Sonic Riders PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Feb 21, 2006
  • Also On: PC
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarkK.
    Oct 13, 2007
    6
    A decent game, just let down by poor mechanics and average graphics.
  2. DaveCharlton
    Mar 24, 2008
    6
    I don't think Sonic Riders should be judged too harshly on the back of its difficulty level, but criticisms of the soundtrack, graphics and level design are well warranted. Whether it's all really worth the learning curve is up to the game. I'm someone who thought the Dreamcast version of F1 World Grand Prix was one of the most rewarding racers he had ever played. NeedlessI don't think Sonic Riders should be judged too harshly on the back of its difficulty level, but criticisms of the soundtrack, graphics and level design are well warranted. Whether it's all really worth the learning curve is up to the game. I'm someone who thought the Dreamcast version of F1 World Grand Prix was one of the most rewarding racers he had ever played. Needless to say, Sonic Riders, with its dodgy level design, atrocious music, obnoxious voice overs and unintuitive controls couldn't dream of being in the same league, but there is some fun to be had if you have the patience to get used to it. Collapse
  3. May 5, 2011
    5
    Though Sonic Riders "looks" great, it feels wonky. Pros: Fantastic visuals; glossy soundtrack; overall, it is a stylish racer that has some good ideas. Cons: The turbulence sequences can eliminate your chances of winning the race; quirky controls; track designs range between peculiar and frustrating.
  4. Feb 21, 2013
    6
    This game has a very interesting spin on the kart racing genre. I like that they didnt go with generic kart racer and went with some new, and quite interesting ideas. however, the controls and overall design hold this game back from being great, and make it more of a lackluster title, which wont quite give you hours upon hours of fun. This game is still fun and enjoyable, but it couldveThis game has a very interesting spin on the kart racing genre. I like that they didnt go with generic kart racer and went with some new, and quite interesting ideas. however, the controls and overall design hold this game back from being great, and make it more of a lackluster title, which wont quite give you hours upon hours of fun. This game is still fun and enjoyable, but it couldve been excecuted better. I got my copy at a Gian Tiger brand new for $5.77, so i definitely got my moneys worth, but i wouldnt pay anymore than 10$ for this experience. For racing and sonic fans only. If you arent a fan of either, id stay well away. Personally, I think this is a cool game, but it could have been done much better. Expand
  5. Apr 21, 2014
    6
    racing on hover boards sounds fun, and for the most part it is. the maps in the game are pretty boring and the story is there just for the sake of having a story but this was pretty fun game and one of the better sonic games in recent years, not that that's saying much. it's no Mario kart, but its something different.
  6. May 2, 2016
    7
    Good game . First full Sonic Racing in series . Sonic Riders has got normal graphics for 2006 and normal storyline , many different tracks and if there would be no this game there would be no Sonic and all stars racing and all stars racing transformed . Sonic Riders better than Sonic Riders ZG but worse than Sonic Free Riders . In Sonic Riders many different tricks and things . Normal Game . 7/10
  7. Sep 29, 2016
    7
    this is quite good although the fact you need air to ride is a bit annoying also it can get boring very quickly but still i got a far bit of enjoyment out of it
  8. Jun 19, 2017
    6
    Sonic Riders is a game that is stylish, with clean graphics, and a nice range of characters to choose from. However, it suffers from level design that is very unconventional for players, bad controls and disappointing game mechanics. Several levels are designed in a way that make them frustrating to navigate across, and the controls take time to be able to use them decently. The soundtrackSonic Riders is a game that is stylish, with clean graphics, and a nice range of characters to choose from. However, it suffers from level design that is very unconventional for players, bad controls and disappointing game mechanics. Several levels are designed in a way that make them frustrating to navigate across, and the controls take time to be able to use them decently. The soundtrack is alright, nothing special. The turbulence system, as other users have said, makes you wonder if it was really necessary. Multiplayer mode can be enjoyable, though it also suffers from the aforementioned problems. Expand
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 41
  2. Negative: 9 out of 41
  1. The series’ most notable feature – unparalleled speed – was somehow lost on this installment. Frustration prevails, an element I hope is excluded from all future Sonic releases.
  2. While not the deepest racer, the game has speedy thrills and frantic multiplayer action that help bring Sonic's usual racing antics and signature speed to the sky.
  3. 62
    Sonic is one of the fastest videogame mascots alive, so why has he been made to ride a sluggish snowboard in this new racer?