Sonic Heroes PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Jan 27, 2004
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 29
  2. Negative: 4 out of 29
Buy On
  1. The control elements are mixed and players may find themselves trying to move the game along through stabbing at the wrong keys. However, get past that and you will find a game that moves along nicely, but won’t offer anything new or markedly different.
  2. For everything Sonic Heroes gets right there's a massive fault ready and willing to ruin the hard work - a less than stellar framerate, especially in two-player mode, numerous glitchy moments and - dare we say it? - graphics that are actually inferior to the Dreamcast Sonic iterations.
  3. Gamers who haven't exactly stuck by Sonic's blurry blue side over the years will have to work a little harder to get to the fun, spastic heart of Sonic Heroes, but those who know what to expect in terms of mechanics and sheer kinetic insanity will feel right at home.
  4. The game's graphics aren't on par with today's console offerings -- sure the worlds are colorful and large, but perhaps the developers at Japan's Sonic Team studios had to sacrifice visuals for speed.
  5. PSM Magazine
    70
    A fast and challenging experience that is hurt by camera, collision and polish issues. The levels designs and teamplay are definitely unique, though. [Feb 2004, p.24]
  6. The glorious 3D speed rush is still broken by moments where you will scream with rage inspired by whatever sadism or idiocy has kept Sonic Team from fixing its camera and control schemes after five years of 3D Sonic games.
  7. Old-school Sonic speed plus a few new twists makes for a decent if not earth-shattering return to the realm of the blue hedgehog.
  8. The PS2 Heroes is by far the worst looking of the three. Generally there isn't much of a change in a game's visuals if it's designed for all three consoles, but the underpowered Playstation 2 really takes a beating this time around.
  9. 69
    Basically, the camera is a dog that constantly runs the wrong way on you, forcing you to yank the leash to get it under control. If you don't get a handle on it, expect plenty of falls off of edges.
  10. Picture a Sonic game that struggles to go at 30 frames per second, in an age where even the Dreamcast didn't do Sonic that injustice. Sometimes it's like playing a slideshow on fast-forward. It's impossible to be precise with one's movements, or sometimes to even see where the characters are going. Not fun at all.
  11. The game is just a mess at most times (besides the graphics and sound), the gameplay has bugs and there are a couple misleading times in the many levels. The game is also sometimes so fast paced that it's impossible to get some vital powerups and items.
  12. Computer Games Magazine
    67
    The techincal aspects of Sonic Heroes are handled well, with the exception of the camera and voice work. In fact, the camera is worse than "Mario 64's" (and that's saying a lot) and the voice acting is downright repulsive. [Apr 2004, p.9]
  13. The concept is well and good, and works well – except for the fact that you still must slow down to use Knuckles and Tails (or the equivalent member in one of the three other teams in the game). These are the moments that the game truly lags, and once again the shoddy camera has come back to once again make the game a pain.
  14. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    67
    As with the previous two 3D Sonic outings, Sonic Heroes is a solid platformer that could've been a lot better if the developers had spent more time balancing the levels and tweaking the unbelievably frustrating camera. [Feb 2004, p.108]
  15. Sonic Team almost seems to be daring you to try and have fun with the PlayStation 2 version by making it significantly uglier, slower, and generally just rougher around the edges than the other two versions.
  16. The camera is crap, the scale is awkward, the story and characters are basic and cringe-worthy, the combat is tedious, the platforming and puzzling is too basic, and I was well bored of it by the time I conquered the final level with the first of the four Teams, which wasn't even that long after I first grabbed it out of the shrink-wrap.
  17. It's also the closest the series has been to its roots in well over a decade.
  18. There is definitely the potential for a very good game here, unfortunately it is hidden well by the many bugs and annoyances.
  19. Play Magazine
    58
    At 30fps on PS2, it's not as great, but still good. [Mar 2004, p.59]
  20. Marred by technical issues (slowdown galore, jagged edges, simplistic-to-a-fault level design) that make it third-best behind the GameCube and Xbox versions.
  21. Edge Magazine
    50
    Rarely does dying feel like the player's fault and, in typical "Sonic Adventure" fashion, the best bits are when you find that the majority of control has been taken away from you, and you're flung around the world at escape velocity. [Mar 2004, p.105]

Awards & Rankings

#22 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2004
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 83 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 34
  2. Negative: 6 out of 34
  1. Apr 15, 2013
    6
    Sonic Heroes was one of my favorite childhood games for PS2. I had a blast with this game growing up. The theme song is one song that isSonic Heroes was one of my favorite childhood games for PS2. I had a blast with this game growing up. The theme song is one song that is forever stuck in my head.

    Now then, gameplay wise, Sonic Heroes isn't "that" bad. It's still somewhat enjoyable. As a kid, I just played. I didn't focus on the right and wrongs. I just had fun. Now, I see that the camera is completely terrible. Literally, barley any control. The Speed, Power, and Fly sections of the game were ok. Not great, but good. The flight meter on the flying characters is too short. It goes out in a heartbeat. The only thing I actually enjoyed was being the Speed type. I just loved running through it, not caring about what was happening.

    Overall, Sonic Heroes is (like I said) not all that bad. It's still a game. Not the best, but still.

    6/10
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 1, 2012
    8
    This game is Amazing,it gets a lot of crap due to its glitches,bad story,textures/graphics and most of all the voice acting but the gameThis game is Amazing,it gets a lot of crap due to its glitches,bad story,textures/graphics and most of all the voice acting but the game doesn't deserve that for all the bad,the good in the game over-weighs it,and in my opinion,the graphics aren't to bad,the textures are solid,I found no glitches,I found the voice acting ok in a funny way and the story is fun so everything all the critics say is crap.Now the gameplay is amazing,I found the three teams of three a good idea that worked well and the music is F*****G awesome.The two player mode is cool for a quick go and the only downfalls are rogues voice and Omochoa. Full Review »
  3. Feb 14, 2015
    8
    Sonic Heroes is arguably one of the most underrated Sonic games out there. Many put the game down for certain reasons that can beSonic Heroes is arguably one of the most underrated Sonic games out there. Many put the game down for certain reasons that can be understandable, and some not so much. But allow me to explain why I love this game.

    The gameplay sports a nice variety of characters who sport gameplay styles that are familiar, yet fresh to the gameplay and can really change the way you play certain levels, like with Espio's ability to turn invisible and such. And not just in that aspect does the gameplay and replay value arise, levels themselves harbour a lot of goodies off the beaten path and branching pathways that can vary up how you play a level. Each level also sports a new level gimmick to it, from one minute you're on the seaside, the next you're at an ocean palace, an upside-down haunted house to cursed mansion and so on! Each level loves varying things us with its wide variety of unique concepts that, while it can be a turn off for some, adds a nice refreshing pace to the gameplay. The only downside is the movement control, moving characters is a tad too responsive and acceleration is pretty heavy, though not impossible to get used to, can be hard to grip for some. It's smooth, yet sharp, and very creative and unique.

    Visually, the game does basically everything a Sonic game should do aesthetically. The visuals have a nice variety of bright and very lively-awake levels that serve to excite you and prepare you for adventure, to darker, toned down ambient visuals that give a foreboding and partially intimidating presence. The game stops at nothing to impress you with its visuals that still hold up even today, with action and CGI that certainly delivers, especially in the levels themselves. Levels know how to immerse you and give you a good sense of action an adventure as previously mentioned, set pieces really stick out and give you a run for your money with great creativity.

    The music is possibly the most underrated aspect in the game, it presents you with some fair variety usually giving you a lot of peppy and catchy tunes to enjoy as you go through each stage. Pumping you up and making you feel hyperactive, even. Even the haunted creepy stages have some awesome catchiness to them, alongside the awesome exhilarating egg fleets and so on. Definitely check this out if you're curious.

    The story is rather short and simple, but thankfully doesn't interrupt the gameplay. If you're not going to make an amazing story, keep it short and relative but in tame enough so that it doesn't affect the gameplay experience or waste time with filler. But I digress. The story can be summed up as the villain, Eggman, plans to take over the world and the heroes must stop him. However there are more character teams with their own stories, Team Dark characters all have goals of their own, Team Rose all want to find someone they care about and Team Chaotix need to pay rent. All the while throughout your adventure, you find out that Eggman isn't really the mastermind behind all this, but I won't delve that far into spoilers. The writing isn't out of character, though can be a bit cheesy at times, and the characters are remain as likable as they did.

    Overall, Sonic Heroes still remains and underrated game. I can see why some people don't like it, but at the same time I do think it is well underrated and overhated. I would recommend trying this game if available and fairly cheap, it's not a masterpiece, but it's not terrible either. It's worth a try, and worth considering.
    Full Review »