessary, as well as lug the occasional corpse into the shadows. Intelligence on location is limited to a map interface and the comments garnered through the SOCOM. For example, the map will show the locations of suspected sentries, waypoints, buildings, or bombs. But it's the communications through your SOCOM that reveal mission-critical updates from HQ or status reports from your teammates. So when creeping along to diffuse a bomb, for example, teammates in the rear may ask the player to identify possible snipers. Identifying snipers results in new orders from HQ to eliminate the threat. Once that side mission is accomplished, it's back to the shadows and continuing the original task. "SOCOM" allows a player to order troops. Teams are made up of two factions and can work together on anything from breaching and clearing a building to setting up an ambush. Teammates can also be split into groups where one-soldier covers your flank as the others waits at the helicopter landing zone protecting an extracted informant. The possibilities seem endless, almost. Artificial stupidity The attention to detail in the CPU troops' artificial intelligence and the incorporation of SOCOM Intel is ambitious, however this is also the game's biggest downfall. Players will often find their team behaving somewhat silly. It's frustrating to have cleared a building of enemies before moving on to a primary objective, only to have to return and clear the now-empty building again because SOCOM HQ didn't register your improvisational attack. And your cup team, for example, frequently blows your cover at inopportune moments. This may be frustrating for players who try for a perfect rating during end-of-level debriefings. The AI constraints also means more than a few midlevel resets while you try and grind through objectives without straying much from the suggested path. Ho hum. Saving grace? Luckily, "SOCOM" encourages multiplier games online. Once logged onto SOCOM Online, players will then have an opportunity to join up as either Terrorists or Seal?s for an all-out deathmatch, Extraction game (liberate hostages), or a Demolition match (plant a bomb in enemy camp). The included headset allows players to talk radio-style to teammates in the field, and you can converse with the dearly departed once they've been defeated in combat. Being able to communicate with team members during online action brings some much-needed depth to the multiplier component. Hopefully other titles take note and embrace the technology. Something about saying "enemy sighted" to the solider covering your rear just feels right. Unfortunately with the new freedom of speech aspect comes the occasional freedom to annoy everybody with juvenile shenanigans. But you can always ignore the headset or join another game. In all "SOCOM" is defiant no-buy. The addition of the headset to a first-person shooter helps promote what is coolest about the Internet -- the ability to communicate and participate with people from all over. And that's the only appeal. The frustration factor runs needlessly high in "SOCOM" due to very, very VERY boring gameplay..... Online better but still boring and if you want to play waiting is your only option and if your connection isn?t broadband forget it you can still play but your just someone else?s slow moving slow shooting, easy, lagging target. Expand
  4. JonG.
    Oct 13, 2005
    1
    I can't believe they took away sur shot setting. Trying to learn new controls after a year of using socom 2 isn't fair. If they don't patch that up I'm returning the game. What was the reasoning behind leaving it out.
  5. TimS.
    Mar 25, 2003
    1
    This game sucks! when you go online the other players are like drunk ducks trying to ice skate!!!i would rather play with me sisters dolls!!!!!!
  6. Jun 8, 2011
    4
    This might have been fun when it came out do to the multiplayer, but now days it sucks, the campaign's story sucked, that is if it even had a story I honestly can't remember if it had one, it had the ability to be a great 3rd person run and gun shooter, but instead they made it a crappy stealth game where the A.I. is either completely oblivious to the fact that your there, or areThis might have been fun when it came out do to the multiplayer, but now days it sucks, the campaign's story sucked, that is if it even had a story I honestly can't remember if it had one, it had the ability to be a great 3rd person run and gun shooter, but instead they made it a crappy stealth game where the A.I. is either completely oblivious to the fact that your there, or are instantly alerted the second when you make a move, the multiplayer was fun, but it's dead now, I honestly can't recommend this game to anyone at all, skip at all costs. Expand
  7. Apr 18, 2013
    10
    Excuse me Are you serious?! People here need to give inteligable, honest reviews and if they dont like the game, tell specifically why! Im speaking of course to the user who put nothing but IT SUCKS on the review. GROW UP!
  8. AlG.
    Sep 3, 2002
    10
    I played about 2 hours of this game, after which I caught the last 45 minutes of "Navy SEALs" the movie on cable. It's scary how much friggen better the game is than the movie was. The online component is unreal! (non literally)
  9. AdamY.
    Apr 30, 2003
    10
    My wife says she is a Socom Widow now, this is the only game I play and I am totally addicted to the online action. PS2 doesn't get any better than this! Without a doubt the most awesome shooting game on the market.
  10. AnonymousMC
    Feb 19, 2004
    10
    This game is the best shooting game that you can get. Little lone amazing online. To say this game is bad, you are crazy, and must play like Poke'mon all day. If you would rather throw a Poke'ball than take your terrorist anger out, than you are crazy. It may lag watching your teammaters, but does it lag when you are playing? Didn't think so. This is the best. If you agreeThis game is the best shooting game that you can get. Little lone amazing online. To say this game is bad, you are crazy, and must play like Poke'mon all day. If you would rather throw a Poke'ball than take your terrorist anger out, than you are crazy. It may lag watching your teammaters, but does it lag when you are playing? Didn't think so. This is the best. If you agree with me, than you are awesome, but if you dont, than play me and I'll own you. Incase anyone wants to know my SocomII online name, it is SealSnipa. I am ranked 20,000 (captain)(wings). So this game is the best. Sniping is realistic because it actually moves around which anyone would do. Also, the sound is unbelievably realistic. The best part is, shooting the terrorists heads and watching blood spill out like milk out of jugs(haha). Aso, a great glitch, dead man walking. If you don't know how to do it, you are a noob, and if someone ranked ensign is reading this, I don't know how one could be so horrible. Like I said, send me a friend invite, and I'll confirm it and I'll own you(except admirals). Again, this is the best game I could have ever bought for playstation 2, and for the online play. Let me say it one more time, this game is absolutely amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!(o)(o)TITS!!!! Expand
  11. DanS.
    Apr 4, 2004
    10
    Excellent.
  12. J.Palm
    Nov 9, 2002
    8
    I would recommend this game to mostly the people that have the network adepter for PS2.
  13. AnthonyD.
    Dec 10, 2002
    8
    Single Player is good, but the AI was a little shoddy. Graphics were very outdated. The teamwork was the best part.
  14. ChuckP.
    Aug 24, 2002
    9
    With online play it rocks.
  15. JakeD.
    Aug 27, 2002
    10
    I just got this game about 2 hours or so ago, and i have to say its amazing.... the online gaming portion of this game is amazing and for what i saw it looks like it can last a while.... Anyways im off to play again.
  16. AndrewE.
    Sep 2, 2002
    8
    I like this game but I can't get online because I don't have a broadband adapter. Thats why I'm giving it an 8.
  17. BrodieP.
    Sep 5, 2002
    8
    A lot of fun online.. once you get on and STAY on. The sometimes unstable network gets in the way of an overall very enjoyable gameing experience. I'll be spending many more hours crouched behind enemy lines with this one...controls are easy to use, graphics are above average, and the headset works like a charm.
  18. KenC.
    Mar 11, 2003
    10
    I am addicted to this game, I LOVE IT. i especilally love the online mode. AWESOME GAME, not a type of game fps people would love though. ( although i LOVE fps) go RF2!!
  19. GovannyV.
    Mar 7, 2003
    10
    The game play is excellent, graphics could be better but overal realy adictive and fun.
  20. KyleH.
    Apr 7, 2003
    10
    The best game i have ever played, great graphics, smooth sound and the headset adds a dimesion that no other ps2 game has been able to do. The best ps2 game on the market, bar none.
  21. LARSONATOR167167
    Jun 12, 2003
    10
    This game is the best, it should be the Metacritic Game Of The Year.
  22. ChachM.
    Apr 8, 2004
    8
    Musical Score: 8. Good music, but could use more variety. Playability: 8. Easy-to-master dualshock controls. Accuracy: ? I wouldn't know; I'm not a Navy SEAL. Interest factor: 7. After the second or third time running through a mission due to some stupid AI glitch can be pretty frustrating. Please note that "Jhon S." (yes, he spelled his own name wrong) blatantly plagiarized Musical Score: 8. Good music, but could use more variety. Playability: 8. Easy-to-master dualshock controls. Accuracy: ? I wouldn't know; I'm not a Navy SEAL. Interest factor: 7. After the second or third time running through a mission due to some stupid AI glitch can be pretty frustrating. Please note that "Jhon S." (yes, he spelled his own name wrong) blatantly plagiarized TechTV in his review, and it should be removed. Expand
  23. RIkardN.
    Oct 13, 2005
    9
    Its not fun to only play in singelplayer, but online is amazing!
  24. GamerX_3
    Nov 27, 2002
    10
    I havent really played this game but when i did i thought the graphics were kewl or awesome the battle would be this game and desert storm for the best war games.
  25. Aznsky
    Dec 19, 2002
    9
    OKAY 1. WHY THE F... WOULD U PLAY THIS GAME OR EVEN BUY THIS GAME IF YOUR NOT GOING TO PLAY ONLINE. if u play this game online you will love it. the online play is the best ever. there is yet a game that is online that is good as this game 2.YOU'RE IDIOTS FOR GRADING THIS GAME IF U DONT EVEN PLAY IT ONLINE.
  26. NickB.
    Dec 5, 2002
    10
    HOLY SH.T THIS GAME FRIGGIN KICKS MY LAME ASS!!!!
  27. NickR.
    Dec 8, 2002
    9
    This game is so awesome it has good grapics it has good game play and this game is so fun i just cant stop playing it.
  28. JakobB.
    Oct 4, 2002
    10
    It's the best game out there!!!!!!!!
  29. RyanB.
    Jan 14, 2003
    10
    This is a great game. I like how you can tell BRAVO what to do but I don't like the graphics they are very bad.
  30. B.Rock
    Dec 19, 2003
    10
    SOCOM can be frustrating. But that is the point. To me, and I don't know any better, but the fact that 'you die, you reset' is as close to real life as you can get. Isn't that the point? Any closer and the CD's would have to self-destruct anytime your character died. That is what leads to the stress level, because every corner, every view, every LOS is SOCOM can be frustrating. But that is the point. To me, and I don't know any better, but the fact that 'you die, you reset' is as close to real life as you can get. Isn't that the point? Any closer and the CD's would have to self-destruct anytime your character died. That is what leads to the stress level, because every corner, every view, every LOS is important...make the wrong move and BOOM, you are hitting start and waiting for the game to 'REPLAY MISSION'. Yes it is frustrating. Now how much respect do you have for our men and women in uniform? Point being, the game is great despite this. In fact, it enhances the game because completing a mission is that much sweeter. As I believe Deep Purple put it "Its not the kill, its the thrill of the chase." Expand
  31. Mike
    Jan 4, 2003
    10
    This game is the sweetest. The best part is the online play!
  32. PaulG.
    Feb 26, 2003
    10
    This game is the shiznat.
  33. ChrisE.
    Feb 9, 2003
    9
    Awesome game, except on mission 8 under lt. JG difficulty, you will hear a 3 round burst come fromover 100 yrds away in teh fog and take out all of your guys, which made the mission extremely hard and my guys seeem to be total dumbasses and get stuck behind everything and not shoot the bad guys at the right time, other than that its an awesome game, last mission is the best
  34. PatG.
    Apr 21, 2003
    10
    This game is probably the best game that I've played in years and trust me I play a lot of games Socom overrules everygame out on the market.
  35. EricS.
    Apr 26, 2003
    10
    Wicked sweet.
  36. JohnM.
    May 31, 2003
    10
    Tim s is a sh.thead 4 saying this game sucks he does play with dolls and prolly is drunk when he plays it so tim s put the beer in the pack and bring up the back.
  37. BobS.
    Jun 15, 2003
    8
    I gave this game an 8 because of the one player adventure mode. It is fun and stuff, but if you die you have to start all over, whick makes it frustrating. I hope SOCOM 2 makes a better one player adventure. I had heard that the online play is awesome so I bought a network adaptor because I already had broadband, and SOCOM online rules. It is so much fun. I don't have much time in a I gave this game an 8 because of the one player adventure mode. It is fun and stuff, but if you die you have to start all over, whick makes it frustrating. I hope SOCOM 2 makes a better one player adventure. I had heard that the online play is awesome so I bought a network adaptor because I already had broadband, and SOCOM online rules. It is so much fun. I don't have much time in a day, but I find myself playing SOCOM for hours on end. It is an awesome online experience for any PS2 owner. Expand
  38. Andreas
    Jun 25, 2003
    9
    The control can be a bit messy, and the concept is not exactly new. But the game is sooo much fun in both one-player, and online to let it be!! Enjoy! (",)
  39. Linus
    Sep 5, 2003
    10
    This game is one of the best ever, anyone who thinks else either sucks at the game, or dosnt know what a good game is. I find socom to be very addicting, i got the game about a year ago and im still playing it 24/7. To me Socom could be better than the GTA series, if there werent any glitches or lag. I played Vice city for about a month and i got bored of it, the same thing with gta 3. This game is one of the best ever, anyone who thinks else either sucks at the game, or dosnt know what a good game is. I find socom to be very addicting, i got the game about a year ago and im still playing it 24/7. To me Socom could be better than the GTA series, if there werent any glitches or lag. I played Vice city for about a month and i got bored of it, the same thing with gta 3. Thats why this game deserves more than a ten. Expand
  40. BooberM.
    Jan 6, 2004
    10
    The best shooter I've played to date. The lush surrounding, realistic sounds and superb gameplay make it worth playing.
  41. FredyD.
    Jun 23, 2004
    10
    It's a Great game to play online! This game is soo awsome that i don't even notice that i play it about 8 hours a day!
  42. JoeB.
    Jul 5, 2004
    10
    Finally a game about something I want to do with my life.
  43. [Anonymous]
    Nov 13, 2002
    7
    Yeah this game is fun but there are alot more game that ae better. maybe not in graphics but in story and gameplay.
  44. DwaneJ.
    Oct 14, 2002
    10
    Pick up your panties ladies were going to war! Hooaaaaah If this game had any more violence it might cause me to go ape shi*. Perfect in everyway. Deathstalker79 good job
  45. GregS.
    Dec 24, 2002
    10
    The Best Game This Year.
  46. MattE.
    Aug 26, 2002
    10
    Very well thought out game. i have had the privilege to play it before the release date and i have found it to be very well done. the microphone, voice communication, and the internet connection have brought the PS2 to a new level of fun. no doubt you will spend countless hours playing this game. I can't say enough good things about it. on my top 5 list of all time.
  47. PatrickW.
    Aug 31, 2002
    9
    This game is very good! I mostly play the online bit. I get as much satifaction from this game as I do from counter strike and urban terror. I recommend it!
  48. SealSnipa
    Feb 19, 2004
    10
    This is the hottest game out I tell you. If you say this game is bad, than u stink at the game. But if you are like me, and have your wings(captain),than the game is awesome. I would give it a 100 of 100 if i can. There may be many glitches in the game, but sometimes you just gotta have fun.
  49. JowK.
    Mar 19, 2004
    10
    It's good.
  50. JDMafia
    Dec 13, 2002
    10
    This game is awesome! The best teamwork war game ever. So what if the com apponents are deaf? It's graphic and awsome! The headset rocks! Online too! It's the best online game for PS2 (and way better than any XBox Live game)! Talking to real ppl on your team and attacking real ppl also playing the game down the street or across the country???? Unreal!!!!!
  51. OddHead
    Dec 14, 2002
    10
    WOW! absolutely gorgeous graphics, stunning gameplay, perfect missions, AND you get a headset!! what other game on this platform can you speak to your team? THEN YOU GO ONLINE AND ALL HELL BREAKS LOOSE!! nothing like it, period.
  52. JubkillJ.
    Dec 23, 2002
    10
    Aznsky is right, why the hell would you rate this game if u have't even played online!!! Besides that the graphics are sweet and the best part is u get a head set and can talk to people that are playng with you!!!!
  53. May 2, 2011
    10
    Without a shred of doubt, the greatest game I have ever played. There's never been anything that can compare. I'll never forget how much fun I've had with this game, just as much as I'll never forget how much it socially crippled me. This game became a drug. Therein, deemed as Socrack.
  54. Aug 2, 2013
    8
    This is where the great SOCOM series started. It's dirt cheap nowadays so pick this one for your PS2. Even if the online is dead, the singleplayer is quite tense and deep. I hope Sony re-releases this on the PSN as part of an HD collection.

Awards & Rankings

#5 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
#31 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. It’s easily said that SOCOM is the best console based tactical shooter ever, and it wins that throne quite handedly.
  2. netjak
    87
    After playing online, say goodbye to your social life, and also the 12 mission single-player attempt.
  3. PSM Magazine
    80
    One of the greatest features of this game, by far, the headset lets you tell your computer-controlled teammates exactly what to do...makes SOCOM such an innovative title. [Oct 2002, p.28]