Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
Buy On
  1. GameNow
    91
    From beginning to end, these games ooze style. [Dec 2003, p.54]
  2. "Then what's wrong with using TV to brainwash the masses?" It's a chill-inducing sentiment, but after playing both Space Channel 5 games, I could see it coming from Ulala just as easily as from the cackling Mr. Blank.
  3. 90
    About my only complaint is that it's over too soon -- just an hour, without mistakes...It's unmisssable for anyone who wants to take a space-age vacation from the typical.
  4. 90
    Easily the best bargain for the PS2 this side of "VF4 Evo."
  5. The sequel adds in a lot of new unlockable content to help extend replay value, new face offs with vocals, longer button holds, and even instruments, and the overall controls and challenge seem a lot better in this version.
  6. A great package crammed with more value and personality than most rhythm games. [Dec 2003, p.143]
  7. 80
    It's all down to the style and irresistible cheerful feeling you get when you play these games.
  8. PSM Magazine
    80
    The bigger prize here is "Part II." It features improved graphics, better choreography, and greater musical variety, including some guitar slinging and a "waltz battle" with a giant plant. At this price - $30 - it's a steal. [Nov 2003, p.48]
  9. GMR Magazine
    80
    Or you could get them and play them again and again the way you play a favorite album, because your $30 will get you two of the funkiest, most charming grooves you'll ever see in videogame form. [Jan 2004, p.90]
  10. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    78
    The combination of toe-tappin' music, retro-futuristic style, and rapid-fire pacing injects Space Channel with an infectious, addictive quality. [Dec 2003, p.210]

Awards & Rankings

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Mar 3, 2017
    9
    This game introduced me to tentacle porn. Yes. That's how I'm going to open this review and there's nothing you can do about it! ButThis game introduced me to tentacle porn. Yes. That's how I'm going to open this review and there's nothing you can do about it! But seriously, this game is yet another super awesome, fun, and quirky Sega game that harkens back to an era when companies TRIED to do things differently instead of making the same cookie cutter games year after year. The music, characters, art style, and most importantly, the gameplay itself still hold up rather well today! Full Review »
  2. Ariel
    Aug 18, 2005
    8
    Its hard but this game is the most fun game I have ever played,because it is not your average game.
  3. JoshS.
    Aug 22, 2004
    10
    This game is like totally cool. I just love it , love it, love it!!! Ulala in the game is soo cute. I just LOVE her clothes. I wish I had This game is like totally cool. I just love it , love it, love it!!! Ulala in the game is soo cute. I just LOVE her clothes. I wish I had clothes like that. But thats not the point. I just love its dance moves. The game is not hard but its good for like learning how to count music. Well chao for now!!! o(^-^)o *kiss* Full Review »